Find companies:
SPORTING LIFE
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

SPORTING LIFE Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Winter seasonal job
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 23, 2014
Working at sporting life during the winter season was challenging yet fun. Although the thing about working in retail you have to be nice to all of the customers no matter what.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting voluntary position
Registry Coordinator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 27, 2014
this is a voluntary position that I do outside of work.
i keep a well balance work life schedule
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diverse environment, great job culture.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMay 19, 2014
Pros: well balanced schedule
Cons: not physically demanding enough
helped me develop a lot of personal skills and gave me hands on experience in working one on one with customers. typical day at work consisted of restocking, setting up displays, basic housekeeping, as well as regular customer interaction and sales of hard goods products. most enjoyable part of the job was the social aspect of relating product to the – more... consumers needs. I didnt really find this job to challenging as social skills is one of my strong suits and I would be interested in pushing myself harder in order to learn skills in other areas such as more labor intensive work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
minimum effort for minimum wage
eCommerce Slave (Current Employee), 2665 yonge stMay 15, 2014
Pros: it's on yonge street
Cons: pretty much everything else
if you're looking for a job that will suck the soul right out of you, and where the managers couldn't give two squirts about you...this is the place! they pay minimum wage, and don't give raises over 10 cents. there's people who have been working here for almost 14 years, and they're only JUST making $14/hr. it's pathetic.

i won't lie, i could give – more... less than half a **** about the customers or their concerns. why should i? the managers don't care about me, so i don't care about their customers. sporting life claims to be passionate, but from what i can gather...the ONLY thing they're passionate about is taking your money. which they do...hand over fist.

seriously...work somewhere else. you'll hate yourself if you work here...lord knows i do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Footwear and Hardgoods Lead Hand (Current Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: good place to learn and grown as a person especially for business
Cons: lack of good salary
Sporting Life is a good place to learn about big business and how the little things affect the overall aspects of the company in terms of sales. It is a good work environment for people of many ages, races, and cultures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Sporting Life
Sales Associate (Current Employee), SherwayJanuary 22, 2014
A typical day at work involves attending a 30-minute PK (product knowledge) meeting prior to beginning the shift, and then continuing the work day by greeting and assisting customers. During the points of the shift where no customers are in the store, I occupy my time by keeping the floor clean, and ensuring all products are where they are supposed – more... to be.
During my time with this company, I have learned customer service skills, and have gained knowledge regarding the products sold in the store.
I enjoy the managers a lot, and specifically liked that they are understanding and appreciative of the efforts I continue to present. I also enjoy and work well with my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company bad management
Ecommerce Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 27, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule if you're a student, employee discount, free ski trip
Cons: low pay, long shifts, lazy managers, work over load, unrealistic customers
Ecommerce is poorly ran, it was truly running like a sweatshop in the basement of the Yonge street location. We were always understaffed and everyone was lazy, most of the time I ended up eating my luch while typing a report that a manager should've done. Everyone pretends to care when the owners come around, once they leave it's back on the slave ship.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Part Time Cashier (Current Employee), Etobicoke, ONSeptember 3, 2013
A typical day for me at Sporting Life consists of punching in and tending to customers' needs and inquiries at check out. I learned a lot about customer service and different corporate policies. The management team in Cash office are all great people and the work-life balance was enforced well. My co-workers were all friendly and we got along really – more... well. The hardest part of my job as a cashier, was being able to adapt to the different customers, with that said; the most enjoyable part of my job was meeting so many different people every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best in Class
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Toronto, OntarioAugust 25, 2013
Pros: industry clout; exposure to upscale retail environment and brands; great people
Cons: spotty training, evening & weekend work required, feedback loop from management needs to be better, downstairs warehouse and e-commerce staff need better recognition and respect
Retail is not a highly valued career in North America, and this is sad. It's a job that's difficult to do well, and easy to do badly. Sporting Life is one of the best in class retailers in NA, and it shows. High staff to customer ratio; quality of brands they carry; and training they provide (though to be candid, this could be improved). Wages are competitve – more... for the industry, but the real benefit working for SL is the cache the store carries. It does carry clout on a resume to say you've worked at SL. They do promote from within, so you can work your way up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with plenty of opportunity for advancement
Store Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 14, 2013
Pros: the ability to contribute in a variety of areas of the company.
I thoroughly enjoyed my time at Sporting Life. It provided me with plenty of opportunity for professional development and advancement. The leadership group were industry leaders and a pleasure to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SLAVERY
E- COMMERES (Former Employee), YONGE AND EGLINGTONMarch 12, 2013
Cons: long hours.horrible employee discount, everyone watches you as if your stealing, no employee parking
TODAY I DECIDED TO RESIN MY EMPLOYMENT WITH SPORTING LIFE INC IN THE ECOMMERCE DEPARTMENT AND IT WAS THE BEST THING I'VE EVER DONE FOR MY MENTAL SANITY.

I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS JOB TO EVEN A DOG
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere, friendly coworkers!
Ecommerce Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Toronto, ON - YONGE St.November 8, 2012
Pros: great benefits, fair wage, friendly staff, store discount
Ecommerce web sales management, website upkeep, promotions and campaigns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sporting Life
Sales assistant (Current Employee), YongeNovember 8, 2012
Great place to work, they really take good care of their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
From my first interview Sporting Life made an impression with me
Management (Current Employee), Toronto, Ont.November 8, 2012
Pros: incredibly friendly warm work environment
Cons: you'll become a "lifer" and find it hard to work anywhere else.
From the moment I stepped into my first interview at Sporting Life to work here I knew it was a special place. My interviewer made me feel so welcomed and appreciated that I would have taken any job that they would have offered. It's now been just over 8 years and that feeling of Sporting Life being a special place has never wavered. The work environment – more... is the most enjoyable I've ever been apart of. Waking up every morning to come to work is never hard when work is this enjoyable. Add on great benefits, outside work events for staff to participate in and it all adds up to making Sporting Life a truly unique place to be a part of. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Head Office (Current Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 8, 2012
Pros: 100% paid for medical & dental benefits, flexible schedule, challenging work, discount
Sporting Life is one fo the best companies that I have worked for. They are flexible, innovative, and exciting. The people are wonderful to be around - makes coming to work a pleasure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What You Learned
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Etobicoke, ONNovember 5, 2012
Having starting as a cashier, I've had no experience in selling sports equipment. My first couple weeks as a sales associate my coworkers helped me out a lot throughout my time selling products. They have taught me everything I know to this day on products such as racquets, ski boots and snowboards, only to name a few. Also by having product knowledge – more... meetings have helped me better understand technologies on products. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing family environment!!
Associate Buyer and Department Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 25, 2012
Fantastic training! Truly a great environment to work in, everyone was a true team player and always willing to help! Really made you feel like part of a family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an overall okay experience at Sporting Life
Full-Time Cashier (Former Employee), Sherway GardensOctober 23, 2012
Pros: discount
Cons: health benefits
A typical day at work was to greet and cash out customers, help and direct them if they needed it. In the middle of the day, we would count all cash trays and make sure credit card, debit and cash transactions all balanced. I learned a lot when it came to how to handle and deal with all sorts of customers. The management could have been better. I think – more... when you're on a management team, there should be NO favorite employees and everyone should be treated equally. In all work environment, you'll always find employees that act up and act immature to co-workers and customers. The hardest part is tying to make all customers leave happy and have them have a great shopping experience. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting and interacting with different people on a daily basis.. – less

About SPORTING LIFE

The Sporting Life is invigorating. The Sporting Life is fun. The Sporting Life is satisfying. Its ski, its après ski and – Read more