Find companies:
St. Paul Travelers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
199 reviews

St. Paul Travelers Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Return to Work Case Manager - WC (Former Employee), Middleboro, MAJanuary 5, 2014
I enjoyed working at Travelers Insurance and would recommend it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Structured!
Commercial Lines Rater (Former Employee), Greenwood, COJanuary 2, 2014
Cons: too restrictive, too structured
While I enjoyed the work, I found it difficult to work here. My co-workers were great but office procedures were too tightly wound. At times they prevented us from completing our work in a timely manner. Rumors also flowed in from one department or another, stating that the department I was working in was going to close or be moved from our location – more... to another. It was precarious at best. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open and Relaxed Culture
Catastrophe Claims Inside Adjuster (Current Employee), Bloomfield, CTJanuary 2, 2014
I love Travelers, its an amazing company that values it employees and the benefits show it! They hire the best of the best and management is amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good training & advancement opportunities
Team Manager (Current Employee), Syracuse, NYDecember 26, 2013
Good training & advancement opportunities. Nice people to work for and with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great corporate culture
Insurance Services Representative (Former Employee), Spokane, WADecember 10, 2013
Great place to work. Call enter environment with a smAll business feel. Great benefits and paid time off options.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good Company
Inquiry Specialist (Former Employee), Richmond, VaNovember 20, 2013
Take Calls
Process claims
Management was inconsistent
Good environment
taking 100+ claims a day
The people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Auto Damage Appraiser (Current Employee), St. Louis, MONovember 13, 2013
Good place to work, just got downsized. Excellent training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable, productive workplace, admired in the investment community
Programmer (Former Employee), Hartford, CTNovember 11, 2013
Solid management with state of the art technology. The programmers were given ample responsibilities and were accountable for the systems they supported.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solid company, good benifits and work environment
Auto damage appraiser (Current Employee), Western MontanaNovember 7, 2013
Pros: good benifits and vacation time
Cons: lots of travel (wind shield time)
As an appraiser I had the ability to work from home and the leeway to scheduled my day as needed. Some micro managing but generally solid management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work out of my home.
AUTO APPRAISER/FIELD TRAINING MANAGER (Current Employee), Denver, Co.November 5, 2013
Cons: doing more with less people.
Company is down sizing and is having their employees do more with less man power which is causing the moral to be at an all time low.
Layoffs are a constant throughout the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must read
Nurse Case Manager (Current Employee), Hunt Valley, MDOctober 27, 2013
Great job for an older nurse, or one that is burned out doing clinical work in bedside nursing. Almost like retirement for nurses!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and
Senior Claims Processor (Current Employee), Hunt Valley, MDOctober 23, 2013
Pros: relaxed dress code
Cons: short lunch breaks
There is always a large volume so my day is always occupied. I've learned to operated
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, peaceful environment, fast paced and gyme on the premise
Auto Liability Technical Specialist (Current Employee), Morristown, NJOctober 4, 2013
I rated St. Paul Travelers in the middle at 3 stars. The compensation and benefits are great with several choices of healthcare coverage and great annual compensation. With regards to the company culture, values, advancement and work/life balance I also kept at 3 stars mainly due to the extra hours needed to work to try and meet their goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend. Stated culture and values are not consistent with what is required. Poor senior management staff; out of touch with reality.
Supervisor/Manager (Current Employee), ColoradoOctober 2, 2013
Senior management not equipped to lead and at times "ridiculous", not in touch with job duties/responsibilities or what it takes in man power to get the job done. Mentoring is poor or non existent. Goal is to hold people in present positions regardless of prior work experience, knowledge. Use employees, burn them out and then seek others to do the same. – more... No opportunities for advancement. Pay is low for work performed and number of hours worked. Benefits are less then mediocre. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company if you stay away from claims positions.
Outside Property Adjuster (Former Employee), Greater Los Angeles AreaSeptember 30, 2013
Pros: good pay and benefits, work from home, company car.
Cons: insane workload, generally have to relocate to move up.
Travelers pays a high wage compared to other companies and spends a good deal of time and money on training, but they really need to revamp how their property claims department is managed. When I was hired, I was told the job requires 50 hours per week. In reality - to do the job correctly according to all of Travelers' requirements - you need closer – more... to 60 hours per week. The real issue though is that Travelers doesn't want to pay more than 40 hours per week. Trying to do a job that requires 60 per week in just 40 hours is extremely stressful. The job itself - trying to settle claims in a manner that is acceptable to both the insured (sometimes represented by attorneys and public adjusters) AND Travelers - is stressful enough as it is.

There are ample job opportunities in other career paths, but most of Travelers' offices are located only sporadically in California. They do have a much heavier presence though back east. So... if you're willing to relocate, you can move-up relatively quick. I would've been happy to stay at Travelers in another capacity. It just didn't work out for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good compensation for work
Claims Analyst/ Support Team Specialist (Former Employee), Orange, CASeptember 17, 2013
Workers Comp work is hard work. It's a lot of on the phone and email correspondence and keeping track of who you spoke with and what was said. You have to be very organized and can not be a push-over. That being said, Travelers compensated well for the work being done. They understand it is hard work, and I appreciated that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NIce work Place
Project Manager (Current Employee), Hartford, CTSeptember 13, 2013
Working with this client is gave a me a lot of happiness.
I had a nice experiance here
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work.
Account Mgr. - Commercial Underwriting Department (Current Employee), Maryland Heights, MOSeptember 10, 2013
The best part of my job is I work with some wonderful agents. I love giving great customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
*
Subrogation Specialist (Former Employee), Brookfield, WISeptember 9, 2013
Subrogation Specialist
• Managed and litigated third party insurance claims; primarily property damage and workers compensation claims
• Reviewed files to determine methodology in securing payments; determine liable parties and initiate conversations leading to the negotiation of settlement payments in an effort to minimize actual costs to Travelers – more... Insurance and their insureds
• Effectively interacted and negotiated settlements with individuals, insurance carriers, corporations and business entities, attorneys, mediators, and arbitrators
• Successfully managed between 300 and 1,700 claims in subrogation simultaneously within all 50 states and the District of Columbia – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great foundation for entry level into insurance.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Windsor, CTSeptember 7, 2013
Probably the best customer service job around. compensation and benefits are incredible and cant be beat. management only focused on the current role and not future endeavors but if you're looking for a great place to work with great people! Travelers all the way.

About St. Paul Travelers

Running a business is a risk The Travelers Companies will insure. While it does offer personal auto and homeowners insurance, the – Read more