Find companies:
Sony
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
356 reviews

Sony Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly innovative company
Management (Current Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 28, 2014
Pros: great technologies and access to broad portfolio of assets
Cons: need to get rid of dead weight
Great company to work for. Global in their reach. Some divisions work with speed and others are like the titanic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for college job
Representative (Former Employee), El Paso, TXSeptember 21, 2014
Pros: new tech
Cons: job security
This job was fun. Got to play with the newest tech from Sony daily. Learned about internal sales. Great management on the Sony end. Difficult to keep shelves stocked with high demand products. Fun environment to work in and getting to communicate with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyment and productive
Production Worker (Former Employee), Ebbw Vale, WLSSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: friendships
Cons: travel to bridgend
day shifts 6am-2pm

afternoon shifts 2pm-10pm

making sure that the screens were properly cleaned and ready for the next process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's VFX - Visual Effects for film
VFX Production Manager (Former Employee), Culver City, CASeptember 17, 2014
Pros: exciting and fast paced environment
Cons: long hours
Typical day at work is 12 hours of meetings, note taking, data entry, shot and information reconciling within department and between all departments, people management, archaeological digs for information compiled during shooting and now needed for post, budgeting, scheduling, deadlines, being an open book for all team members so information passes – more... effectively between the team - no bottlenecks. The most enjoyable part of the job - working with a terrific group of people with one objective - to get the film done on time and on budget. The hardest part of the job - so much to do and time is finite - only 24 hours in a day no matter how you look at it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative place to work
Business Manager (Current Employee), Brussels, BRUSeptember 6, 2014
Great place to work. You learn a lot and travel and have a lot of fun. You learn a lot about technology
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company struggling to find a new identity
Retail Sales Supervisor (Current Employee), Work from homeAugust 31, 2014
-A typical work day has me out on the road, teaching others about products and services that the company provides.
-This job has taught me how to manage my time effectively and manage myself while supporting and coaching others.
-Management has changed so many times, I'm not sure how to really comment on it. This company has been in transition, so each – more... year I've had an different direct manager. Even at the highest level, there have been several changes, so it's hard to comment on their management style and future direction.
-Co-workers have always been great, fun people to work with. However, with all the changes, many of those people are gone and overall morale has dropped.
-The hardest part of the job is keeping yourself and your team motivated during this difficult time. With all of the fun and excitement that this job use to bring, now that there is sense of constant urgency and job uncertainty, attempting to bring that excitement back has become the most difficult task.
-The most enjoyable part of the job is the subject matter that I am working with. We get to play around with and talk about the latest and greatest in electronics today. Not many people can say they got to watch TV, listen to music, take some pictures and play some video games, and that being a hard day at work.

As of August 2014 – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sony Exculesive store Urmila Tower Dhanbad
MARKETING (Current Employee), DhanbadAugust 23, 2014
when market closed and sale not done.
I learned customer behavior and selling skills.
Co.management very supportive and helpful.
My Co-Workers very helpful.
when flying customer visit the store and convert to sale.
the most enjoyable part is to achieve day target.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Production Line Worker (Former Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 20, 2014
Pros: company discounts, great benefits, great training, great products
Cons: little to non production
Loved the company, employees, benefits. They had a steady and good production flow until they reliocated the company elsewhere causing a layoff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New and Innovating
Sony Ericson Marketing Development Manager (Former Employee), Dallas, TxAugust 19, 2014
Awesome place to work
Great team work
Hardest part is keeping up with the changes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a ton about royalties
Copyright Department Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 18, 2014
A typical day of work was redacting stacks of contracts to remove information from them that wasn't pertinent to the parties the contract was being sent to, or was classified from them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pace job
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee), laredo, txAugust 18, 2014
at this job I use to input information for a renewal or replaced playstation. we use to input the data into the system and checked for warranties or any damage. the hardest thing about this job was we had a goal that had to be reached every time and maintain no errors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non- stop production
Assembler (Former Employee), New Stanton, PAAugust 17, 2014
worked in all different assembly lines wherever needed
learned new positions all the time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disciplined place to work ,learned alot,fun environment
sales representative (Former Employee), lahore pakistanAugust 14, 2014
Pros: free lunches, discounts
Cons: not any significant
It was fun to work in SONY i was the sales representative there it was a nice friendly and fun environment there i learned a lot about the sales outbound inbound cold calls warm calls...reaching sales targets my manager at Sony was a really nice man always motivational,friendly and helpful there were also typical days where i had to deal with some extra – more... angry and manner less customers hardest part of the job was reaching sales target most enjoyable part was when i reached the sales target before time also assisting good nice nature customers was also very enjoying and being a student i also really enjoy to assisting the student customer as suggesting them different solutions according to there budget – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Abap Technical and Functional
ABAP Consultant (Support) (Current Employee), Bangalore, KAAugust 10, 2014
Good Functional Knowledge SAP Sales and Distribution

Abap skills:
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoyed working here
Sales representative (Former Employee), hawthorne,caAugust 10, 2014
easy going sales oriented position assisted customers and answered questions regarding sony bravia line of televisions
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice
QA Software Test Engineer (Contractor) (Former Employee), Culver City, CAAugust 1, 2014
Very nice
Very nice
Very nice

Excellent management
Good people
Con: Phasing down of dept.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High productive place to work with a great working environment on an extremely dynamic market/country
CS Chief Argentina, Paraguay and Uruguay (Current Employee), Buenos Aires, ArgentinaJuly 28, 2014
Pros: work place environment, customer service team, brand name, empowerment and how much i learn here.
Cons: career plan "on hold" due to present market situation for the next 2 years.
Everyday market rules and situation change mainly due to government change on Customs Regulation, Market Regulation, Local Producing incentives, Import Restriction, etc.
Here I learned to achieve Tgts to assure Customer Satisfaction whatever the country market/business environment changes are by team working and focus on deadlines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Coordinator Spare Parts and Logistic (Former Employee), SydneyJuly 28, 2014
- Receiving, Dispatching, and Distributing, spare parts to all technicians in Sydney and other states (Melbourne, Queensland, Perth, Adelaide).
- Input spare part details or data into the system.

- Using the forklift to arrange spare parts and goods to the correct place.

- I learned how to manage the time for multitasking jobs.

- Management - there – more... was too many people involved in making decisions and therefore, brought about too many different opinions

- Co-workers, good cooperation and fun.

- The hardest part - having to make a decision to prioritise the job that is the most important when there are many jobs occurring at the same time

- After work, we went to have dinner together with co-workers to release stressed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work
Transport Superivisor (Former Employee), Hyderabad, APJuly 23, 2014
Pros: no free lunch
Cons: 12hrs
starting day is a typical day at work . i had learned so many things abt my life . my coulics are very good they help each others they guied every one
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Greed has DADC in it's clutches
Operator (Former Employee), Terre Haute, IndianaJuly 11, 2014
Cons: everything
Years ago people were proud to say they worked at Sony DADC. Now, however, it is embarrassing. Corporate cut backs have targeted ONLY the hourly shift employees while management walks around smug in their untouchable status. The hourly shift employees have been jerked around so much many have lost their homes, vehicles and families. Wage cut backs have – more... triggered bankruptcy and divorce, yet management and Monday through Friday salary employees remain untouched. Management and Human Resources are clueless about the needs of the hourly employees and "honestly can't understand why morale is so low". This facility is poison to a person's soul. The environment is toxic. – less

About Sony

Sony is synonymous with consumer electronics. It's especially big in TVs and game consoles like PlayStation3. Officially named – Read more