Sobeys Employee Reviews

Found 1,036 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Bakery Clerk, Cake decorator (Former Employee) –  Truro, NS5 August 2016
a day spent decorating cakes and pastries for customers and for service case. very customer focused..great co workers..most enjoyable
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work...
Coordinator, Lease Administration (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 August 2016
There is no training involved with working at Sobeys. You are thrown into the position with no knowledge of what is expected.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and funwork place
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB2 August 2016
Sobeys is a good place to work and I enjoy a lot while working there. Management is really very productive and active. Other staffs are also dedicated.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aspiring and Fun stepping stone
Produce, Salad Girl (Former Employee) –  New Hamburg, ON1 August 2016
I did not work much since i was a young high school student focusing on my grades. I would come in bright and early, do some data sheets, and begin chopping fruits and vegetables for the salads in produce. Not only did i chop fruits and salads, i made a variety of different healthy snacks, such as: Lunch packs, taco dip's, broccoli casserole, and prepared stir fry vegetables mixes. The work was time sensitive causing me to work fast and create a quick day. I took an hour for lunch. The hardest part of the job would have been keeping up with the busy pace of the customers enjoying my products; once a product purchased it needed to be replaced by myself. The most enjoyable part of the job would have been to learn so many different healthy alternative ways to eat.
Pros
hour lunch
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic Workplace
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  80 St. Clair Avenue East30 July 2016
A typical day at work in my life involves the following tasks at present, they are: throwing out the garbage, washing dishes and attending to customers. Initially I was also spicing chickens and making sandwiches for the following week. However; I had decided to take on less hours, due to the fact that I wanted to study and minimize the amount of stress.
People in management overall are quite nice, and from what I have learned through my short time there is: Grocery stores tend to be really stressful places for the ones who work there and keeping a positive attitude is key to making things work for yourself. The two most difficult parts of the job are: slicing "fancy meats", an example of which is Proscuitto, (especially when it has just been opened from its packaging; considering that the fat portion has to be sliced of, before the slicing of the meat can begin) and spicing chickens. Lastly with regard to my co-workers they are good individuals, and their company sometimes helps to lighten my mood when tough situations are encountered at work.
Pros
Free time to do other things
Cons
too far
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cake Decorator (Former Employee) –  Edson, AB28 July 2016
great place to work, willing to work with staff for the hours and days off, worked as a team. Everyone was enjoyable the ambiance was great to work in worked hard and yet still had the time to have fun as we worked.
Pros
ambiance is great
Cons
no advancement or raises
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers are great
EUC (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 July 2016
They keep hyping the 5E's

Effective
Efficient
Engage and so on however management doesn't even follow it, IT Director rules by threat of out sourcing
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sobeys is a good place to work
Retail Associate (Current Employee) –  Simcoe, ON27 July 2016
I work in the deli and love my manager/coworkers. Everyone is pleasant to work with just wish more hours were available.
Pros
Nice manager, decent hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Courtesy Clerk
Courtesy Clerk (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 July 2016
OI enjoy the work here, and most of the time the managers are more then welcome to accommodate to my personal schedule to get me shifts that work with my time.
Pros
Freedom to move about the store
Cons
No a high paying job, not many shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best working place ever .
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 July 2016
It is a good place for work. It also helps to improve the speaking skills. Give the knowledge about the customers and their new demands.
Pros
FREE LUNCH
Cons
NOTHING
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 July 2016
I have learned a lot from interacting with so many people during my shift. It was a very fun experience working with Sobeys. My co-workers were very supportive and fun of working with.
Pros
interact with people
Cons
basic salary
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work atmosphere was good. got along with other employees
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB24 July 2016
Environment was upbeat, co-workers were easy to get along with.
restocking produce was a new challenge and I enjoyed it. I learned how to tell the difference with fruits and veggies.
Pros
learning about fruits and veggies
Cons
wage too low
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good company
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 July 2016
I love to communicate with people because it is an eazy way to improve my English.I would like to work more hours or a full time job
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New budgets
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Stittsville, ON20 July 2016
The business has new budgets and has under gone some management restructuring.
Overall the business has some great department managers who help deal with the day to day stress.
Pros
Great management team
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Clerk & Cashier (Current Employee) –  Moncton, NB20 July 2016
A typical day at work in front end would be, helping customers finding what they are looking for while completing various transactions.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good part time job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Lower Sackville, NS16 July 2016
I made some good friends there, learned some life skills that i can take with me to any other jobs i have.
everyone there just wants to help you so you do the best you can and succeed everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace with amazing team members
Retail Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS16 July 2016
Great team spirit coupled with an exceptional work ethic. the employers truly have the best interest of employees at heart and are willing to go the extra mile to ensure that employees are well catered to.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, self driven work ethic, personable staff, great hours
Stock Picker (Former Employee) –  Debert, NS15 July 2016
very fast, hard working shift. as many or few hours as you want every week, above average pay rate, personable staff, and expectations of workers that was propotional to your time and position
Pros
fast paced, easy work, as much or as little interaction as you want.
Cons
late hours, moderately dangerous
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Dairy Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 July 2016
Theres good and theres bad with the location I was at, All I can say is that this company (where I worked at) is good for a start up job not long term, that's all I would like to say.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Grocery Foreman (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 July 2016
I worked at Sobeys for 16 years
My job duties included:
Over seeing a staff of up to 45 people
Problem solving
Coaching / Counselling employee's
Ensured all orders were picked and shipped in a timely fashion
Corresponding with senior management helping to improve day to day productivity.
Pros
People
Cons
Not enough room for further growth
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,047 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6