Southlake Regional Health Centre Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of Southlake Hospital as a volunteer
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ONJune 6, 2016
I volunteer for the Eating Disorder Program at Southlake Hospital. I typically go into work every chance I get to increase my hours for medical school. A typical day working at Southlake consists of entering patients charts into a database in hope to find correlations among the patients' disorders. The hardest part of working in a hospital is having to see people struggle and in pain. However, the most enjoyable part of the job is being able to help those struggling and in pain, I am able to comfort and talk to patients about their sufferings and worries and try to help them. Knowing I can positively impact people on a daily basis is what makes this job so rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you have any ambition or career goals, stay away from this place.
Clerical (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ONJune 1, 2016
If you have any ambition or career goals, stay away from this place. There is no mentor ship for staff so your on your own. They do not promote from within and only hire from outside.
In my position I dealt with many departments and managers, most were not very nice. It is top heavy with no respect for the front-line worker
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great staff in AF
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ONApril 27, 2016
The surgical team for AF is excellent; with an easy-going, fun-team environment. Pricey parking but cheaper across the road or 2 monthly pass options.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
RN - Inpatient (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ONMarch 2, 2016
A typical day at work is busy, fun, full of knowledge and new informations, skills and challenges.
Hardest part is when people don't appreciate the hard work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality care
Staff Nurse, Coronary Care Unit (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ONNovember 24, 2015
Dedicated to providing quality health care, puts patients first.
regional center, providing advanced services to a large part of Central Ontario
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Learning Experience
Clinical Placement (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ONOctober 18, 2015
As a student, it can be intimidating learning in such a fast paced environment. However, the team at Southlake is very encouraging and provides such a positive learning environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Human Resources
Director (Former Employee) –  MedicineSeptember 29, 2015
By far, the HR dept. has been the most unprofessional and unorganized group I have ever met. Always on vacation or unavailable. There isn't any continuity, nobody has any clue who is handling what.
I have accepted another offer.
Pros
Unknown
Cons
Horrible Human Resources and Recruiters
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's all about the people you work with...
Pre-op Scheduling/Emergency Clerk (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ONJuly 12, 2015
If your lucky enough to work with a great group of people then your work life is made easier knowing that they have your back.

Emergency department staff aren't just co-workers, we're family.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my second family
Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ONApril 8, 2015
this is an awesome place to work! friendly people, fun atmosphere couldnt ask for more...
managament sucks but it is what it is. hardest part of the job was wanting to do more but could not. budget cuts make it hard for everyone
Pros
people are amaing
Cons
management teams lack in all areas
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful people excellent place to work
Database Instructor/QA Representative (2008-2014) (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ONFebruary 26, 2015
I worked at Southlake for my whole career loved it there people were great wonderful working environment. Would highly recommend anyone to apply there.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RN
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ONOctober 30, 2014
Southlake has been a wonderful place to work throughout my nursing career. Unfortunately due to health care costs and hospital deficits the hospital has made major financial cuts in the past few years. As I am sure this is the same with other hospitals.
We unfortunately work short as they are not willing to pay OT unless desperate.
My co- workers are one of the best things about working at Southlake, wonderful staff!
Pros
close to home, medium- large sized hospital
Cons
budget cuts, morale
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encouraging workplace
Research Assistant (Volunteer) (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, OntarioOctober 2, 2014
Very helpful staff
supportive environment
Great experience
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture and progressive hospital
Corporate Communications Intern (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ONMay 7, 2014
My experience as an intern at Southlake was pleasant because of the exposure to the different activities in the communications office. It is not an overly high stress environment and there is an emphasis on internal communications in my role. I admire that they are catching up on social media and being transparent with their communications to the community. There has been some negative media coverage during my time due to workplace violence but the hospital showed initiative in providing a solution and has brought it to senior management to put in place a code white button for each staff on their badge.The most enjoyable part of the job are the collegiality of the coworkers. My managers and director were helpful and always open to feedback.
Pros
weekly team lunches, on-site tim hortons
Cons
health-care initiatives can take a long time to move forward.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work, very friendly staff
Occupational Therapist (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ONFebruary 6, 2014
great co-workers, very helpful
management listens and addresses any concerns
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Nursing in crisis, great support of collegues
RN (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ONJanuary 23, 2014
report
organizing patient care
coverage for other babies in emergency situations
adapting to care requirements as needed
teaching parents and family through involvement in care and education as to why
breast feeding assistance and care
blood work, IV s required
coverage for IV and blood work difficult starts in emergence and pediatrics
assessment ongoing throughout shift and report to next shift
medication delivery as per orders.
x-rays as per orders
team nursing through social work, medical, radiology, echocardiography lab and pharmacy staff for best treatment for baby
consultation to and transfer of care to level III hospitals as patients require
Pros
good team work
Cons
sometimes no breaks due to sudden increase in work loads-reluctance of organization to pay overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent care, service and morale
Medical Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  NewmarketDecember 19, 2013
Phenomenal atmosphere with a great team work ethic.
Hours were good but not steady.
Management team were extremely knowledgable and patient when assistance was required.
Hardest part of the job. Saying no to a shift.
I love phlebotomy. I love my patients even that ones that I may never see again. Ie: newborns.
I love the dynamics of working in a lab and with intelligent people that enjoy teaching, as I have an unquenchable thirst for knowledge.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love helping others!!
Clerical Support , Diagnostic Imaging (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ONMay 19, 2013
I enjoy coming to work, and working with great fun workers, I enjoy meeting new people and helping others!!!!
The hardest part of my job is meeting such kind patient that are ill, but it pays off to see them smile once they leave.
Cons
long lunch hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice coworkers
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ONFebruary 28, 2013
only provides 12 hr shifts wich is the hardest part of the job,
working short some times and work overload is another hard part of this job
Was this review helpful?Yes14No4Report

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7

Southlake Regional Health Centre Reviews by Location