Sobeys Employee Reviews

Found 1,135 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pharmacy
Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC15 December 2016
I was suppose to get training for 2 weeks but was only given 4 days of training. Thrown right into work,told I was doing a fantastic job then when my 3 months were up I was let go with an explanation of not being a good fit. I over heard at another store that this has become the common practice for this company!!! I don't recommend working for this company!
Pros
Starbucks
Cons
None flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sobeys
Bakery department Manager (Current Employee) –  Greater Toronto Area, ON15 December 2016
Sobeys is a great place to work and grow yourself up to management level. I have moved from part time to day shift to full time then management
Pros
Programs for progression
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere with better people
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB14 December 2016
Sobeys is a great place for a first job, you comnect with your co-workers and connect with your customers, I stocked shelves so I also got a lot of time to myself which doesn't hurt anyone, when you get a lot of time to your self you just have to make sure you're still working hard and efficient.
Pros
Good hours, good people
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's about a 80% success rate on short term period employees (Being One year or less period). Sobeys is a great company. Keep up the Good Work.
Shelf Stocker (Former Employee) –  Orangeville, Ontario.14 December 2016
Restock shelves, face front two rows of Grocery Items. Sweep Isles of Grocery Store. Very well Organized. Very respectful staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy day to day schedule with plenty of oportunity to advance.
Baker (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB14 December 2016
Time flies while working here. Plenty of opportunity to work with the public.Great team atmosphere with a wide assortment of individuals to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure work hours, balancing events, east going
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Brandon, MB13 December 2016
Overall great first city job when coming out of highschool, challenged me in someways. Friendly staff, and very welcoming customers. Often serve regular people, which makes for ease of conversation.
Pros
Local, good hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sobeys review
Food Clerk (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON13 December 2016
daily clean up - dealing with customers - making food
biggest thing that i learned is how to deal with customers.
co works are great never a dull moment while working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly atmosphere
Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 December 2016
Very fun place to work, everybody was very friendly and welcoming. People were nice to be around and talk to while also being productive.
Pros
Occasionally brought lunch / snacks
Cons
Rush hours were rough but still fun none the less.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No fluent in English
Meat Cutter (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 December 2016
Much more boring....Working hard in coolers and chicken rooms with low environment healthy and cold...where I got a lots of problems about arthritis, and lung coldness.....
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Deli clerk (Former Employee) –  Westlock, AB8 December 2016
Was a very good company to work for they made sure everything was how i needed and wanted it to be typical work day was going in and dealing with customers and what they needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK7 December 2016
Excellent work ethic
Good attention to detail, planning and scheduling, organizing, time management
Customer oriented
Ability to plan and organize in a self-directed manner
Strong communication skills; Written and Verbal, able to effectively relate to a wide range of people.
Experienced in staff training; ability to lead and direct others
Working knowledge of computers
Métis
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Customer Service Representative/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK6 December 2016
-Good work environment
-Fair enough management
-Customers interaction
-Helpful co-workers
-Staff events
-Benefits plan
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad employees
Seafood clerk (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB5 December 2016
I felt like i didnt get enough respect at work like especially my co workers they always talked bad about me. The work environment was good tho and clean
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 December 2016
WAS a great warehouse to work for.
when this warehouse was located in Calgary it was an amazing company to work for. when they moved locations to blazac, it wasnt so great. the family we had created was gone.
Pros
cheap cafe food
Cons
at time it was stressful getting trucks/ orders out on time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work enviroment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ajax, ON30 November 2016
they are very friendly, and it is a great place to work. The hardest part of the job is remembering the PLU's but the longer you work the more you can memorize.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful environment and you are expected to do more work for less pay that is overloaded and barring.
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS30 November 2016
Sobeys is a terrible company to work for as they are always looking to pinch their employees so they can save money. The workloads are very over-bearing and it does not support a very good team environment. Ungarunteed hours and most of your hard work goes unrecognized. I was also "let go" while on maternity leave, which is not legal. I never felt appreciated and there were no benefits, or incentive to take on the duties in which I was expected to do.
Pros
You get your minimum wage pay. Oh, and a box of chocolate at Christmas.
Cons
You get your minimum wage pay. Oh, and a box of chocolate at Christmas.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place with wonderful team
Management Trainee (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 November 2016
So much great people working in the same team, pleasure to work with them. Company organized and care about employees. People always has opportunity to challenge them self.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the staff was great.
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Rocky Mountain House, AB29 November 2016
At Sobey's I started at 6:00 am. Would start packing the products that were ready for us. I learned how to make donuts, cut bread, helped in the back making the product. The management was poor. The co-workers were great to work with. The hardest part of the job was dealing with management. The most enjoyable part of the job was that I made some friends there and they were a great team.
Pros
We got profit shares at the end of the year.
Cons
Shift work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy working there especially interacting with customers
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  St. Paul, AB26 November 2016
Always assisting customers.
How to be polite to customers and treat them with respect.
Very very nice management gets along with everyone just fine.
Sometimes lazy BUT eventually gets the job done.
Going to work after someone who doesnt care about their job.
Making customers leave with a smile on their faces.
Pros
free snacks and hot beverage always
Cons
8hr shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great manager/bad management
Meat Clerk (Former Employee) –  Shelburne, NS24 November 2016
I really loved my department and managers of the department however the greater management of the business was fairly absent, although did show interest if % were low or complaints arose.
Pros
great customers, training provided, great of students, flexible with hours
Cons
low rate of pay, benefits not great
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,147 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6