Find companies:
St. Paul Travelers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
207 reviews

St. Paul Travelers Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Atmosphere , good life/work balance, excellent technology
Senior Technology Team Lead (Former Employee), Hartford, CTMay 16, 2014
Pros: technology/work atomoshpere/benefits
Cons: increases very poor to none, bad management
Working directly with Business, Co-workers were excellent to work with. Advancement to new technology was very hard to get involved withl
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get place to work. Very stable job
Auto Claims Adjuster (Former Employee), Melville, NYMay 16, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: once your in insurance, your stuck
I love my time there. The only reason why I left was because i am looking for something out side of the insurance field
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced driven to perform company
Senior Risk Control Consultant (Current Employee), Centerton, ARMay 8, 2014
Pros: lots of work
Cons: micro manages your work
Travelers is in my mind the premier insurer of choice for contractors. They are selective about who they insure and then professional in their consulting efforts for the benefit of the client.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice working environment
Property Adjuster (Former Employee), Melville, NYMay 6, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: not enough time off
Good Management, and good co-workers. Company seems to care about their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and fast paced
Operations specialist (Former Employee), Walnut Creek, CAApril 30, 2014
Pros: fast paced and always had something to do. there was not a dull moment
Cons: the relationship between the adjusters and their team assistants were not that tight knit
A typical day of work consisted of: reviewing emails, completing and setting diaries for specific adjusters, sending off benefit notices, calculating payments, requesting medical records, setting appointments, documenting and scanning, faxing, creating stipulations and compromise and release packages, contacting COBC and WCIRB, and various team meetings

I – more... learned how to work well with others and in a fast paced supportive team environment.

Management was always helpful and would stop at nothing to give advice and help out when needed.

The hardest part this job was having to cover overload work from sister offices

the most enjoyable part of the job were my co-workers. they always rose to the opportunity to help one another out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of travel and seeing new processes and product manufacturing.
Senior Risk Control Consultant (Former Employee), Richardson, TXApril 24, 2014
Pros: good in house training and information availability, good mileage and good comradery between the consultants.
Cons: length of report and short timeline to complete it.
A typical day at work would include contacting policyholders to schedule a visit. Then travel to multiple policyholders each day to observe their operations and make recommendations to help the policyholder prevent losses. I learned how many products are manufactured, different company cultures and loss prevention efforts.The hardest part of the job – more... was coordinating multiple policyholders to meet on the same day at times that are good for them. The most enjoyable part of the job was the communication between Risk Control, underwriters and claims when preparing to do a visit or to discuss the visit afterward. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my 7 years with Travelers!
Claim Representative (Former Employee), Richardson, TXApril 24, 2014
Pros: felt fortunate to have had the experience
Cons: no cons for me
There were no typical days. Each day provided an enjoyable challenge.
From management to co-workers made Travelers feel like my second family.
The hardest part as well the most enjoyable was the constant work. The day was over before I knew it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work with
Java Developer (Former Employee), Dallas, TXApril 22, 2014
• Responsible for development of the application using Struts framework, Java Web Services Restful Services (JAX – RS) as Business layer, SQL at the model and Hibernate ORM tool in the data access layer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Auto Field Appraiser
Auto Field Appraiser (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INApril 21, 2014
Field Appraiser for seven years covering primarily central Indiana.
Also assisted with claims in Michigan, Ohio and Kentucky along with CAT duty.

Completed damage estimates, supplements along with total loss evaluations and disposal of salvage.

Additional duties included accident scene investigations and investigative support to adjusters, bodily – more... injury

representatives and fraud investigation.

I was one of eight top performing Indiana appraisers recognized as the best team in the region for overall quality of

estimates, productivity and customer care service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for advancement
Account Executive (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 20, 2014
Travelers Insurance provides their employees with a great opportunity to advance their career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment
Customer Claims Representative (Current Employee), Houston TxApril 8, 2014
take first last for claim professionals. Isssued billing info to agents and customers who wanted one time payents and assisted agents with billing problems. accepted over the phone payments
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the challenging work and its variety.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Nashville, TNApril 7, 2014
Pros: work varied and challenging
Cons: some pettiness among staff
I worked at Travelers for 21 years. The work changed as technology changed over the years. I enjoyed the work very much. Downsizing the company caused some of the departments to shrink or close. Our department (Risk Control) was closed in TN, with all that work going to Home Office. Since I had enough years I retired when the department closed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Underwriting Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 31, 2014
Management is very helpful. Great Mobility and opportunity to grow
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Insurance Sales Representative (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNMarch 30, 2014
Pros: friendly work environment
Cons: call center atmosphere
My typical day was to take phone calls and try and make sales. I learned almost everything about auto and home insurance. The managers are very encouraging and want you to succeed. The toughest part of the job is being tied to the phones all day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sr Administrative Assistant
Sr. Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Hartford, CTMarch 28, 2014
Great Company to work for, excellent benefits, great culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Premium Audit Analyst (Current Employee), Orlando, FLMarch 26, 2014
Pros: coworkers
Average position. Virtual employment. Time management is an essential skill.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive palce to wrok.
Administrative Assistant (Temporary) (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNMarch 5, 2014
Pros: good job.
Cons: na
Conducted Data entry duties entering financial information into personal accounts.

Worked well with my coworkers and helped each other to finish the project we were working on.

I enjoyed doing data entry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Total Loss Specialist (Former Employee), Germantown, PAMarch 3, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
I loved working for Travelers. Everday it was a different challenge but i enjoyed everything that was handed to me with pleasure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Claims Adjuster/Specialist (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCFebruary 27, 2014
handle claims dealing with total losses, participated in the CAT (catastrophe) team, great managers and co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical large corporate IT environment
Sr. Software Engineer (Former Employee), St Paul, MNFebruary 20, 2014
Most of their development is offshore. Onshore "developers" are really just project managers and code quality inspectors.

About St. Paul Travelers

Running a business is a risk The Travelers Companies will insure. While it does offer personal auto and homeowners insurance, the – Read more