Sodexo Employee Reviews

Found 161 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive Company with great vision and values
District Manager Corporate Services and IFM (Former Employee) –  Western Canada: AB, BC, MB, SKJanuary 8, 2015
I spent eight fantastic years working for Sodexo and truly enjoyed the experience, the opportunities and the professional development.
Pros
diverse, inclusive, proactive
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For a camp, it's a great place to be.
kitchen helper-prep- (Former Employee) –  Mayo, YTDecember 22, 2014
I enjoyed working in the kitchen, and my boss was an awesome chef and had great taste in music. My co-workers were really nice people and I had no problems with anybody. Wish to be apart of this team again someday would be awesome, but to those looking for a great pay and meeting new people..this is the job for you.
Pros
free meals and room
Cons
12 hours a day for two weeks. two weeks off.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment
Maintenance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pointe-Claire, QCDecember 18, 2014
i enjoy working with people and i met all sorts of people from cultures to religions and ethnicities. i had amazing view of the airport and had free food in the lounge
Pros
free food great view
Cons
heavy lifting and walking around
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for Uni Students
Bartender (Former Employee) –  KingstonDecember 5, 2014
Very flexible with hours. Not hard work - very simple tasks. Friendly staff and most importantly, GREAT HOURS!
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
have a full gyme and rec hall
Chef (local 47) (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABNovember 26, 2014
work place safe. 10 hour work day,21 days on 7 days off. work not to hard, always work at safe and steady pace
Pros
good pay
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going place. lots of things to do.
Primary Store Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kapuskasing, ONNovember 14, 2014
When I worked at the store It was a lot of fun as I only had one boss and he would just let me do my own thing. But when I had a question my boss was always willing to give me a helping hand to make sure that I understood. The bosses that I had are great to work for because they were always willing to teach me everything there was to know about the store. from the ordering to the stocking of the store.
The hardest part of the job really didn't have anything to do with the work. It had a lot to do with the fact that you are away from home.
But on the same since the best part of the job was that I got to meet a lot of different kind of people.
Pros
all your food and logdeing were free
Cons
being away from family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBNovember 3, 2014
My day at work was very enjoyable. It was very busy and time went by fast. My people skills got better getting to know all that worked there.

Management was great to work with.

My co-workers were awesome people. Was great to be able to work with a good group.

The hardest part of my job was the hours as I worked the night shift.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the interaction with so many different people and getting to know each person on a personal level.
Pros
fun place to work
Cons
working the night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in a factory cafeteria
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ONOctober 19, 2014
I've had the ability to learn and expand my self, which I took the initiative to do.

Sodexo is a global matrix company, many things get lost in the cracks and go unnoticed or maybe people notice, but do not care. A person in a management position should be a true leader, and unfortunately this is not always the case. I don't feel that people try their hardest because it is easy to hide in such a large company. I enjoy my job butt the Chef makes it hard to come to work sometimes. I get frustrated because I see other people doing the bare minimum and getting by with not repercussions

They need to have a better control over staff members breaks Smokers seem to get 3X more breaks then the employees that do not smoke.
Pros
variety. everyday provides a new challenge.
Cons
wages need to be improved
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned how to be patient to the resident and my co-workers.
Dietary Aide (Current Employee) –  North Vancouver, BCOctober 15, 2014
I wash the dishes, serve food to the residents, cleaning the kitchen and preparing food for breakfast. I learned how to be patient to the residents and my co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no benefits long hours good work environments
dishwasher/janitor/server (Former Employee) –  cornwall,onSeptember 27, 2014
it is not the best company to work for when having an argumentives taskmaster as an supervisor. however good work environment,and beneficial in urning's.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work with great people
Maintenance (Current Employee) –  penetanguisheneSeptember 16, 2014
I look forward to going to work on a daily basis. The atmosphere is excellent, the people are understanding and caring.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place
Housekeeping Associate (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONAugust 27, 2014
Great Job, nice environment and great people. Customer driven with adequate support for employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn't very happy working there. Didn't get enough hours to suit me
Receiver (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, ABAugust 22, 2014
I didn't like it very much and the staff was ok to work with. The commute to the job lasted 20 minutes up and down the hill. Parking was not good.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
not enough hours leading to my quitting there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
room for advancement
Administrative Assistant/ Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABAugust 18, 2014
great company lots for growth. world wide. different types of jobs from hospitality, cooking, maintenance. advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really fun place
Team leader, Mississauga Branch (Current Employee) –  mississaugaAugust 11, 2014
fun place
fun coworkers
fun environment
fun customers
easy job
learned some management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
Assistant unit manager (Former Employee) –  Whitehorse, YT CanadaAugust 7, 2014
been working for this company for over 6 years its been stable and secure, the people are great the culture is very diverse the benefits are great I get to enjoy life and work and make money steadily with a great work life balance
Pros
great work life balance
Cons
travel
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast and productive workplace
Audio and Visual Technician (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONJuly 30, 2014
A really great company to work for.
A really fast paced environment.
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uniforms are provided but you launder yourself!
First Cook (Current Employee) –  Langley, BCJuly 14, 2014
Fun, musical, dancing to break the tension. Overall good camaraderie between co-workers.
Pros
uniforms provided
Cons
launder yourself
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work environment with advancement potential!
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort McKay ABJune 10, 2014
Loved working with Sodexo! Went from Janitor to Shift Manager in 4 years..... Amazing and rewarding.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can learn alot about the business at this location
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cantung Mine, NWTJune 9, 2014
Its been a very long ride learning the ropes, always someone to correct your way of doing things. Its up at 5am and down at 9pm every day for 28 days straight. I have recieved some much in the way of how to do things and the proper tools to accomplish it. I have really been apart of improving the ergonomics here at the this site. I have enjoyed every minute and will continue to try my best.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 6,546 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7