Find companies:
Sonoco Products Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Sonoco Products Company Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and professional. Great environment and great employees.
Data Entry/Analyst (Current Employee), Hartsville, SCApril 22, 2015
• Worked as a team and individually to meet sales and production goals set by management.
• Worked in marketing for each product group and minor to categorize items into proper placement.
• Worked in the Master Estimates of products to correct the packaging process.
• Update and change information from old system to convert into new system.
• Used Microsoft Excel to create product lists for items needing updates or corrections
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great compensation , horrible job work/life balance
Assistant Operator (Current Employee), Suffolk, VAMarch 9, 2015
Start equipment to start production process
Lift raw materials manually or with hoists
Operate machinery used in the production process , assisting operator
Clean equipment
Observe equipment operations to inform the operator of any malfunctions
Examine products to ensure good quality cans are being shipped
Change machine gears for different can sizes
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was beautiful to work for Sonoco
Lead Material Handler (Former Employee), Andover, MAFebruary 24, 2015
was a very good company I loved to work for Sonoco.
people were very nice I,m sad that they have to close after 14 year.
working for them,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uncaring Management and Uncaring Corporate Support
Former Employee (Former Employee), Waynesville, North CarolinaDecember 4, 2014
Cons: they tell you great things to get you in the door but never follow through with them.
Does not matter how long you worked there or how hard/good you did your job. More like "popularity" contest. Like being back in high school. Not a "yes man" so did not go over well with new management. They say they want to "grow employees" NOT true.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work was very hard
fotklift oper yardjockey (Former Employee), robesonia pa 19551October 10, 2014
Pros: days went fast lots of ot
Cons: did follow company policies
great co-workers days went fast very fast paced worked there 36yrs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Lab Assistant (Former Employee), Hartsville, SCAugust 11, 2014
Given many opportunities to further my experiences and field work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees(co-workers). Great benefits. Very Poor Management.
Forklift (Former Employee), Newport, TNJuly 27, 2014
Sonoco overall was a great place to work. When I started in 1996 it was an awesome job with exceptional management. Then over the years the management of the company declined drastically. They quit caring about the employees and started treating them as just another number. This was a culture change that myself along with many others found unacceptable for which the reason we decided to pursue other job opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Finishing Leader / Setup Attendant (Former Employee), Montville, NJJune 28, 2014
- good benefit
- 401K
- good vacation pay
- company stocks
- safety focus
- good pay
- stop auditor
- good supervisor
- good management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging
Administrative Secretary/Technology Coordinator (Current Employee), Hartsville, SCJune 27, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedule and able to work from home
My typical day at work is extremely busy and challenging. Almost every day brings about something new to learn which is very exciting for me.

The management team is very supportive, provides career development and training, and pushes to strive for success.

My co-workers are a great group of people to work with and very respectful and nice to be around on a daily basis, which makes the day go by and very enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always busy, physically active
Line Leader (Former Employee), Winchester, KYMay 29, 2014
Pros: bonuses
Cons: long commute
This was a good job, great people, pay was alright for the time and I like the work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities!
Production Supervisor (Former Employee), Newport, TNJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: good compensation, benefits
Cons: can be stressful
I enjoyed my 19 years with Sonoco. I was offered a number of opportunities for professional growth
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sonoco Products Company Employee Review
Human Resources (Current Employee), HartsvilleOctober 22, 2013
Pros: safe work environment; compensation plans
Cons: lack of flexible work arrangments and work-life balance
A typical workday involves everything from collaboration with colleagues, managing external resources and addressing escalations from employees who have questions and/or concerns.

Most of the professional development during my tenure at Sonoco has been internal. The particular department I work in does not place an emphasis on external professional development or education. This has likely been one of my largest disappointments in this role.

This lack of continued professional development does not seem to be common practice at Sonoco company-wide. Other departments and business units appear to value their employees continuing to gain knowledge in their area of expertise.

Company leadership and larger business unit leadership are strong and clearly define company goals and objectives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was always giving employees cookouts or gifts.
Retired (Former Employee), Hartsville, SCJuly 27, 2013
Excellent Place to work.Great people to work for.Management was great.Most co-workers was great.The hardest part of the job was having to let some employees go.The most enjoyable part of the job was at the end of the day you had everything done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a ok place to work for
Team Lead (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMay 3, 2013
Pros: some good people work here
Cons: management did not care about you
This is a place where you would get tied down too and this place, it was not any room for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uncaring, unrealistic cutbacks and layoffs
Former employee (Former Employee), Waynesville, NCNovember 1, 2012
Pros: adding on extra production lines to create more output and positions.
Cons: laying off key employees to cut back on salary costs unnecessarily.
Cutbacks and layoffs of long term good employees who were more than meeting and fulfilling their job descriptions. Big corporation uncaring attitude towards the same people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Relationships
Communications Coordinator (Former Employee), Hartsville, SCJune 8, 2012
I really enjoyed everyone that I worked with; we were like a family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Quality Technician and Production Operations (Former Employee), Henderson, KYMay 9, 2012
Pros: good pay rate
Cons: too much overtime
Productive
Management stepping stone, turn over every two years
Repetitive work
Safety
I enjoyed being on teams.