Find companies:
Sobeys
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
281 reviews

Sobeys Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with a very warm staff and work place environment.
Meat Clerk (Former Employee), Shelburne, NSJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: friendly staff, hard working staff, kind management, understanding, flexible
Cons: not enough hours, restrictions on piercings
The people that manage this establishment were very kind and easy to work with the whole way throughout my time there. They had a very laid back employee lounge and easy to talk with staff. Always someone to listen to your ideas and thoughts on how to make the work palce better or to improve the customer experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Customers and employees
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), Westlock, ABJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: paid breaks
Cons: no screening on employees
I enjoyed the gratitude of customers and generally found that employees were willing to teach me new skills. Many staff working in the Grocery department could not speak fluent English so I was confused about certain tasks, but I soon overcame that when I had the manager's friend help me with certain procedures. My sister still works at Sobeys and I – more... would suggest it as an excellent job for a bright high-school student looking to go to university, or somebody wanting to be employed in a workspace with people of all ages and customs. Diversity was a compliment, but I also enjoyed the generativity and happiness of the staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
happy friendly environment
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), New Glasgow, NSJanuary 2, 2014
i loved working in an environment where you get to know your customers. its a friendly environment. great staff,.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Environment
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), Vaughan, ONJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: unfriendly co-workers
At this job my co-workers where unfriendly not willing to help and expected alot from there workers with little to no help and no positive reenforcement overall not a good experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i gane a lot of experience during my work with Sobeys
Customer Service Supervisor (part time) (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: standin all dayd long
Customer service supervisor shift passing usually under pressure.
I learn a lot about customer service and had the opportunity to work with great people as management and co-workers.
The hardest park - some miscommunications between management and employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Cashier, Curtsy, and Deli (Former Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 21, 2013
Pros: making people happy
Cons: run with to young of children all the same age.
A typical day at work was the same routine every single day. I learned it doesn't how long you have been there someone always wants to discourage you and push you around. The management was run by teenagers and needed a adult supervising them. My co-workers were great because most of them were my age or my friends. I only really worked nights. The hardest – more... part of the job was dealing with immature kids my age and letting them pass me on advancement well I am more mature and have more management skill. The most enjoyable part of my jobs is the little kids who would come up to me and just talk to me for no reason. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive working environment and hard working employees
Cleanup, merchandising (Current Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 17, 2013
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: difficult to move up within the company
Served a broad range of customers dealing with their personal preferences while working in bakery as well as dealing with customers on front cash. I work with great, enthusiastic, and hard working staff; some of which are talented with decorating and provide a clean working environment. I spend my day baking, packaging products, placing orders, responsible – more... for inventory, dealing with money, and providing customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bakery Clerk Posistion
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee), Brampton, ONDecember 9, 2013
I started this job as a co-op student at first. I've done the placement for five months, and my co-workers and manager thought that I was a good worker so my manager hired me for a part-time position. I've only typically worked one shift a week, and done repetitive duties for each one, but I didn't mind because I liked the people who I was working with. – more... I wouldn't say that there was a hardest part of this particular position, however there was a part that I least enjoyed, and that part was disposing the garbage in the stock area. The most enjoyable job I would say was topping frozen pizza dough. I had a good time working there, and I hope I will get a position just as good soon. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Supervisor (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 5, 2013
Gave me the opportunity to learn management skills,to be time efficient and work in a team as well as individually.Helped me enhance my people skills through good customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The store got much better after i started there.
Grocery Assistant Manager (Former Employee), north westNovember 26, 2013
Pros: everything gos smooth when you have the right people in place
Cons: the bad attitudes of some of the managers.they should care a little more than what they do.
Its ok.You have to train the staff,so they do things properly and to store standards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
front end cashier
front end cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 24, 2013
Pros: friendly enviroment
Cons: can be stressful
co workers were indeed very respectful, loved to help me when some instructions were unclear.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a job
Cashier (Part-time) (Former Employee), Oromocto, NBNovember 24, 2013
Pros: short breaks.
Cons: less hrs
Didnt care much for this job as the hrs I was promised were not given to me. I found working at sobeys not exciting.

sometimes prices on food items were different than what was listed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Salad Bar Clerk (Current Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 20, 2013
Pros: great co workers
I get in to work and go right to making a list of what is needed to get made to be sold etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place n friendly
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Parrysound, OntarioNovember 18, 2013
Pros: open work enviroment
it was a good job was fun and a good learning experience . great work hours and friendly staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job
Deli cook (Former Employee), Fort saint johnNovember 16, 2013
nothing much to learn be great at what you do and possibly get noticed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced work enviroment, very friendly staff
Cashier (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONNovember 15, 2013
Most of the shift was spent scanning and bagging items at the cash register. The hardest part of the job was how slow the day went because it was never very busy on my shift. The best part of the job was talking to customers and other employees and when they would ask if I'd like to learn new things such as inventory or stocking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning how to manage time.
Assistant Deli Manager (Former Employee), Saskatoon, SKNovember 8, 2013
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: cutting back on hours
A typical work day involved cleaning the meat case and checking for expired meat and getting slicers set up and ready for customers. Unloading a shipment of meat and getting it to the coolers in a timely fashion.
I learnt from this position how to work fast and efficient and in a timely manner.
The hardest part of the job was finding someone to work – more... when a co-worker called in sick.
The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to see regular customers and their smiling faces. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment with great opportunities and experience
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee), Beaumont, ABNovember 7, 2013
The experience was great and I was happy with the job. It had opportunities, friendly people and much more although the location was not in my favour.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sobeys
Cashier (Former Employee), Sydney, NSNovember 6, 2013
Pros: great staff
Cons: short shifts
Busy environment but always kept tidy, great management and easy going staff. You got the regular customers and the odd grumpy person but nothing to serious.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your typical minimum wage job
Full time employee (Former Employee), Olds, ABNovember 5, 2013
Pros: learned how to decorate and bake
Cons: long hours wasnt paid overtime and wasnt treated very well
Early mornings, late nights
Fasted paced, stressful environment
Learned how to bake, pack and decorate bakery goods
Worked as a individual and as part of a team
Trained and worked overtime hours

About Sobeys

Sobeys is the second largest food retailer in Canada, with over 1,300 supermarkets operating under a variety of banners. Headquartered – Read more