Find companies:
St. Paul Travelers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
202 reviews

St. Paul Travelers Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work.
Account Mgr. - Commercial Underwriting Department (Current Employee), Maryland Heights, MOSeptember 10, 2013
The best part of my job is I work with some wonderful agents. I love giving great customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
*
Subrogation Specialist (Former Employee), Brookfield, WISeptember 9, 2013
Subrogation Specialist
• Managed and litigated third party insurance claims; primarily property damage and workers compensation claims
• Reviewed files to determine methodology in securing payments; determine liable parties and initiate conversations leading to the negotiation of settlement payments in an effort to minimize actual costs to Travelers – more... Insurance and their insureds
• Effectively interacted and negotiated settlements with individuals, insurance carriers, corporations and business entities, attorneys, mediators, and arbitrators
• Successfully managed between 300 and 1,700 claims in subrogation simultaneously within all 50 states and the District of Columbia – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great foundation for entry level into insurance.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Windsor, CTSeptember 7, 2013
Probably the best customer service job around. compensation and benefits are incredible and cant be beat. management only focused on the current role and not future endeavors but if you're looking for a great place to work with great people! Travelers all the way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to work there
Manager (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNSeptember 6, 2013
Good company to work for when I was there, but that was back in early 2000's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
claims analyst
Business Property Claims Analyst (Former Employee), Naperville, ILSeptember 4, 2013
Enjoyed working there but was too far to commute. I learned a lot from this job and if get a chance I would love to work again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid the Alpharetta office
Property Adjuster (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAAugust 27, 2013
Pros: competitive pay, not bad benefits
Cons: momma said no
My momma said if you don't have any good word to say not to say anything at all, I am following her lead on this one...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relocated to Charlotte
Claims Representative (Former Employee), Columbia, SCAugust 25, 2013
Pros: opportunities for advancement
Cons: office closed, company layoffs
My position as claims representative with Travelers afforded me the opportunity to further my education and travel, while balancing work and family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was not united.
Medical Case Manager (Former Employee), Naperville, ILAugust 20, 2013
Pros: excellent co-worker's
Cons: outdated software. noisy work environment.
Unit managers were openly critical of each other during meetings and presentations. Employees learned new policies and procedures by trial and error. Software updates without warning or instructions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compensation for self starters
Claim Representative (Former Employee), Melville, NYAugust 18, 2013
This is a company that promotes from within and compensates for good work. Management is resourceful and knowledgeable. Great benefits. Loved my time there, no question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Insurance Service Representative (Current Employee), Syracuse, NYAugust 10, 2013
Great company to work for. They value and reward employees for their hard work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the work environment .
Business Analyst (Former Employee), hartford, conneticutAugust 9, 2013
Well i have worked this place for about an year and through out the period of time i had came across with some talented peers and learned different tools .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Workers' Compensation Claims Case Manager (Current Employee), New JerseyAugust 3, 2013
Pros: experience
Cons: micro management
Travelers is a great stepping stone into corporate america. Its a clear view of how politics is involved in your position. I was trull grateful to have secured this position as it is known that Travelers is ver particular about who they hire.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, fast-paced work environment!
Account Specialist (Former Employee), Richmond, VAAugust 1, 2013
Pros: knowledgable co-workers, fast-paced environment, good salary
Cons: some work-life balance issues
As an employee at Travelers, I work with a lot of very talented and accomplished insurance professionals who are always willing to share with me the benefit of their vast knowledge. I have learned a lot during my tenure with the company and have increased my skill-set significantly. Management is very thorough in that you always know where you stand – more... performance-wise. They don't wait until review time to tell you improvement is needed, giving you ample time to correct any issues. The hardest part of my job in the beginning was becoming familiar with the many products and resources the company offers. The freedom to be creative and think outside of the box is the most enjoyable aspect of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travelers Claims
Staff Appraiser (Current Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 28, 2013
Pros: customer interaction
I have enjoyed my Career with Travelers and I have gained a lot of valuable experience in my 8 years. Travelers Staff provides excellent Customer service skills and I enjoy helping to achieve positive optimal outcomes with our customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
strong company
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Syracuse, NYJuly 26, 2013
Pros: great benefits, lots of vacation time
Cons: shift changes, losing focus on caring for employees, syracuse office and other offices have closed
A typical day in my position consisted of answering the phones all day long. I had to answer customer and agent inquiries spanning from coverage counseling, billing questions/problems and helping agents through technical questions with our systems. Over the last five and a half years I have learned many skills. I learned all about personal insurance. – more... The managers are great. Each brings their own style to the table. The hardest part of the job is diffusing upset customers and keeping calm and tactful in the process. The most enjoyable part of the job is the fun activities the company plans here and there to appreciate their employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travelers
Insurance Service Representative (Current Employee), Syracuse, NYJuly 23, 2013
Great company to work for. Recently closed down the Syracuse business center. It's a shame, but they gave us all plenty of notice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like leaving work feeling like you've been beaten up every day?
CLAIMS SPECIALIST (Former Employee), GAJuly 21, 2013
Long hours
Especially needy customers
Company doesn't have your back
No rewards for working hard
Huge turnover rate
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job
Operations Claim Support Specialist (Former Employee), Portland, ORJuly 20, 2013
I enjoyed the 3 years that I worked there. My co-workers were great and I was sad when I left.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Corporation
Claims Adjuster (Former Employee), Rancho Cordova, CAJuly 19, 2013
Pros: awesome co-workers, great pay and benefits, great job-security, excellent training
Cons: poor management, lack of caring, very high-stress
Numbers-driven to a fault, ever-changing focus, more focused on areas of opportunity than areas of excellent performance. High turnover from employees quitting and being fired. Exceptionally high burnout rate. They compensate you for two people and expect the work of four. There are three awesome managers who understand a lot of the BS coming down the – more... corporate line and allow employees to do their jobs without micromanaging. Two other managers are terrorists who are more concerned with flexing their muscles than having a happy, productive team.

The job itself is interesting for an analytic and investigative person who also enjoys customer service. The hardest part of the job is staying positive when rules are changed without warning to your detriment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get ready to move and adjust to constant change.
Mailroom Clerk, Clerical Support, MO Clerk. (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 16, 2013
Pros: the ability to advance if you are motivated.
Cons: constant reshuffling of the employees within the office.
A typical day is busy and can be stressful. There is much to learn in the insurance industry. I enjoyed working with the people who were team players for the most part. Management did their part on keeping the employees abreast on what was happening within the company and in the industry. The hardest part of the job was the constant reshuffling of employees – more... and leaving to take vacation. The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing at the end of the day I did my best and enjoyed my job. – less

About St. Paul Travelers

Running a business is a risk The Travelers Companies will insure. While it does offer personal auto and homeowners insurance, the – Read more