Sport Chek Employee Reviews

Found 325 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC14 August 2017
Typical day at work:
- Staging new product
- Organizing product for positive visualization

Management:
- Fun and relaxed
- Easy going

Workplace Culture:
- Relaxed
Pros
Fun staff
Cons
Mall hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Sport chek cashier (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC10 August 2017
It's a straightforward job. I work as a cashier and sometimes the day can go by very slow. There are great discounts however and the people at work are nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good discount for employees.
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC2 August 2017
Hourly pay is less and no commission. Getting along with staff is easy. Fun place to work as long as your doing your duties right. No commission so no targets that's good.
Pros
No daily targets and good discount for employees
Cons
No commission and less hourly wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace with amazing people
Cashier and Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Spruce Grove, AB1 August 2017
Fun place to work
Great training
Most of the managers are outgoing, fun, and friendly
Employees are typically on the younger side
Hardest Part - mean customers
Most Enjoyable - the people
Pros
the employees and work atmosphere
Cons
Mean Customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 July 2017
It was okay. Management was sleezy at times. Disrespectful.
The way women were treated were sub par. Sometimes managers put down people or talked rudely to others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stepping stone company
Clothing Department Sales/Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Pitt Meadows, BC27 July 2017
A typical day at work would include helping customers, creating plans for my employees and most importantly, creating a positive atmosphere to work in.
I learned that all you must be aware and respect those differences.
The management team consists of department sales managers, assistant managers, store managers and district managers.
The workplace culture is maybe what the company struggles with most because of the large amount of employee turnover and the large corporation restrictions with payroll and scheduling hours.
The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people who are like minded and interested in the same activities as everyone else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Hard Goods Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON27 July 2017
management are awesome and very understanding. Very fun place to work and great people that work there that make your shift go by quick. The employee discount is awesome!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good expeirence
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON26 July 2017
Discount is worth it. Pretty flexible. Management for the most part is pretty great easy work can be boring..........................................
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job with good discount
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK19 July 2017
Sportchek is a good company to work for. it typically employees high school, just out of high school and university student. Sportchek can be busy at some points in the year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No complaints
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON19 July 2017
Everyone was good to work with, they were all down to earth to people's.
Liked the department I was in, which was sports, cause of my well knowledge of the sports equipment and etcs.
Overall No complaints.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Noun
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

Want to know more about Sport Chek?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sportchek
Service Technician/ Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Swift Current, SK17 July 2017
on going fight everyday with management, very very boring. only have 30 minute breaks in 8 hour shift no breaks in a 5 hour shift. not a job for a smoker for sure. must have patience
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community oriented
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC12 July 2017
- Always engaging with other employees
- Learned how to interact with customers and sell to their needs while creating a genuine conversation
- Great management, very organized training and instructing
- Difficult to learn locations of products in a short amount of time, but fellow team members are incredibly supportive and helpful in this process
- Enjoyable to connect with team mates and customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Associate (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB12 July 2017
Sportchek is a great place to work in my opinion. very fun, and if you work hard they will let you advance and move up, which is really great. an interest in sports does not hurt
Pros
discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Hardgoods associate (Current Employee) –  Dartmouth Crossing, NS10 July 2017
Sportchek offers a great environment for anyone and everyone who they employ, they offer great benefits and fair salaries. They are very understanding and willing to work around your schedule they also offer a lot of extras for those who are interested
Pros
Availability
Cons
Long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier/visual merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON9 July 2017
Sport check is a great company to work for. They're very flexiable and it's. Great company for so one who's balancing work and family or school. The managment is great and they promote within the company. They offer extensive training and make sure there staff is knowledgeable in the products they sell. They offer a great employee discount as well
Pros
Discount, flexable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i really enjoyed my job here.
Stock Person (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK7 July 2017
I really enjoyed job here.
It was a great learning experience '
it was one of my first job experiences
The staff were great .
I really enjoyed the workplace
The management was great
Pros
working in a mall
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management ruins the experience.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON5 July 2017
For a student the pay is great. The job started out fun and I found myself in a great environment. However as time went on the store was less and less enjoyable to work at. Co workers were great all staff loved eachother besides management. Management picks favourites and gives them all the hours and slack. Anyone that isnt picked as a favourite will get terrible hours and will be constantly in trouble for doing nothing wrong. I would recommend for a seasonal job only however hours are VERY inconsistent. Anyone else I would recommend working elsewhere.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC3 July 2017
i loved working at sportcheck because i am an athlete, but the work environment is pre good, the co-workers are nice and the pay is great. i learnt quite a lot during my time there.
Pros
relaxing environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work but has its flaws
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 June 2017
I've been working for Sportchek for two years now and I've worked at multiple locations. Every location has been a great place to work, because the staff are incredibly nice and knowledgeable. The draw backs are the pay as well as management. Management just doesn't seem to care about staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place, management could be better
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC29 June 2017
Fun place to work if you are young, pay was worth it. If you are a good worker they will give you the hours you ask for. Flagship store with a lot of standards to maintain, so don't recommend if you plan on doing nothing as there is always something to do. Management could be better, they mostly do nothing but stand there and tell the full timers to make sure you are doing something. Discount is great, not for launch items though.
Pros
Fun work environment
Cons
Management does nothing but stand around
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sport Chek. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 330 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.9