Sodexo

3.3K reviews

Sodexo Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Location:St-Joseph's Hospital
House Keeper (Former Employee), London, ONJanuary 12, 2016
Cons: Takes a very long time to get on full time, over 5 years.
Terrible management skills, and when you work above and beyond you don't even get a thank you. A lot of favourites. All the employees including full-time are all hawks and snakes. Its a good paying job, but just don't talk to anyone, trust me. Go to work and work, do your job and leave.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fast paced environment
Dietary Aide (Former Employee), Chilliwack, BCDecember 26, 2015
Pros: thorough training
Cons: management under educated
great team work by other employees with decent pay very hard work and you need to be very fast with what your doing and able to handle working in a kitchen with lots of oither things going on and stay on track there was some things that could be deakt with better like the confidentality and staffing procedures like addressing work place bullying
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the people where very nice when l work there
Cleaner (Former Employee), London, ONDecember 3, 2015
clean of different room in ST Mary Nursing Home of cleaning rooms and the people that live there were very nice they would say good morning when l when in to clean where they live
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Impossible Demands, Constant Criticism, Counterproductive Equipment
Janitor (Current Employee), Prince George, BCNovember 13, 2015
Pros: The work team is a group of very nice hardworking people
Cons: Impossible workload, constant criticism and threat of termination, assistant management bully, wage
No matter how hard you try, there will be ongoing criticism from multiple contradicting sources. That said, the ongoing criticism is one of the only indicators of the actual job description. Because of the multiple parties that are making demands, the workload is impossible to complete. Equipment falls apart when you try to use it; when you bring this to their attention, it will be locked out for a week and then returned to you in the same condition with a statement that it is "fixed". Whether you have the equipment or not, you will be hindered in accomplishing the task that that type of equipment is required for. You will then be publicly humiliated on their Wall of Shame which posts weekly audits and a white board that announces shortcomings for all to see. There is also the constant threat of being fired if there are too many "complaints" from one of the sources of your workload.

I have witnessed a worker who was BADLY and permanently injured ON THE JOB, being aggressively treated by assistant management, in front of an audience, as though she were practically a criminal. She is supposed to be receiving assistance to do her "modified" workload; but instead was put working alone in the busiest area of the facility. She has to work through her breaks and stay late (without pay) to get it done, and is in excruciating pain.

Assistant management is aggressive, power hungry, domineering, hypercritical, vindictive, uncompassionate and has no management skills whatsoever. Management put her in that position, because he felt she had potential. Management seems completely – more... oblivious to any of the issues and can't understand why there is such a high turnover rate. It was actually implied to me that I would have difficulty finding things to do. Management believes the Wall of Shame inspires "healthy competition". All it does is discourage a group of already burnt out workers.

Then you will receive your paycheque which will not be enough to live on. It is usually as close as possible to minimum wage. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Remote location - mining camp, one road in and one road out. Very big adjustment compared to all other job assignments.
Camp Manager (Former Employee), outside Sicamous, B.C.November 2, 2015
Pros: Spent a lot of time and got tto be friends with co-workers
Cons: Long ways from home
Job was a challenge. 300 minors, had to put 3 people in two rooms, by figuring out the rotations and ensuring no over rides. Managed 30 First Nations staff in kitchen and housekeeping. Responsible for inventory in kitchen and commissary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned to manage commissary store.
Administrative (Former Employee), Hess Bome Camp, Eguatorial Guinea Central AfricaOctober 13, 2015
Pros: annual vacation
Cons: low salary
Supportive management, contract includes accommodation, transportation and food. With annual vacation, bonus received depends on you performance evaluation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive days
Janitor (Former Employee), Ft.Mckay A.BOctober 5, 2015
Pros: free food, drinks and sleeping arrangements
Cons: Long hours
A typical day at work consisted of 11 hour nights of cleaning up office buildings on site. Driving around from building to building making sure everything is cleaned
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
producitive and fun workplace
Housekeeping Department at Juravinski Hospital (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONSeptember 15, 2015
love to clean and work with people, willing to learn and grow with company with a supportive management , love to learn new and grow with co-workers, when there is caring supportive people and they care of what i do for them and i put a smile on their face , i know i did my job , i know what i do is keeping them from getting sick and that is what and why i enjoy my job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very diversified company that works hard to be all inclusive and accepting.
General Manager, Rainy River Project. (Former Employee), ONSeptember 14, 2015
Pros: Diversified company
Cons: Limited Project opportunities.
Large large Global company. A very good company to work for. Strong values with includes very impressive diversification stats. Company lives it's values and these values are visable to employees.

Currently limited number of new projects which has resulted in limited opportunities for project staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy fast-paced workplace
Dietary Aide (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCAugust 1, 2015
a very busy and fast-paced environment, best to keep up with work and time or else you'll get behind your schedule. management is ok. some co workers are ok, they help you especially when you are new to job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SHIPPING AND RECEIVING
shipping and receiving (Current Employee), Toronto ONJuly 31, 2015
Pros: free lunch and free go bus
Cons: long nights
loved it but it was hard work and the management was friendly and i learn a lot of things met a lot of great people and I gain alot of confidence and became a better leader
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice co-workers, and nice Seniors
Marquise, Housekeeper/Dietary Aide (Former Employee), KelownaJuly 15, 2015
Pros: residents
Cons: none
Nice Seniors, Co-Workers, and Care Aides. The work load was good,good supply cleaning products. The best part of the job was the seniors living there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sodexo
General Manager Fionn McCool's (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 9, 2015
Pros: free food
Cons: long hours
Great place to work

One of the biggest catering company in the world

Lots of potential for growth

Learned about Prime Pubs restaurant operations
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked with great staff
Conference Room Coordinator (Former Employee), mississaugaMay 25, 2015
Pros: lunch included
Cons: long hours, under staffed, lack of management
long unappreciated hours spent to complete tasks and uncompensated for efforts. Management was not consistant with company policies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job Environment
Dishes, Catering (Former Employee), RichmondMay 12, 2015
Pros: Free Food
Cons: N/A
Good people make up a good place to work and interact. I enjoyed the positive employees I worked around and the support presented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a fun workplace table tennis darts and pool table.
Janitor (Former Employee), minto mine site yukon canadaApril 30, 2015
Pros: bills at home are really low so is food cost
Cons: nowhere to go and blow off steam when in a mood.
A typical day at work liked the busyness, made your day fly by. I learned a lot about team work, and how to be used to isolation working in camps, i never had problems in that department. Co workers are just like a family treat people with respect and thts what u get in return, but you always end up working with the unreliable types and unruley types thats life. Hard part of the job is no privacy, enjoyable part of the job is making new friends etc you cant name all the things. Was a fun workplace
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
regular work environment , contractual agreement
Shipping/Logistics Technician (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCApril 27, 2015
Pros: a few perks and benefits through sodexo website
Cons: Contract work. Limited room for advancement and networking through corporation.
Sodexo is an equal yet fair company/organization to work for. A big global corporation, so most of it is through contract work through different divisions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good employ but no communication
Chef d'équipe, Musée canadien de l'histoire (Former Employee), 100 rue laurier GatineauApril 21, 2015
Pros: ...
Cons: long hours, working every week-end
My day starts buy counting the safe, give the break to the employ, do the inventory and after that give the lunch break. After the lunch i can try to have my 30min of lunch and then i need to supervised the cafeteria, the coffee express and the restaurant at all time, sometimes i dont even have the time to eat.At 3h00pm i need to help the employ to close the cafeteria and count and balance there cash, do the deposit and write my report of the day on each department.
I didn`t have a good formation as a supervisor and a cashier.
My co-workers are good but they don`t take there job seriously.
The hardest part of my job is to work every week-end, iv`e been working every week-end for the pats 2 years with no possibility of having 1 week-end off without losing hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Fast
Cook, Server, Cashier (Former Employee), Guelph, ONApril 21, 2015
Pros: Free food, benefits after 3 months
Cons: Fast paced
The job involved serving the same group of customers every day, as the Sodexo was within a manufacturing plant. This allowed getting to know the customers on a personal basis; the best part of the job. However, one must keep in mind that workers are given a set time period for breaks, and service must be swift as well as friendly. It is an easy balance to achieve after a while.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
After hours activities provided such as fitness center and games room
Camp Attendant (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABApril 5, 2015
Fast paced environment and I enjoy that aspect of my job. Even though it's repetitive there are enjoyable diversions such as meeting and talking with the clients. My co-workers and I together with management work together. The hardest part of my job was being laid off.
Claimed Profile
Headquarters
Sodexo Headquarters
9801 Washingtonian Blvd.
Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Employees
10,000+
Links
Sodexo website
Sodexo Facilities Management Careers
Sodexo Culinary/Food Management Careers
Sodexo Housekeeping Careers
Sodexo Dietitian Careers
Sodexo Sales Careers
Sodexo IS&T Careers
Sodexo CTM Careers

Twitter

Facebook