Find companies:
Sodexo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,008 reviews

Sodexo Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a wonderful job to have.
Cleaner (Former Employee), OttawaOctober 25, 2012
I loved it. It payed well. We had benefits. It was fast paced. Witch I loved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It would be nice to have TV in lunch room
Dietary Aide (Current Employee), Richmond, BCOctober 17, 2012
Pros: example: free lunches
Cons: example: long hours
I like working for Sodexo .
Serve with smile .
The management is very good.
They are very good ,we work as team .
I like to finish my work on time .
i enjoy serving the customers .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Stock Person (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 27, 2012
Pros: salary is fair
Cons: day off
evening time is good for me the problems i have a weekdays day off...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was great, enjoyed working at that camp
Camp Attendant, Kitchen Helper (Former Employee), Ekati Diamond Mine site, near Yellowknife, NWTAugust 21, 2012
I enjoyed working with the janitor and kitchen crew, would go back there if I can.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love to work with the public
Financial Administrator (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 30, 2012
Pros: it was in a hospital setting
Cons: i wish i had more training to learn the ropes
A typical day was to arrive at work, close the door and do all the payroll and accounting for the business. I learned a lot from this job especially since the lady that trained me did not speak much English and she was very pregnant so she was at the doctors most of the time. Much of the job was self taught. I was very busy so I did not get to know – more... my co-workers as well as I would have like to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sodexo
Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 30, 2012
Pros: all the people, as well as learning alot
Cons: the management
I was a cashier, handled lots of money. Very fast paced environment.
Also, was in a tim hortons working, also very fast paced. No stopping for 5 hours at a time. Hardest part of the job would be the management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good work place
Utility Worker (Former Employee), Antigonish, NSJune 24, 2012
They are good people to work with. They try to work with you for flexible schedules and help train in different areas
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sodexo company is the best place to work
Supervisor (Current Employee), Calgary, ABMay 21, 2012
Pros: potluck
i learned lots of good things ..how to be with people ,to work as a team.the management are great and fair to everybody. my co workers are very supportive in terms of everything... the hardest job that i encounter is to understand everybody .and to be patience .the most enjoyable part of my job when we do project time in summer were all happy and work – more... together ....also i cant forget is our get together party every year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decisions take place behind doors
Facility Operations Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 21, 2012
Cons: too much work load, no support from management, politics, decisions behind close doors, no career growth
I once heard a comment that "I'm being left alone by Sodexo in front of a herd of wolves". I guess this clearly defines their methodology and the way they deal with the situation. Less said is better.

Co workers are also not cooperative and are back biters, may be because they are saving their jobs by playing dirty games. I'm glad that I made a decision.

May 25, 2012

I was hired for a position that far exceeded my knowledge base because I was the "best candidate", I was told "you won't be left out there on an island...we will be there for you...we know we are throwing an unimagineable amount at you and we don't expect you to grasp it all right away". And there I was alone on my island. PS- they still owe me over $1000!

May 30, 2012

Thank you for seconding me. They also didn't give me my dues initially by saying that I'd consumed all of my vacations, however when I submitted proofs and did follow ups, they then realized it and had to pay them. This shows where their norms and ethical values are! For them it should be Ethics First.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Cashier/line cook (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 29, 2012
Sodexo is a fun place to work if you like to work with the public
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work with staff and friendly environment,
Accounts payable & Payroll Admin Assistant (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCMarch 28, 2012
Pros: free teas & coffees
It was very good place to work ,staff and employees cooperate with each other and we worked in fun environment. Also all the managers were down to earth and very easy going.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the people I worked with.
Dietary Aid (Current Employee), Chilliwack, BCFebruary 28, 2012
Pros: the co-workers
Cons: the politics
Fast paced working environment. Good health benefits and some good programs that are through the company. Not a very personable place to work though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced atomospere with year round events and opportunities
Banquet and Caterinhg Manager (Former Employee), Ellicottville, NYSeptember 15, 2014
A year round opportunity for amazing events. Great employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
competive wages and benifits, no employee appreciation, no unemployment benifits paid with company layoffs.
RGM Taco Bell (Current Employee), Terre Haute, INSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: free lunch, competitive pay rate.
Cons: work schedule is seasonal, lack of work in off seasons
Check all equipment and closing check list from closing shift to assure food safety and all cleaning standards have been met. I establish a prep list for team members to follow to assure proper quantity of food is prepped for excellent customer service. My coworkers trust my judgment as a leader. The hardest part of my job is to assure team members – more... put out the highest quality product, The most enjoyable part is when a team member takes pride and assures the product they produce is of the highest quality him/her can give to our customer – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with others
Cashier (Former Employee), Wharton, TXSeptember 11, 2014
Enjoy working with food, like my company, like the co-workers that I work with, workplace is cool, everybody gets along well,hardest part is trying to learn all the names of the students,most enjoyable part is seeing the students smile and remember my name
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Administrative EH&S Coordinator (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: no glass ceiling
Cons: the hard days
Great company to work with. As long as your attitude is in the right place, opportunity to move around in the company is unlimited.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my role as a prison officer.
Prison Custody Officer (Former Employee), Peterborough, ENGSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: good pension, pay student loan off.
Cons: management decisions.
I gained very valuable skills and experience in dealing with very vulnerable adults in custody, including mothers with babies, suicide and self harm inmates: I am fully ACCT trained plus manager trained in that field. I have excellent interpersonal skills and combine them with a personal ethic to make a difference.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace.
Waitress (Former Employee), TidworthSeptember 11, 2014
A normal day at work would include getting to work at 6.30am, preparing all juices,sauces and cereals ready for breakfast, Breakfast lasts for 2 hours so during this time I am serving the officers their food and clearing plates when they're finished. Once breakfast is over I clear the whole table, clean, hoover and set back up for the next day. Once – more... everything from breakfast is completed we prepare for lunch, setting up the tables, preparing sauces,juices and the salad bar. Lunch lasts for an hour, this also consists of serving the food and clearing plates, once this is done we clear up and set up for evening meal and this should take us to the end of our 8 hour shift. I have learnt to take pride in my job and to take responsibility for my work. I also learnt that it is very important to co-operate and work well with my colleagues. The hardest part of the job was when we had functions and we would be working 15 hour shifts, it became tiring by the end of the night. My favourite part of the job was interacting with the officers and understanding the jobs they do and listening to there stories about when they go out to Afghanistan and Canada etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be a nice place to work if some things were in place.
Rounds Cook (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: free meals, interaction with custmers
Cons: benefits, unwillingness to acknowledge work financially
The job itself was no more stressful than usual. Issues with management and pay made things more difficult than needed to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tim Bakers Review
Cashier (Former Employee), warrensburg,moSeptember 10, 2014
A typical day at work is from 8am to 5pm Monday thru Friday. I come in and wait for a customer to walk in so that I can talk them into buying furniture in which I get a compensation from the overall total. It is a really easy job that I enjoy working at.

About Sodexo

Sodexo is a global leader in integrated food and facilities management. Our North American operations leverage the diversity, – Read more