Find companies:
Sports Direct
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
458 reviews

Sports Direct Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bullied
Full Time Retail Assistant (Former Employee), Dunfermline, SCTAugust 28, 2014
Bullied into leaving this job the management was eventually sacked from the company. My experience at the hands of HR was pain staking at the best of times as it felt they did not believe a word I was saying until I to involve police into the matters. The outcome from the investigation led to myself being left humiliated and no longer interested in – more... working with a company who not only did not believe me when I first made the claim but also unable to work for several months while I regained my confidence. At no point during the time I worked and afterwards did I receive any indication they were sorry for the harassment I received – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting workplace due to young workforce
Customer Assistant (Current Employee), Orpington, ENGAugust 27, 2014
Pros: young workforce
Cons: minimum wage, also not guaranteed hours each week
- Typical day
Every day is different, due to being a quick learner; I have been taught how to complete all tasks that can be set within the store. Maximum effort is always exerted; in clothing, tills and footwear.
- What I have learned
I have to ability to develop working relationships quickly due to being friendly and confident.
- Management
Occasionally – more... I am asked to delegate tasks over the shop floor; this shows that I can be entrusted with man management tasks.
- Hardest part of job
Working on a zero hour contract; so hours are not always available and you work different hours every week.
- Most enjoyable
Working with other young employees creates a positive and exciting workforce as everyone is full of energy and ideas to make the job easier. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Broughton, ENGAugust 23, 2014
Pros: discount given on thursday's only
Cons: zero hours contract - hours given could be reduced, some weeks no hours at all
A typical day in work is being on the shoe department, helping put stock out or away and assisting customers. My co-workers are kind and friendly and it is fun to work with them.

The hardest part of the job is dealing with customers who come in and are looking for a specific item but don't know what it's called and expect you to know what they are – more... on about.

When very quiet have to stand around and look busy even though the store is very quiet The management are very kind and easy to get along with.

I have learn't that there are a lot of difficult customers and don't always make life easy when you are trying to be helpful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Retail Associate (Current Employee), IrelandAugust 21, 2014
good training, clear management and always something new to do everyday as well as meeting new customers everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), LondonAugust 21, 2014
Pros: there was no free lunchs.
Cons: they could add on hours without you knowin at the time.
I work at Sports Direct on a 0 hour contrat. They would always ask you to work with them a day before giving you a days notise. Sports Direct co-workers are easy to get on with very happy people. thye hardest prt of the job would be the custmos sometimes they could be so rude and all you can do is smile and be nice to them. The most enjoyable part of – more... this job is when you can work on he shop floor helping the custermos out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Retail Assistant (Former Employee), Skegness, ENGAugust 21, 2014
Pros: 15% off every thursday
Cons: no breaks, rude staff, impolite staff
Sports Direct was a terrible place to work. Some staff were lazy and couldn't be bothered. They would kick footballs round the store when the store was open. There would be a huge queue of people in the store who i would have to serve, there would only be me and another person on the till, then that other person would go for a break and leave me. I – more... didn't get a break on the job. I would wake up at 6 in the morning to get the very first bus at 8. Then i would start work at 9;15, work for 5 hours and an extra hour because i had to put resale out and tidy up. Then get my bus after i had finished. Then get home around 4/ 5 o'clock and by that time it would be the last meal of the day. I would have no energy and i was on tablets because if i didn't eat it would lead me to pass out. And at Sports Direct i wouldn't get a break not even for a quick drink or a tiny bit to eat so i could stop myself from going dizzy. I suffer from back pain and the assistant manager was informed from the beginning and she would make me go up the ladders just to move something from the shelves. I had to have a day of work because i couldn't walk because of my back. But yet i didn't say no because that was my job role. The assistant manager would shout, swear and curse at staff in front of customers which conclude of infant children/ toddlers, parents, teenagers and the old aged. My time working at Sports Direct was terrible. I wouldn't advise anyone to work there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for people who can tempt customers into buying products easily.
Casual Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Plymouth, ENGAugust 18, 2014
Pros: the opportunity to receive commission.
Cons: constantly on your feet.
My shifts were usually only 4 hours, and I would only have under 3 shifts in a week. The members of staff were kind and fun to work with, but there were many of them, hence the lack of hours available. I learnt how to use the tills, as well as give exchanges, and give store credit via a gift card. Management were helpful when it came to getting to know – more... the 5* products, as when these things were sold by us we could receive commission if we managed to sell the product with a specific extra. Management also replied promptly when requesting more shifts. There were many co-workers at Sports Direct, so there was always someone to get along with. The hardest part of the job would have to be if you are put into basement on a hot day. There was no air conditioning, and we were always too busy to rehydrate, although those shifts would go quickly due to how busy we were. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people constantly, there was always a number of customers throughout the shift that you would enjoy talking to while serving them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Centralised and Militeristic
Part Time Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Brierley Hill, ENGAugust 18, 2014
Pros: commission bonus
Cons: inconsistent hours, poor hourly pay rate, intensity of the job, poor quality of managment
The company is completely controlled by the head office in Shirebrook. This means that individual ideas are quickly dismissed as the whole company has to have uniformity.

There is no 'typical day' at Sports Direct as 90% of staff are on Zero-Hours contracts, therefore shifts are irregular and of various lengths.

The management of the stores are again – more... dictated to by head office. However, the vast majority of store management members are heavily influenced by statistics i.e. they are likely to appreciate more tasks completed to a poor standard than fewer tasks completed to a high standard. It is also noticeable that hardly any members of management have been educated to degree level.

My co-workers I find to be extremely cutting towards each other as the competition for hours is so intense as the management often respond to hearsay by changing who receives working hours.

The hardest part of my job is getting recognition for good work and good ideas. The most enjoyable part of my job is going 'above and beyond' in order to meet the needs of a customer i.e. locating a store that has a certain product in stock. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Sales assistant (Former Employee), londonAugust 17, 2014
Pros: great environment
Cons: long hours
a typical day included; Sorted out delivery shifts in the mornings when I had early shifts, tagging of the trainers that were on the shop floor and help keep the floor tidy, customer service, given the role of supervising when supervisors had to go on breaks. I learnt about customer services even in a crowded and busy atmosphere. Great management team, – more... who kept their teams motivated. great work ethic from most co-workers.

Was awarded employee of the month. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyable job however minimal hours and pay.
Casual sales assistant (Current Employee), Salford, ENGAugust 16, 2014
Pros: free uniform, friendly co-workers.
Cons: minimal hours and pay.
I really enjoy working at Sports Direct mostly due to the people I worked with however the job itself was quite enjoyable. Despite this I get minimal hours.. sometimes as little as 3 hours a week which is kind of a let down,
A typical day starts by putting the days stock out and from then on I spend the rest of the day serving customers and it can get – more... quite busy. Most of the customers I have served have been extremely friendly and understanding however for the few that aren't Co workers have helped deal with in a calm manner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place to work if you're in the correct shop.
Casual Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Stoke-on-Trent, ENGAugust 16, 2014
Pros: lovely enviorment.
Cons: poor pay.
I really enjoy working there, however the pay is poor and since I'm on a 0 Hour contract I aren't earning enough money. Further more other reviewers have stated it is a horrible place to work in but i disagree, the other workers are kind and friendly and are lovely to talk to, the shop I work in 'New Hanley Store' is rather large and incredibly clean – more... compared to others I've been too and you don't have to wait hours for assistance either. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good First Job
Casual Sales Assistant (Former Employee), BroughtonAugust 15, 2014
I learned how to deal with customer service, how to work in a team and also how to work in a busy workplace.

I found the most enjoyable part of the job was dealing with the customers, working as a team and working on the tills.

I found all my co-workers were really helpful and friendly.

When worked there I was assistanting customers with needs and – more... requirements, tidy work area, till operation, putting out stock on shop floor and mainly retail duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, Very good management and very rewarding.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Middlesbrough, ENGAugust 15, 2014
Pros: %15 discount
Cons: n/a
A Typical day involved selling and sorting shoes, we had to sell as many shoe care as possible to achieve our store target and if we did this we all got a bonus at the end of the month.I liked my job working in sports direct because it was very active i was always doing something either cleaning the store or selling shoes or tidying the work place. – more... The people and management I worked with are great they are very helpful and gave me great confidence. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Brighton, ENGAugust 14, 2014
My job role was sales assistant , which means I had to assist costumers with their purchases and to place the clothes in a correct size order from minimum size to maximum. The hardest part was that because Sports direct in Brighton is really big we had everyday loads of costumers and you always had to be on your feet and working all the time, where – more... as the easiest one was the environment and the order of the stuff, which was really carefully placed in each section. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, tiring and stressful workplace
casual sales assistant (Former Employee), buckinghamshireAugust 14, 2014
Pros: relaxed enviroment
Cons: finishing late
Ive been at sports direct for 20 months, in my time here i learned how to communicate with customers, how to operate the technology, got trained on managers duties such as cashing up, supervising and helping close the store. The co-workers were good to work with, it was a relaxed environment where we could still have fun while we worked. The hardest – more... part of the job was doing stock takes, where shifts lasted up to 20 hours for me. But the most enjoyable part of the job was the flexibility, i could chose when i could and couldnt work which fitted my lifestyle perfectly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
-
General Assistant (Current Employee), London, ENGAugust 13, 2014
Pros: -
Cons: -
Quite fun actually, serving customers. having a bit of banter with my work colleagues at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Birmingham, ENGAugust 10, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: job its self poor management
Awful place mess your hours about very clicky place if your not in the right crowd and only give u hours when it suits them management are a joke aswel dont help staff at all
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Foot wear Assistant/Security (Former Employee), HorshamAugust 7, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: bad management
A typical day for me involved doing shoe checks such making sure all footwear was tagged, Helping customers find the correct footwear, Putting deliveries away and out on the shop floor, Also working the door as security which consisted of, Making sure the front of the store was set up correctly at the start of my shift, making shore all clothes near – more... the front door was tidy and in the correct order, keeping an eye out for shoplifters, pointing customers in the right direction of the item they are looking for.
I did learn how to work the door and what the main signs of a shoplifter is, when you put deliveries away always make sure they are in the correct place with the barcode showing so they are easy to find, always make sure that all the shoes on the tables on the shop floor are tagged correctly. To be honest the management i received during my time at sports direct was poor i was not treated as a co worker at all i was always belittled and made out to be useless and if i asked questions about a product or about the task i was set i would either get passed to someone else to show me or i would get told ill be shown in a minute but never did in my experience with previous employment the manager has always shown me what to do and the best way to do it. And if i ask questions they would explain it to me or even show me with respect and not try to belittle me.
With my fellow colleagues i was treated very well and made some good friends especially Ryan he was the one who trained me and showed me the best way to do my tasks he always showed an interest in my work and always gave me good feedback when it was deserved also would like to say that the supervisor Zoe was also a very good teacher and has a good approach to her colleagues making sure they are working to the potential but at the same time having none offensive banter. Also i would like to state that the assistant manager at sports direct Horsham Louise should be considered as becoming the new manager as she was a very good boss and was easy to approach and ask questions or even help with a task and she would always make sure everyone is happy and if not see what she could do to help and she would always get involved in the tasks for the day.
Trying to impress the manager Rosanne as what ever i did it was never good enough and the way she treat her staff is unacceptable as she shows no respect towards her staff.
The best thing about this job was meeting all my colleagues as i believe i have made some good friends. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Sales Assistant (Current Employee), London, ENGAugust 6, 2014
Pros: friendly banter with colleagues and management.
Cons: long hours and long closedowns of the store.
While I work an average day as you do in almost every other work place, you meet new people everyday you work. Whenever its busy like it is everyday, you lose track of time and almost forget that you have time limits to basically everything. I leaned more and more about how to deal with customers face to face on a daily basis.. This includes normal – more... customers that know what to get and deal with their own business and of course there's customers that have no idea of what they want or need. This is always dealt with what you learn from a normal day at work. You learn from your surroundings and most importanly your management team. The senior co-workers obviously help you out every now and then but whenever you haven't got any of them around, you need to be able to trust your own instincts and do whatever you think is right. Most of the times the hardest bit about working in a busy retailing store is that there is always atleast one customer that will stick out to you and make him or her self heard because of how long they have been waiting to get served. Obviously we dont be bias and serve whoever we want but we do out upmost best to serve every customer within the two minute mark. The best apart of the day for most staff is when the store closes but for me personally, its when I meet more and more customers as the day goes on. Its just a good feeling that you know a customer is hapy when you know that you've done your best to help them get on with their day, especially as every business wants to increase their profit, the customers do come and spend money in your store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), LondonAugust 5, 2014
My first job, taught me a lot and I gained many skills from this

1 2 3 4 5

About Sports Direct

Sports Direct International plc (LSE: SPD) is a British retailing group. Founded in 1982 by former county squash coach Mike Ashley, – Read more