Find companies:
Sport Chek
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
66 reviews

Sport Chek Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a cool place.
Hard Goods Sales (Current Employee), Kitchener, ONJuly 20, 2014
It's a fun place to be. Good people, good products, location was close to my house. I liked it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace good people
Cashier (Current Employee), Victoria, BCJuly 14, 2014
Pros: discount, people, management, friendly enviorment, good company
Cons: salary, not enough hours
i have only worked for sport chek for couple months and so far its a good job. fun work place to be in with people who all have something in common. making friends is really easy.
the discount there is awesome and helps a lot
they are open to suggestions and management is awesome
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As always it starts with Management and goes downhill
Footwear (Former Employee), Lindsay, ONJune 26, 2014
Pros: inspiring other people, discount of merchandise
Cons: the management and the ones who had their head in the sand shaking
The saying of you are only as good as your manager allows comes into play in the location I was in. I am not going to negate the entire company based on the one location I worked at but will tell you exactly what it was like.

Was a new store being built in our mall, Running is my life and was excited to be a part of the team, however in 6 months of – more... opening, the shifting happens where managers move on and while that is great and all, the management they had in place lied on her resume about management experience and the two years I was under her, had no word of a lie 50 people quit due to her pathetic management skills.

She was allowed to bad mouth staff to her fellow co-workers and management team, and decided that to make up for her insecurity she would in bark orders, or make up stuff to make her look good.

The beauty was, customers complained about her! And yet she was being geared up to be Store Manager. Unreal.

Because I enjoyed the staff I worked with, the people I met and the great perks of discounts I subjected myself to being put down daily by her.

The other beauty of it all, I was part time which was fine but my sales beat hers by a long shot and the one they wanted to gear to full time was dealing drugs out of the shoe box. Think I am kidding--its Lindsay, enough said.

This was 2 years ago, and I am long gone and now a manager with another sports company. I use her as an example of how not to manage.

You would think 50 people quitting due to one person, would wake FGL -now Can Tire- up not to mention the countless emails to customer service would alert that there is something wrong but nope somehow she was allowed to act like that is now laughable and just plain pathetic. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere to work and very friendly management team.
Customer Service (Current Employee), BowmanvilleMay 30, 2014
I enjoy this job. The people are great and the shifts are manageable. They flex to your needs based on what you are available to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Place
Cashier (Former Employee), Barrie, ONMay 19, 2014
Pros: staff discount
A good place to work, most coworkers and managers were good to work with... others maybe not so much. Overall good experience, great discounts and reasonable with hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment with customers and co-workers alike
Hardgoods Sales Associate (Current Employee), Pembroke, ONMarch 28, 2014
Pros: great atmosphere, good people
Cons: no advancement, click groups
Sport Chek is a good starting job for any teen. It provides a fun and fast paced environment that keeps you on your toes. The work loads are well managed, and you always have another task to complete.

Shifts can consist of machine maintenance, department overhauls, stock placement, floor organization, and general customer services.

Management is well – more... coordinated and provides a fall-back to any associate who is unsure of anything on the floor. They provide enormous support to their sales personnel and are a solid backbone for the franchises. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun work place
Cashier (Current Employee), Owen Sound, ONMarch 10, 2014
High paced work environment, with continuing product knowledge. Enjoyable atmosphere with high employee moral. Productive team work throughout the store. Average day duties include customer service, price checks, merchandising, and daily house keeping duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get to interact with costumers, and sell merchandise
Sportchek (Current Employee), EdmontonFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: you get a good discount
Cons: you do not get a a break for a five hour shift, and you only get a 30 min break for a 8 hour shift
I have to clean stocks, and sell merchandise giving costumers the knowledge i know about the costumers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laid back and fun
Cashier (Former Employee), edmonton AlbertaFebruary 19, 2014
it was a good part-time job but there is definite things that could be improved on with management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales associate
Sales Associate, Sport Chek (Former Employee), Cambridge, ONFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: great bonus, discount, working atmosphere
Amazing working environment surrounded by employees that share the same interest and passion about sports and providing a welcoming and inclusive working environment to both employees and customers. Product Knowledge is key to providing a well rounded experience for the customer. Hardest part would have to be remembering all the Specs on each product, – more... and the best part would have to be the general atmosphere of the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leading problems, no direction or appreciation
sales associate - clothing (Former Employee), owen soundFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: staff, customers
Cons: management (footwear)
Great mission statement and values, but poor execution. Sportchek does not adequately reflect what is taught and what is the core of sportchek. Management preeches without practice, except for 2 mangers I can think of. My direct manager doesn't care about her other department (footwear) and spends all of her time in my department (clothing), then comes – more... back and complains about what is 'wrong' and blames it on whoever is working that day in footwear. Every other departmenthas leadership, direction, and appreciation. There is little to no room for growth within the company, if you are part-time, in softgoods. The softgoods wilderbeast manager is the least personable and least respectable person, and is in a position over her head and capability at this time. We need more leaders here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun good times
Sales Associate/ snow-sports specialists (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: snow-sports camps, fun games for morning huddles, redbull girls visitng us and giving us all free redbulls during christmas hours
Cons: long sparatic hours, unreliable hours due to last years sales shifted to that.
Everyday doing stock, keeping up with sales, talking to customers in an open ended manner, I constantly learn, doing research on my own and doing courses with in Sportchek that is required.
Management is awesome they treat you like family which I love you can be completely open with them. My co workers range from all sorts of different persons, all – more... in all they are like family too.
Hardest part of my job is doing long hours going to bed late then waking up bright and early, but completely do able. Its apart of life especially at a young age! Most enjoyable part of my job is talking to customers and meeting new people, being able to talk to them about my personal experiences and hearing about theirs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work if management did their job.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Sherwood Park, ABJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: good discount, amazing co-workers
Cons: bad management, bad hours
It is an amazing place to work and get some sales experience, there is a lot to learn and there are more than enough videos to train you. the biggest Con in my opinion is the lack of management, if anything were to go wrong they would simply say "not my problem" as I am a hard worker who is willing to get the job done at any cost, I feel like i was – more... abused and taken advantage of, there was periods of time where I was called in for a week straight or even double booked to work all day. There was just numerous problems with the way the store was ran, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work atmosphere
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: social aspect
it was a fast paced friendly environment that made each day of work exciting
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales associate (Former Employee), Saskatoon, SKJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: dealing with people
Cons: only evening work.
Dealt with the general public in a retail setting. Doing merchandising and team leading when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be the high school student's dream job...
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Belleville, ONDecember 10, 2013
Began working at SportChek in 2006 and recently left because upper management was absolutely awful to deal with. Working at Sportchek CAN be amazing, the idea of teamwork really builds a mini "family" among staff within the store, however if the management lacks positive reinforcement and desires only power and control for him/herself, everything below – more... that seems to crumble. Likewise, I am sure this would happen with all stores!
Specific Issues:
1) scheduling was done according to who management was friends with
2) upper management was hypocritical - would tell part-timers they couldn't do certain things, and then do them theirselves
3) upper management was condescending and unappreciative - didn't matter what you did or how much work you put in, it generally went unnoticed
4) upper management could not be trusted -- confidential meetings or discussions were often NOT kept confidential
5) communication with upper management was almost non-existent because she/he was intimidating and disrespectful
Unfortunately, this store is not a good representation of the company -- FGL is a great company to work for, as I have worked in another SportChek that had an amazing reputation! Although the discount is enticing, the atmosphere seems great for those of you that live an active lifestyle, and the people are youthful and friendly, none of that makes up for the condescending, selfishness of upper management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SportChek
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Kingston, ONDecember 9, 2013
Pros: good company, love to product i work with
Cons: not enough hours. could go weeks with no shifts.
You come to work go over what is on sale. Then go on the floor and help customers with questions on product. What i have learned working at spotchek is customer service and product knowledge. Everyone that i work with is out going and easy to work with. The hardest part of the job is to remember so much of the product. I really enjoy the work environment – more... and the people i work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sportchek doesn't make sense, don't try to make sense of it, you will be saddened with how much less sense this place makes, with time.
Sales associate - Clothing (Current Employee), Owen Sound, ONDecember 8, 2013
Pros: employee discount, satisfaction of helping customers/people, knowing that this is rock bottom
Cons: wildebeest, still working here
The wildebeest is a very under-experienced member of authority, to be in a position of power and supervision over people. The wildebeest will blame you for every problem, even if you weren't present for the shift in which the problem(s) arouse. The wildebeest will blame you for someone else's problem, because you are present. The wildebeest doesn't – more... understand the tasks in which it delegates. If you are talking for more than one second with a co-worker, about work-related tasks, it will attempt to destroy you with it's deathly heat-seeking laser eye rocket nukes, but the odds are it won't see you because it will either be turning it's back on you to look at 1/2 of departments it is responsible for, or it will be taking generous amounts of smoke breaks. The wildebeest would be missed by none, if it imploded from the energy expelled from the clashing levels of stupidity and unreasonable madness, released potently from her facial area. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Day Everyday
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Sudbury, ONNovember 10, 2013
At Sportchek on non-busy days I fill my time organizing the front cashier area, hanging and security tagging clothing and assisting customers when other associates may be busy. My managers refer to me as the neat freak of all the cashiers working at Sportchek, they have reassurance when I am working that I will not only do my job properly but go above – more... and beyond. At times working with certain customers can be difficult but when handled with appropriately and efficiently I find that my unsatisfied customers always leave happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sport Chek
Sales Support Coordinator (Current Employee), Sport ChekOctober 26, 2013
LOVE working here. Great place to work. Good company. Good managers.

1 2 3 4

About Sport Chek

Sport Chek is one of the largest Canadian retailer of sporting clothing, sports equipment, with stores across Canada (excluding – Read more