SolarCity Employee Reviews

Showing all 691 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not friendly working environment
Senior Process Technician (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CA23 April 2017
the management is bad . The supervisor with no knowledge about the process, rude
The Human Resource is terrible. I never have such bad working hr ever.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Solar PV Installer (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CA21 April 2017
Working for SolarCity was great all the way around. I had no complaints as an employee. Management was always very helpful and understanding. Crew leads looked out for all crew members and made sure they were not only working safe but also on the ball when it came to getting work done.
Pros
Very professional and family friendly
Cons
Working in the rain at times but even that wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ping pong table and a basketball hoop!
Solar Panel Installer (Former Employee) –  Bethpage, NY21 April 2017
i loved working for solar city. it was very laid back while we got our work done . it also has a kitchen that we can heat up food that we brought from home.
Pros
lunches 401k
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company if you have the oppurtunity to get a job take it immediatley
Field Energy Specialist (Former Employee) –  Pine Brook, NJ21 April 2017
Amazing Company. The team I was paired with was very helpful with my success. At a young age they taught me many things that not a lot of kids my age know how to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Field Energy Consultant (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TX18 April 2017
Great Company with a great trajectory - certain regions are slow to adopt and hard for sales agents to meet quota. But the people you work with are great and honestly it was a great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work experience
Engineering Design Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Portland, OR17 April 2017
SolarCity is working to save the world. However, it is losing focus on helping its employees along the way. The turn over rate is high and may end up coming back to hurt the company in the long run. The company currently seems set up to bring on young students for 1 to 2 years. There is no structure to encourage hard working dedicated teammates to stay around.
Pros
Clean Energy
Cons
No incentive to stay
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place of business
Crew Lead (Former Employee) –  Agawam, MA16 April 2017
I learned alot construction/Structural wise as well as being a lead and running the ins and outs of my crew, organizing jobs, customer relation with our customers.
Pros
Great place to work for experience
Cons
Not great job security, managment organization needs improvment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy the solar coaster!
Sales (Former Employee) –  Denver, CO16 April 2017
I had a great 5 years working at solarcity. Many opportunities for different positions and career advancement. I left before the Tesla merger but would highly recommend!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unattainable quotas, lack of stability
Field Energy Specialist (Current Employee) –  Maryland15 April 2017
While some parts of this company are a joy, the parts that count are miserable. You are on your feet 8 hours a day, approaching customers, trying to create appointments for the consultants. Your quota is based on whether or not the consultant is able to close your lead. I don't appreciate my money and job security being dependent on someone else. All around bad moral and unfair business strategy. It makes it hard to be happy when you have very limited control over your success.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More focus on attitude than performance
COMMERCIAL INTERCONNECTION COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NV15 April 2017
Pretty easy going work environment, a lot of good people within. Management will value attitude over performance in promotion procedure. Low level of accountability, significant amount of time will be spent on redundant items.
Pros
Casual work environment, very friendly.
Cons
Unstable internal organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Declining morale & High employee turn-over
Field Energy Consultant (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CA14 April 2017
Management only cared about your last Months results. Originally provided Leads which gradually declined to a minimum...instead requiring you stand in a Home Depot for hours to canvass leads. As Rebates lessened, so did the commissions per job.
Pros
2 Weeks Paid training
Cons
Negative outbursts by Management in Sales meeting
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family oriented company
Commercial Installer (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ14 April 2017
i loved the installers i worked with they became famiily to me, managment on the other hand was a joke they never knew what was going on and would always lie instead of finding oout the information needed. most upper menagment has never spent a day in the feild or had any REAL soalr expirence outside oF A TEXT BOOK.
Pros
TRAVEL
Cons
never keeps promises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Turn Over Rate
Field Energy Consultant (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CA13 April 2017
Training is a joke. Only give you a crash course on what is expected and then throw you to the wolves. Not enough leads given to you in order to build a pipeline. All recent new recruits were let go within 3 months due to lack of performance and none had been on enough appointments to hit their quotas.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for
Document GenerationSpecialist (Former Employee) –  Draper, UT12 April 2017
A realy great company to work for. Great benefits, but you will need to work to reach full potential that is offered by the company. The work is easy enough but you will need to pay attention to advance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company and staff are wonderful
Solar Installer (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CA11 April 2017
I fell that I leared allot from this company and wish to persue working with solar one way or another. I had a good time and met very nice people. will never forget what I learnd.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
PV Designer II (Former Employee) –  California11 April 2017
The job was fun and the flexibility was amazing. As long as the job was done, I had the option to work anytime during the day. Working for a company that focuses on renewable energy was a great feeling.
Pros
Flexibility, culture, benefits, fun job, challenging
Cons
The job wasn't secure. I was laid off in a year.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very uptight and no fun
Crew Lead (Former Employee) –  Industry, CA11 April 2017
all the people were cool and friendly there just the management and the manger was very bad! I would only want to get hired back at a different office.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Saving the World
Field Energy Consultant (Former Employee) –  New jersey11 April 2017
Good place to work
Management needs to relax and coach more
Need to get a better handle on their pricing and products
Need to show more areas for advancement
Pros
Good company
Cons
Constantly changing their direction
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Permit Technician (Former Employee) –  Post Falls, ID10 April 2017
Great place to work. Great benefits. It's mostly up to the local manager to make things good or bad and I almost always had a good manager. They push you, but it's a good experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Field Energy Specialist (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CA10 April 2017
Great entry level sales job. Guaranteed 30,000 salary plus commission is very nice. I had 4 different bosses in the first year. Management needs work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SolarCity. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 691 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.9
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

80%
387 ratings
Add your rating