Sony Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 83 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Colleagues are easy to go along with. Managers are supportive
SALES CONSULTANT/SUPERVISOR - Sony of Canada (Former Employee) –  Grandview CornersJune 4, 2014
It is not your usual mall sales environment. Selling is made fun because of interaction with customers especially for tech-savvy people. The hardest part of the job is only when there are a lot of customers and there are only too few sales consultants to entertain them.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning about different products
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  North YorkJanuary 14, 2014
-Troubleshooting different Sony products
-Friendly environment
-Different end users
Pros
great cafeteria
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sony
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 29, 2013
Amazing environment. Strong sales and management team. Relationship building was very important in this atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONJune 8, 2014
I consider working for Sony of my greatest learning experiences within my 5 years Retail Sales experience. I appreciated the company and could genuinely get behind the products and services they sold. And, every customer was a great learning experience and easy to uphold a good sales relationship with.

The team I worked with was phenomenal. They were all great team players and genuinely loved seeing everyone in the store do well. I was brought in to help train them in a new retail sales venture of selling Sony smart-phones with Rogers Services (Smart phone plans; 3 yr). They held a huge variety of product of which really helped me learn how to pick out a customers needs to a truly specific point, instead of just generalizing a small number of products from a variety of manufacturers.

The most challenging thing was that this is the only company that really tracked their sales reps 'erosion" percentage; as individuals we had to be monitoring and maintaining good sales targets without destroying the gross margin on the product(s) in question. On of the only retailers I've ever heard or seen of tracking it in this manner.

It was a disappointment that the store was closing as we tried to grasp for positions in the company, many of us took the opportunity (and severance package) and tried to expand into other sales fields.
Pros
positive environment
Cons
short experience
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Interesting Job
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  North York, ONJune 25, 2013
Fun, interesting and demanding, I learned a lot about the industry, my bosses and co workers where cool. The busy season was fast and demanding but other then that it was easy to understand, the best part of the job was dealing with all the different type of people .
Pros
overtime
Cons
they closed
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get trained, limited advancement unless in marketing
Strategic Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, OntJuly 10, 2012
huge uphill battle ahead with lack of leadership and vision.
very low morale.
Great employees.
Not open to input or ideas for change
Pros
training
Cons
no support in sales
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Platinum Club Member
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  TORONTO ONMarch 11, 2013
I involved in day to day operations of a flagship store in Toronto,
I have completed the MIT program from Sony. I am responsible for hiring and training new staff on regular basis. I am passionate about my approach on selling and achieving sales targets
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 8, 2012
Hardest part of the job was the physical aspect. i.e. standing.

I learned various customer related skills, polished my interpersonal skills.

My managers were very approachable and well organized.

my co-workers were above average.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
sales rivalry
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Enviroment
Field Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 8, 2013
Great company to work for they really appreciate their employees. Everyone is super friendly and they have some excellent products. Great entery level position for people who just entered the workforce.
Pros
fun, great people
Cons
hard to move up
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Orillia, ONJuly 22, 2014
Awesome place to work for, i enjoyed the people and the atmosphere.
i liked learning about all the different products at sony, there training program Was amazing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promoted goods and services;
Bi-lingual Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  whitbyOctober 10, 2013
• Answered, in person or on the phone, enquiries from customers;
• Investigated complaints regarding the establishment's goods, services and policies;
• Ordered services and goods;
• Promoted goods and services
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a very good learning company
Sales Representative / Acting Manager (Former Employee) –  montreal,quebecNovember 16, 2013
excellent company to work for but were cutting position very well organized and discipline
Pros
lot 's of activity
Cons
hours were fair
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company with lots of great people. Too bad that the Vancouver branch has to be shut down due to the bad economic environment.
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam BCMay 2, 2014
Good Company with lots of great people. Had a great time working there!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting and challenging job.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABAugust 2, 2013
Productive and good place to work.We had to close a few locations since a electronic business on difficulty at this time.
Pros
dealing with new products on monthly basis.
Cons
electronics very tough market
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work
Asst. Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary AlbertaFebruary 17, 2014
Always excited to come to work. Company recognizes your ability and consider you as part of the family.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
business focus is not too clear in the last 5 years.
Financial Analyst / Lease Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 20, 2014
No much information shared among employees. Everyone is trying to protect his/her own expertise.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at Sony
MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABSeptember 5, 2014
Involved in all aspects of the day to day business of a retail store.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good Experience
Returns Department (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONMarch 16, 2012
It was a creative experience working at Sony DADC company. I learned the organizational skills from this work place.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
far from house
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company's concern is sales
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONNovember 8, 2013
Comapny's concern is always the bottom line. That is why no one stays for a long time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent training
Electronics Technician (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NSFebruary 22, 2014
good place to work , many courses provided to inprove technical level
Pros
training
Cons
low wages
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,852 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture