Find companies:
SolarCity
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
40 reviews

SolarCity Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people on the bottom are not protected
Energy Advisor (Former Employee), San Mateo, CAJuly 8, 2014
Inexperienced people should not make schedules
Spent loads of money on Sales Conference and were not reachable like they said they would be
Reported others not following policies and they were promoted
Harassed by coworker and "investigation" was a joke
Commissions clawed back because consultants lied
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD FOOD
Installer Technician (Current Employee), Rocky Hill, CTJune 22, 2014
Pros: good food
Cons: sget
sdddSGREERGEGEGAGDFSServicing fire and smoke detection systems, troubleshooting and minor repair and replacements of parts and material. Responsible for meeting customer expectations while performing quality inspections. Perform routine inspections, testing, and preventative maintenance of SimplexGrinnell as well as similar competitive manufacturer's – more... product line. Sellproducts or services performed by SimplexGrinnell not being utilized by customer. Complete Service Requests & follow and maintain a highly structured inspection schedule.Complete assigned inspections on time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Junior PV Installer (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAMay 27, 2014
Pros: opportunities for growth. benefits. pay. vacation. schedule. success.
A safe and clean workplace. While working hard I had a great experience learning and growing from this employer. I had one of the best groups of coworkers that one would describe as reliable and professional. A typical day working for SolarCity would be maintaining a safe working environment while getting the job finished. I enjoyed working for this – more... company because I take pride in my work. After finishing a project I would feel good about myself as well as the work I accomplished. To me there was no hard part of the job considering I work hard and pride myself on being successful. This company was so organized, a well managed workplace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
free cereal does not make up for the threatening environment
Recruiter (Former Employee), CAMay 21, 2014
Pros: free snacks
Cons: threatening culture
They make you feel like they will fire you any moment. The sales staff threaten people to make the sale.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company mission, high-growth but culture & management is lacking
Marketing (Current Employee), San Mateo, CAMay 14, 2014
Pros: flexible
Cons: no 401k matching, all sales driven so other departments are underappreciated, no work/life balance
Management is lacking, departments are disorganized, benefits are slim, but overall company mission keeps you coming to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Formal Employee
Customer Service (Former Employee), San Mateo, CAApril 21, 2014
Pros: fun employees to work with
Poor middle management, was told I my job was safe and was laid off for not relocating to Las Vegas, HR unhelpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair
Retail Energy Advisor (Former Employee), Ontario, CAApril 17, 2014
Company Close Kiosk after only four months. Wasn't given a chance nor the opportunity to transfer within company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun workplace
Legacy Energy Advisor (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAApril 16, 2014
Awesom place to work for, easy day in the office, fun people. Easy going managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SolarCity
Interconnection Specialist (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVApril 13, 2014
Pros: growing company. product saves the planet.
Cons: low pay.
Great product. Provides excellent value to the customer. Does the 'right thing' for the planet and the customer. Competing with the energy industry however means pay is very low.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Energy Work Place
Office Manager (Former Employee), Las Vegas,NVApril 8, 2014
The job was fast paced and often required a high level of multitasking. The most valuable thing I learned was to adapt as situations changed quickly with fast company growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, low pay, safety is priority
Installer (Current Employee), Rocky Hill, CTMarch 25, 2014
Pros: safety
Cons: low pay
Plenty of work, Safety is priority, Good people to work with, Benefits, Pay is low, Installers deserve more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting industry
Retail Energy Advisor (Former Employee), Broomfield, COMarch 7, 2014
Pros: good work culture
Cons: minimal benefits at best
Working for SolarCity was a real treat. They were at the forefront of a new emerging market and had a great CEO who was always on the cusp of exciting ways to help people live better lives. My biggest criticism and ultimate downfall of the company was that management was poorly structured. I could go weeks at the time without knowing who to report to – more... because of the constant change in structure. I also had 3 different managers in a 5 month timeframe which left a confusing impression on how I was supposed to carry out the company visions and policies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SolarCity is having growing pains.
Field Energy Consultant (Former Employee), South Orange CountyFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: great product to sell with a great company backgraound to sell value on.
Cons: no back end help after the sale. i ended up having to manage their work as well.
• Account executive with over 180 accounts overseeing entire sales process from proposal to interconnection for residential solar systems.
• Design solar systems through Edlight Design Program and create proposals through Sales Force.
• Generate leads through referral program, Home Depot partnership and related events.
• Manage and mentor 3 Field Energy – more... Advisors on acquiring accounts through Home Depot.
The hardest part of the job was having to work 7 days of the week. I learned a great deal about how to manage my time and design systems. The best part about being solar sale consultant was signing 20 year agreements with home owners to lock in their rate for electricity and make money doing it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Jr. Solar Installer (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: cool people
Cons: low incentives
Awesome. Very cool people but low incentives to work hard at times
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Accounts Payable Specialist (Current Employee), San Mateo, CAJanuary 9, 2014
-Very social and relaxed atmosphere
-Workload is very manageable
-Parking is a hassle because of the need to park off-site and take shuttle
-As with most other Accounting related jobs, Month-, Quarter-, Year-end times are much busier
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Breakroom was awsome, people were fun to work with
Customer Service, Assist Sales Representatives (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: breakroom was stocked with drinks and snacks
Cons: managment communication - job presentation during hiring process
I was there at Halloween and it was cool to see all the departments get involved in the festivities. The company provided all you needed as far as drinks and snacks. You didn't really even need to bring lunch. My co workers were fantastic and we all got along very well.

The training and processes were confusing. The communication from the management – more... staff was contradicting. They wanted mandatory overtime everyday (10 to 14 hour days) and weekends (Saturday and sometimes even Sunday) and the pay was not worth it for the requirments they wanted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Las Vegas HQ
Incentives (Former Employee), Las VegasDecember 11, 2013
Pros: free snacks and beverages
Cons: no time for a lunch, no overtime, no pay raises.
When I was first hired on I was ecstatic! My first month I was told to get comfortable with the system and get use to everything. NOT even three weeks later I was being threatened that I wasn't meeting the monthly quota (that I was unaware of) and needed to work faster without any mistakes. I was denied ANY type of overtime and was forced to work during – more... my lunch just so I wouldn't lose my job! After about two months of working like a slave trying to meet this impossible quota I found that I was being paid $6 LESS than everyone else who was hired the same day and position as me! Totally unacceptable for such a large company. They decided to move their HQ to Las Vegas and hire on cheap employees for hard work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LONG ISLAND SOLARCITY
Field Energy Advisor (Current Employee), Long Island, NYNovember 23, 2013
Pros: work on your own/meet great home owners
Cons: management /supervisor
Started off great from day 1. but soon things changed for the worst. Poor management and communication. If the Regional Manger put their energy into the positive but focus was more on firing FEC'. Talk to you at the end of the month. Maybe you would have a job. To bad. Long Island N.Y. would have been great. RSM is clueless when it comes to Retail. – more... FEA' Lack the training didn't help. False promises. Supervisor for the FEA'S is a backstabber also. Great company lead by bunch clowns on Long Island... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doing good for the world but management stunk, and they burned me on commissions and laid me off after leading the nation in sales.
Residential Energy Advisor (Current Employee), Centennial, CONovember 19, 2013
Burned me on my commissions after laid off. Took back all sales "not realized". took 2 months to get final check. company was ok, cool parties and get together's. Knew I was doing something good for the world and wanted to make it work. Management was always changing and overloaded. company constantly pushing to minimize leadership, leaving workers – more... without anyone to oversee or notice. Cant believe they burned me on all my hard work. Laid me off after leading the Nation in sales. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company full of innovation and growth potential
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), NYNovember 18, 2013
Pros: exciting and innovative
Cons: training needs more balance
Company growing quickly but seems to lose focus when it comes to training new employees. Once the training gets a handle on balancing varied training areas the company should be amazing to be with.

About SolarCity

Ready to get off the grid? SolarCity can help. The company sells, installs, finances, and monitors turnkey solar energy systems – Read more