Find companies:
Sport Chek
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
74 reviews

Sport Chek Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work if management did their job.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Sherwood Park, ABJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: good discount, amazing co-workers
Cons: bad management, bad hours
It is an amazing place to work and get some sales experience, there is a lot to learn and there are more than enough videos to train you. the biggest Con in my opinion is the lack of management, if anything were to go wrong they would simply say "not my problem" as I am a hard worker who is willing to get the job done at any cost, I feel like i was – more... abused and taken advantage of, there was periods of time where I was called in for a week straight or even double booked to work all day. There was just numerous problems with the way the store was ran, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work atmosphere
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: social aspect
it was a fast paced friendly environment that made each day of work exciting
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales associate (Former Employee), Saskatoon, SKJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: dealing with people
Cons: only evening work.
Dealt with the general public in a retail setting. Doing merchandising and team leading when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be the high school student's dream job...
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Belleville, ONDecember 10, 2013
Began working at SportChek in 2006 and recently left because upper management was absolutely awful to deal with. Working at Sportchek CAN be amazing, the idea of teamwork really builds a mini "family" among staff within the store, however if the management lacks positive reinforcement and desires only power and control for him/herself, everything below – more... that seems to crumble. Likewise, I am sure this would happen with all stores!
Specific Issues:
1) scheduling was done according to who management was friends with
2) upper management was hypocritical - would tell part-timers they couldn't do certain things, and then do them theirselves
3) upper management was condescending and unappreciative - didn't matter what you did or how much work you put in, it generally went unnoticed
4) upper management could not be trusted -- confidential meetings or discussions were often NOT kept confidential
5) communication with upper management was almost non-existent because she/he was intimidating and disrespectful
Unfortunately, this store is not a good representation of the company -- FGL is a great company to work for, as I have worked in another SportChek that had an amazing reputation! Although the discount is enticing, the atmosphere seems great for those of you that live an active lifestyle, and the people are youthful and friendly, none of that makes up for the condescending, selfishness of upper management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SportChek
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Kingston, ONDecember 9, 2013
Pros: good company, love to product i work with
Cons: not enough hours. could go weeks with no shifts.
You come to work go over what is on sale. Then go on the floor and help customers with questions on product. What i have learned working at spotchek is customer service and product knowledge. Everyone that i work with is out going and easy to work with. The hardest part of the job is to remember so much of the product. I really enjoy the work environment – more... and the people i work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sportchek doesn't make sense, don't try to make sense of it, you will be saddened with how much less sense this place makes, with time.
Sales associate - Clothing (Current Employee), Owen Sound, ONDecember 8, 2013
Pros: employee discount, satisfaction of helping customers/people, knowing that this is rock bottom
Cons: wildebeest, still working here
The wildebeest is a very under-experienced member of authority, to be in a position of power and supervision over people. The wildebeest will blame you for every problem, even if you weren't present for the shift in which the problem(s) arouse. The wildebeest will blame you for someone else's problem, because you are present. The wildebeest doesn't – more... understand the tasks in which it delegates. If you are talking for more than one second with a co-worker, about work-related tasks, it will attempt to destroy you with it's deathly heat-seeking laser eye rocket nukes, but the odds are it won't see you because it will either be turning it's back on you to look at 1/2 of departments it is responsible for, or it will be taking generous amounts of smoke breaks. The wildebeest would be missed by none, if it imploded from the energy expelled from the clashing levels of stupidity and unreasonable madness, released potently from her facial area. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Day Everyday
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Sudbury, ONNovember 10, 2013
At Sportchek on non-busy days I fill my time organizing the front cashier area, hanging and security tagging clothing and assisting customers when other associates may be busy. My managers refer to me as the neat freak of all the cashiers working at Sportchek, they have reassurance when I am working that I will not only do my job properly but go above – more... and beyond. At times working with certain customers can be difficult but when handled with appropriately and efficiently I find that my unsatisfied customers always leave happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sport Chek
Sales Support Coordinator (Current Employee), Sport ChekOctober 26, 2013
LOVE working here. Great place to work. Good company. Good managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very positive enviornment to work in.
Cashier (Current Employee), oshawa, ONOctober 3, 2013
Pros: free promotional shirts
Cons: under staffed
I love the job. People are very kind and have great work ethics, everyone pulls their weight on the job. It is also very well organized and helps you achieve experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the fun environment.
Cashier (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABAugust 20, 2013
Pros: discount on products
I really enjoyed the customer relations. The atmosphere was fun and enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVE my job.
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee), Chatham, ONAugust 14, 2013
Pros: friendly people
Cons: a lot of technical information
GREAT PLACE TO WORK !
- good people
- good management
- lots to learn
- good discount
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An alright job
Technician (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 2, 2013
Pros: its money
Cons: low pay
I would get in there and sign myself up, then i would just go straight
to the bikes and start building, did that pretty much all day until anyone need help or assistance, then we would have to clean up the place and have a bag check, lock up after that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONJune 15, 2013
Pros: working there
great staff, fun times at work seems like one big happy family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Footwear Sales Associate (Former Employee), Owen Sound, ONJune 13, 2013
Pros: great discount, flexible schedule, fun working environment
Cons: lack of hours, minimal breaks
I worked at Sportchek for almost two years. In the beginning, it seemed like a very positive place to work with a good amount of hours working around school and social life. However, being a new sales associate comes with lack of knowledge. From my experience, it seems you are given approximately one month to prove yourself worthy and if not, they will – more... cut your hours to the bare minimum(one shift a week or less). Although you can redeem yourself, this will take time, recognition from co-workers, and positive feedback from customers, in getting your desired amount of hours back. I found it helped to stay on the manager's good side by doing my work both efficiently and correctly. If you do something incorrect, your co-workers will put you down and make you seem like a complete idiot, talking only behind your back. I found this to be most evident within the adults rather than the students. If you smoke, you will enjoy the endless smoke breaks provided and if you don't, you might as well start to exceed your one, half hour lunch break you get if your shift is five hours or longer. The most positive part I found about the job would have to be the cost plus 10% discount storewide. You're limited to $2000 discount per year but it could be shared with friends and family as well. All in all, Sportchek didn't seem like too bad of a place to work. I would recommend it to anyone with a busy schedule, looking for part-time hours, and a good discount on sporting goods. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was work expereience
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCJune 5, 2013
• Greeted and assisted the customers in clothing and footwear department
• Tagged, shelved and organized new arrival products
• Used the scanning device to sort out clearance/on sale merchandise
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sport Chek Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee), OakvilleMay 29, 2013
Typical work day consisted of standing at the cash and working with customers and co-workers. Also cleaning and hanging clothes when traffic in the store was low
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A workplace that you can always learn from
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Ottawa, OntarioMay 18, 2013
A typical day at work for me would include a lot of team work with the other staff members, trying to make the customers' experience as easy and enjoyable as possible.

Over the past three years, I've learned so much from this company but I think what stands out the most is how I've learned to handle customers who may have been dissatisfied and trying – more... to help in the situation as best as I can. This is also the hardest part of my job.

I truly believe the most enjoyable part of my job is the fact that all of our staff members get along really well. We try to keep each other happy so that we can keep the customers happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work relates to interests
Part time sales associate (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 9, 2013
Pros: great discount
Sportchek allows me to work while also staying active in sports. They encourage time off requests for athletic responsibilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work during summer
Footwear Associate (Former Employee), Etobicoke, ONMay 3, 2013
Pros: great environment
Cons: not enough shifts to suit my living.
Typical days at work is smiling and helping customers meet their needs, which isn't hard for me at all. Footwear sales is easy as 1-2-3 seeing that i love shoes. management was ok, didn't see them too much but i had a great supervisor on staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great First Job
Sporting Equipment Sales Associate (Former Employee), Langley, BCApril 25, 2013
Pros: employee discounts
Cons: no hours
Friendly management and co-workers, respectful work environement aswell as customers.

About Sport Chek

Sport Chek is one of the largest Canadian retailer of sporting clothing, sports equipment, with stores across Canada (excluding – Read more

Sport Chek Photos