Find companies:
Standard Life
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

Standard Life Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
senior java developper (Former Employee), MontrealJune 20, 2014
Pros: some great people
Cons: see my review
I had to work on a project where there was always missing resources. I had to do a lot of overtime. There was no time to do proper analysis or design. Everything was rushed. Looking at the existing code it seemed that this has been the culture of the company for many years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but good benefits
CSR (Former Employee), Montréal, QCJanuary 23, 2013
Administer Pension Plan

Load of information

Team work is really important
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company that is gradually deteriorating.
Former employee - Director (Former Employee), Montréal, QCOctober 22, 2012
Pros: really nice co-workers
Cons: lack of clear strategic focus. management does not walk the talk.
Standard Life is generally speaking a very good company to work for. In recent years, the company has failed to be very clear on how it implements its strategy. Leadership does not walk the talk. Anyone who applies for a job at Standard Life now should regard employment as a short-term project. It appears that random decisions are made and direction – more... is unclear. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Residential underwriting
MORTGAGE CONSULTANT / RESIDENTIAL UNDERWRITER (Former Employee), montreal, quebecOctober 13, 2012
Working for Standard Life was a great experience. Alot of nice people and a growing company.
A typical day for me was to underwriter new residential mortgages to employees that were either purchasing a new home or renovating an existing home. I enjoyed this type of work as it added value to the person that was purchasing the home. They appreciated my – more... efforts. Also I oversaw the daily operations in the department as the supervisor. This also was very challenging. Continuous process improvements were implemented weekly and duplication of effort was elimated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Residential underwriting
MORTGAGE CONSULTANT / RESIDENTIAL UNDERWRITER (Former Employee), montreal, quebecOctober 13, 2012
Working for Standard Life was a great experience. Alot of nice people and a growing company.
A typical day for me was to underwriter new residential mortgages to employees that were either purchasing a new home or renovating an existing home. I enjoyed this type of work as it added value to the person that was purchasing the home. They appreciated my – more... efforts. Also I oversaw the daily operations in the department as the supervisor. This also was very challenging. Continuous process improvements were implemented weekly and duplication of effort was elimated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Associate in accounting and control management (Former Employee), Montréal, QCJuly 18, 2012
Very good work-life balance and learning environment
People are supportive
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resume
Technical Business Analyst (Current Employee), Montréal, QCJuly 2, 2012
Pros: career oriented
Standard Life is one of the worlds biggest Insurance company and a leader in the industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of potential for growth for the company
Client Services Specialist (Former Employee), Montréal, QCMay 24, 2012
Pros: gained new knowledge, high work load, great managers
Cons: atmosphere, team
Standard Life is a company that has a lot of potential growth within its competing industry. As a retirement solutions specialist, I gained a lot of knowledge of pension plans and savings plans in Canada. The high volume of work kept me busy and I enjoyed that. As always, I got a long extremely well with my managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement Agreable
Support,Maintenance, Mainframe,UNix, VB.net (Former Employee), Montréal, QCMarch 10, 2014
Collaborateurs Agréables et dispos, Environnement multiplateforme: Mainframe, Unix, VB.net, JAVA, ORACLE, PL/SQL, DatJunction.
Intervention au niveau de la maintenance corrective et évolutive,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
culture d'entreprise qui me convient
Analyste programmeur Oracle (Temporaire) (Current Employee), Montréal, QCDecember 5, 2013
les opportunités de développement dans le domaine
collaborateurs satisfaisant
travail de nuit aussi
le travail d'équipe est présent
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture d'entreprise fantastique
Amélioration des processus (Former Employee), Montréal, QCJune 6, 2013
Cette entreprise comprends très bien l'amélioration des processus, la gestion du changement et l'amélioration continue. Les gens sont très professionnels et compétents.