Find companies:
Sony
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
295 reviews

Sony Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SAB ABAP consultant
ABAP consultant (Former Employee), MumbaiJanuary 8, 2014
Basically an implementation project related to procurement of data.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
see resume
Specialist (Current Employee), oaklandJanuary 4, 2014
I currently work part time as a Sony specialist. My position involves doing demos of new Sony products to customers, setting up displays, training employees and hitting quarterly sales goals for multiple departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great product to represent and even greater company to work for.
Assisted Sales (Current Employee), Fredericksburg, VAJanuary 3, 2014
Working for Sony has been a great learning experience in the industry. The company itself, is greatly flexible and understanding and has allowed for advancement and personal leadership within my current position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good atmosphere
Home Theater Specialist- Seasonal (Current Employee), La Jolla, CADecember 31, 2013
Pros: food court nearby
Cons: hours.
I really enjoyed working at this store as a seasonal hire. They have a good communication with their employees and the culture is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Two days are the Same
Product Advisor PS4/ TV (Current Employee), Orlando, FLDecember 28, 2013
As a Product Adviser at Sony, you get the chance to work with a great team who have a laid back approach to work and customer service, but try their best to work as a team to accomplish sales goals while keeping employee morale and energy high. There aren't many benefits as opposed to other jobs, but the level of stress is low. I never dread a day of – more... work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They didn't use people to their full potential.
Optics Technician/Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee), Rancho Bernardo, CADecember 17, 2013
Even though they provided an entry level position to someone with a degree, they didn't allow for any advancement into the field of study.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to be.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Wrentham, MADecember 15, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
You meet so many new and nice customers, you even get some that you get to know who come in very often. Learned all of the basics of selling and being a cashier, i cherish that because it was my very first job. Best management on the planet, very fun people, teach you what you need to know and more. Everybody, co-workers and managers alike make you – more... feel at home. there really wasn't anything hard about the job, everybody helps you out. EVERYTHING was enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with gaming consoles
Playstation Tech Support (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVNovember 26, 2013
Pros: cool company
Cons: short breaks, no healthcare, constantly changing schedule
I help people troublshoot their Playstations and send them in for service as needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going atmosphere...
Engineering (Former Employee), Teancek, NJNovember 23, 2013
Pros: unlimited sick days & vacation time. great to take advantage of if you are a bi-lingual female.
Cons: expect termination when upper management makes wrong decisions and sales suffer.
No room for advancement - all the manager's 'favorites' get everything handed to them, rest of group gets the crumbs. Wrong people constantly recognized, so if you like kissing up & sleeping in the kitchen for customers to see you; this will get advancement. Pay is OK - don't always expect new product training - managers are busy meeting quotas to spread – more... their information to others. Sales is the name of the game, so if you are not in sales you're a second rate individual... you will most likely NOT get advanced... no matter how hard you or how dedicated you may be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Writer for Sony
Song Writer / Composer (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 18, 2013
I have been under contract since 1999 until Jan 1, 2014 as a staff writer. It was good to be a part of Sony but most of my work, which we both profited from, was found by myself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work day
Product Specialist (Former Employee), Miami, FLNovember 17, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: long day
Work day I would sell sell sell, customer service, the fun part is that I would learn every day about new sony prodcuts
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Technical support engineer (Current Employee), Mumbai, MHNovember 3, 2013
Pros: free launch
Cons: only eight hours working
Sony Systems Is a Good Company for Freshers and Experience Peoples.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok
Packer (Former Employee), Carol Stream, ILNovember 1, 2013
Pros: dont remember
Cons: supervisor rude
I had a young supervisor. he didn't know what he was doing. he was very rude to the females. co workers were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledge gaining company & very proud of working in sony.
SONY AS A SHOP FLOOR ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Chennai, TNOctober 28, 2013
Good working experience.
Good management.
Good products.
Gained more knowledge about the products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team of Creative Talented Minds
EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 22, 2013
Pros: recognition from direct report and dept/team
Cons: short notice in meetings agenda/material to provide in this working creative environment
•a typical day at work:
Take charge of all administrative responsibilities for the executives, i.e. managing heavy calendar of meetings, travel accommodations, meeting meterials/agenda, review and manage executive's email periodically through the day, cater to executive's lunch/breaks assuring they are met each day, upkeep department documentations – more... when needed.

•what you learned:
You have to own the role/position and always be 3 steps ahead of the executives you support 24/7.

•the hardest part of the job:
Changes to executive's meetings the day of that are short notice requiring material and/or a presentation in discussion.

•the most enjoyable part of the job:
I admire the creativity and talent each member in our team contribute to the brand of Sony. Every piece of work has been a great reflection of the company and I'm proud to say I was part of this amazing creative team of talents. =) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am a hard worker
warehouse (Former Employee), enfieldOctober 21, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: over 12 hours
I worked as shelf filler in warehouse lifting as well. It was long hours and hard job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Routine procedures
Supervisor, Logistics Services (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 20, 2013
Pros: being able to purchase sony product at a discount
Cons: constantly reminded of union procedures
Making sure that "AIR" and special deliveries were the priorities at the beginning of each shift and that this was completed in a very timely manner. I learned that there are MANY ways to insure that containers hauling the products were packed to maximize efficiency and to save costs. Co-workers were extremely attentative and observed actions by superiors, – more... subordinates, and peers alike. Consistency was vital! The hardest part of the job not being able to physically assist in any aspect of jobs deemed "worker" responsibilities. The most enjoyable part was being directly responsible for the many (and varied) social functions that brought the entire group together for fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Line Worker (Former Employee), Terre Haute, INOctober 19, 2013
I loved working hard and producing quality movies, cds and loved the environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good health benefits and a clean working environment
Process Analysis (Current Employee), Terre Haute, INOctober 18, 2013
Pros: clean work environment
Cons: lack of integrity displayed by many of the co-workers.
9 -10 hr work days M-F where business management skills are applied daily. Learned Six Sigma DMAIC methodology where I am able to apply to current projects I am involved with. Management team works well with team and has an open door policy. Co-works seem to work well together. The hardest part of the job is trying to advance in ones carrier, there – more... seems to be a "who you know" policy in order to advance ones career. The most enjoyable part is completing a project that helps save the company money and increases productivity.

I place much value in ones integrity, I like to say, "True integrity implies you do what is right when no one is looking." – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun.
Musician/Tour Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 17, 2013
Best time of my life? Maybe.Nothing like touring the world and playing YOUR own music. If you can do this I highly recommend it!

About Sony

Sony is synonymous with consumer electronics. It's especially big in TVs and game consoles like PlayStation3. Officially named – Read more