Sobeys Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 664 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good job
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBMarch 11, 2016
you are left making things for yourself to look busy, cleaning the same area for 3 hours for etc, manager dosent do her job when there
Pros
some coworkers
Cons
no hours, some managers do nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Starting Point
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Alliston, ONMarch 11, 2016
A normal day at Sobeys in the morning would consist of first, culling the floor and the wet case. Making sure that there are no bad products before the store opened to ensure quality. Then, scanning out each item using CAO to maintain correct inventory numbers, and finally scanning each product out with PeriScope and calculating shrink for the day. After that, it's maintaining the floor and approaching customers asking if they need help finding anything or if they are looking for something in particular.
Pros
Great people, plenty to learn.
Cons
Not much room for growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace with great staff but decent managment
Night Clerk (Former Employee) –  Simcoe, ONMarch 10, 2016
Sobeys co workers are great but management could use some work, off days could have been scheduled better and adequate training would be nice.
Pros
good people
Cons
no employee benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Deil Counter (Former Employee) –  Olds, ABMarch 7, 2016
worked here while i went to college they worked well with me on when i can work and when i needed time off for school and studying
Pros
Worked with my schedule
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management, comprehensive training, good environment
Warehouse Picker (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONMarch 3, 2016
The work environment at Sobey's was great, a lot of the veteran employee's were very patient and helpful. The management, both lower and senior, were very friendly and understanding. Training was good. Union membership and benefits were on par with the industry's best.

Some of the other warehouse employees weren't very good people, acted very short sighted manner on the job and made the day harder than it had to be.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to wrok
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bonnyville, ABMarch 3, 2016
count cash float set up register check out peoples items at cash register clean up work area cash out
how to work a cash register (first cashier job)
quiet kept to himself
fun friendly helpful
cash float
chatty happy customers
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Cashier/ Food Demonstrator (Current Employee) –  Bridgewater, NSMarch 2, 2016
My favorite thing about working at Sobeys is the employees, they all care about you, and they become your family. A typical day would be asking the supervisor what cash register number you're at, going down to set up, grabbing your first customer, ringing in groceries until they let you go for your break, then doing the same until you get off. They handle situations very professionally.
Pros
Awesome Co-workers
Cons
Long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the greatest time.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Acton, ONMarch 2, 2016
Working at Sobeys was great at first, I met some really great people. After working at Sobeys for a year I decided to quit. I was asked to be a supervisor with no raise and other workers were being paid more than me and doing less, I didn't find that fair.
Pros
great people
Cons
not fair
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, kept busy
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Rocky Mountain House, ABMarch 2, 2016
I learned how to decorate cakes, slice bread, deal with the register, customers, and cleaning. I always had a job to do, and that's what I admired most about this job.
Cons
Needed a higher salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
HMR clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton AlbertaFebruary 29, 2016
A typical day at sobeys is quite busy overall. I learned a lot from how to handle certain equipment to how to do FIM and stock to learning the different odds and ends in my department. Everyone got treated like family.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a nice place to work
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABFebruary 26, 2016
I think that overall this wasn't an overall difficult place to work, I got along with most of my co-workers but I found I was frequently getting pulled into work days I wasn't scheduled for and they called me last minute. This is the reason I left but overall it is a clean and well maintained grocery store and I would recommend the Job to other youth looking for a first job.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service and the fast pace
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABFebruary 25, 2016
I would open and place tills / lottery
make sure my cashiers know their duties.
answer phone calls, deals with customer returns
open deliver boxes and merchandise the tills

management was strict and efficient

never had a hardest part of my job because I could over come it and learn from the experience

I enjoyed the environment and the friendly staff. So I was always looking forward to work.
Pros
The work experiment with co-workers and customers
Cons
The uniforms while being pregnant
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No!
Butcher (Former Employee) –  Corner Brook, NLFebruary 21, 2016
While my co-workers were good to work with, the manager was a disreputable person who I did not trust to have my interests or the the customers interest at heart.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not recommended to work there
HMR (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ONFebruary 19, 2016
Only give you two days notice of your following weeks schedule.

Low staffing, high work load.

no appreciation of workers commitment and hard work at all
Pros
flexible with hours or days worked at times
Cons
very hard to get a full time contract
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for but no consistency from Upper Management.
Produce Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABFebruary 19, 2016
Managers are too light to the staffs who are friends with them, No consistency from the store managers, district managers, zone managers which makes the job harder.
Pros
Friendly work area
Cons
staffs dictating when they can work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff & wonderful working environment.
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Miramichi, NBFebruary 18, 2016
Typical day involves making a wide array of baked goods, the demand of which varies from day to day along with specials/sales.

Learned management skills and customer relations.

Co-workers are great people who are always flexible and willing to help whenever needed.

Hardest part of the job would easily be trying to get a wide number of things baked with limited time & space.

Most enjoyable part of the job would have to be the wonderful co-workers.
Pros
Flexible hours & friendly staff
Cons
Fair amount of heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NSFebruary 12, 2016
The management was very unfair.
Choose favorites frequently.
Seniority doesnt mean anything to them.
treat you like a child and yell at you in front of customers.
Pros
Christmas bonus
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall friendly place to work
Produce Clerk & Bakery Cake Decorator (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PEFebruary 9, 2016
I mostly worked in the bakery, which was perfect fit for me because I tend to be on the more creative side of things and thoroughly enjoy cake decorating. My co workers were great and there was never any drama. I enjoyed being there both because of the work and because of the overall atmosphere. If I could still be working there (however, factors that are causing me to relocate) I would be.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Front End Packer and a Deli worker (Former Employee) –  Alcona Beach, ONFebruary 7, 2016
I would usually push buggies all day. which was fun and productive. but if the weather was bad the day would have been bad. The co-workers are really nice there.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
Cake Decorator (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ONFebruary 5, 2016
This job was only part time and towards the end I was not getting enough hours (went down to about 11 hours a week).
Although my hours were cut; it was still a great place to work and I enjoyed working with my coworkers very much.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 673 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture