Find companies:
Sony
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
312 reviews

Sony Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome product. Great environment.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Santa Ana, CAFebruary 14, 2014
Pros: awesome technology
Cons: short lunches.
selling product, answering phones, customer service, cleaning and setting up the store before it opens. Daily goals on sales that we have to achieve.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales intern
Sales Intern (Former Employee), Jinqiao N St, Xinhua, Shijiazhuang, Hebei, ChinaFebruary 14, 2014
Pros: training
Cons: short breaks, work on weekend.
Sony has lots of cool products, and it was very rewarding to me that demonstrate new features and helped customers to find products that meet their needs. I did a three month intern there in my town. I did learn a lot. trained my interpersonal skills as well as service-oriented attitude.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but need more support and engagement from the company.
Marketing Assistant (Current Employee), Ciudad de México, DIFFebruary 11, 2014
We need people that react faster.
More support in each area.
the team are awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great business to work in if...
Production Secretary/Production Assistant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CaFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: free lunches, wrap parties
Cons: no breaks. even lunches are at your desk
... You like to be constantly looking for your next job and work 12 and sometimes 16 hour days.

The people are great to work with. The perks are nice too.

The hardest part is a lot of down time and then a lot of work at once that has to be done now.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND SAFE STATION TO WORK
"SR.EXECUTIVE - LOGISTICS (Current Employee), JEBEL ALI FREE ZONEFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: free lunch, after time of 5.30 overtime with food
Cons: long ours during month end
COOPERATED ENVIRONMENT OF WORK AND CULTURE WITH SERIOUS WORK DONE
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
System & Network Administrator
System & Network Administrator (Current Employee), DamascusFebruary 2, 2014
Installing, supporting and maintaining server hardware, software and
infrastructure.
 Managing email, anti-Spam and virus protection.
 Managing Windows 2008 Services (AD, DHCP, DNS, VM, FS, Print server,
forefront).
 Setting up user accounts, permissions and password. And also monitoring
network usage.
 Ensuring the most cost-effective and efficient – more... use of servers.
 Analyzing and resolving faults, ranging from major system crash to a forgotten
a password.
 Undertaking a routine preventative measures and implementing, maintaining
and monitoring network security, particularly if the network connects to the
Internet.
 Providing training and technical support for users with varying levels of IT
knowledge and competence.
 Determining the specification of all IT materials that are required.
 Fix the error and damages of IT devices such as (PC, printers and others).
 Provide network access to all staff.
 Load all required software.
 Provide network accounts and passwords as required.
 Monitor security of all technology.
 Install and maintain Foolproof and passwords.
 Input and maintain IP addresses.
 Identify and prepare hardware for disposal when appropriate.
 Ensure hardware is stripped and secured before disposal.
 Microwave Digital Radio System (MDRS).
 Configuration for Al-Ameen 2004 Accounting System. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
VAIO Brand Ambassador (Former Employee), kentJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: to many
Cons: small contract
i cant really say anything bad about this role as i loved the interaction with staff, management and customers
if i had the chance i would go back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Executive Assistant to President of Sony Publishing
Executive Assistant to President (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: loved the people i worked with
Cons: ready for change
Provided full administrative support to executive; handled phones, managed rapidly changing intense business and personal calendar including coordinated board, meetings, management, external business associate meetings, artist and attorney meetings, and producer meetings and interfaced with top-level music executives, film and television executives, – more... artists, songwriters, producers, attorneys, and managers. Compiled notes and music for weekly writers and A&R meetings, arranged company and family events such as holiday parties, staff dinners, and birthdays. and draft correspondence. Charged with distribution of all holiday, birthday, and personal outgoing gifts, organized and maintained intense music library on a daily basis with pertinent information and interfaced directly with personal business manager and nannies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laid back fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tinton Falls, NJJanuary 13, 2014
working at sony was amazing everyone was super nice and laid back
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we would have drawing every month for bonuses..
wms (Former Employee), Carrollton, GAJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: healthcare..
Sony provided a great work environment they cared about their employees,employees opinion got listen too.My typical day at work was picking orders above 100%,receiving in freight,stocking & shift lead. .I learned how to be a team lead and i better my computer skills. Thier management team was great they listen to the employees opinion and asked our – more... opinion also.We would have monthly meeting about production status and saftey rules. My co-worker we all worked as a team instead of a individual.We where like a family as well co-worker.. The hardest part of the job was inventory.On inventory the day its was very slow it made the day dragg bye. Most enjoyable part of my job was that they treated u like person instead of a employee.It didn feel like a job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SAB ABAP consultant
ABAP consultant (Former Employee), MumbaiJanuary 8, 2014
Basically an implementation project related to procurement of data.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
see resume
Specialist (Current Employee), oaklandJanuary 4, 2014
I currently work part time as a Sony specialist. My position involves doing demos of new Sony products to customers, setting up displays, training employees and hitting quarterly sales goals for multiple departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great product to represent and even greater company to work for.
Assisted Sales (Current Employee), Fredericksburg, VAJanuary 3, 2014
Working for Sony has been a great learning experience in the industry. The company itself, is greatly flexible and understanding and has allowed for advancement and personal leadership within my current position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good atmosphere
Home Theater Specialist- Seasonal (Current Employee), La Jolla, CADecember 31, 2013
Pros: food court nearby
Cons: hours.
I really enjoyed working at this store as a seasonal hire. They have a good communication with their employees and the culture is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Two days are the Same
Product Advisor PS4/ TV (Current Employee), Orlando, FLDecember 28, 2013
As a Product Adviser at Sony, you get the chance to work with a great team who have a laid back approach to work and customer service, but try their best to work as a team to accomplish sales goals while keeping employee morale and energy high. There aren't many benefits as opposed to other jobs, but the level of stress is low. I never dread a day of – more... work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They didn't use people to their full potential.
Optics Technician/Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee), Rancho Bernardo, CADecember 17, 2013
Even though they provided an entry level position to someone with a degree, they didn't allow for any advancement into the field of study.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to be.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Wrentham, MADecember 15, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
You meet so many new and nice customers, you even get some that you get to know who come in very often. Learned all of the basics of selling and being a cashier, i cherish that because it was my very first job. Best management on the planet, very fun people, teach you what you need to know and more. Everybody, co-workers and managers alike make you – more... feel at home. there really wasn't anything hard about the job, everybody helps you out. EVERYTHING was enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with gaming consoles
Playstation Tech Support (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVNovember 26, 2013
Pros: cool company
Cons: short breaks, no healthcare, constantly changing schedule
I help people troublshoot their Playstations and send them in for service as needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going atmosphere...
Engineering (Former Employee), Teancek, NJNovember 23, 2013
Pros: unlimited sick days & vacation time. great to take advantage of if you are a bi-lingual female.
Cons: expect termination when upper management makes wrong decisions and sales suffer.
No room for advancement - all the manager's 'favorites' get everything handed to them, rest of group gets the crumbs. Wrong people constantly recognized, so if you like kissing up & sleeping in the kitchen for customers to see you; this will get advancement. Pay is OK - don't always expect new product training - managers are busy meeting quotas to spread – more... their information to others. Sales is the name of the game, so if you are not in sales you're a second rate individual... you will most likely NOT get advanced... no matter how hard you or how dedicated you may be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Writer for Sony
Song Writer / Composer (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 18, 2013
I have been under contract since 1999 until Jan 1, 2014 as a staff writer. It was good to be a part of Sony but most of my work, which we both profited from, was found by myself.

About Sony

Sony is synonymous with consumer electronics. It's especially big in TVs and game consoles like PlayStation3. Officially named – Read more