Find companies:
Sobeys
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
338 reviews

Sobeys Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sobey's Reveiw
Front End Cashier (Current Employee), St. John's, NLMay 27, 2014
This job was/is a great job
Co-workers are friendly and helpful.
The most enjoyable part of this job is meeting all the different people, getting to know them & having those people become "your" regular costumers because of how they like your service, It makes you feel fantastic.
The hardest part of the job is the repetitiveness, Its the same motion – more... over & over, it becomes hard on your body. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some get togethers
Asst, Grpcery Manager (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 13, 2014
Cons: lomg hours
Knowing how to treat your employees and not cutting hours and thinking that people will work for free.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grocery store
Cashier (Former Employee), Winnipeg MbMay 13, 2014
handled cash credit or debit transactions
bagged groceries
kept my area neat and clean
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An environment that helps one grow in experience and skills.
Front End Supervisor/Office Clerk (Current Employee), Brampton, ONMay 12, 2014
Sobeys was my first job and I have grown and learned each day that for the four years I have been there. The people are almost like family, everyone looks out for each other and everyone is very supportive. I worked hard to get to the position of being an Office Clerk/Front End Supervisor. I love working in the office and with people. You grow closer – more... to regular customers and learn more about your fellow employees. My favourite part of everything I do would be managing the floor. You manage your staff and their breaks as well as deal with problems on the registers or with the customers. Any inquiries come to youu. I love the multitasking and interaction aspect of being on the floor. The most difficult part of the job can be balancing the office at the end of my shifts. If a register or a safe or even a bank bundle does not balance, it is my job to find the problem and fix it before my shift is finished. I feel a bit pressured but I love the challenge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good if you're a mindless robot
Cash/courtesy/Customer Service (Current Employee), Oakville, ONMay 7, 2014
It's a great part time job if you're in school or have a lot of free time..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy, keep up a quick pace
Deli Clerk (Current Employee), Saint John, NBApril 30, 2014
Pros: making money
Cons: short hours few shifts
A typical day at work I begin by cooking the food for the hot case and serving customers. I do prep for the next shift and clean everything in my area.
I have learned quite a lot about food safety and cleanliness. Sobeys is the cleanest place i have worked they are very strict on the proper ways to clean up and how to keep everything safe for costumers – more... and staff.
My co-workers are all very easy to get along with and very helpful. The hardest part of my job is remembering numbers and codes for all of the food and lifting the heavy boxes of chickens. Overall I enjoy my job it keeps me busy the whole shift and I like that I am never board when I'm working. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people. terrible management.
leader and helper (Current Employee), Fall River, NSApril 30, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: not great at working around your life. they want you to work around them.
little parse for doing a good job. you always are doing something wrong, or could be doing something better
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly co-workers
Cashier (Current Employee), Fredericton, NBApril 30, 2014
Pros: fellow employees
Cons: staggered hours
I try to smile everyday, I have learned a lot of patients since working in the public. The people I work with are very easy going and try their hardest to accommodate everyone's needs. The hardest part of my job is the staggered hours, I would like to have a job where I go to work everyday at the same time and get 40 hours a week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
better place to work if youre dont in school
DELI CLERK (Former Employee), Crowsnest Pass, ABApril 28, 2014
a typical day was busy, I learned food management. coworkers were encouraging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place
Office Clerk (Former Employee), Silverado, CalgaryApril 28, 2014
entering daily cash and sales reports, check and update staff shift entries in Kronos, enter Accounts Receivables, schedules, and all store transfers, do weekly reports
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Cleaner (Former Employee), Prince Albert, SKApril 24, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Amazing place to work and awesome people to work with. Meat department was a great department to be put in and i worked with some of the coolest and nicest guys around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good as a first job, but not for an extended time
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Lethbridge, ABApril 15, 2014
Pros: family discounts on purchases over $25, close relationships to fellow employees, outside familiarity with some co-workers
Cons: kept at lowest position for entire 8-year term, which was tedious and unsatisfying
When I was hired at Sobeys, I was put on the lowest level of employment as a courtesy clerk, which was acceptable as it was my first part-time job and I was appreciative of them hiring me. However, despite putting what I see as an acceptable amount of effort into my work, I was never offered any kind of promotion while others who put less effort and – more... were less liked by the fellow staff were. This made me increasingly discontent with my position and prompted me to look elsewhere for employment, though in hindsight I should have stayed given the difficulty of finding new employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace!
Cashier (Former Employee), Drayton Valley, ABApril 14, 2014
A typical day at work would be helping customers, checking prices if they didn't scan, cleaning around the till and washing the till at night. I have learned to stay professional in stressful situations, as in a customer being unhappy. The management was awesome!!!!!! Always gave lots of hours and was able to take any day of that i needed. My co-workers – more... were friendly, helpful and all of us were like a family. The hardest part of the job would have to be the holidays, lots of customers coming in, very busy and you may not always get your break. The most enjoyable part was having conversations with the customers and the friendly staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environment
Front End Manager (Former Employee), St.CatharinesApril 14, 2014
It may not be in all areas, but Sobeys is a very stressful company to work for. There is little support for part time staff and even department managers. HR seems to be more about operations that for the people. Audits and expectations are set at a very high, sometimes unrealistic standard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job but slow advancement
Grocery Department Clerk (Former Employee), Regina, SKApril 14, 2014
Pros: easy first job
Cons: long hours and many shifts
Sobeys was my first job and it was fast paced but work was often and long for a fifteen year old just looking for a little extra spending money. The job was bagging groceries for customers and loading their carts. Sometimes it would be very busy and the time would go by quickly and sometimes ou would often find yourself having next to nothing to do. – more... The job was a great learning experience and showed me what working is like. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
Produce & Parcel Pick-Up (Current Employee), Saint John, NBApril 13, 2014
Pros: friendly people
Cons: not enough hours
I go into work bring out the recyclables, then put out the chips, eggs and big 8 pop out on the shelf. when I'm all done that I then go around cleaning the store, bathrooms staff room and ails. when I'm all done everything I go to grocery and ask if the need any help. we put out dairy, cookies and crackers then my day is usually done. I also work in – more... produce in the mornings I go in when there is a big shipments and I put the shipment in the coolers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
System Analyst (Former Employee), Markham, ONApril 9, 2014
Great Management
Friendly Staff
Gain a knowledge if IT Industry
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student job, convenient
Cashier (Former Employee), Brampton, ONApril 9, 2014
Pros: location, and hours
Cons: no major cons, beside stress perhaps. and low pay
I had this job in high-school, it was a convenient form of income. I was strictly a cashier, and had little duties, besides performing successful transactions.

Co-workers were pleasant.

Management were very strict and made sure everything was in order, and everyone was safe and productive.

The only hard part of this job is that it can be sometimes – more... stressful but overall it was a god normal job.

it was close to home, and a convenient source of income. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employment at Sobeys'
Cashier (Former Employee), St. John's, NLApril 8, 2014
I was employed as a cashier at Sobeys, which I enjoyed because I love to interact with people as much as possible to make their experience a great one. A cashiers job is very tiring being on your feet for long periods of time, but my employer always made sure we took breaks when needed to ensure our comfort and satisfaction, which in turn provided a – more... better experience for us cashiers and the people we serve. The Sobeys that I was employed at had an amazing staff and were very cooperative with dealing with any task that was put in their direction. My fellow coworkers were very pleasant and easy-going, making it not only enjoyable for me but also for the hundreds of customers that enter and leave the store daily. I enjoyed my time at Sobeys and it was a great chance to meet a lot of new people and experience the grocery side of the work force. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun time while learning new things.
Customer Service (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONApril 6, 2014
Pros: used to get two 15mins paid break and an hour
Cons: 8 hours shift never end
Taking all customers with a big smile and a positive attitude.
How to work as a team and organize the area
To work with very efficient Managers was very special to learn different and good about work.
All train new associates and help co-workers if they need help
The hardest part is to keep cashing out Customers in busy time
To have such a wonderful – more... customers who actually make your day. – less

About Sobeys

Sobeys is the second largest food retailer in Canada, with over 1,300 supermarkets operating under a variety of banners. Headquartered – Read more