Find companies:
Sodexo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,204 reviews

Sodexo Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with public
Manager (Former Employee), mayslanding njNovember 18, 2014
Opened up for the day unlocking . Ran all company duties on a smooth good daily basic. Supervised the sfaff thought out the day for a good productive day. Cooked, did production records,orders,managed all staff duties.end of day locked up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmostphere and good client interaction
Catering Manager (Former Employee), Palos Hills, ILNovember 18, 2014
Pros: good benefits, free lunch/food, campus environment
Cons: commute was long, pay, varying schedule
I started as a supervisor for the cafeteria and grew into the Catering Manager position, but my job classification was only changed to coordinator. I also did all the marketing material for the cafeteria like signs and advertisements, and a Facebook page. So I did the work of a Catering Manager but was not compensated at the rate that most are paid. – more... Even though I was hourly, I had to adjust my schedule to the needs of catering on the campus, some days were a normal 8 hours, others up to 12 hours depending on the event. I commuted about 30-45 minutes to get to work so that was another negative after working a long day, I'd get home with little time to do things for dinner or around the house.
The clients were easy to work with, but had high demands as a lot of the catering was outside business brought to the campus. I was close with quite a few of them, so leaving them was difficult.
Overall it's a good company for hourly employees, but I think staff is underpaid for all the hard work they do.
I felt left behind as an "potential manager of my own account" and soon decided it was time to move on after a crazy year of management change and working without a chef for a few months. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong company to work for, great Management team
Manager, Environmental & Linen Services (Current Employee), Coatesville, PANovember 18, 2014
Pros: advancement, great management
Cons: high turn over rate
Responsible for departmental leadership of EVS team at a full service 105 bed Community Hospital with an additional 64 bed Behavioral Health Facility. Provides management oversight for forty frontline employees with over 300,000 square cleanable feet. Successfully raised HCAHPS, Client Satisfaction scores along with Employee satisfaction scores in unit. – more... Client has also asked us to take on additional responsibilities due to our consistency in management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a job at a college setting
Dishwasher (Former Employee), Wichita, KSNovember 18, 2014
management does not care about their staff
coworkers were nice but noone really cared about them
hardest part of the job was you were left alone during a shift to do thousands of dishes and other tasks by yourself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work; flexibility is valued; my opinion matters and my contributions are recognized.
Sr. Manager, Human Resources (Current Employee), Indian Trail, NCNovember 16, 2014
Pros: worklife balance
A typical day at work can be up to 12 hours depending on whether I have to travel or not. I have a collaborative team behind me, a great boss and supportive overall leadership.

Most enjoyable part of my job is when I get a genuine thank you from the team I support; they have a lot on their plate and when they find time to share it makes it all worthwhile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at to meet great people.
Cashier (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLNovember 16, 2014
I've never worked in the food service before, but it was a great experience. I learned how to maintain a cafe on my own, make Starbucks Coffee, and operate a cash register. The management at Sodexo was great. Getting to work with many diverse employees was really fascinating. I had the opportunity to learn about their background as well as work with – more... them. As far as the hardest part of the job, I would say I didn't really have a hard time with anything. I am a faster learner and pick up on everything quickly with no trouble. The best part of working there was associating myself with co-workers, employees that work at Mayo Clinic, the visitors, and the patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful and learning company
Dinning position (Current Employee), Mankato, MNNovember 16, 2014
This company was helpful for me because of all the opportunities finding. I remember that in the first place I was able to wok just in one position but now I am able to work in almost five positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Food Service Supervisor (Former Employee), Woonsocket, RINovember 15, 2014
Pros: free lunches and summers off
Cons: sometimes to busy for a break
Great company to work for.A lot of opportunities for advancement.
Gathering information for the days task,ordering supplies and managing lunch room employees.Over seeing lunch prep for students.
Management was helpful and fair.Co-workers were a pleasure to work with.Hardest part of the job was children coming in the line with no money to eat that day.The – more... most enjoyable part of my job was working with all the people and being with the children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very strict, assignment must be completed
Food Server (Former Employee), Morris Plains, NJNovember 13, 2014
Pros: they appreciated my work and told me so
Cons: breaks
8 hour standing no talking no horsing playing no talking to your co workers unless you are on break.
straight to work, and safety was number one. we had many meetings. Occasionally I was in charged of training. Management trusted me to teach others what I've learned. I was quick efficient and safe.not being able to talk was tough. I enjoyed talking – more... with the residents. Most of them did'nt have visitors – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great friendly staff
FIFO Chef (Former Employee), KararaNovember 12, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: away from family
Worked from 7.30am to 8.30pm with a 2 hour break everyday. 2 weeks on 1 week off roster. Cooked bulk food for up to 1200 men. Great working environment full of friendly staff members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable workplace
Night duty officer (Current Employee), Largs, SCTNovember 12, 2014
Pros: meeting a lot of interesting people
Cons: long hours
12 night shifts , being able to multi-task and always being alert throughout the night,laising with collrgues
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Lead Supervisor for consetion stands (Former Employee), Reno, NVNovember 12, 2014
Pros: free lunch great people to work for
Cons: no cons
working for this company i learned a lot of things and i was able to teach what i had learned and got to meet a lot of good people. if i had the chnace to go back to this place i would. the hard part was leaving this job to move to a diffrent state
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was no place for me, you see i have parkinsons disease it is a living #$%#l but i finally fit in somewhere
Dishwasher/Busser (Former Employee), Bourbonnais, ILNovember 11, 2014
Pros: comradery between workers and the food
I wAs the most organized loader big plates with big plates little ones with little ones I was the only who did this it made operations run smoothly at the end of the line there was no slowin down I loved the people I worked with black people are more accepting than white people that was the best part of the job I DONT FAll DOWN ANYMORE I would love – more... to come back. I never missed a day I
understand how much I was needed and it felt good – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Kitchen Porter (Former Employee), Colchester, ENGNovember 11, 2014
its a hard jobs because we need to do everything like helping the chef for the preparation for food to the cleanliness of the kitchen area..people are good..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have enjoyed all my years with this company. I enjoyed working with the students and putting a smile on their face each day was a reward in itself.
Kitchen Supervisor/Cook, Prep/ Cashier (Current Employee), Billings, MTNovember 11, 2014
Pros: we ate for free. had insurance benefits. no working holidays.
Cons: i didn't like having all the days off when there was no school, so my hours would fluctuate, thus pay checks were not stable either.
As an employee with Sodexo I have had great pleasure in serving our school community of students and staff. I always come into work with a positive and up beat demeanor. I enjoyed talking with my co-workers as we did our prep for the day. Very good environment to work in. We all got along very well. I feel the most enjoyable part of my job was interacting – more... with the students and staff, some became friends, a plus. It was nice going to work everyday knowing that the people we served were satisfied with our input to the quality of service we gave them. I can say honestly say I didn't find anything hard to do in this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not interested
Catering Assistant (Former Employee), Washington, DCNovember 11, 2014
Not satisfied with this company at all. Very unorganized and unhealthy environment. I didn't like this employer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place
Administration Assistant (Current Employee), Holborn LondonNovember 11, 2014
Working at sodexo for me was a good chance to get involved in differts projects more related to my universities studies such as: administration, data base management and quantitative research. This company esured me with a perfect training regardings programs and the specific project.
the only bad aspect of this oppurtunity is that is temporary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright job
Student Employee (Former Employee), Troy, ALNovember 10, 2014
very long hours, learn how to cook food and help others. management was horrible. the co-workers were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Food Runner/ Prep cook (Former Employee), MANovember 8, 2014
Pros: depending on location good hours.
Cons: cant really have full break if you work in kitchen.
Good to work at, need to work on communication skills for employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Bar Staff Member (Former Employee), Bury St. Edmunds, ENGNovember 8, 2014
Pros: not any
Cons: long hours and poor management
A typical day was fun

Good co-workers

I learnt about customer interaction

About Sodexo

Sodexo is a global leader in integrated food and facilities management. Our North American operations leverage the diversity, – Read more