SSP Canada Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace, ipportunities to meet alot of people from different cultures/ethnicities
Counter Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto Pearson International Airport, ON4 October 2016
a typical day at work consist of greeting and serving customers, travelers and workers at the airport, answering questions/helping travelers. Cleaning and preparing the store for the morning shift and customers, collecting the pastries from the baker and putting them out in the showcase and making sure that the morning shift is ready and prepared to work.

The management is not very good, managers show up late to clock workers in on time, they leave the job early, or are inactive on the job, usually conversating with distracted workers, English and french are the only two languages allowed to be spoken on the job but some employees and managers break that rule to speak with each other in front of customers who later complain about it. managers do little to help fix problems in the store(s), such as appliences not working or customer problems.

most co-workers are fun to work with but there are a few that don't like to work or are always distracted and not helping the customers or are always fighting with other workers and customers.
the hardest part is cleaning up after the shift before you, while getting the store ready for the shift after and at the same time serving and dealing with customers.

the most enjoyable part is working with someone who is on the same page and having everything go well. meeting new people celebrities included and getting possibly other great opportunities
Pros
working in the airport, meeting celebrities and new people, great job opportunities withing the airport.
Cons
gets extremely busy at times, bad co- workers and managers, angry airport employees who like to skip the line, large orders
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
full of attitude with workers
General Helper (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC14 September 2016
specially managers dont know how to talk with workers,they have full of attitude no manners if they have high position.if you dont know french they just ask for cleaning and all.do not go there if you dont have any expereince.not good.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Bartender (Current Employee) –  Toronto Pearson International Airport, ON1 June 2016
High volume and fast face environment. Requires experience, customers are in a rush and require fast and adequate service. It is still a new restaurant.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's a fun place and always a productive day.
Cashier/ Service Crew (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 January 2016
Working at SSP Canada is fun. working with different kinds of people is kinda exciting. I always enjoy working with them.the management is great. I learned lots of things everyday. The hardest part of the job is sometimes customer don't understand what we are saying and they become rude to us but we need to accept that fact cause we are on the field of customer service and customer is always right. the most enjoyable part of the job is we meet different people and we enjoy every single day that we work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its good place to work
Host/Cashier/Busser (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON14 April 2015
Nice place to work the environment of work is good talking with different type of people is good experience.

overall is a great experience to work in.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay away
Multi-Unit Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 March 2015
great experience, no room for advancement, under paid while working long hours.
short staffed and management.
Everybody overworked
Pros
fast paced
Cons
not appreciated, under paid
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great service team and working environment.
Food Court Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver B.C.25 March 2014
Great teammates to work with.
Worked hard and had fun in a very pleasant environment.
Pros
Pleasant environment.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with people in a busy environmet
Passenger Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Pearson, ON14 November 2013
Late working hours not suit with the family life and children.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so Productive
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB8 November 2013
Not so fun workplace. People are dragging each other down. No chance of advancement or no potential for an employee to grow and learn more.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun and fast paced
Cook (Former Employee) –  toronto on31 May 2013
It was very fast paced, you had to always be professional with the customers and make sure they felt welcomed. Co-workers were okay, they were friendly and very enthusiastic. The hardest part of the job was the overtime due to the airport being soo busy usually my 8 hour shift would turn to 12 hour shifts. The most enjoyable part was that you got to meet people from all over the world.
Pros
incentives, free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer-oriented place. fun of communicating many different people
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC4 September 2012
Learning to deal with lots of people of different nationalities.
Pros
50% discount on meal
Cons
lack of employees to work
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ssp
Food Service Attendant (Former Employee) –  toronto on21 April 2012
a typical day at work was standing behide a counter with a smile on my face and ready to serve customers. i would usualy make sandwichs serve tea also baking at night.. i have learned to be patient with customers. my co-workers were very diverse which i enjoyed. the hardest part of my job was dealing with people anger people. the most enjoyable part of the job was getting to meet new people everyday.
Pros
alots of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.5
Culture
3.3