Stanley Black & Decker

Stanley Black & Decker Employee Reviews

Found 16 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very large shareholder driven company
Demand Planner (Former Employee) –  Decker, MBAugust 22, 2016
Good freedom to develop business models to suit the products / Customers under your responsibility.

Developed better forecasting skills through experiences gained there.
Pros
good professional company, benefits and compensation
Cons
people are not the companies priority
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work place
Marketing Executive (Former Employee) –  united arab emiratesAugust 16, 2016
Very friendly and supportive environment to work in. Learnt a lot from my immediate boss. A lot of team building events organized by the company to encourage team dependence and efficient working skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfactory at best
Canadian Finance (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONAugust 7, 2016
The Mississauga head office is generally a so-so place to work at.

Pros include decent co-workers, compensation generally in-line with the market and a brand name that external companies recognize

Cons are a bit longer....
-Incredibly incompetent senior management team, specifically in the Canadian finance department with top management generally clueless about even the simplest of finance concepts, along with top management clearly playing favourites (ignoring everyone else)
-US counterparts can be a handful to deal with
-General lack of direction/motivation/long-term vision within the organization...seems to be a month by month operation (strat plan is a joke)
-Forget about career progression here; company is pretty lean and has not been growing notably for a number of years (layoffs, on the other hand, happen on a fairly regular basis)

Long story short, I don't regret my time here but I would definitely not recommend this place to anyone who is competent and has the ability to look for something better at a more dynamic organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONFebruary 10, 2016
Great environment to work in.
Great team work and management.
It was definitely a place that I was looking forward to retiring with.
your efforts and great work were always recognized.
Wish there were more room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and active paced environment
Customer Relations Manager (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONFebruary 3, 2016
Very hands on experience and a lot of job responsibilities to help foster individual growth. Co-workers are friendly and the company has occasional special events.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be careful
Field Marketing Coordinator (FMC) - Edmonton (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 3, 2015
re-structures regularly, and if you haven't proven your worth in 6 months, then your likely to be let go. Didn't enjoy my time at all
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People friendly work environment
Service Administrator (Former Employee) –  Decker, MBFebruary 4, 2015
A good mix of people, training was provided and learned a lot. Busy environment. The only problem with this company is stayed on too long on a temporary assignment, no benefits, pay was low scale and work load was very challenging at times.
Nice People, a U.S. based company. They are currently ironing out Canada's location at the moment and headcount is being looked at and downsizing. Enjoyed my three years at Stanley. I enjoyed working with Distributors and meeting their needs.
Pros
busy environment which i enjoy
Cons
not hiring full time
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive with a great management team
Receiver (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONJanuary 2, 2014
shipments come in early in the morning and we are given the purchase orders to receive the shipment.

I've learned to maintain focus at all times at a fast paced work place.

Our management team is great. They allow us to work independently.

Coworkers can be challenging at times, but in general, they are great workers.

Hardest part of the job is giving 110% for a low income wage.

The most enjoyable part is knowing at the end of the shift that I've done an excellent job.
Pros
steady work
Cons
low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes14No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work
GIOS- Desktop Support Technician (Current Employee) –  Stanley Security-MississaugaSeptember 23, 2013
Stanley Black&Decker is the best place to work. The employees are great, good to get along with everyone. They treat the employee well.
Pros
best environment and the culture to work.
Cons
nothing to tell so far
Was this review helpful?Yes3No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and productive workplace.
Branch Administration (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONJanuary 4, 2013
A fun and productive workplace. I've learned invaluable skills that I can now take with me and apply to any future employment. Advancement within the company is quite fast if one applies themself
Pros
excellent employee benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes9No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed doing the work as well as working with others.
Electro-Mechanical Assembler (Former Employee) –  Kanata,OntMarch 11, 2012
The company was focused on presenting products that were suitable for the market place.
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work in
Production & Projects Associate (Former Employee) –  Saint-Hyacinthe, QCMarch 31, 2016
Good company, to work for if you live near by and if your are willing to do a manual labor and sometimes very stressful
Pros
good price on tools
Cons
Old equipment to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
etre polyvalent
Technicien (Former Employee) –  Decker, MBAugust 23, 2015
une journer de devait etre a la caisse, et l'autre a la reparation d outils.
Pros
tres bonne renumeration et assurence
Cons
parfois on avait des difficulté avec le système informatique
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mauvais environnement de travail
demouleur; opérateur; emballeur (Former Employee) –  saint-hyacinthe,QCJune 9, 2015
-mauvais environnement de travail, résultat ils sont en quête perpétuelle d'employés
-condition de travail pas securitaire
-aucune possibilité d'avancement
(surtout quand on est minorité visible)
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement travail agréable
Montréal, QC (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCMarch 26, 2015
environnement travail agréable
opportunité de développement
Pros
collaborateurs
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report

See more Stanley Black & Decker reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 250 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3