Sport Chek Employee Reviews

Found 239 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours, Great management, and a good work environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB23 August 2016
A typical day at work would consist of completing many tasks while also staying available to the customers demands and needs. these various tasks include re-stocking product on display, general maintenance of the department and a selection of nightly assigned cleaning duties such as sweeping and or changing the garbage's in the department
Pros
flexible hours, stress free environment
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, Very laid back
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 October 2016
Fun place to work, had a good experience. At times manager's weren't always concerened with how their staff felt but overall good retail job.
Pros
Laid back environment, gained sporting knowledge, learned different skills
Cons
Low wages, demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier and Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 January 2017
A cashiers typical day at work include:

Customer Service
Handle money
Answer phones
Close the store
Count Tills
File paperwork

Great workplace, professional and fair company
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting workplace
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON8 December 2016
- thrilling but busy
- how to be more open and sociable
- welcoming
- very funny and kind
- walking around for 8 hour's
- socializing with customers
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
very few breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's fun if you got a great group of people
Apparel Associate (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON31 March 2016
A typical day in softgoods can get boring but with great staff the time goes by really quick. The tasks are not that mentally and physically demanding and so it's a rather easy going work environment. The management team at my location is probably one of the best in the province they do great job of maintaining a respectful yet casual and fun atmosphere. The hardest part of the job would probably be maintenance of the store and meeting standards but with on going practice and team effort its always achievable.
Pros
discount
Cons
boring shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sport chek
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON20 July 2016
Great place to work for they have the best discount for any company that i know of. Management could be a bit more consistent but what can you do
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Service Technican - Hardgoods sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON21 September 2016
- Very productive and busy days, processing sale item's and mechanically fixing sports equipment.
- Gained product knowledge through out each department. Certified with ski/snowboard companies within the service shop.
- Great staff to work with.
- Easy and enjoyable work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad
Retail Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 January 2017
Most of the team are understanding of family matters. Can at times be a fast paced environment. The team does have some good members!
Pros
discount
Cons
manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3 Interviews later....
no job (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON6 October 2016
At both Burlington stores. Manager wasn't even there for the third one. Interview lasted 3 minutes.
Disappointing for a 16 year old trying to find a job and has work experience.
Very poor hiring practices.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people with a welcoming and fun atmosphere
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB4 August 2016
A typical day at work for me is standing behind a desk, tidying up, and helping customers with their purchases. Ive learned more about sports than anything, but I've also gained great communication skills with not only customers but the people I work with. The best part about my job is when the customer leaves in a great mood and are satisfied with their purchase.
Pros
Our discounts
Cons
slow days
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first experiences
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB18 March 2016
Typical days at work with my work experiences were usually busy or half busy. I learned to clean the floors, make goody bags, and stock shelves. Never had to be a manager. They were the best co-workers out there and were really to learn how teach me new experiences for when i get a real job. The hardest part of the job was waking up two hours early and going out to the work place before 8AM. Lunch was the most enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
Free lunch, learning new experiences, and interacting with other people
Cons
Long hours, usually if i showed up late, I would have lunch late
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and very advance place to work at
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON18 October 2016
You'll learn a lot from working here, great environment, hard working staff, amazing managers.. couldn't have asked for a better job. Discount is really good but a little bit more would've been nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Belleville, ON17 May 2016
Great place to work. The pay is in line with any other retail job. They are extremely flexible to life/other jobs, and the best management team I have ever worked for. Highly recommend this job to someone who want to work in retail.
Pros
great discount
Cons
not many full time positions
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Welland, ON6 June 2016
I enjoy working at Sport chek because the people there are kind, hard working and willing to train. Management is understanding. I would recommend working there if you can.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace environment
Hardgoods Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS7 September 2016
Great team of part time stuff, met a lot of really nice people, some who I am glad to call friends. This helps make the work environment a fun and positive place.
Pros
ability to change own availability on schedule as it changes.
Cons
unpaid lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment with great co-workers
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  London, ON3 May 2016
By working at SportChek I have been able to grow with time management, and my social skills and my knowledge in the footwear department. The staff there is more than entertaining and as collective group, we try to provide every costumer with the "Complete Experience"
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 September 2016
It was a fun and productive team to work with. Understanding the product knowledge about all sporting goods made it worth while to work there. Always a good time.
Pros
Happy customers
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced workplace with a positive company message and friendly atmosphere
Cash Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 October 2015
Fun place to work at with great employee discounts. Decent amount of red tape and politics. Management dynamics are sometimes stressful but expected of a big company. Work expectations vary greatly depending on the department you work in.
Pros
Great employee discount
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK13 July 2016
Help customers get sized up for shoes, open up fitting rooms, give people knowledge about our products and our return/exchange policy.
Learned about shoes and the different types, learned about clothing and the different material each is used for, learned how to properly size for shoes and learning about all the products you have to deal with.
Co-workers make the workplace enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sportchek Hardgoods Associate
Floor Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 May 2016
Typical Retail Job, the management are generally low quality and turn-over quickly, making the job more difficult,
This job is more suited for students
Pros
Great discounts
Cons
Low Quality management
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 243 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9