Find companies:
Sport Chek
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
90 reviews

Sport Chek Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sport chek
Clerk (Former Employee), Brampton, ONDecember 10, 2014
I think sport check is a very organized and a very welcoming place
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCNovember 25, 2014
Everybody works as part of a team and the managers or supervisors do great job of having everybody focused on their task and keep them motivated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture
Footwear/Hardgoods Sales Associate (Current Employee), Whitby, ONNovember 24, 2014
Sportchek is the most fun and nurturing environment I have ever had the pleasure of working in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Footwear Sales
Footwear Sales Associate (Former Employee), Newmarket, ONNovember 16, 2014
Pros: fun, good products, easy-going customers, good team
A typical day at work involved selling shoes and creating and managing product displays. I learned how to sell and cold approach customers. Management was good, because they trained us correctly and communicated efficiently. My co-workers were very kind and also created a sense of competition as a team. The hardest part of the job was working for long – more... periods of time alone. The most enjoyable part was selling shoes and getting to know our products. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we sell fun
cash manager. ssc (Former Employee), Cambridge, ONNovember 12, 2014
Pros: competitive, always challenged
Cons: not enough hours
store open, count of floats and start computer system,
paperwork review,organized for head office, check transfers in and out for customers, review layaway, schedule for cashiers, review upcoming sale, print off signage .
Sportchek very upbeat sports orientated staff ,very customer service driven .
Hardest part of job: irate customers, but I am good – more... at finding a solution. satisfying the customer
Easiest part of job : customer service: finding the customer the perfect item on sale – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work atmosphere
Footwear Associate (Current Employee), Charlottetown PENovember 10, 2014
Being with the company for so many years, I have experienced the changing phases of Sportchek. One thing has always been constant, it is a fun place to work where we take customer service extremely seriously.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place with great management and staff
Part-time Visual Merchandiser (Current Employee), City Centre, Edmonton, ABNovember 7, 2014
Pros: free yoga, running club, great attitudes, good discount
Cons: no ft if not management
Working for big corporations (as I have done in the past) I have noticed a trend with management (especially upper) - they care only about sales and very little about staff. The only way you can get any sort of acknowledgement is to sell the most product 24/7. Now, I'm not saying that anyone shouldn't try to do their best, but sometimes the best isn't – more... possible: people don't want to try something on, want to buy something, or even want any help. Sometimes it is out of your control. Upper management does not care for your "excuses", though - all they see is sales. They would much rather let you go and hire someone else than give you a chance to improve. Sportchek is not like that. They understand that employees are an essential building block to a company's success, and that you should treat them with respect as such. The management there is all very nice (including the store manager Rob) and they are always willing to work with you & help out whenever you need it. I am never afraid to ask a question whenever I am at work. This company offers a great atmosphere & great people to make a great working environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Atmosphere
Sales Associate (Co-op) (Current Employee), Brampton, ONNovember 3, 2014
I was at SportChek for a month because I did Co-op and it was an amazing experience. I typical day of work was me doing inventory and then going out to help customers. I learned a lot of things such as sporting equipment and how to sell a product to a customer. My co-workers were amazing, they treated me with the respect that they would give to any – more... other worker. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment, managers will fight for opportunities for you.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Owen Sound, ONOctober 22, 2014
Lots to learn, with some great staff to teach you what you need to know. Plenty of opportunities for the individuals that have that go-gettin' personality and work ethic. The managers are a competent and inter-personally well-adept team.

Very flexible hours

Great co-workers

Learning environment

Opportunities

Wicked discount

Reasonable work recognition/appreciation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace in general
Sales Associate/ Stock (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONOctober 20, 2014
I enjoyed working ere a lot the main thing was the co-workers and positive managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Environment
Merchandiser/Stock Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 14, 2014
Progressive workday.
Learned about order and warehouse management.
General Management was responsive.
Co-workers were friendly and easy to work with.
Opportunity for advancement.
Good opportunity to interact with public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad personal experience
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Stratford, ONOctober 6, 2014
I think they are trying to teach the wrong way to make a relationship with customers and it comes off as too pushy for the sale.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Part Time Sales Associate (Current Employee), Lloydminster, ABSeptember 28, 2014
good for a part time job if you are a kid and there is good discount on products
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SportChek
Shipper (Former Employee), Kelowna, BCSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: 50%+ anything in the store
Cons: bad pay, minimal hours
A typical day at work at SportChek consisted of me hauling rollbars full of clothing up and down stairs in the storage area. I would bring outdates clothes up the stairs, and bring current clothes downstairs. I learned a lot about self-motivation and patience during my time working there. I never worked with any other co-workers, and I never actually – more... communicated with them because of how isolated I was in the back room. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, ONSeptember 17, 2014
didnt like the manage, bad hours, its in a dead mall. didnt learn anything there, co-workers were alright i guess, its an easy job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Part Time Sales Associate (Clothing) (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: employee discount is cost plus 10%
Cons: the employee discount is limited and the pay is low.
For the hours you are scheduled to work, you are primarily talking with customers or cleaning the store so it looks neat and tidy.

During my time there I learned all there is to know about clothing from the different fabrics to the overall design and purpose of certain products.

The management overall is pretty relaxed. If you ever need time off for – more... anything, they will generally give you the day off. At the same time, they do there best to make sure your busy when you are at work if your not busy already.

Co-workers for the most part are very nice, humorous, and enjoyable to talk to. That being said they can be quick to file a complaint if someone isn't pulling their weight in their job related duties (which rarely happens) but for the most part are easy going.

The hardest part of the job is keeping yourself occupied during the slow hours of the day.

The most enjoyable part of the day is being able to meet some amazing being. On a regular basis, professional athletes may shop at your store for various sporting good items, and if you listen, they may have an interesting story to tell. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everything is bogus
Sales associate (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: everything else
Customer service and common sense sure didnt meet there standards.. you cant take an employee there seriously and management sucks !
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with young people
ASSISTANT STORE MANAGER (Former Employee), Pitt Meadows, BC , Burnaby BCAugust 25, 2014
Pros: young energetic sales advisors, great product discounts, bonus opportunities.
Cons: long hours, unappreciated by upper management
Great place to work, but you are working with many young people. This can sometimes be challenging to maintain a professionalism within the workplace. Driving the customer experience and sales is of top priority. There are few opportunities for advancement within the Greater Vancouver area. Discounts and bonus potentials are fantastic. Paid on a 40 – more... hour work week. Expect to work 50 hours minimum. Longest week for me was 85 hours during holiday periods. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always something to do and always learning
Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee), Mississauga, OntAugust 13, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: constant cleaning
I would get in, check if shoes, clothes or equipment is clean in each station. Then clean the fitting rooms. After I know all of that is complete, I would go into the back and organize everything back there such as hockey, soccer, football equipment. I learned such things as organizing better and safer. I learned to take way more initiative and I learned – more... how to not be scared to ask questions if you are unsure. My co-workers were really outgoing, nice and really nice to talk to and they helped me with a lot of things around Sport Chek. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Owen Sound, ONAugust 12, 2014
Pros: commission, discounts, opportunities
Cons: retail hours
Sport Chek was one of my first jobs and I really enjoyed my time here. I worked for Sport Chek when high commission rates were still being paid out and it made a huge difference in my life as a young employee.

I was able to learn a lot about multiple sports and it gave me the confidence to get out there and be outgoing in public!

1 2 3 4 5

About Sport Chek

Sport Chek is one of the largest Canadian retailer of sporting clothing, sports equipment, with stores across Canada (excluding – Read more

Sport Chek Photos