SolarCity Employee Reviews

Showing all 650 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the people employed at SolarCity.
Concierge (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CA24 March 2017
Typical day at work would be to work your pipeline, meetings regarding daily changes.
Learned something new everyday regarding changes with different state regulations pertaining to solar systems installed.
Management is very micro-managed.
Workplace culture is enjoyable because of the employee's.
Hardest part of the job is to learn the states your assigned to and all the other states rules and regulations that you don't work.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the people you work with.
Pros
Meet good people, both in employees and customers.
Cons
Micromanaged.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great education
SolarCity employee (Former Employee) –  Hartford, CT24 March 2017
The focus of educating the staff is excellent to make the company better. Leading the industry in solar power along with the combination of other companies technology to expand the possibilities of projects.
Pros
Education
Cons
Normal Growing pains of a rapidly expanding company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
New Homes Interconnection Specialist (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NV23 March 2017
You will be used. Mediocrity is rewarded. Don't drink the kool-aid. SolarCity knew they could come to Nevada and pay low wages because unemployment is high.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent job
Installer/Technician (Current Employee) –  Sacramento22 March 2017
Decent pay with mostly steady work but was not given review of promotion that I was deserved and promised by my bosses several times. Inconsistent pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/Life balance
Field Energy Consultant (Former Employee) –  Beltsville, MD21 March 2017
I would always get called by management on days that I had off. The company morale when I first started was great, but after a while management started to threaten jobs on a daily basis and it was very unmotivating to work at an unstable place. I would say the company is downsizing due to too much growth and the need for revenue.
Pros
company car
Cons
no work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was productive and fun
Crew lead, Managing 7 guys underneath me (Current Employee) –  Rocky Hill, CT21 March 2017
Since the new ownership of solarcity it has definitely changed and that is why i'm looking for a change, It used to be a fun and happy environment but seems to have gotten a lot more strict.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work
Sr. Energy Consultant (Current Employee) –  Cranbury, NJ21 March 2017
SolarCity pushes its sales team to the maximum with extraordinarily high sales goals. The managers were great motivators. I wish the pay was more competitive.
Pros
Sales contests, prizes
Cons
worked too hard for not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company facing challenges
Channel Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Albany, NY20 March 2017
I loved working for SolarCity for most of my time there. The channel sales side is hard work but very rewarding. Work life balance can be an issue. With the Tesla merger changes are being made at a rapid pace sometimes without enough forethought.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst experience of my life.
senior renewable energy consultant (Former Employee) –  Texas City, TX18 March 2017
If are planning to go broke, then this company is for you. Only few make in good markets only. They brainwash you in thinking you will make good money......so wrong. Commission only job.
Pros
none
Cons
Too many to list here
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn a Lot
Inspection Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CA18 March 2017
This job was great to understand how a solar project worked from start to finish. You learn a lot about building, fire, and electrical code, often troubleshooting. You can even gain experience from a management point of view, seeing the process through. High workload. Energetic culture.
Pros
Benefits, Culture, Experience
Cons
High workload, Long hours, Below average pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not treat employees well
Field Energy Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CA18 March 2017
This company was very difficult to work for. They did not treat their employees very good. Training was not laid out very well so people had to fend for themselves.
Pros
salary
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place
PROCESS TECHNICIAN (Current Employee) –  Fremont, CA16 March 2017
I enjoyed being part of this company not only because I learned a lot of stuffs that are really challenging and can be added to my experiences, but also meeting new people and make them friends.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work to obtain pv experience
Field Energy Consultant (Former Employee) –  san jose ca16 March 2017
With any fast growing company, you have great opportunity and growing pains. Management has/had it's challenges. Unfortunately, some of those are miscast for various unknown reasons.
Pros
branding
Cons
brach outside of Home Depot has been a challenge of SC
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience, not a great company
FES (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CA15 March 2017
Fun culture, however SolarCity offers a terrible customer experience and decided to stop paying commission abruptly. Pay, in general, was not very good at SolarCity.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Egg Harbor Township, NJ15 March 2017
I wish I could have stayed, they made working everyday fun and enjoyable. There was always room to improve within the company so you naturally worked harder.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NV14 March 2017
Good work environment, believe in promoting from within, good department culture and events, fast paced environment. I truly enjoyed the people I worked with will there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company, flexible schedule, sales pressure, favoritism
Field Energy Consultant (Former Employee) –  Bay Area, CA14 March 2017
Working long hours. No real weekends off since selling is prime time during weekends. Theres favoritism in the sales position, between FES and FEC and even management to FEC; those who sell more get more opportunities and favoritism, Overall nice people to work with but prepare to work your butt off to build a business if you do not meet quota 2 months in a row you will be fired.

Good company to get experience in outside sales. Long lasting strong company, leader in solar/green energy. Proud company name to work for.

Solarcity/tesla is growing so much: new technology, new protocols, new products, etc. be prepared to have so many changes almost every week. will have training almost every other week on new stuff or during meetings. Must be adaptable to so many changes.
Pros
Working for leading company in solar/green energy, allowed to create own schedule just as long as youre hitting quota
Cons
pressure on getting opportunities, favoritsim, pay structure is lower than most other companies but may be getting better since i left
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive workplace
Installer (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CA13 March 2017
good company lot of fun traveling. very productive and efficient. learned a lot of good skills and a lot about solar. had a lot of fun working for the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Bother
Installer II (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CA12 March 2017
Typical corporation setup. This company offered the world but it ended up being a waste of time. Solar as of from my experience is not yet a good consumer deal.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outdoor work
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Milford, CT11 March 2017
fun place to work. Great benefits. Hard to schedule family time because there are no set hours. There is no cap to the amount of money you can make if wanted.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SolarCity. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 650 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.9
Culture
3.5