Find companies:
SOLAR TURBINES
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
36 reviews

SOLAR TURBINES Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its the most relaxing compony
material mover (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJune 27, 2014
this company pay you good and they don' force you too work in unsafe environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place to retire at !!
production welder (Current Employee), channelviewMay 26, 2014
Pros: tons of overtime
Cons: i make more in 40hrs in other companies, than in 80hrs at solarturbines.
I don't know what the rest of you guys are talking about this place stinks. horrible benefits, underpaid, overworked employee forced to work 7 days a week 12 hr days for months on end sometimes. most of the production workers are temps and It can take years to be hired as a "company" worker. job uncertainty. 98% of workers and bosses are Hispanic and – more... I think some discrimination to non Hispanic workers definitely present(Im Hispanic by the way but I gotta call it how I see it). Ridiculous safety rules in effect like wearing safety goggles at all times, even though you cant see because its 102 degrees and the keep fogging up while you weld. the bosses usually don't lead by example. Overall its who you know not what you know. Having worked at other big companies with unions and all, I can't imagine how this place came to be on one of the best places to work in Houston lists. It must be because 90% of the workers her do not speak English to be able to work a computer and write a review about solar turbines – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Principal Structural Engineer (Current Employee), Houston, TXMarch 25, 2014
Pros: work envirnoment
Cons: limited growth
Solar is a great place to work with many opportunities. Solar has a fabrication facility which allows engineers opportunites to see all projects come to fruition. Engineers are able to get design and construction experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work
Informatica Developer (Current Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 28, 2014
Admin staff is cooperative. They are understand the level of workload.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with good benefits
Maintenance (Current Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: weekends off, good pay, great workers
Cons: commute, parking
Fill up oil in machines, clean spills, change coolant,
hardest part iin getting there
people I work with are great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for
Field Engineer (Former Employee), STSNL NigeriaJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: a good over all package
Cons: you can be sent to any were in the world at short notice
Solar
Provides opportunities to learn both on the job and in classrooms and on line.
There is no typical day as every trip is different you can be doing any thing from supervising the installation of gas turbine packages to doing an oil change or control systems upgrade.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work at
Electrical Assembler (Former Employee), San Diego, CADecember 13, 2013
Pros: free lunches if we met are goal for the month
Cons: short breaks, unsafe repetitive ergonomic working positions
On a typical day at work, I can be doing one of many things. I can either be building a control panel or wiring it. Other times I might be doing a visual, checking for discrepancies on a panel, or inside of a console. After working here, I learned that teamwork is the key to getting a project done efficiently, with little mistakes. My co-workers were – more... very inspiring and fun to work with, which made it easier to get projects done. I was very fortunate to have been able to work with such an exciting team. Of course there were times when we were pressured to getting projects out on time, but we knew when projects were hot and 98% of our control consoles were out on time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volt contractor
Kearny Mesa Production Support Admin (Former Employee), Kearny MesaNovember 27, 2013
I was a contract employee who kept being promised a permanent position. This obviously was not the case, otherwise, I would be retiring at Solar Turbines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Pipewelder/structural welder (Former Employee), kearny mesaNovember 19, 2013
weld piping and tubing. supervisors are sometimes not so friendly
but it is always things you have to put up with at work.
other than that it is a good experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turn over rate
spm (Former Employee), San DiegoOctober 18, 2013
Pros: a lot of overtime
Cons: need to know someone to keep your job. high turn over rate
And they brag about it they say 1 in 4 people in San Diego has worked there
I started with 5 temps and with in 4 weeks we were all gone
but you need to know someone to keep your job or have a friend in power.

Good luck if you get on but don t count on it if you have no friends working there its hard to be a outsiders as a temp
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You got it made if you promote to Regular!
Structure Package Mechanic (Former Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 10, 2013
Pros: lots of overtime forever it seems! 365 days a year as much as you can take.
Cons: you most likely hire on as a temp employed by a shady temp agency:(
You will most likely hire on through Volt (a temp staffing agency).
If you are well liked by the "Regulars" , keep out of trouble and show up EVERYDAY literally, you might get lucky enough to get hired on with Solar Turbines permanently! Even as a "Temp" I worked there 7 days a week every week sometimes 10 hour days which are available Mon-Fri most – more... of the time for "Temps". Time and a half on Saturday, double time on Sunday! I think my starting salary was around $45,000 a year(after overtime) or $15 per hour. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
Document Controller Specialist / Expeditor (Current Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 25, 2013
Great Management and great environment to work in, except people are mostly contract with no benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunity for advancement
Industrial Electrician (Current Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 21, 2013
Everyone loves to work there. It is an excellent company that is part of Caterpillar, Inc. and does very well. The company is a real nice place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good Place to work at unless your a woman or part of the LGBT community
Turbine Mechanic (Former Employee), TMP Harbor Drive FacilityAugust 13, 2013
Pros: good pay and benefits, plenty of o/t available
Cons: though they claim diversity and inclusion, not the case.
Work for Solar for nearly 30 years until I was forced out do to changes I made in my life that some coworkers disagreed with. Though its against company policy nepotism and the good ole boys club is business as usual. Always overlooked for job promotions when I was more than qualified than those that got the promotion because I was too valuable as an – more... employee in my work area and because I wasn't one of the boys. The sorry excuse of a union is of no help either they side with the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Benefits or Job Security
Over Haul Technician (Current Employee), DeSoto, TXJune 22, 2013
they say it would be 6 months to a year to go permenant but in reality there are guys still temp going on 4 years
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Chemical Processor (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJune 21, 2013
Clean materials in chemicals according to company policy. The hardest part of the job was also the schedule as well as knowing the danger associated with the position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job relax working place
Package Mechanic (Former Employee), Mesa, CAFebruary 22, 2013
Pros: worker fisrt company
Get assignment info. . there was always new designs new equipment modes to packages. Management was good most was like coworkers on hands, part of the team. learning the changes of packages to package modes requirements was always require. Great crew fun and ajoy to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for. High expectations and high ethics.
Supply Chain Leader (Former Employee), San Deigo, CAFebruary 17, 2013
Pros: strong core competencies. consistent culture that slowly and consistently does evolve.
Cons: conservative with decision-making, as a normal part of a large company. salaries are a bit lower than comperable companies.
Solar Turbines is a unique division of Caterpillar. High expectations. They get a lot done, and they can have some fun doing it. Very customer oriented. Strong skills with Lean 6 Sigma deployment in the Supply Chain. Constant product development. The constant awareness of the competition keep them moving to be the number one in their target market.
I – more... wish I was still with them. The grass is not greener... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People & Great Place to Work - A long drive from the city though
Design Engineer (Former Employee), Mabank, TXFebruary 8, 2013
Pros: great company, great bonus, great management, great co-workers, and meaningful work w/ a lot of responsibility
Cons: far from city and smallish facility
I have nothing but good things to say about Solar Turbines. I worked in Mabank, TX (refurb for the turbine packages not the turbine engines themselves). The only problem I had was that it was very far from an urban area. I lived 20 minutes outside of Dallas and still had to drive 40 minutes one way, which got old. Especially since the roads in TX collect – more... water that freezes into ice often in the winter.
Great management, great engineering dept. (but small, ~20 engineers) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Sr. Export Compliance Specialist (Current Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 12, 2013
A good co to work for. Has a robust product that is in demand from a variey of oil and gas and power \

About SOLAR TURBINES

In spite of its name, products from Solar Turbines are not powered by the sun. The Caterpillar subsidiary designs, manufactures, – Read more

SOLAR TURBINES Photos