Find companies:
Sobeys
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
321 reviews

Sobeys Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sobeys
Customer Service Associate in Deli (Current Employee), Fonthill, ONMarch 4, 2014
Pros: get breaks and lunches
I've worked at Sobeys for over 5 years. I've very much enjoyed the work environment. It is a great part time job for students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 4, 2014
Pros: worked on your own
Cons: non
Everyday you get trucks coming in with grocery items and you checked order to make sure nothing was missing then delivered to proper area of the store
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing Experience
Supervisor (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 1, 2014
Pros: met some nice people, enjoyed training other staff, good benefits for full-timers
Cons: stress, demoralized staff, toxic environment
I was disappointed with Sobeys, found they misrepresented the position.

As a supervisor I was told that I would be a Coach and mentor both things I am passionate about. but in reality, the position was that of a strict policy enforcer and task master.

Seemed like there were staffing issues. Lots of people phoning in sick. Lots of complaining. Staff – more... were quite unpleasant to each other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bowling
cashier (Former Employee), Regina, SKFebruary 28, 2014
When you first start your shift everyone greets you and feel very great about yourself and your work ethic, ("at customer service disk". this is a very good thing) But most of the time you will always find co-workers doing nothing hanging around customer service or standing around doing nothing like red line or using cellphone to text don't get me wrong – more... even at customer service desk they text as well. The tells are never cleaned and the garbages are always overfull. the stoke is very poor sometimes you can never find what you are looking for one minute they have it and another they don't.
About your co-worker they have a lot of very young co-workers in this industry that they do not know what they are doing or want to do nothing except for what they know best is texting or wishing they can be with their friends, and a young customer service gal well she thinks that she knows it all but we all know that she doesn't, and to young to sell lotto it does not matter how long you work for the company she can not be at customer service desk selling cigarettes or looto intel she is 19 years of age you massell hire a children.
We dont have any problems with any managers may be one or two but that normal for this industry.
benefits, oh they have benefits you have 5 or 6 month to call in. If don't you have to wait til next year. the most enjoyable part is jest standing there doing nothing at the til's looking bored as hell and not doing any thing that is my most enjoyable things ;) haahaaaah! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
comfortable and enjoyable atmosphere
Cashier/Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee), Angus, ONFebruary 27, 2014
Once you start working at Sobeys, most of your shifts fall into a pattern. Your number one priority is to help customers, don't make them wait for you. When you are not with a customer you are either helping a co worker by bagging or you can clean your station, do garbage or sweep. Many co workers are easy to get along with as well as supervisors. The – more... hardest part of being a cashier can be a frustrated customer or someone that is not particularly friendly, but if customers are in a good mood and you show you are, socializing with customers can be the best part, especially if they are regular customers because you really get to know them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Cashier at Sobeys (Former Employee), Saint John, NBFebruary 25, 2014
good starting job while in high school. Met a lot of nice people and learned good communication skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect Place to Work!
Cashier (Current Employee), Riverview, NBFebruary 24, 2014
I loved working at Sobeys! I learned so much on Customer Service and cash handling policies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sobyes
Front End Cashier (Current Employee), Pincher Creek, ABFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: working with great team that really cairs
Cons: not getting the hours that i would like
At Sobyes we put customers first and that is something that I really like. Because with out the customers we would not have a job, and nor would there be a need to have a great boss. Here at Sobyes we like to make sure that you the customer finds what you are looking for, and if its out of stock we would be happy to make a rain check out for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Grocery Store
DELI CLERK (Current Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: exciting co-workers
Cons: absolutely no incentive to spend any money at the store
Working for 8 hours with no chance of overtime, even though it's illegal; my department manager is very amiable, but the store manager is only concerned about his own wallet and how any expenditure affects his bonus at the end of the year, which leaves us with partially non-functioning equipment. Some fun regular customers though, easy to get along – more... with and fun to chat with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpredictablity mixed with multi tasking
Deli Associate (Former Employee), Brampton, ONFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: easy going
Cons: random hours
Shifts were 6 hours long. Working in the deli section involved stocking deli meats and cheeses, slicing meats and cheeses for customers, also cooking and managing food for the hot case side, and receiving orders every Tuesday. The deli section can remain quite, then spontaneously become very busy. Management was very understanding and flexible. The – more... hardest part of the job would have to the moments were you are left alone to manage both the coking hot case side, and slicing meat the same time. The most enjoyable part was working with my fellow employees – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and Fun Workplace.
Sobeys Produce Clerk (Current Employee), MississaugaFebruary 18, 2014
I come into work and I complete all tasks left for me such as filling the racks with fruits and vegetables or organizing the backroom cooler. I engage in conversation with customers to provide service when it is needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was alright but very tedious and boring
Cashier (Former Employee), Beaumont, ABFebruary 18, 2014
I liked my co workers but I definitely am happy that I left there. It was perfect for a part time job but I wouldn't recommend a full time job there unless you're offered good pay. Being a cashier is very boring and tedious.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working a Sobeys
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Sherwood Park, ABFebruary 17, 2014
I would bag peoples orders and get the carts from out side and the baskets
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Halifax, NSFebruary 16, 2014
A typical day at work was very repetitive, although there was always room to move forward in the company, the management and the co-workers were very friendly and helped you when stuck in a situation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Workplace
Cashier (Current Employee), Rothesay, NBFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: appreciation, friendly, neighborly
Cons: can be hard on the body, standing, stretching, pulling and lifting heavy items.
Fun workplace, team oriented, organized, customer service oriented
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced workplace; detail-oriented; Worked both under supervision and independently
File Maintenance Clerk (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 13, 2014
Work duties included but was not limited to:
-maintaining store signage
-preparing the store for weekly and monthly sales and specials
-ensured products scanned for correct pricing

-management team was very professional
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
negative atmosphere
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Saskatoon, SKFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: used to get a discounts on lunches, but management took that away
Cons: negative atmosphere in the front end, a true land of "misery"
I was employed by Sobeys for 11 yrs, towards the end, things were just plain miserable, the front end department was in a very sorry state indeed, made it impossible to come into work anymore. the department at this particular location insists on employing indviduals with "special needs" I understand that these individuals need employment, but they – more... should not be employed in customer service, I mean, if you have to tell somebody over 500 times how to do the same thing, day in and day out, it's bit much don't you think?? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center
Clerk (Former Employee), North Sydney, NSFebruary 13, 2014
Repetitive job, but the coworkers made it enjoyable. You also had the opportunity to meet and talk to some interesting people from around the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The corporate world of grocery (Sobeys) is an amazing environment.
Human Resources-Learning and Development (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: a wonderful experience outside of the medical field.
Cons: i wish they could have kept me on.
Typical day would start with checking all outlets of messages (phone, emails, faxes). However because I worked in Learning and Development, I had to make sure the scheduling for the courses were on point, the amount of participants, food was provided, facilitators were notified as well as the location the course is being held. That was most enjoyable – more... because I was able to communicate outside of my team; meeting colleagues. The hardest part of the job was the anxiety of not really knowing if my job was done efficiently when participants went out for the courses. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team oriented
Cashier/Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Olds, ABFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: team oriented
Cons: takes years to advance
Sobeys is a very team orientated company. If you like people and doing the same thing every day then you will do well here. Some memory skills are needed for UPCs/PLUs, but a few weeks of practice and you'll never forget those codes. The hardest part of the job is the customers. You have to always be aware of them and how ou deal with them. The most – more... enjoyable ipart of the job is how friendly the people are and the constant training. – less

About Sobeys

Sobeys is the second largest food retailer in Canada, with over 1,300 supermarkets operating under a variety of banners. Headquartered – Read more