Find companies:
Stanley Black & Decker
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
86 reviews

Stanley Black & Decker Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work
GIOS- Desktop Support Technician (Current Employee), Stanley Security-MississaugaSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: best environment and the culture to work.
Cons: nothing to tell so far
Stanley Black&Decker is the best place to work. The employees are great, good to get along with everyone. They treat the employee well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and productive workplace.
Branch Administration (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONJanuary 4, 2013
Pros: excellent employee benefits
A fun and productive workplace. I've learned invaluable skills that I can now take with me and apply to any future employment. Advancement within the company is quite fast if one applies themself
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed doing the work as well as working with others.
Electro-Mechanical Assembler (Former Employee), Kanata,OntMarch 11, 2012
Pros: free lunches
The company was focused on presenting products that were suitable for the market place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customers
Customer service Representative (Former Employee), VaNovember 24, 2014
Pros: great customers
Cons: management
Entering P.O accurately, waiting on customers, answering phones. Learned a lot about tools, Management could have been better. High turnover rate of managers. Normally lasted 8- 12 months at a time, then went months with no manager. the out of the blue they closed the service center.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management not holding themselves accountable
AR (Former Employee), Chesterfield, MichiganNovember 10, 2014
Pros: close to home, overtime
Cons: harrassment, poor management, overtime is really required when it is said not to be, poor/lack of training
I worked in an office with several new people, none of which had training. The very poor, newly promoted (because they had no one else) supervisor showed up late to work daily. In a period of 6 months called in to work repeatedly and didn't want to be available to answer questions. The department manager apologized for that type of behavior, yet felt – more... threatened when things weren't being handled properly and it was addressed. He apologized over and over - gave me a good review and a week later, as I suspected due to his harassing behavior, found myself sitting in a meeting with HR. I recorded every conversation I had with my superior, because behind closed doors, he kept telling me how great I was doing, only to say something different when I was not around. He consistently belittled the HR department, and also several members of the staff, and continued to harass me in my time left with the company. I went to work and spent longer hours than anyone in my department (because I was being treated differently and the other employees in the office agreed. Two employees even said they had the same problems with RM). I went to work sick to my stomach daily. He thought that the worse he treated me, the sooner I would quit. He obviously didn't know me or my work ethic very well. I was constantly being given more work than anyone person could handle and do well, and then pulled away from my desk several times a week for him to ensure I wouldn't be able to complete the tasks that were assigned. It's unfortunate that someone in a position like this, who talked poorly about his own manager - isn't being dealt with. He was good at his job, although he was very poor dealing with people and also managing the department. I am so happy that he was so awful, as I am in a position now, paying more, and receiving bonuses for the job I promised to do well for Stanley. I am appreciated by people who respect their staff. Stanley had several employees who talked about how poorly they were treated in Purchasing and also Accounting. Hopefully HR is able to get it together and get rid of people who cause more expensive problems like this one. Throwing cash away - not putting delinquent accounts on hold when necessary - etc. Additionally, it was difficult to for the staff to be stuck in the manager's small office for meetings, as his halitosis permeated the air, making it hard to want to breathe. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not employee focused
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee), East Greenwich, RINovember 5, 2014
I believe that the company was more focused on their employees when I started working there in 2001. SB&D displaced thousands of workers by moving their operations to other states/countries. This company was one of the largest in RI and employed thousands of people. By moving their operations out of RI, they displaced many workers in what is, and was, – more... a very bad economy. I think that they should have been more focused on keeping SB&D in RI so that families and individuals that worked there for many years could have been still employed. If asked would I work there again should they come back to RI, I would have to say yes. The benefits and the co-workers that I had were very good and we were family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Analyst (Current Employee), Towson, MINovember 3, 2014
Overall the job atmosphere is good but Management could use improvement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working for Stanley Black & Decker, nice place to work
Classifier Technician (Former Employee), New Baltimore, MIOctober 26, 2014
Pros: great retirement package
Cons: short breaks
Pretty easy going day, non stressful environment. l learned to be a very productive employee my time at this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No wage increases
Current Employee (Current Employee), Greenfield, INOctober 19, 2014
Pros: it's a paycheck
Cons: poor managemeent
Get great annual reviews. Management says you are eligible for wage increase. But it never happens. Some employees have been 5 years without a wage increase.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive company and market leader
Manager of Inventory & Distribution (Former Employee), Cork, COctober 7, 2014
Pros: challenging environment due to ongoing changes
Global leader of DIY and ambitous group. Experience in SAP integration projects, managing large team at SSC base and interacting with our Corporate HQ team on a regular basis
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work but not good job security
TECHNICAL MANAGER (Former Employee), Towson, MDOctober 6, 2014
Pros: great if you like to work around power tools
Cons: job security, benefits
Very high turn around in management can be frustrating, and business is cyclic. Very good product lines to keep your interest - wide variety of job opportunities available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to learn different aspects of the business and other departments.
Call Center Representative (Current Employee), Towson, MDSeptember 30, 2014
Great company to work for! If you have strong customer service skills and are able to adapt to a changing environment this is a great company to work for. While working here I have gained experience in accounting with dealing with processing credits and debits on a daily basis. My SAP and Salesforce skills have strengthened tremendously. The company – more... helped me sharpen my skills by providing access to online training courses and hands on group and one-on-one training. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Typical American Corporation
Associate Product Manager (Current Employee), Tokyo, JapanSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: very good internal resource
Cons: strategy / organization changes every 1 or 2 yrs
cross functional responsibilities
working with various regions in the world
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor managemeent
Operator (Current Employee), Greenfield, INSeptember 11, 2014
Management has no idea what they are doing. People are moved shifts and departments all of the time with no regard for their personal life. Shift times and days change from week to week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a horrible place to work
Machinist (Former Employee), Greenfield IN.August 18, 2014
Pros: paycheck
Cons: no management
management and HR was down right terrible. That would asked you for advice and tell the department what you said.Causing trouble between coworkers.Plant manager did not have a clue on what went on around there. HR was useless what else do I need to say......
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stanley Black & Decker/ Roofing Supply Group
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Concord, NCAugust 1, 2014
loading and unloading trucks, replenishing line, putting away inbound materials, build orders and palletize materials, deal with pink slips and truck drivers to make sure that the orders are correct. Dealing with DM and WMS inventory control systems. dealing with roofing and home siding materials also dealing with raw wood. meeting productions that – more... was needed to be met on certain dates and time periods. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start.
Cherry Picker High Reach Operator (Former Employee), Concord, NCJuly 29, 2014
Good place to start to gain experience on numerous driving equipment that can land a better job somewhere else. Otherwise if you stay here, don't expect too much of an advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont dispatch
Dispatcher (Former Employee), ArizonaJuly 26, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: short lunch, always overloaded
Very stressful! Under microscope all the time. No sense of accomplishment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment, easy to work there
Machine Operator (Former Employee), farmers branch, TXJuly 8, 2014
the days goes by fast because you stay busy.I also, learned a lot of things like power tools,scan guns, stand-up lifts and also a dock specialist.management was cool they listened and if there were any problems they would help you solve it. i meet good people there that are now friends with the family.the hardest part of the day is getting up to get – more... to work. the thing i enjoy about working is knowing you have one to come to everyday and of course getting paid – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good logistic experience
Team Leader/SAP SuperUser (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 3, 2014
out of business
high turnover rate
no management job security

1 2 3 4 5

About Stanley Black & Decker

Since 1843, we’ve set the standard for excellence in everything we do. No company on earth has a stronger or more compelling – Read more