Find companies:
Sports Direct
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
414 reviews

Sports Direct Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Customer assistant (Current Employee), OxfordJuly 10, 2014
The part time colleagues were fun to work with, however the full time managers could get quite petty and immature. The work place was unorganised in terms of communication due to poor hardware and also in the sense of shift placements etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Sales Advisor (Former Employee), Leeds, ENGJuly 7, 2014
Pros: was easy due to a lot of knowledge
Cons: not enough hours
I would start by coming into the workplace in the correct uniform, then either start on the till or on the shop floor where i would have to arrange the store and clean up any mess there is.

learned how to use a till.

co workers were helpful at times but sometimes they would not even speak to me.

the hardest part was serving rude customers as you – more... always have to stay friendly and helpful.

the easiest part was I enjoy sports a lot so was easy to get along with customers searching for any sports equipment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and vibrant enviroment
Sales Assistant (Current Employee), London, ENGJuly 6, 2014
Pros: the knowledge gained
Cons: zero hour contract
vibrant enviroment which keeps you on your toes as every day is different consisting of different customers with different needs all which come in you strive to do the best for them to leave satisfied and that is the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Messy and clustered
CASUAL SHOP ASSISTANT (Former Employee), GatesheadJuly 5, 2014
the shop floor is clustered with clothes and shoes as well as being a hot and overworked environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly & Busy enviroment
SALES ASSISTANT (Former Employee), kilmarnockJuly 1, 2014
Pros: meeting new people, busy, friendly
Cons: 0 hour contract
Sports Direct was a thriving sports shop in the middle of Kilmarnock town centre, there was a diverse range of customers which made the job exciting and extremely fulfilling, it also gave e more experience in stock replenishment and also cash handling and I achieved a better knowledge of customer care and realized a good basis of experience to work – more... with the general public. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3 hours a week on minimum wage
Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Newcastle UnderlymeJune 30, 2014
Pros: we get a discount on thursdays
Cons: minimal hours combined with minimal pay.
In a typical days work I am usually placed on a till where I am commanded to sell bags for life and magazines (I get warnings if I don't) - but if I am not on a till I usually hang items up around the store and try to help customers out as much as I can so that they have a good experience of the store and can be in and out as quickly as possible (Due – more... to the large mass of rails and compact space, it can be very frustrating for customers to use the store efficiently)
Although my overall rating of the store is quite poor I have learnt quite a few good things which can help an individual to work well, such as carrying tasks well as this keeps the managers from becoming annoyed with the staff. To be respectful to everyone who enters the store (Believe me, I've served all kinds of people, and under any circumstance it is best to stay polite)
On the management side of things, the managers are alright at Sports Direct.They try to give clear instructions and will try to motivate you where they can. Problems only arise when you aren't selling bags for life (We do not gain any bonus from selling bags for life) As it seems as though the only reason you are being employed is to get the managers extra money (They get bonuses when a bag for life is sold)
Overall the Co-workers are really good to get a long with and I can't give any criticism as it is really easy to get along with co workers at sportsdirect.
The hardest part of the job must be serving rowdy customers, and as I wrote earlier on. The best way to deal with all obstacles in this kind of job is to stay polite. Even if the customer in question leaves all of their departed shopping on the till, stands and waits for over an hour for a manager or making obscene comments. The best thing to always do is to stay cool and keep polite.
The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing a customer has come in and out of the shop with what they want, without their time being wasted - making the customers visit to the store as compact and easy as possible is the most enjoyable part of the job as you usually receive thanks which is quite good after being consistently told to sell bags for life "Or we may consider firing you". – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place to learn
Sales Assistant (Current Employee), livingstonJune 30, 2014
Pros: 15% discount in the store
Cons: long hours
Sports direct help you with so many things like customer service and how to work hard under-pressure and meeting sale targets and going stoke takes and stoke replenishment. Everyone treats you how you treat them and all of the are a laugh you can get along with everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work
Costumer Assistant (Former Employee), Victoria, ENGJune 26, 2014
dont even think about it, its the worst place on earth you could work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personally, a poor introduction to the working world
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee), Liverpool, ENGJune 25, 2014
Pros: the experience gained of working for a major company
Cons: the management
I would be required to work on the shoe section of the store. In doing so i would provide customer service to those looking to buy a new pair of trainers. The shifts tended to last between 4 to 6 hours. I learned the values of customer service and how vital they are to successfully selling a product. I also learned to be part of a team that were all – more... routing to make the store as successful as possible. The management however was the worst i think i will ever encounter. She was a woman who seemed to enjoy making her employees feel low about themselves and one who didn't share empathy with those who struggled at the job. She never offered any help and that that was offered rarely was also met with a feeling of frustration that she needed to actually help a member of staff. Making mistakes was not accepted. My co-workers helped me through the grueling four months of the employment by providing me with helpful advice not offered to me by the manager. The hardest part of the job was having to listen to the repeated soundtrack of poorly chosen songs as well as the horrendous management that made the place feel more like a robotic, soulless ran shop rather than a place for young employees to be welcomed to the exciting world of work. The most enjoyable part of the job was the fulfillment of learning new skills from fellow employees that have helped me achieve success in both education and future employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Sales assosiate (Former Employee), Birmingham, ENGJune 25, 2014
Pros: 1 hour lunch
Cons: long hours
Very tough going, Always busy, always tasks to do. Speaking to customers constantly and developing your communication skills whilst trying to sell bonuses to earn extra commision.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace - very little else
Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Manchester, ENGJune 25, 2014
Pros: sociable staff, sometimes friendly customers
Cons: zero hour contract, little scope for promotion, little scope for shifts
Though the company provides the most hands-on experience and training with High Street retail that you could hope to achieve, the company is awful in its treatment of staff - in particular the CAST, or the Casual Sales Assistants.

Their penchant for employing people on a zero-hour contract works in their favour and benefits them heavily, leaving the – more... staff reeling. I could work three shifts one week and then have nothing the next; I could be told I was needed in work as late as 11pm the night before.

The store managers and supervisors, though helpful and friendly, are responsible for drawing up the rotas, and knowingly omit people that need work from the schedule.

The one saving grace of the work is that everybody else is in the same boat as you - the other CAST members are sociable, friendly, and make the job worth working. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
can be a hard place to work in
Customer service (Current Employee), Redcar, ENGJune 25, 2014
Pros: made some good friends
Cons: never enough members of staff especially on a busy day
each day is different depends how busy the store is
I have learned a lot in my job etc using a till, pairing up shoe cards with new shoes, cashing up at the end of the day and much more
I think the management could be better most of the time they stand around when loads of work is to be done and think they aren't strong enough with staff
I have made – more... some good friends in my co-workers but do think some of them can be lazy at times and know management wont say much to them about it
the hardest part of the job is delivery days trying to process delivery and continue to serve customers on and off the till
the most enjoyable part of the job is putting new stock out and having to use your own initiative and have to move stuff around to get new stock out – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable p,ace to work.
Part Time Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Exeter, ENGJune 24, 2014
Pros: commission items and great managers.
Cons: same thing different day.
Sports Direct is a great place to work, great colleagues, great management and great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales assistant
Sales Assistant leading to Supervisor (Former Employee), Leicester, ENGJune 20, 2014
Pros: every day is different
Cons: some unsociable working hours
wide variety of jobs and stock to deal with. friendly staff. learned alot of new skills. really enjoyed being trained to handle exchanges and returns.
really enjoyed the variety and general bustle of a busy store
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long, long hours
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Borehamwood, ENGJune 20, 2014
10-12 hours a day. Workload impossible to manage and labour % shockingly low with no vision for customer service or security
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mot the best place to work in the short term
customer service and stock management (Current Employee), Inverness, SCTJune 19, 2014
Pros: easy to get into
Cons: you can get hours but they don't tell you
you're expected to start 15 minutes earlier and wait 15 minuets later it may be only half an hour extra but if your doing a split shift with an "hour lunch" break then you only get half an hour. the co-workers can be friendly but there are quite a few that harass and bully you. the company has a style that they knock you down then build you back up – more... it doesn't work if you've been through that your whole life and built a resistance to that kind of behavior. the hardest part of the job is dealing with your co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work at
Customer Service (Current Employee), hayesJune 17, 2014
Sports Direct has given me the opportunity to enhance my customer service skills. I dealt with customers from all sorts of backgrounds and the fast paced environment has enabled me to get better at what i do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, bad environment.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Oxford, ENGJune 17, 2014
Pros: working on the till
Cons: badly organised manager.
The staff where all amazing at thier job however the manager didnt seem to know what he was doing and was hindering the work more then helping to make it more efficient. Days working there where busy, the hardest part of the job was stocking the shelves from deliveries and there was no organisation to the shop really, The most enjoyable part of the – more... job was working on the tills as i got to help customers to go home happy! i learned how a manager is no different to anyone else and sometimes you just have to use you iniciative. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy and intense
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Manchester FortJune 17, 2014
If you want a job that keeps you busy and you are always with customers, then Sports Direct is the job for you! At the store that I worked at, it was always under-staffed which meant we were always serving customers. Most of the time it was just me and 2 other guys on the shopfloor (shoes department).
I learned how to multi-task and serve customers – more... rapidly.
The management was great as they are easy going and do not expect too much from you.
Co workers were really relaxed and friendly.
Hardest part of the job was maintaining standards of the shopfloor as it can get really busy. Furthermore, it can get quite clostraphobic.
Most enjoyable part of the job is the amount of food places around the store (Manchester Fort). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and always learning something new
Casual Sales Person (Current Employee), AberdeenJune 17, 2014
Good working hours , there always a way to earn more good friendly staff

1 2 3 4 5

About Sports Direct

Sports Direct International plc (LSE: SPD) is a British retailing group. Founded in 1982 by former county squash coach Mike Ashley, – Read more