Find companies:
Standard Life
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

Standard Life Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
senior java developper (Former Employee), MontrealJune 20, 2014
Pros: some great people
Cons: see my review
I had to work on a project where there was always missing resources. I had to do a lot of overtime. There was no time to do proper analysis or design. Everything was rushed. Looking at the existing code it seemed that this has been the culture of the company for many years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Senior Advisor, Sales Support (Current Employee), Montreal, QCAugust 28, 2013
Standard Life is a very good company with many opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but good benefits
CSR (Former Employee), Montréal, QCJanuary 23, 2013
Administer Pension Plan

Load of information

Team work is really important
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company that is gradually deteriorating.
Former employee - Director (Former Employee), Montréal, QCOctober 22, 2012
Pros: really nice co-workers
Cons: lack of clear strategic focus. management does not walk the talk.
Standard Life is generally speaking a very good company to work for. In recent years, the company has failed to be very clear on how it implements its strategy. Leadership does not walk the talk. Anyone who applies for a job at Standard Life now should regard employment as a short-term project. It appears that random decisions are made and direction – more... is unclear. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Residential underwriting
MORTGAGE CONSULTANT / RESIDENTIAL UNDERWRITER (Former Employee), montreal, quebecOctober 13, 2012
Working for Standard Life was a great experience. Alot of nice people and a growing company.
A typical day for me was to underwriter new residential mortgages to employees that were either purchasing a new home or renovating an existing home. I enjoyed this type of work as it added value to the person that was purchasing the home. They appreciated my – more... efforts. Also I oversaw the daily operations in the department as the supervisor. This also was very challenging. Continuous process improvements were implemented weekly and duplication of effort was elimated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Associate in accounting and control management (Former Employee), Montréal, QCJuly 18, 2012
Very good work-life balance and learning environment
People are supportive
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resume
Technical Business Analyst (Current Employee), Montréal, QCJuly 2, 2012
Pros: career oriented
Standard Life is one of the worlds biggest Insurance company and a leader in the industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of potential for growth for the company
Client Services Specialist (Former Employee), Montréal, QCMay 24, 2012
Pros: gained new knowledge, high work load, great managers
Cons: atmosphere, team
Standard Life is a company that has a lot of potential growth within its competing industry. As a retirement solutions specialist, I gained a lot of knowledge of pension plans and savings plans in Canada. The high volume of work kept me busy and I enjoyed that. As always, I got a long extremely well with my managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leading financial services brand with a strong wrap proposition
Platform Consultant (Current Employee), ResidentialJuly 9, 2014
Pros: autonomy, good work-life balance
Cons: limited career and earnings progression
Wrap is a core part of Standard Life's business and brings significant assets under management for the Group.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Change manager (Current Employee), Edinburgh, SCTJune 30, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: non competitive salary for internal movers
Great working office enviromet - my skills have unfortunatley outgrown my salary and i under stand that in order to be rewarded i may have to seek options elsewhere
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good development opportunities for those in the earlier stages of their career
Change Manager/Business Consultant (Current Employee), EdinburghApril 23, 2014
Pros: challanging development opportunities
Cons: after a point opportunities become very few and far between
My career has progressed significantly with Standard Life. I have never been short of opportunities to develop and have been supported along my journey.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great bunch of people to work with
Customer Advisor (Former Employee), Edinburgh, SCTApril 15, 2014
Pros: good pension
Cons: very long hours
After 13 years of travelling to and forth every day to Edinburgh I decided it was time to pack it in as was very stressful and look for a job closer to home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good environment and great people to work with.
Corporate Relationship Director - Standard Life (Former Employee), Chester/LondonMarch 19, 2014
Pros: good employee benefits
Cons: too many people coming along to governance meetings.
It was an extremely professional environment to work in with a huge responsibility looking after some of the UK's largest employers. It was very enjoyable working alongside the decision makers within the employers and linking in with intermediaries who were also involved with these high profile employers.

The most enjoyable parts are working and interacting – more... with high profile employers and also taking the project lead on helping secure highly profitable business or securing new accounts into the business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People great management less so.
Systems Developer (Former Employee), EdinburghApril 24, 2013
Pros: shareplan
Cons: no loyalty
Worked with a lot of dedicated people. Becoming more commercialy acute at expense of loyalty.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organization that considers every employee important.
Production Issue Resolution Analyst (Current Employee), Edinburgh, SCTMarch 7, 2013
Fun place to work where there is a lot of scope for growth and development. Excellent knowledge across departments and effective channels set to transfer knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Onsite Tech lead (Former Employee), Edinburgh, INAugust 5, 2012
Pros: subsidised lunches and a cool work environment
Cons: legacy applications
Nice place to be at and retire from.

The managers are supportive.

The work load is not much.

The colleagues are helpful.

The pay is good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement Agreable
Support,Maintenance, Mainframe,UNix, VB.net (Former Employee), Montréal, QCMarch 10, 2014
Collaborateurs Agréables et dispos, Environnement multiplateforme: Mainframe, Unix, VB.net, JAVA, ORACLE, PL/SQL, DatJunction.
Intervention au niveau de la maintenance corrective et évolutive,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
culture d'entreprise qui me convient
Analyste programmeur Oracle (Temporaire) (Current Employee), Montréal, QCDecember 5, 2013
les opportunités de développement dans le domaine
collaborateurs satisfaisant
travail de nuit aussi
le travail d'équipe est présent
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture d'entreprise fantastique
Amélioration des processus (Former Employee), Montréal, QCJune 6, 2013
Cette entreprise comprends très bien l'amélioration des processus, la gestion du changement et l'amélioration continue. Les gens sont très professionnels et compétents.