SolarCity

254 reviews

SolarCity Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Moving Target
Inside Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVFebruary 3, 2016
Unfortunately, my time at SolarCity was less than stellar.

Sales goals changed on a weekly basis, it seemed. Quotas were strictly enforced for some groups of employees, but not for others. The work environment was very stressful as well
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Such a wonderful company
Field Energy Specialist (Former Employee), Stockton, CAFebruary 2, 2016
Pros: Literally everything. So much fun at the meetings, great people and environment. Great cause.
Cons: Hitting numbers, working weekends
This company environment is the best I've ever been a part of. They job is not a fit for everyone, but the amount of support and energy at Solar City is refreshing. It feels great to know that you are truly helping people save money (even if they don't believe you).
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
INSTALLER (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAFebruary 1, 2016
Pros: 4-10 work week
Cons: 10-14 hour days
you most likey work crazy hours, that being said pay can be crazy good,, but that being said some days i make $40 plus an hour others day i might make $7 an hour.. pay is mostly panel pay. you make so much on each panel..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great bonus incentive
Call Center - Installation Scheduler (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJanuary 30, 2016
Great bonus structure and very flexible with the hours.
Very easy job as well.
However, management needs some work.
Overall, okay company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working at SolarCity
Sr. Energy Consultant (Current Employee), Fall River, MAJanuary 27, 2016
Pros: Company Car, Huge Commissions
Cons: Long Hours Quota Driven Environment Market Voilatility
Solar City is by far the best company i have ever worked for.

The management is phenomenal and culture is one that is happy and really does breed success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and challenging
Field Energy Consultant (Current Employee), Murrieta, CAJanuary 25, 2016
Pros: Company Car, Benefits and training
Cons: Poor Management at lower levels, too many sales personell
Great company to work for,
a bit under paid for the amount of work
Changes constantly so you need to be flexible
You do get a company car with all its expenses paid for,
and there is ample training and resources for the consultants,

Suffers from over hiring and in this area under qualified sales managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative and fun company
Senior Regional Sales Manager (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 25, 2016
SolarCity is an fast paced, rapidly changing company that invests in it's employees and cares about training and delivering a quality product.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun enviroment
Regional Operations Manager (Former Employee), Industry, CAJanuary 20, 2016
SolarCIty is a great company with great vision and will stop at nothing to achieve its main goal, saving this planet. I recommend being a part of a team that is dedicated, passionate and fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company. Solar was shut down so i have to work elsewhere.
Crew Lead/Laborer (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJanuary 19, 2016
I am a fast learner in anything I do.I take pride in Quality.It was not the companies fault for Nevada shutting down the solar industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcome to the solar coaster
Field Energy Specialist (Current Employee), Manchester, NHJanuary 18, 2016
Pros: innovative
Cons: stressful
Long days standing on your feet. Standard lead generator with customers walking by, while stationed in a partner store. Cut-throat business, very competitive and have to be very self motivated to be successful. Enjoyed some, but not all co-workers. Lots of team meetings depending on your manager, even during your days off. Always on call, working all weekends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and expanding
Energy Consultant Expert (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVJanuary 18, 2016
Pros: Great Co-workers
Cons: on call 7 days a week
It has been very nice to learn from some of the industries best and a market that will continue to grow. Compensation is good but 4 months out after install.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Vision and Awesome Leaders
REGIONAL SALES MANGER (Current Employee), Inland Empire, CAJanuary 18, 2016
Pros: good benefits, visionary leadership, fun culture.
Cons: communication breakdown from executive mission to lower management, High pressure cut throat sales sub-cultures
Good company and vision. Growing so fast there are growing pains and middle/lower management doesn't practice or preach what the leaders and executives talk about are their vision and mission. Fun competitive sales culture. Great product and solution. Emerging industry with bright future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable work environment with opportunity for advancement
Jr. Inspection Coordinator (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVJanuary 16, 2016
Pros: opportunity for growth
Cons: low hourly pay rate
I would still be working there if we were not closing in the state of NV. The hourly wage was not great but the benefit package and opportunity for over time and bonuses help to compensate for this.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Billing no longer residing in Las Vegas
Collection Analyst (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJanuary 15, 2016
Pros: Work atmospher
Cons: Benefits/Very Transitional Company
In the billing department there was a great work culture although not the best benefits offered. Very flexible with work schedules and every once a while when necessary you were able to work from home. No 401K match and only offered shares of stocks. They have transferred billing department from San Mateo CA. to Las Vegas, now to Salt Lake City.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
True expectations
Inside Energy Specialist (Current Employee), Roseville, CAJanuary 15, 2016
Pros: Subsidized Lunch
Cons: A lot
Think wolf of wall street... there's a reason they are always hiring. crazy turnover, immature environment. They are very good at recruiting, similar to the military. Promise of false expectations. Good to stay at for 4 months, use the experience and leave. Don't drink the kool aid
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cult Following- DO NOT get sucked in
Solar Energy Consultant (Former Employee), Elmsford, NYJanuary 12, 2016
Pros: Be your own boss
Cons: Cult like culture
Managers are beyond power hungry and often get lost on their numerous power trips. Save your time and dont bother applying for a position here
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for with a lot of work available to make good money.
Installer II (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVJanuary 6, 2016
Pros: Overall great company to work for in every aspect.
Cons: Job Security
As much as I loved working for SolarCity and everything it stood for, they are no longer going to be in the state of Nevada.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lot of corperate things need to be worked out, but can be a good career for some to persue.
Installer (Current Employee), Denver, COJanuary 5, 2016
Pros: Chance to benifit in bonus pay outside of hourly rate
Cons: Long and inconsistant work days, also work in hot and cold weather
Working for Solar City requires a lot of commitment outside of the hours they say you will work. The benefits are good with company shares, but the management and leadership are inconsistent but friendly. The pay can be good, but can vary week to week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good enviorment
Electric Qualify Person (Current Employee), Albany, NYJanuary 4, 2016
Pros: free lunch
Cons: nd
like working with them.
typical day at work if rain or snow day.
I learned a lot on this company.
I always with my co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing Experience
Energy Consultant (Former Employee), Santa Ana, CAJanuary 4, 2016
Pros
There's lots of freedom and you get a company car! They provide you with a company laptop, cell phone stipend, and a mobile wifi. These tangible goods were pretty awesome.

Cons
Huge cultural issues subside in SolarCity. It's a high sales volume, top down pressure culture. I deal with these situations just fine, and performed as one of the top sales people in my region. The problem was, I was extremely overworked, which the company will ultimately blame on you, they will recite the few people that have struck a work life balance, but these people are by far the exception, not the norm. I met a lot of people that thought they can handle the work-load in the beginning, but soon quit, or got fired since they couldn't keep up. You need to be willing to work 7 days a week, at least for the first 2-3 years. My biggest issue was my reliance on other departments to handle presumably simple tasks. Sales people are ultimately selling a home imporvement, which requires light construction. It wasn't unusual for a home-owner to have some obligations or additional costs to move forward. This is where things got complicated, as a sales rep, you want to help-- but the company does not empower the sales force to take care of these issues, or provide useful resources to how you can get the project to move forward. Handling these issues ends up taking most of your time, unless you learn how to turn a cold-shoulder toward your customers. Overall a terrible experience for both myself, and the customer.
Claimed Profile
Headquarters
3055 Clearview Way
San Mateo, CA 94402
Revenue
$100m to $500m (CAD)
Employees
10,000+
Industry
Links
SolarCity website
YouTube Page

Twitter

Facebook