SolarCity Employee Reviews

Showing all 610 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has been good to me
Commercial PV Installer, Solar Energy Company (Current Employee) –  Hawthorne, CA24 February 2017
Not the worst place to work. Opportunities to travel were awesome! They were very understanding and supportive when my sister got sick.
Pros
Good resume booster
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture and pride of salesmanship
Senior Sales Manager Top (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ23 February 2017
Great leadership and direction and compensation for the work desired. Marketing is a challenge as well as regulatory issues with the utilities.
Pros
Compenssation and work life balance
Cons
Uncertainty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good company
Warehouse Assistant (Current Employee) –  HAPPAGUE, NY23 February 2017
not good. don't apply here. they only think about themselves and not there employees. this company is really going downhill quick. DO NOT APPLY.
Pros
healthcare
Cons
no work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress free,fun and Enjoyable
Permit Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Bethpage, NY21 February 2017
Great place to work.
Office staff fun and easy to get along with.
Great work environment. Advancement from within highly promoted.
Boss shows interest in you and your job
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Customer Care Specialist (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NV20 February 2017
It was a really great place to work until all the changes started happening with the pay cuts and then everything went downhill. Wouldnt recommend working there now.
Pros
OVERTIME
Cons
CUTTING OF THE BONUS COMPENSATION PLAN
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to work
Retail Solar Consultant (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CA20 February 2017
I would be in the mall questioning people & answering their questions regarding Solar for their homes. Driving to the homes of people that made an appointment with me
Pros
Had a salary & medical
Cons
Took Salary & Medical away
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is awesome
Field Energy Specialist (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CA20 February 2017
It was an amazing eperience. The mangagment was always pushing the goals higher and motivating everyone to do better not just for themselves but for the company.
Pros
Free Lunchs
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Racking Installer 1 (Former Employee) –  Beltsville, MD20 February 2017
I enjoyed the company of my team always. We got along very well and worked great together. I believe we were one of the top commercial installer teams. Solar City gave me the opportunity to grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Company I have worked for to date
Regional Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Delaware20 February 2017
Great overall company great learning experience . management really want to help you succeed. sometime i felt like i was being paid for nothing.
Pros
great pay
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pyramid scheme structrure
Senior Retail Energy Consultant (Former Employee) –  Freehold, NJ19 February 2017
If you know what a pyramid scheme is then you know how SolarCity operates. Great technology, but sales is a sham. I am a huge fan of ELON MUSK THOUGH!!!!
Pros
close to home
Cons
no guidance or leadership, support awful, ridiculous meetings requirements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work hours
SOLAR ENERGY CONSULTANT (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PA18 February 2017
Good place to work for and great compensation. Management styles vary per region and commission only pay. Offers a great product with no negative to the customer and great place to learn interpersonal skills.
Pros
Make your own schedule
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  Foster City, CA16 February 2017
gave me job in warehouse good people great place to work wish i had job more money im poor would work again hey this is fun stupid 20 word minumum
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The SolarCoaster
FEC (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CA16 February 2017
Many ups and downs and start up mentality. Tough place to give your all to when management is so inexperienced and is only looking for commodity workforce
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company with great opportunity.
PV Lead Installer (Former Employee) –  Mililani Town, HI15 February 2017
Everyday installations from residential to commercial projects. Learned a lot about safety, team work and solar in general.Management was great, they gave us the opportunity to grow and a chance to move up in the company. Work environment was awesome, great bunch of peers who help each other get the job done.Hardest part of the job was probably the weather, just being out in the hot or cold temperatures. The most enjoyable part of this company was the traveling and making a bunch of friends across the states.
Pros
Great experience, pay was also great including the travel.
Cons
Solar doesn't last forever. Work eventually slows down.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expect too much
Field Energy Consultant (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, MA14 February 2017
Management in all fields don't care about your safety or how much you've gone above and beyond. They only expect more. They will promise you a lot in the beginning and on your first day, you'll find out it's all lies.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Resources but Poor Upper Management
Inside Energy Specialist (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NV14 February 2017
Great team members, interesting job, great tools, and great Regional Sales Manager.

Poor upper management, confusing policies, lacking sales comp plan, and culture is very cliquish.
Pros
Cutting edge tech and software.
Cons
Sales Comp Plan and toxic worker tolerated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work for
Lead Solar Installer (Former Employee) –  Henderson, NV13 February 2017
Good place to advance your career in solar energy technology. SolarCity installers are a very rewarding career and great atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Flow
Spanish Speaking Scheduler (Current Employee) –  Henderson, NV13 February 2017
I like the company benefits are good they are very flexible when it comes to schedules and they do not micro manage its nice and everyone has a chance to change there schedule but now we are getting a bit more strict with normal policies
Pros
Great people to work for
Cons
non Really
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best green company
Field Representative (Former Employee) –  Rocky Hill, CT12 February 2017
I loved my time working for solar city. Do to poor management at the time, I made the decision to leave, however I would be more than open to working for Solar City again in the future.
Pros
Great company
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun coworkers but mangement got worse as the years went
Lead installer of solar systems (Former Employee) –  Hauppauge, NY12 February 2017
Great place to work depending on your Manger. Only got promoted if you suckered up to the boss. No promotion for the hard working knowledge employees.
Pros
Hours
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 610 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.9
Culture
3.5