Standard Life Employee Reviews

Found 26 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positif
Analyste principale (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC24 May 2017
Employeur très flexible qui offre un environnement de travail agréable et qui est ouvert à l'innovation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agreable.
Adjointe executive (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC23 May 2017
Très bel endroit où travailler.

La compagnie a été vendue. Je recherche un emploi qui me rendrait aussi heureuse. En échange, je donnerais mon savoir-faire et tout mon engagement au travail.
Pros
Possibilites d'avancement.
Cons
Ass. Maladie
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is called manulife now. Horrible place.
QA Analyst (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC19 May 2017
They found the nastiest people on earth and put them all in one office. They took the nastiest of the nastiest and made them managers and vps. Everyone is on antidepressant medication and you will be too if you work there.
Pros
downtown Montreal
Cons
Horrible people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Belle expérience
Administrateur réseau (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC29 November 2016
Belle expérience, mais la consolidation vie de famille VS travaille devenait difficile.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company was sold
Senior Analyst (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC29 September 2016
Workplace was difficult. No flexible hours, Workload was heavy. Responsability were not properly identified. Management was not open to discussion or change. Technology was outdated.
Pros
Office Location
Cons
Not flexible, poor workrate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as it is a very technical service desk
Service Desk Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 June 2016
Great place to work as it is a very technical service desk, colleagues and interaction with the users is great. The ability to have time to fix issues is great.
Pros
35 days holiday
Cons
Long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compagnie qui avait à coeur la vie de leurs employés
Analyste, Opérations (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC27 January 2016
Stabilité et grande famille,voici les mots qui décrivent cet employeur
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional environment that empowers people and allows them to provide creative and innovative solutions
Analyste d'affaires (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC20 January 2016
During my three and a half year as a Business Analyst consultant at Standard Life, I learned a lot about the processes in financial systems and the importance of integrating different systems together in order to streamline the processes and provide complete solutions that will be beneficial to various stakeholders from the customer service representative who will respond to members' requests to client sponsors and advisors and eventually to Standard Life members.

I have had the chance to work with different applications such as:
1) The main financial application where members contributions and withdrawals are processed, client statements are generated, withdrawals are calculated, rates are updates, and batch programs are scheduled and ran on periodic basis
2) Member and sponsor site where they can consult their statements, make withdrawals, and sell/purchase stock options
3)Customer Relationship Management application that is used for responding to customers inquiries, generating reports, and analyzing customers data that will be beneficial for improving customer satisfaction.

The most enjoyable part of the job were the projects on which I was assigned and which were different from one another and which allowed me to learn about different parts of the same application or even different applications. Some projects were about evolving the back-end application and others were about the member and sponsor site which required the solution to add or improve the current user interface to give members new features that will allow them to do it by themselves online such as
  more... the purchase and sale of stock options, generate online statement, and submit a list of employees contributions on regular basis.
I also enjoyed the different teams to which I was assigned to as they were very helpful and were open to creative and innovative ideas. There was a strong synergy in all of the teams to which I was part of and we were always able to deliver on time and with quality.
  less
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sécurité de l'emploi/Évolution de carrière
Entrée de donnée/Analyste (Former Employee) –  Montréal,Canada16 October 2015
je suis rentrée comme responsable pour les appels des clients et je suis devenue Analyste grâce a mon apprentissage rapide et connaissance...bonne évolution de carrière donne aux employeurs chez Standard Life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
les opportunités de développement
DIRECTRICE, CONTRÔLE OPERATIONNEL ET DOCUMENTATION (Former Employee) –  Montréal16 September 2015
Standard Life fût une entreprise qui m'a permis de grandir dans différents secteurs de l'entreprise. La formation et le mentorat étaient très important au sein de l'entreprise. Si l'entreprise canadienne n'avait pas été vendue, je serais probablement encore dans cette entreprise. Elle a toujours permis à ses employés de travailler dans différents secteurs afin d'acquérir des connaissances supplémentaires pour mieux gérer les actifs des clients et de l'entreprise.
Pros
J'ai pu grandir dans différents secteurs de l'entreprise
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good insurance benefits and year end bonus based on procductivity
Représentante service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Montréal10 July 2015
I really liked Standard Life in general, but when Manulife bought the company in September 2014, my position abolished.
Pros
Team work, business mentality
Cons
advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here, unless you like to work for a government-style organization
Regional Group Retirement Consultant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 April 2015
very antiquated technology; accomplishments are considered accidental and leadership encourages 'yes' rather than critical thinking. Management seems stuck in the 1970s...
Pros
no sales focus
Cons
focus on admin vs sales, leadership only interested in own advancement;
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expérience de travail enrichissante.
Associée-soutien administratif (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC24 March 2015
Il s'agissait d'un remplacement de congé maladie, bien qu'ayant postulé initialement pour un autre poste permanent, les Ressources Humaines m'ont proposé cet emploi.
J'ai donc accepté, en espérant pouvoir mettre le second pied dans l'entreprise.
Pros
Bonne ambiance, bureaux spacieux et calmes.
Cons
Pas d'avantages sociaux ni de permanence.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Standard Life
Intern, Product Development (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC11 March 2015
The office environment is very friendly and fun. Lot's of actives and a in house gym. The work was tedious and uninteresting.
Cons
Dry work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
senior java developper (Former Employee) –  Montreal20 June 2014
I had to work on a project where there was always missing resources. I had to do a lot of overtime. There was no time to do proper analysis or design. Everything was rushed. Looking at the existing code it seemed that this has been the culture of the company for many years.
Pros
some great people
Cons
see my review
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement Agreable
Support,Maintenance, Mainframe,UNix, VB.net (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC10 March 2014
Collaborateurs Agréables et dispos, Environnement multiplateforme: Mainframe, Unix, VB.net, JAVA, ORACLE, PL/SQL, DatJunction.
Intervention au niveau de la maintenance corrective et évolutive,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
culture d'entreprise qui me convient
Analyste programmeur Oracle (Temporaire) (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC5 December 2013
les opportunités de développement dans le domaine
collaborateurs satisfaisant
travail de nuit aussi
le travail d'équipe est présent
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Senior Advisor, Sales Support (Current Employee) –  Montreal, QC28 August 2013
Standard Life is a very good company with many opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture d'entreprise fantastique
Amélioration des processus (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 June 2013
Cette entreprise comprends très bien l'amélioration des processus, la gestion du changement et l'amélioration continue. Les gens sont très professionnels et compétents.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but good benefits
CSR (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC23 January 2013
Administer Pension Plan

Load of information

Team work is really important
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Standard Life. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 56 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6

Standard Life Reviews by Location