Sodexo Employee Reviews

Found 166 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good management
First Cook (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB25 November 2016
I worked hard at this job, I was able to move myself up the ladder quick in this job I went from prep cook, line cook, and then all the way to first cook to red seal cook shadow. I learned the most in the cooking industry from this job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Environment
Server (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 November 2016
• Served high level executives during corporate meetings and events, maintaining confidentiality and professionalism in accordance with CIBC policy and procedure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast busy and so much fun
Starbucks Barista (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON14 November 2016
working for sodexo was amazing the lagre company made for lots of work all over queen making extra hours and working over time was always easy to do and getting paid for your time was never an issue always made you feel welcome and at home
Pros
free food
Cons
drunk students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 November 2016
I worked for the catering company sodexo in a rural camp just outside Fort St.John B.C and it was the best job i've had thus far.
I worked with great people who were team players and great work ethics such as my own, unfortunately the site closed down and we all parted ways. I feel blessed for having have met a great camp family and hope to find a job in my near future working with great people again :-)
Pros
gym facility, great chefs, fantastic manager
Cons
long days due to split shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great values on on paper not in practice
Hôte / Superviseur (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC26 September 2016
gap between employees and management. No sense of belonging.
very little is done in the sense of getting the employees a sense of accomplishment and of participating in something bigger.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
HR is unresponsive
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Facilities and administration Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON8 September 2016
When I start there, I start like a Janitorial, but I have some experience on administration back home and that help me after one year working on this company I apply for this position and after a week I start like administrative assistant
Pros
Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst job ever
Prep Cook-Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Kingston5 September 2016
disorganised
management would tell me to miss college classes to work for them
would not let me take breaks
over worked and under paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities within the company.
First Cook/Production Chef (Current Employee) –  Manitoba28 August 2016
I enjoy my position as a red seal chef in the culinary field as I have a passion for cooking. I enjoy working with and helping my co-workers in the kitchen to ensure that the food is prepared to the highest standard and enjoyed by the customers. I am always striving to learn new cooking techniques and to better myself as a chef.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and have complete ammeneties
Second Cook (Former Employee) –  Nethelands remote site7 August 2016
: 12 to 13 hours of work
: I have learned few Brazilian soups and indonesian food
: Management were very supportive
: We do have a harmonious relationship with fellow co-workers
: Hardest part was pleasing all their needs
: The most enjoyable part was I enjoy my job and learn from mistake and I travel with free and end of the month with pay.
Pros
All free
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Dorval, QC4 August 2016
Honestly nothing negative or positive to say. It was a maintenance job like most, it required a lot of walking since it was such a large facility.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier, Barista (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC20 July 2016
Great people to work with, team overall and like family staff.

Morning shifts are the best but overall any shifts. Management was well run through with the support that you would need.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
House Keeper (Current Employee) –  London, ON28 June 2016
There is a lot of great people that work for this company. Lots of hours, if your willing to work evening's and midnights. They pay well and have benefits if you work so many hours a week.

They are very unorganized and the managers don't seems to communicate with each other very well.

Unfortunately the people who have been working there for years are getting paid what the new employees are getting and there is no room to move up.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a very poor company to work for
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB26 June 2016
Security wise it is just a very poor company to work for very low pay and absolutely no appreciatton for employees. My boss is very disrespectful when dealing with employees and the employees themselves seem to have a high lack of common sense and education
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy work,cheap meals
Custodian (casual) (Current Employee) –  Bushell Park, SK12 June 2016
its an ok place to work,learned how to strip wax floors, co-workers are good. hardest part is moving equipment, management seems alright,just general coustodial
Pros
cheap meals, eaze of work
Cons
some of shift start times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  cnrl9 June 2016
co- workers are great there, management puts a lot of stress on the works some times, but I've also learned a lot there.
hardest part of the job is its very fast paced.
great place to work.
Pros
great people
Cons
fast paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for sodexo
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Whitehorse, YT8 June 2016
A typical day work was good, long hours, lots of work to do, stayed busy.

I learned more how to be fast at my job, work well with others,

Management, well I did enjoy working with one of my managers, the other not so much. But I did like my job overall.

My co-workers were awesome, I liked working with them very much, they had a good sense of humor, awesome personalities. They made working that much better.

The hardest part of my job was all the laundry we had to get done in just a couple days.

The most enjoyable part of my job was working with everyone, they all had such good moods for working, everyone in camp was so friendly, the food, the food was good, loved waking up to having breakfast cooked, or supper every night cooked and really good.
Pros
free food, people in camp
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I ever worked for
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC2 June 2016
A typical day of work was preventative maintenance and dealing with client requests as well as arranging for contractors to be on site.

Management and workers are have the "us against you" attitude. Nobody had anybody's back. Backstabbing and lying is a part of Sodexo culture.

Coworkers were fine on a good day

Hardest part of the job was putting up with all the fake promises from management

Very bad communication within the company.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well maintained and cleanly
Food Prep/General Food hall attendant (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON17 May 2016
my work experience here included high maintained cleanliness, and fast past tedious procedures such as filling up food bar, and checking costumers in and out.
Pros
free lunch or dinner on break
Cons
lots of repetition
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
service driven
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC16 April 2016
Cleaning an disinfecting arhcc in Abbotsford
detailed cleaning skills and how to strip and wax commercial flooring
management are very service oriented
staff were great people that really cared about the people
having clients pass away was the hardest part of the job
watching as long term clients got to go home
Pros
good benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, Great life.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Camp near Little Long River, Kapuskasing, Ontario.11 April 2016
Great Company, Great People, Love the Camp Job - It has its own wonderful discipline.
The co workers and the client in a way become a family bringing on achievements for both.
A very refined work culture, the pace is thrilling, and it is a kind of second home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 6,893 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7