Find companies:
Sport Chek
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
60 reviews

Sport Chek Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment with customers and co-workers alike
Hardgoods Sales Associate (Current Employee), Pembroke, ONMarch 28, 2014
Pros: great atmosphere, good people
Cons: no advancement, click groups
Sport Chek is a good starting job for any teen. It provides a fun and fast paced environment that keeps you on your toes. The work loads are well managed, and you always have another task to complete.

Shifts can consist of machine maintenance, department overhauls, stock placement, floor organization, and general customer services.

Management is well – more... coordinated and provides a fall-back to any associate who is unsure of anything on the floor. They provide enormous support to their sales personnel and are a solid backbone for the franchises. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Associate/Stock (Former Employee), Toronto ONMarch 10, 2014
This work environment was fun very lay back but also extremely productive. I've learned a lot of organizing skills and communication skills. They management was very fair as well as helpful. This job wasn't hard at all because they made me feel welcome and i enjoyed working there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun work place
Cashier (Current Employee), Owen Sound, ONMarch 10, 2014
High paced work environment, with continuing product knowledge. Enjoyable atmosphere with high employee moral. Productive team work throughout the store. Average day duties include customer service, price checks, merchandising, and daily house keeping duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get to interact with costumers, and sell merchandise
Sportchek (Current Employee), EdmontonFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: you get a good discount
Cons: you do not get a a break for a five hour shift, and you only get a 30 min break for a 8 hour shift
I have to clean stocks, and sell merchandise giving costumers the knowledge i know about the costumers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laid back and fun
Cashier (Former Employee), edmonton AlbertaFebruary 19, 2014
it was a good part-time job but there is definite things that could be improved on with management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales associate
Sales Associate, Sport Chek (Former Employee), Cambridge, ONFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: great bonus, discount, working atmosphere
Amazing working environment surrounded by employees that share the same interest and passion about sports and providing a welcoming and inclusive working environment to both employees and customers. Product Knowledge is key to providing a well rounded experience for the customer. Hardest part would have to be remembering all the Specs on each product, – more... and the best part would have to be the general atmosphere of the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leading problems, no direction or appreciation
sales associate - clothing (Former Employee), owen soundFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: staff, customers
Cons: management (footwear)
Great mission statement and values, but poor execution. Sportchek does not adequately reflect what is taught and what is the core of sportchek. Management preeches without practice, except for 2 mangers I can think of. My direct manager doesn't care about her other department (footwear) and spends all of her time in my department (clothing), then comes – more... back and complains about what is 'wrong' and blames it on whoever is working that day in footwear. Every other departmenthas leadership, direction, and appreciation. There is little to no room for growth within the company, if you are part-time, in softgoods. The softgoods wilderbeast manager is the least personable and least respectable person, and is in a position over her head and capability at this time. We need more leaders here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun good times
Sales Associate/ snow-sports specialists (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: snow-sports camps, fun games for morning huddles, redbull girls visitng us and giving us all free redbulls during christmas hours
Cons: long sparatic hours, unreliable hours due to last years sales shifted to that.
Everyday doing stock, keeping up with sales, talking to customers in an open ended manner, I constantly learn, doing research on my own and doing courses with in Sportchek that is required.
Management is awesome they treat you like family which I love you can be completely open with them. My co workers range from all sorts of different persons, all – more... in all they are like family too.
Hardest part of my job is doing long hours going to bed late then waking up bright and early, but completely do able. Its apart of life especially at a young age! Most enjoyable part of my job is talking to customers and meeting new people, being able to talk to them about my personal experiences and hearing about theirs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work if management did their job.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Sherwood Park, ABJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: good discount, amazing co-workers
Cons: bad management, bad hours
It is an amazing place to work and get some sales experience, there is a lot to learn and there are more than enough videos to train you. the biggest Con in my opinion is the lack of management, if anything were to go wrong they would simply say "not my problem" as I am a hard worker who is willing to get the job done at any cost, I feel like i was – more... abused and taken advantage of, there was periods of time where I was called in for a week straight or even double booked to work all day. There was just numerous problems with the way the store was ran, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work atmosphere
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: social aspect
it was a fast paced friendly environment that made each day of work exciting
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales associate (Former Employee), Saskatoon, SKJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: dealing with people
Cons: only evening work.
Dealt with the general public in a retail setting. Doing merchandising and team leading when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be the high school student's dream job...
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Belleville, ONDecember 10, 2013
Began working at SportChek in 2006 and recently left because upper management was absolutely awful to deal with. Working at Sportchek CAN be amazing, the idea of teamwork really builds a mini "family" among staff within the store, however if the management lacks positive reinforcement and desires only power and control for him/herself, everything below – more... that seems to crumble. Likewise, I am sure this would happen with all stores!
Specific Issues:
1) scheduling was done according to who management was friends with
2) upper management was hypocritical - would tell part-timers they couldn't do certain things, and then do them theirselves
3) upper management was condescending and unappreciative - didn't matter what you did or how much work you put in, it generally went unnoticed
4) upper management could not be trusted -- confidential meetings or discussions were often NOT kept confidential
5) communication with upper management was almost non-existent because she/he was intimidating and disrespectful
Unfortunately, this store is not a good representation of the company -- FGL is a great company to work for, as I have worked in another SportChek that had an amazing reputation! Although the discount is enticing, the atmosphere seems great for those of you that live an active lifestyle, and the people are youthful and friendly, none of that makes up for the condescending, selfishness of upper management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SportChek
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Kingston, ONDecember 9, 2013
Pros: good company, love to product i work with
Cons: not enough hours. could go weeks with no shifts.
You come to work go over what is on sale. Then go on the floor and help customers with questions on product. What i have learned working at spotchek is customer service and product knowledge. Everyone that i work with is out going and easy to work with. The hardest part of the job is to remember so much of the product. I really enjoy the work environment – more... and the people i work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sportchek doesn't make sense, don't try to make sense of it, you will be saddened with how much less sense this place makes, with time.
Sales associate - Clothing (Current Employee), Owen Sound, ONDecember 8, 2013
Pros: employee discount, satisfaction of helping customers/people, knowing that this is rock bottom
Cons: wildebeest, still working here
The wildebeest is a very under-experienced member of authority, to be in a position of power and supervision over people. The wildebeest will blame you for every problem, even if you weren't present for the shift in which the problem(s) arouse. The wildebeest will blame you for someone else's problem, because you are present. The wildebeest doesn't – more... understand the tasks in which it delegates. If you are talking for more than one second with a co-worker, about work-related tasks, it will attempt to destroy you with it's deathly heat-seeking laser eye rocket nukes, but the odds are it won't see you because it will either be turning it's back on you to look at 1/2 of departments it is responsible for, or it will be taking generous amounts of smoke breaks. The wildebeest would be missed by none, if it imploded from the energy expelled from the clashing levels of stupidity and unreasonable madness, released potently from her facial area. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Day Everyday
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Sudbury, ONNovember 10, 2013
At Sportchek on non-busy days I fill my time organizing the front cashier area, hanging and security tagging clothing and assisting customers when other associates may be busy. My managers refer to me as the neat freak of all the cashiers working at Sportchek, they have reassurance when I am working that I will not only do my job properly but go above – more... and beyond. At times working with certain customers can be difficult but when handled with appropriately and efficiently I find that my unsatisfied customers always leave happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sport Chek
Sales Support Coordinator (Current Employee), Sport ChekOctober 26, 2013
LOVE working here. Great place to work. Good company. Good managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very positive enviornment to work in.
Cashier (Current Employee), oshawa, ONOctober 3, 2013
Pros: free promotional shirts
Cons: under staffed
I love the job. People are very kind and have great work ethics, everyone pulls their weight on the job. It is also very well organized and helps you achieve experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the fun environment.
Cashier (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABAugust 20, 2013
Pros: discount on products
I really enjoyed the customer relations. The atmosphere was fun and enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVE my job.
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee), Chatham, ONAugust 14, 2013
Pros: friendly people
Cons: a lot of technical information
GREAT PLACE TO WORK !
- good people
- good management
- lots to learn
- good discount
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An alright job
Technician (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 2, 2013
Pros: its money
Cons: low pay
I would get in there and sign myself up, then i would just go straight
to the bikes and start building, did that pretty much all day until anyone need help or assistance, then we would have to clean up the place and have a bag check, lock up after that.

1 2 3

About Sport Chek

Sport Chek is one of the largest Canadian retailer of sporting clothing, sports equipment, with stores across Canada (excluding – Read more