Find companies:
Sobeys
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
380 reviews

Sobeys Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Natural Source Stock Clerk/ Cashier (Current Employee), Bedford South, Bedford, N.S.September 2, 2014
Productive stocking shelves always learning new tasks to do within company, People here are a fun crew to work with and ambitious to complete their tasks of the day,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great student job
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary ABAugust 28, 2014
Pros: paid breaks
Cons: no medical leave
Not very good job security
Not too bad pay per hour
Good job for students
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Part Time Packer (Former Employee), Bradford, ONAugust 28, 2014
Was one of my first jobs I ever had. I liked working here and getting use to the environment. The people were fun to talk to and very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and never boring place to work.
Grocery supervisor (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 25, 2014
great friendly work environment.very flexible for days u need off and benefits are good pay is really reasonable. management is really nice and respects you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incompetent Management, Favouritism.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONAugust 25, 2014
Pros: good coworkers
Cons: unfair treatment, poor management
Management does not care about their employees, and treats them as slaves. It's an inhospitable environment. There is no sense to how people are scheduled, and if you take a weekend off, you'll be punished with less hours. You'll also only ever be able to get a maximum of 25 hours unless you're related to management or have previously worked with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers were friendly, great management, good experience
Deli Department (Former Employee), Sherwood ParkAugust 21, 2014
Pros: good management, trained well, co-workers were friendly
I worked in the deli department. My manager was really good at her job and gave me great direction and trained me really well. I had to make sure everything was cleaned and sanitized especially when working with meat and cheese. I had to make trays and I had a specific deadline. I had to cut cheeses and meats for customers. I had to greet customers – more... and ask them for their orders. I had to always clean once in a while to make sure there was no cross contamination. I had to open and close the deli department and make sure everything was prepped or put away and ready to go. It was hard when I had deadlines but I always made them and it was also hard when there was a lot of customers at once. I always kept calm and got to every customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical cashier job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONAugust 21, 2014
Pros: easy
Cons: no room for improvement
Typical grocery cashier job. Minimum wage. Easy, not challenging. But it was comfortable working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
consistent work pace
Front End Worker (Former Employee), High River, ABAugust 17, 2014
Pros: store discount
Cons: the odd time there would be some slow days making work seem long
would help out at front end with bagging customers groceries and customer carry outs.

I obtained great organization skills.

well managed environment making work easy.

co-workers were a fun group of people making work fun and easy.

had to help a customer carry out fifteen cases of water.

it was overall a fun fast paced environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive worlplace
Cashier (Current Employee), Brampton ONAugust 15, 2014
Its a very healthy and clean place to work at. Everyone is very kind helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and awesome workers
Produce Staff (Former Employee), Deerpoint S.E CalgaryAugust 6, 2014
We are like a family at work. It's a very friendly environment from Admin, Managers and all the workers are easily work with. There is a pressure because you have to meet the sales goal of the department but we are able to produce our production at the right time. Customer Service are highly recommended in our store, we always keep smile and see to – more... it that we serve our customers need. We have fun time every month that employees have get together. I'm happy and proud to be part in all the companies that I work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place, team orientated, respectful work place
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 5, 2014
Pros: youthful staff, flexible
Cons: not unionized, no discounts, long hours, no facial piercings, visible tattoos or nail polish
At Sobeys as a cashier, your typical day at work would be to help customers, put them through your till, clean, face, pulling tags, dusting, stocking shelves, etc. I have learned lots of social skills and customer service skills. I now know how to handle rude customers or inpatient customers without taking it personally. The management is pretty good, – more... there is a lot of rules and regulations but for the most part management is great. The co-workers are great, everyone gets along and do good work as a team together. The staff is generally in their teens, 16,17,18,19. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace very rewarding
Part-time Bakery Clerk (Current Employee), Waterdown, ONAugust 4, 2014
Overall a great work environment. The workers are easy to get along with and being in the bakery was a blast. I learned many different things while working in the bakery such as cake decorating skills and people skills. The most enjoyable part about the job was being able to make people happy with how we decorate their cake.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced 24/7
Human Resources Manager (Current Employee), Southwestern OntarioAugust 1, 2014
Great place to learn and grow, fast paced with many opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The utmost in cleanliness and safety-Knowledge is power at Sobeys
produce clerk (Former Employee), Sydney River,NSAugust 1, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: no full time hrs
At the beginning of the day it was procedure to check all dates and remove and rotate product enter codes for inventory production evaluation. Then download info from the main computer to give you the expected production numbers for the morning-You also would do the same routine in the afternoon.

I thoroughly enjoyed my co-workers as they were extremely – more... helpful in helping me attain the goals set by Sobeys.

I learned several new skills as I had always been a cook.

The most enjoyable part of the job for me was interacting with the customers and acquiring new skills.The constant online courses were always enjoyable in my opinion.

The hardest part of the job for me was the part time hrs and minimum wage pay- If it had been full-time I would have stayed but the seniority list was long and I could not afford to wait, sadly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sobeys
Produce Clerk (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 31, 2014
Pros: flexible and understanding management
Cons: not enough hours
A day at Sobeys is very fast paced and you have to work as soon as you get there. I learned that you have to be able to multi-task and work really well under pressure. Especially when co-workers are feeling stressed and aren't feeling to well you have to understand their situation and continue working without the stress they have to rub off on you and – more... work professionally. The co-workers I work with I enjoy especially when they work just as hard as I do. The toughest part of the job is to reach the expectation of the speed they want you to work. I love to be with my co-workers and enjoy my shift with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Meat Clerk (Former Employee), Brampton, ONJuly 26, 2014
Go in and stock shelves. learned how to operate hand jacks and power jacks. Great staff that will help you whenever. Great co workers that can work and have a good time. Job isn't hard at all. Best part is interacting with people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee), New Glasgow, NSJuly 26, 2014
while working here , did learn that there are certain benefits to having someone depend on you to make sure things are going to be done as they are needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life at work
Cashier / Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONJuly 24, 2014
My management sucks. My co-workers are great. i worked in a diverse team and friendly environment. They made me felt so welcome to their company. My job was not hard, very else with everything I had to do there. I'm not working there no more because my store closed down and i couldn't get a transfer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work at and very fast paced
Food prep/Sales Associate (Former Employee), sobeys forest-lawn Calgary albertaJuly 19, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: very hardworking job
a typical day at work?
very busy environment lots to do.

what i learned was time management,excellent customer service
inventory.

management is not ok but could be better and more outgoing

co workers are very nice and have a great positive attitude and out always ready to do their best effort.

the hardest part of the job is closing lots to clean – more... up lots of food to prep.

the best part of the job is after 7 o'clock get paid an extra dollar for every hour worked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very friendly
Customer service (Former Employee), Airdrie, ABJuly 15, 2014
Pros: reliable
Cons: not able to obtain full time easily
pleasant people, good atmosphere, very reliable
learned a lot about storing perishables

About Sobeys

Sobeys is the second largest food retailer in Canada, with over 1,300 supermarkets operating under a variety of banners. Headquartered – Read more