Find companies:
Sport Chek
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
74 reviews

Sport Chek Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Part Time Sales Associate (Clothing) (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: employee discount is cost plus 10%
Cons: the employee discount is limited and the pay is low.
For the hours you are scheduled to work, you are primarily talking with customers or cleaning the store so it looks neat and tidy.

During my time there I learned all there is to know about clothing from the different fabrics to the overall design and purpose of certain products.

The management overall is pretty relaxed. If you ever need time off for – more... anything, they will generally give you the day off. At the same time, they do there best to make sure your busy when you are at work if your not busy already.

Co-workers for the most part are very nice, humorous, and enjoyable to talk to. That being said they can be quick to file a complaint if someone isn't pulling their weight in their job related duties (which rarely happens) but for the most part are easy going.

The hardest part of the job is keeping yourself occupied during the slow hours of the day.

The most enjoyable part of the day is being able to meet some amazing being. On a regular basis, professional athletes may shop at your store for various sporting good items, and if you listen, they may have an interesting story to tell. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everything is bogus
Sales associate (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: everything else
Customer service and common sense sure didnt meet there standards.. you cant take an employee there seriously and management sucks !
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with young people
ASSISTANT STORE MANAGER (Former Employee), Pitt Meadows, BC , Burnaby BCAugust 25, 2014
Pros: young energetic sales advisors, great product discounts, bonus opportunities.
Cons: long hours, unappreciated by upper management
Great place to work, but you are working with many young people. This can sometimes be challenging to maintain a professionalism within the workplace. Driving the customer experience and sales is of top priority. There are few opportunities for advancement within the Greater Vancouver area. Discounts and bonus potentials are fantastic. Paid on a 40 – more... hour work week. Expect to work 50 hours minimum. Longest week for me was 85 hours during holiday periods. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always something to do and always learning
Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee), Mississauga, OntAugust 13, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: constant cleaning
I would get in, check if shoes, clothes or equipment is clean in each station. Then clean the fitting rooms. After I know all of that is complete, I would go into the back and organize everything back there such as hockey, soccer, football equipment. I learned such things as organizing better and safer. I learned to take way more initiative and I learned – more... how to not be scared to ask questions if you are unsure. My co-workers were really outgoing, nice and really nice to talk to and they helped me with a lot of things around Sport Chek. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Owen Sound, ONAugust 12, 2014
Pros: commission, discounts, opportunities
Cons: retail hours
Sport Chek was one of my first jobs and I really enjoyed my time here. I worked for Sport Chek when high commission rates were still being paid out and it made a huge difference in my life as a young employee.

I was able to learn a lot about multiple sports and it gave me the confidence to get out there and be outgoing in public!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with great co-workers
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Cambridge, ONJuly 28, 2014
A typical day working at Sportchek consists of interactions with a lot of new people, which for me was the greatest part of the job because you got to build a relationship with customers as you were assisting them with what they needed. My co-workers at Sportchek were great, everyone was friendly and dependable whenever something would come up and i – more... needed shift covered (which is very rare). The hardest part of the job was helping out with the shipping portion because we would receive shipments of six or more skids and only have approximately five hours to clear them out. What i learned during my time at Sportchek was that friendly service and a positive attitude does in fact go a long way. I have had customers return and ask for me to assist them because they felt that the service was great and that i made the shopping experience enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Technician (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 24, 2014
I met a lot of good people in this company and had many good memories with the people that I worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a cool place.
Hard Goods Sales (Current Employee), Kitchener, ONJuly 20, 2014
It's a fun place to be. Good people, good products, location was close to my house. I liked it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace good people
Cashier (Current Employee), Victoria, BCJuly 14, 2014
Pros: discount, people, management, friendly enviorment, good company
Cons: salary, not enough hours
i have only worked for sport chek for couple months and so far its a good job. fun work place to be in with people who all have something in common. making friends is really easy.
the discount there is awesome and helps a lot
they are open to suggestions and management is awesome
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As always it starts with Management and goes downhill
Footwear (Former Employee), Lindsay, ONJune 26, 2014
Pros: inspiring other people, discount of merchandise
Cons: the management and the ones who had their head in the sand shaking
The saying of you are only as good as your manager allows comes into play in the location I was in. I am not going to negate the entire company based on the one location I worked at but will tell you exactly what it was like.

Was a new store being built in our mall, Running is my life and was excited to be a part of the team, however in 6 months of – more... opening, the shifting happens where managers move on and while that is great and all, the management they had in place lied on her resume about management experience and the two years I was under her, had no word of a lie 50 people quit due to her pathetic management skills.

She was allowed to bad mouth staff to her fellow co-workers and management team, and decided that to make up for her insecurity she would in bark orders, or make up stuff to make her look good.

The beauty was, customers complained about her! And yet she was being geared up to be Store Manager. Unreal.

Because I enjoyed the staff I worked with, the people I met and the great perks of discounts I subjected myself to being put down daily by her.

The other beauty of it all, I was part time which was fine but my sales beat hers by a long shot and the one they wanted to gear to full time was dealing drugs out of the shoe box. Think I am kidding--its Lindsay, enough said.

This was 2 years ago, and I am long gone and now a manager with another sports company. I use her as an example of how not to manage.

You would think 50 people quitting due to one person, would wake FGL -now Can Tire- up not to mention the countless emails to customer service would alert that there is something wrong but nope somehow she was allowed to act like that is now laughable and just plain pathetic. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing workplace and great co-workers
sales associate (Former Employee), Victoria, BCJune 7, 2014
Pros: friendly co-workers treats everybody with respect and compassion. very organized
Cons: no cons in my opinion
Amazing working environment surrounded by employees that share the same interest and passion about sports and providing a welcoming and inclusive working environment to both employees and customers. Product Knowledge is key to providing a well rounded experience for the customer. Hardest part would have to be remembering all the Specs on each product, – more... and the best part would have to be the general atmosphere of the store – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere to work and very friendly management team.
Customer Service (Current Employee), BowmanvilleMay 30, 2014
I enjoy this job. The people are great and the shifts are manageable. They flex to your needs based on what you are available to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Place
Cashier (Former Employee), Barrie, ONMay 19, 2014
Pros: staff discount
A good place to work, most coworkers and managers were good to work with... others maybe not so much. Overall good experience, great discounts and reasonable with hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment with customers and co-workers alike
Hardgoods Sales Associate (Current Employee), Pembroke, ONMarch 28, 2014
Pros: great atmosphere, good people
Cons: no advancement, click groups
Sport Chek is a good starting job for any teen. It provides a fun and fast paced environment that keeps you on your toes. The work loads are well managed, and you always have another task to complete.

Shifts can consist of machine maintenance, department overhauls, stock placement, floor organization, and general customer services.

Management is well – more... coordinated and provides a fall-back to any associate who is unsure of anything on the floor. They provide enormous support to their sales personnel and are a solid backbone for the franchises. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Associate/Stock (Former Employee), Toronto ONMarch 10, 2014
This work environment was fun very lay back but also extremely productive. I've learned a lot of organizing skills and communication skills. They management was very fair as well as helpful. This job wasn't hard at all because they made me feel welcome and i enjoyed working there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun work place
Cashier (Current Employee), Owen Sound, ONMarch 10, 2014
High paced work environment, with continuing product knowledge. Enjoyable atmosphere with high employee moral. Productive team work throughout the store. Average day duties include customer service, price checks, merchandising, and daily house keeping duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get to interact with costumers, and sell merchandise
Sportchek (Current Employee), EdmontonFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: you get a good discount
Cons: you do not get a a break for a five hour shift, and you only get a 30 min break for a 8 hour shift
I have to clean stocks, and sell merchandise giving costumers the knowledge i know about the costumers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laid back and fun
Cashier (Former Employee), edmonton AlbertaFebruary 19, 2014
it was a good part-time job but there is definite things that could be improved on with management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales associate
Sales Associate, Sport Chek (Former Employee), Cambridge, ONFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: great bonus, discount, working atmosphere
Amazing working environment surrounded by employees that share the same interest and passion about sports and providing a welcoming and inclusive working environment to both employees and customers. Product Knowledge is key to providing a well rounded experience for the customer. Hardest part would have to be remembering all the Specs on each product, – more... and the best part would have to be the general atmosphere of the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leading problems, no direction or appreciation
sales associate - clothing (Former Employee), owen soundFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: staff, customers
Cons: management (footwear)
Great mission statement and values, but poor execution. Sportchek does not adequately reflect what is taught and what is the core of sportchek. Management preeches without practice, except for 2 mangers I can think of. My direct manager doesn't care about her other department (footwear) and spends all of her time in my department (clothing), then comes – more... back and complains about what is 'wrong' and blames it on whoever is working that day in footwear. Every other departmenthas leadership, direction, and appreciation. There is little to no room for growth within the company, if you are part-time, in softgoods. The softgoods wilderbeast manager is the least personable and least respectable person, and is in a position over her head and capability at this time. We need more leaders here. – less

1 2 3 4

About Sport Chek

Sport Chek is one of the largest Canadian retailer of sporting clothing, sports equipment, with stores across Canada (excluding – Read more