Find companies:
SolarCity
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
44 reviews

SolarCity Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as advertised. Employee revolving door
SENIOR SOLAR CONSULTANT (Former Employee), Rocky Hill, CTSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: best positioned company in the market. great brand recognition.
Cons: don't value employees. crazy hours. poor management. poor pay.
SolarCity is by far the largest player in the market. Their product is good but overpriced, positioning is great but management is terrible and extremely unrealistic. I was promised a six-figure salary as a senior sales consultant and barely made half that first year. I did sell the volume in that time, but cancellations were rampant as the company – more... doesn't support you or your customers after the sale and disqualify a disproportionally higher number of homes than the industry average, thereby constantly taking commissions off the table. In reality you have to produce 200% of your monthly goal to make the kind of money they suggest you can make. Couple of my customers said it best..."looks to me, the only one making money in this deal is SolarCity" and that includes the Consultants. Management team is young and inexperienced and many of the employees are constantly changing. I had 4 different managers in my first year and sales consultants were coming and going at an alarming rate. They simply aren't committed to employees working in a sales role. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with great people at SolarCity!
Sr. Field Energy Consultant (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 10, 2014
Pros: being apart of a great team of great people.
Cons: no breaks or vacations for the entire time worked there.
Typical day is having 2-3 appointments per day and working 2-3 years in the Home Depot or networking at events.

I learned how to design and sell solar system.

Management team changed several times over the course of a year and half.

The best part of working at SolarCIty were my co-workers. I meet several friends that will remain friends for many – more... years.

My friends were the best part of my job at SolarCIty. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Promise But Doesn't Deliver
FEC (Current Employee), San Fernando ValleySeptember 5, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: work 7 days a week; upper management unrealistic in monthly goals
1. The idea and the premise is wonderful! BUT

Many roofs are not eligible or need re-roofing. Electical need to be up to date as well. These are no longer part of what SC builds in the leases so the job of the FEC/FES has become more difficult. Thus making net goal each month becomes more and more difficult. the homeowners need to make their roofs – more... "solar ready".

My team, 10 out of 16 did not make net goal. They are in danger of separation.

2. Co-workers all strive to make the jobs complete. A helping hand is always available.

3. Direct management tries very hard but they are under the thumbs of upper management who care only for numbers. There are some great people managers-not so much in upper management. Upper management want to see numbers--quantity vs quality.

4. Typically, your life is SC for the next 9 months to a year. Provided you get past the 90 day probation. SC uses this to gauge performance as any company but what they do not tell you is that ONCE you train in Vegas, your contract with the low sales quota is gone. You are subject to the now extreme.goals that are now net.

In addition, the weekly reports that are handed in to management are apparently used to substitute the procedure that CA Labor Law maintains to lay grounds for separation. SC does not play fair.

5. SC looks great on paper but the pressure that is laid on the FEC/FES is tremendous and certainly they are not protected in any way. If the numbers are not there despite some very obvious reasons, management does not care. This company is now becoming a revolving door for sales.

6. Honestly, the best part of the job is talking to families who could benefit from the solar energy use. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great product!
Warehouse manager (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 14, 2014
Fun company to work for. Great product and outlook. Not very good for family time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people on the bottom are not protected
Energy Advisor (Former Employee), San Mateo, CAJuly 8, 2014
Inexperienced people should not make schedules
Spent loads of money on Sales Conference and were not reachable like they said they would be
Reported others not following policies and they were promoted
Harassed by coworker and "investigation" was a joke
Commissions clawed back because consultants lied
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD FOOD
Installer Technician (Current Employee), Rocky Hill, CTJune 22, 2014
Pros: good food
Cons: sget
sdddSGREERGEGEGAGDFSServicing fire and smoke detection systems, troubleshooting and minor repair and replacements of parts and material. Responsible for meeting customer expectations while performing quality inspections. Perform routine inspections, testing, and preventative maintenance of SimplexGrinnell as well as similar competitive manufacturer's – more... product line. Sellproducts or services performed by SimplexGrinnell not being utilized by customer. Complete Service Requests & follow and maintain a highly structured inspection schedule.Complete assigned inspections on time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Junior PV Installer (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAMay 27, 2014
Pros: opportunities for growth. benefits. pay. vacation. schedule. success.
A safe and clean workplace. While working hard I had a great experience learning and growing from this employer. I had one of the best groups of coworkers that one would describe as reliable and professional. A typical day working for SolarCity would be maintaining a safe working environment while getting the job finished. I enjoyed working for this – more... company because I take pride in my work. After finishing a project I would feel good about myself as well as the work I accomplished. To me there was no hard part of the job considering I work hard and pride myself on being successful. This company was so organized, a well managed workplace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
free cereal does not make up for the threatening environment
Recruiter (Former Employee), CAMay 21, 2014
Pros: free snacks
Cons: threatening culture
They make you feel like they will fire you any moment. The sales staff threaten people to make the sale.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company mission, high-growth but culture & management is lacking
Marketing (Current Employee), San Mateo, CAMay 14, 2014
Pros: flexible
Cons: no 401k matching, all sales driven so other departments are underappreciated, no work/life balance
Management is lacking, departments are disorganized, benefits are slim, but overall company mission keeps you coming to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Formal Employee
Customer Service (Former Employee), San Mateo, CAApril 21, 2014
Pros: fun employees to work with
Poor middle management, was told I my job was safe and was laid off for not relocating to Las Vegas, HR unhelpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair
Retail Energy Advisor (Former Employee), Ontario, CAApril 17, 2014
Company Close Kiosk after only four months. Wasn't given a chance nor the opportunity to transfer within company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun workplace
Legacy Energy Advisor (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAApril 16, 2014
Awesom place to work for, easy day in the office, fun people. Easy going managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SolarCity
Interconnection Specialist (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVApril 13, 2014
Pros: growing company. product saves the planet.
Cons: low pay.
Great product. Provides excellent value to the customer. Does the 'right thing' for the planet and the customer. Competing with the energy industry however means pay is very low.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Energy Work Place
Office Manager (Former Employee), Las Vegas,NVApril 8, 2014
The job was fast paced and often required a high level of multitasking. The most valuable thing I learned was to adapt as situations changed quickly with fast company growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, low pay, safety is priority
Installer (Current Employee), Rocky Hill, CTMarch 25, 2014
Pros: safety
Cons: low pay
Plenty of work, Safety is priority, Good people to work with, Benefits, Pay is low, Installers deserve more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting industry
Retail Energy Advisor (Former Employee), Broomfield, COMarch 7, 2014
Pros: good work culture
Cons: minimal benefits at best
Working for SolarCity was a real treat. They were at the forefront of a new emerging market and had a great CEO who was always on the cusp of exciting ways to help people live better lives. My biggest criticism and ultimate downfall of the company was that management was poorly structured. I could go weeks at the time without knowing who to report to – more... because of the constant change in structure. I also had 3 different managers in a 5 month timeframe which left a confusing impression on how I was supposed to carry out the company visions and policies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SolarCity is having growing pains.
Field Energy Consultant (Former Employee), South Orange CountyFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: great product to sell with a great company backgraound to sell value on.
Cons: no back end help after the sale. i ended up having to manage their work as well.
• Account executive with over 180 accounts overseeing entire sales process from proposal to interconnection for residential solar systems.
• Design solar systems through Edlight Design Program and create proposals through Sales Force.
• Generate leads through referral program, Home Depot partnership and related events.
• Manage and mentor 3 Field Energy – more... Advisors on acquiring accounts through Home Depot.
The hardest part of the job was having to work 7 days of the week. I learned a great deal about how to manage my time and design systems. The best part about being solar sale consultant was signing 20 year agreements with home owners to lock in their rate for electricity and make money doing it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Jr. Solar Installer (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: cool people
Cons: low incentives
Awesome. Very cool people but low incentives to work hard at times
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Accounts Payable Specialist (Current Employee), San Mateo, CAJanuary 9, 2014
-Very social and relaxed atmosphere
-Workload is very manageable
-Parking is a hassle because of the need to park off-site and take shuttle
-As with most other Accounting related jobs, Month-, Quarter-, Year-end times are much busier
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Breakroom was awsome, people were fun to work with
Customer Service, Assist Sales Representatives (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: breakroom was stocked with drinks and snacks
Cons: managment communication - job presentation during hiring process
I was there at Halloween and it was cool to see all the departments get involved in the festivities. The company provided all you needed as far as drinks and snacks. You didn't really even need to bring lunch. My co workers were fantastic and we all got along very well.

The training and processes were confusing. The communication from the management – more... staff was contradicting. They wanted mandatory overtime everyday (10 to 14 hour days) and weekends (Saturday and sometimes even Sunday) and the pay was not worth it for the requirments they wanted. – less

1 2 3

About SolarCity

SolarCity Delivers Better Energy SolarCity is a national leader in clean energy services. We make clean energy available to – Read more