Find companies:
SOLAR TURBINES
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
47 reviews

SOLAR TURBINES Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work environment
Electrical Assembly (Current Employee), Kearny Mesa, CAFebruary 13, 2015
Pros: If you are entry level, and manage to get past the temp contract into full time positions, you will be paid very well and have decent benefits.

Cons: If you are not one of the three families that unofficially owns and operates the plant, you will have to be very good at making friends with your superiors to get any kind of career advancement. Your work doesn't matter. It's all who you know.

Between all the ridiculous meetings and Cat metrics, you'll be jumping through hoops to try to get anything done, and it won't matter anyway, because other employees will attempt to make themselves look better by complaining about you. Anyone you're not sucking up to for promotions is your enemy in a tiresome game.

Rather than use the tools provided by Cat to figure out why their metrics are sucking, your superiors will hold meetings to complain about how it must be the fault of the workers. Enjoy everything being your fault whether it has anything to do with you or not.

Your superiors will say "Safety First" but don't bother suggesting anything about important safety concerns. Anything that's actually dangerous will be left for months to years depending on how your superiors feel at the moment (ie, are they bored enough to do something or annoyed at your word-making).

At the risk of sounding juvenile, the entire place, no matter where you are, at least once a day, smells terrible. I've never worked anywhere that was as consistently bad-smelling. Bathroom vents don't work, construction consistently breaks open sewage lines, people with bad diets can't control their bowels... whatever the reason, you will gag at least once a day.

Don't work at Solar if you value your sanity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, advancement, and friendly atmosphere
Structures Production Mechanic (Current Employee), kearney mesaFebruary 7, 2015
learning new stuff everyday, tubing, electrical, alignment and string test. Co-workers are awesome and its always a team play on every aspect of the project, Leads are very approachable and have a open door policy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team atmosphere and worldwide locations
Fleet Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 29, 2015
Solar Turbines is a great place to work and learn. It is a great team atmosphere with everyone focused on delivering customized solutions to their customers.

The company is also global and offers opportunities to travel and work in unique locations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste of time
Service and Pack Technician (Former Employee), Kearny Mesa, CAJanuary 22, 2015
They hired 100 people just to get one slot that's available.

Some of the lower management are good people, but toe the corporate line too much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Formerly great company crumbling under middle management
Machinist (Current Employee), San Diego, CANovember 1, 2014
Pros: strong benefits package
Cons: unfair management practices; differential treatment
As far as benefits and perks go, this is a great place to work. Unfortunately, dealing with the unfair treatment from middle management is difficult. Not all employees are treated the same across the board. If your supervisor decides that s/he doesn't like you on a personal level, it's common for that supervisor to block your advancement opportunities, send you to work in more burdensome production areas, use disciplinary action for small work errors that other employees don't get disciplined for, etc. Management frequently defies the rules and procedures laid out in the Collective Bargaining Agreement when it suits them; and Human Resources states that they are there to support Management, not hourly employees
This company has a strong history of building community among employees at all levels of the organization; but they have unfortunately stepped away from that in a big way over the past few years. Hourly employees are frequently reminded that they are easily replaced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place with great people
Structural Package Mechanic, Lay (Former Employee), San Diego CA.September 23, 2014
On a typical day, you come in, do you job, and go home, but you also learn better people skills because you have to communicate with a lot of different people. The management is ok they don't micromanage you at all which is plus. My co-workers were great, of course you have the ones that hated everything in life, but every job has them. The hardest part was the hours, but it was voluntary overtime so I can't complain to much. The most enjoyable part of the job is going home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
O&M Plant Technician III (Current Employee), Maricopa, CASeptember 5, 2014
As an O&M tech the hours the schedule is rotating, but this are only a few of these positions in the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good culture and fun work
Overhaul Disassembly Technician (Current Employee), DeSoto, TXSeptember 2, 2014
Disassembling of turbine engines. I have learned how to make sure that safety is the top priority. Management is in transistion and needs to continue to transition before they loose good workers. Co-workers are approachable and helpful. The hardest part of the job is if there is no work, finding something to do. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting off early in the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manufacturing plant
Contract Buyer (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 21, 2014
This company fluctuates depending on the demand of their high dollar items. The tend to lay off in mass quantities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for, relexing work place.
Engineer (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 8, 2014
Pretty good work/life balance. Doesn't pay as much as many other engineering companies. Overall, decent management people, but like any company there are a few bad ones.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its the most relaxing compony
material mover (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJune 27, 2014
this company pay you good and they don' force you too work in unsafe environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place to retire at !!
production welder (Current Employee), channelviewMay 26, 2014
Pros: tons of overtime
Cons: i make more in 40hrs in other companies, than in 80hrs at solarturbines.
I don't know what the rest of you guys are talking about this place stinks. horrible benefits, underpaid, overworked employee forced to work 7 days a week 12 hr days for months on end sometimes. most of the production workers are temps and It can take years to be hired as a "company" worker. job uncertainty. 98% of workers and bosses are Hispanic and I think some discrimination to non Hispanic workers definitely present(Im Hispanic by the way but I gotta call it how I see it). Ridiculous safety rules in effect like wearing safety goggles at all times, even though you cant see because its 102 degrees and the keep fogging up while you weld. the bosses usually don't lead by example. Overall its who you know not what you know. Having worked at other big companies with unions and all, I can't imagine how this place came to be on one of the best places to work in Houston lists. It must be because 90% of the workers her do not speak English to be able to work a computer and write a review about solar turbines
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Principal Structural Engineer (Current Employee), Houston, TXMarch 25, 2014
Pros: work envirnoment
Cons: limited growth
Solar is a great place to work with many opportunities. Solar has a fabrication facility which allows engineers opportunites to see all projects come to fruition. Engineers are able to get design and construction experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work
Informatica Developer (Current Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 28, 2014
Admin staff is cooperative. They are understand the level of workload.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with good benefits
Maintenance (Current Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: weekends off, good pay, great workers
Cons: commute, parking
Fill up oil in machines, clean spills, change coolant,
hardest part iin getting there
people I work with are great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for
Field Engineer (Former Employee), STSNL NigeriaJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: a good over all package
Cons: you can be sent to any were in the world at short notice
Solar
Provides opportunities to learn both on the job and in classrooms and on line.
There is no typical day as every trip is different you can be doing any thing from supervising the installation of gas turbine packages to doing an oil change or control systems upgrade.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work at
Electrical Assembler (Former Employee), San Diego, CADecember 13, 2013
Pros: free lunches if we met are goal for the month
Cons: short breaks, unsafe repetitive ergonomic working positions
On a typical day at work, I can be doing one of many things. I can either be building a control panel or wiring it. Other times I might be doing a visual, checking for discrepancies on a panel, or inside of a console. After working here, I learned that teamwork is the key to getting a project done efficiently, with little mistakes. My co-workers were very inspiring and fun to work with, which made it easier to get projects done. I was very fortunate to have been able to work with such an exciting team. Of course there were times when we were pressured to getting projects out on time, but we knew when projects were hot and 98% of our control consoles were out on time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volt contractor
Kearny Mesa Production Support Admin (Former Employee), Kearny MesaNovember 27, 2013
I was a contract employee who kept being promised a permanent position. This obviously was not the case, otherwise, I would be retiring at Solar Turbines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Pipewelder/structural welder (Former Employee), kearny mesaNovember 19, 2013
weld piping and tubing. supervisors are sometimes not so friendly
but it is always things you have to put up with at work.
other than that it is a good experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turn over rate
spm (Former Employee), San DiegoOctober 18, 2013
Pros: a lot of overtime
Cons: need to know someone to keep your job. high turn over rate
And they brag about it they say 1 in 4 people in San Diego has worked there
I started with 5 temps and with in 4 weeks we were all gone
but you need to know someone to keep your job or have a friend in power.

Good luck if you get on but don t count on it if you have no friends working there its hard to be a outsiders as a temp

1 2 3

About SOLAR TURBINES

In spite of its name, products from Solar Turbines are not powered by the sun. The Caterpillar subsidiary designs, manufactures, – Read more

SOLAR TURBINES Photos