Find companies:
Spectra Energy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
34 reviews

Spectra Energy Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to lern about operating
Operator (Current Employee), Fort Nelson Gas PlantAugust 7, 2014
This is a very old plant that can process an amazing amount of raw natural gas the skills i have learned here will stay with me forever
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Tower Mechanic, Laborer (Former Employee), Medicine Hat, ABJuly 31, 2014
Easy to get along with co workers which made work enjoyable
Good first Alberta experience
Management got job done but also very friendly
Learned more in debt on my certifications by actually applying them during the shutdown
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
document control at Spectra Energy
Document Control Administrator (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 11, 2014
Pros: laptop computer
Cons: lack of training by management. you have to figure it out yourself.
Typical day is checking email to see who requires work. Prioritize email on importance. Always get the Transmittal out if required by engineering. Make sure date and data is on transmittal properly. After sending out transmittal. create folders of transmittal and put into SharePoint. Update a register of all the data and also send out confirmation to – more... other companies that we have received their transmittal and approved the data. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gas Processing
Sr. Planner/Scheduler (Former Employee), Fort Nelson, BCFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: sap knowledge training, not far to drive to get to plant, great health benefits
Cons: working with individuals that don't want to be part of a team, lack of communication with management
Typical day at work: meetings, walk around the plant site, planning & Scheduling work, order materials, SAP data entering, create PM plans and task lists.

Learn the equipment, SAP software updates

Management was ok but was not easy to talk with

Co-worker there in Planning Department was not that helpful, always finding fault in something, wasn't – more... good at communicating. The co-workers (tradesman) for the plant as a whole were awesome, very informative and easy to get along with.

The hardest part of the job was trying to work with one in particular Planner

The most enjoyable part of the job was working with SAP and the Trades people on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average company
Director, Communications (Current Employee), CalgaryJanuary 24, 2014
average place to work; average salary; some opportunities to learn
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long established, socially and environmentally responsible
Manager Environmental Permitting & Regulation (Current Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 27, 2013
Spectra Energy operates the largest natural gas gathering, processing and transmission system in Western Canada and is well positioned to take advantage of the growth in unconventional natural gas production in Northeastern British Columbia. The company sets high standards internally for integrity and operating responsibility and recognizes the importance – more... of a proactive, transparent and inclusive approach to stakeholders and communities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well orgaised and an interesting place to work
Measurement Specialist (Former Employee), ClagaryJanuary 13, 2013
I enjoyed my time with Spectra, even though it was just a temporary posting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mailroom procedures, office decision making, creating and updating documents
Mailroom Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 29, 2012
Pros: spectra employees were great to work with and for.
Cons: mailroom manager was inept.
Organized conferences, reception coverage and arranged catering deliveries
Budgeted and calculated financial summaries
Entered end of day and monthly mail statistics
-Trained mailroom and receptionists for positions
-Updated Word documents, Excel spreadsheets and Powerpoint presentations
-Assisted in office decisions and new procedures
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Senior Gas Controller & Special Projects Liaison (Current Employee), Houston, TXJune 19, 2014
Great Company. Would reccommend as opportunities are plentiful. Management was great too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
SOA, Scada Consultant (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 11, 2014
Great co-workers,lot of things to learn.
Management is clue less about status and work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mediocre at best
Supply Chain Specialist II (Current Employee), Houston, TXMarch 10, 2014
Pros: pay is decent, flex fridays
Cons: weak management, weak project managers, cause extra work for everyone
In terms of working in the materials procurement group; management is weak. They haven't done a good job forming any type of succession plan. There is a huge gap in employees, which offers some opportunity, but also a lot of frustration. Management tends to treat employees as hourly workers. Promotions are hard to come by. Work load is intense and no – more... one seems to notice. Worst of all is that the company overall doesn't seem to shine a good light on supply chain. It's depressing and gloomy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
On-site Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Oxford Compressor StationNovember 22, 2013
All the projects that I went on were productive and fun at the same time. All the people I worked with respected each other and everyone got along great. This was my learning point for construction projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment
Business Development - Capital Projects Scheduler (Current Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 30, 2013
I developed schedules for $120MM pipeline construction/ maintenance, configuration/ modification, lateral expansions, loops, compressor station construction, capital expense schedules from initiation phase thru final close out/commissioning. Developed & delivered monthly / bi-monthly reports for schedule progress, status, and issues. Analyzed project – more... schedules for activity variances to baseline and duration changes. Monitor total float of project schedules for compliance with program management procedures. Developed resource curves and evaluates contractor resource curves, Provided trending reports as required – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Contract Analyst/Cost Engineer (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 27, 2013
Great pay

very cut throat management

co-workers are friendly, like a big family

a lot of travel

a lot of hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HATED IT
Slave (Former Employee), VancouverAugust 28, 2013
Pros: six weeks holidays
Cons: the 'manager' of my department had severe mental issues, she was a harsh micromanager, she is crazy and in turns works very hard at making you crazy, i would call this bullying on the job, her sidekick didn't help - watched every move i made.
Typical work day - shuffling useless/needless papers around, creating make work projects, basically doing nothing of value. What did I learn? Nothing - well, no, not true, I learned that if you have no personality and are a robot you will do fine there. Co-workers - a joke - I hated everybody. The hardest part of going to my job was walking in the door. – more... There was no enjoyable part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
SAP Supply Chain Functional Analyst (Former Employee), TXAugust 14, 2013
Good client to work with learned alot of new things and system. Everyone is always busy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and people
Lineout tech / Project Coordinator (Current Employee), Houston, TXJuly 27, 2013
Would highly recommend. Highly motivated personnel. Very pleasant work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Contract Management Lead (Current Employee), Boston, MAJuly 15, 2013
Good people, benefits and great immediate management. Encourage leadership through influence.
Progression to manager and above requires move to headquarters
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
spectra energy company and co-workers
Mechanic II (Former Employee), Chambersburg, PAMay 14, 2013
Pros: chirstmas cook outs
Cons: the healthcare is not very good at all
Well Management is ok but they are not around a lot for you to talk to is all. My co-workers are very good people everyone will help the other person to get the job done. The hardest part of the job is being on call 24/7 never a day off. The most enjoyable is doing my job and fixing something back to normal again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my local office was extremely supportive and close-knit
Cost Analyst (Former Employee), NLR, ARApril 2, 2013
Pros: friendly environment
Cons: limited training and standardized processes or outlined expectation
great environment amongst employees; lacking in outlined expectations/ responsibilities and software training. I would work for them again.