Find companies:
Sobeys
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
389 reviews

Sobeys Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work!
Sweets Baker/ Packager / Cake Decorator (Former Employee), Clarenville, NLOctober 22, 2014
Pros: great people to work with, always learn something new, good hours
Moving to Newfoundland and not knowing anyone is the worst! But then I applied at Sobey's and met so many amazing people some of which I call family now. For me, a typical day at work consisited of baking cookies, muffins and cakes. Although, it was stressful at times trying to get it all done my co workers & managers were awesome and we always had – more... fun together! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good times with friends
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 22, 2014
I worked in the grocery department. It was a good job to have throughout high school and university as it was very flexible and paid half decently. Many good people that worked there as well and easy to get along with lots of the management team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
cashier (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 16, 2014
Pros: everything was great
my typical day was go to work, get into uniform then go to till, i would stand at till for 95% of my day, id clean the belt, and clean my work area, this was a great job with great co workers and great management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and management
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 14, 2014
Customer service
Dealing with customer issues
Organizing products
Maintaining health regulations
Cleaning
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced team environment
Deli Clerk and A La Carte (Former Employee), Morinville, ABOctober 9, 2014
Pros: team was a great group, work was busy but easy to learn
Cons: had to leave as we moved away
Evening shift 3pm-11pm:
Deli section slicing meat and clean up for closing as I closed regularly
A la carte serving customers hot food, cooking new food when required.
Clean up of rotisserie, a la cart display and deli section.
Restock all the deli section, food prep for pizza section and skewer chicken for the rotisserie.

Early morning shift 6am-2pm:
Preparing – more... Food for the A la Carte, submarine sandwiches, wraps, sandwiches.
Getting chicken in the rotisserie, a la carte food cooking and any catering trays that need to be made.
Slicing deli meats for customers

Afternoon shifts 10am-6pm:
Making fresh pizzas any sandwiches that did not get finished.
Serving a la carte customers hot food and rotisserie chicken.
Re stock any food items in the deli section. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place.
Deli clerk (Former Employee), Etobicoke, ONOctober 2, 2014
Co workers were great.I had a really great time working here and Value everything I learned. It was a great experience that I wouldn't trade for anything
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Baker (Former Employee), Rocky Mountain House AlbertaOctober 1, 2014
learned how to make bread from scratch followed recipes and was main head baker. Learned lot of different types of bread and how it is made.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellant place to work-fun people
cashier (Former Employee), Okotoks, ABOctober 1, 2014
I was a cashier-processed grocery orders. Learned to do cash of my till. Good management. Very friendly and fun people. Sale days were the hardest part of job. Enjoyed meeting people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
deli worker
Deli worker (Former Employee), Windsor, ONOctober 1, 2014
cook and slice meats,clean slicer, prep food, work a register,fill out logs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sobeys Bakery
Baker/Decorator/Package Handler (Former Employee), Peterborough, ONSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: managment team communicated with staff effectively to maintain a happy environment
Cons: -
I typical day at work consisted of opening the bakery, processing inventory, stocking shelves, baking, cleaning while time managing, multitasking and consistently maintaining customer interaction. I gained knowledge on many skills, some include, time management, customer interaction, organization, multitasking and much more. The management team as well – more... as co-workers contributed to each skill gained as well as allowed a friendly work atmosphere. The hardest part of the job was making sure customer orders were carefully detailed to perfection in a timely manner to be ready upon pick up. The most enjoyable part of the job was having the challenge to work under pressure in a timely manner to ensure customers were happy with merchandise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Job
Produce Clerk (Former Employee), Airdrie, ABSeptember 28, 2014
Worked in the produce department as a summer job. Enjoyable experience overall.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing staff
Self Serve Supervisor (Former Employee), younge st Toronto OntarioSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: seeing all the smiles every day
Cons: mangers kept changeing
I had a really great time working here and Value everything I learned. It was a great experience that I wouldn't trade for anything
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work experience
Grocery Manager (Former Employee), Charlottetown, PESeptember 27, 2014
Iv learned to operate power jacks, was taught customer service skills, how to maintain inventory, how to deal with complaints from customers, how to manage time for employees, how to build a mass displays for products we sell, how to business plan, how to hire and discipline employees. I also managed 20-22 employees within the store. The hardest part – more... was a seasonal change over because the entire department had to be flipped to a new season which meant a very busy couple weeks ahead to meet the dead line which i have always been able to complete on time. The best part was dealing with the public and helping customers, friendly staff and nice work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great First Job
Customer Service, Supervisor, Cashier (Former Employee), London, ONSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: poor management
Great first job for a high school student. Learned great customer service skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Oakville OntSeptember 19, 2014
This was one of my first jobs ever so it was slightly intimidating. Overall the job was a lot of hard work and meeting and interacting with people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job if you like interacting with people
Cashier (Former Employee), Angus, ONSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: fast passed and meet all kinds of nice people.
Cons: grumpy customer that you can't do anythin right no matter how hard you try to please them.
Over all I would say that I liked the job a lot because it is another job where everything is very fast paced. The staff and the management were great to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with a lot of different jobs to do.
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Dunnville, ONSeptember 17, 2014
Very slow-paced job at times. There's a lot of cleaning you need to do but it keeps you busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place where there was always something to do.
Cashier- courtesy clerk (Former Employee), Fort McMurray AlbertaSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: pushing carts in snow
A typical day at work i would push carts back into the store, Sweep the store, Look for anything out of place of go help the other departments like cashier, Or grocery stocking. I learned how to always stay busy. Management was always pushing for us to stay busy and work our hardest. Co- workers usually work alone because there is always something for – more... everyone to do. The hardest part of the job was pushing a lot of carts. The most enjoyable part was the free food for breaks – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not that great.
Front End (Former Employee), St.AlbertSeptember 14, 2014
Working there you do not feel like a family and you barely even feel welcome. You are pushed around and told what to do and talked down to
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work with
Front-End Staff (Former Employee), Calgary,AlbertaSeptember 14, 2014
The management is awesome since they give good benefits to the employees. I learned how to deal with different kind of people.

About Sobeys

Sobeys is the second largest food retailer in Canada, with over 1,300 supermarkets operating under a variety of banners. Headquartered – Read more