Find companies:
Sobeys
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
350 reviews

Sobeys Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place, team orientated, respectful work place
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 5, 2014
Pros: youthful staff, flexible
Cons: not unionized, no discounts, long hours, no facial piercings, visible tattoos or nail polish
At Sobeys as a cashier, your typical day at work would be to help customers, put them through your till, clean, face, pulling tags, dusting, stocking shelves, etc. I have learned lots of social skills and customer service skills. I now know how to handle rude customers or inpatient customers without taking it personally. The management is pretty good, – more... there is a lot of rules and regulations but for the most part management is great. The co-workers are great, everyone gets along and do good work as a team together. The staff is generally in their teens, 16,17,18,19. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace very rewarding
Part-time Bakery Clerk (Current Employee), Waterdown, ONAugust 4, 2014
Overall a great work environment. The workers are easy to get along with and being in the bakery was a blast. I learned many different things while working in the bakery such as cake decorating skills and people skills. The most enjoyable part about the job was being able to make people happy with how we decorate their cake.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced 24/7
Human Resources Manager (Current Employee), Southwestern OntarioAugust 1, 2014
Great place to learn and grow, fast paced with many opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The utmost in cleanliness and safety-Knowledge is power at Sobeys
produce clerk (Former Employee), Sydney River,NSAugust 1, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: no full time hrs
At the beginning of the day it was procedure to check all dates and remove and rotate product enter codes for inventory production evaluation. Then download info from the main computer to give you the expected production numbers for the morning-You also would do the same routine in the afternoon.

I thoroughly enjoyed my co-workers as they were extremely – more... helpful in helping me attain the goals set by Sobeys.

I learned several new skills as I had always been a cook.

The most enjoyable part of the job for me was interacting with the customers and acquiring new skills.The constant online courses were always enjoyable in my opinion.

The hardest part of the job for me was the part time hrs and minimum wage pay- If it had been full-time I would have stayed but the seniority list was long and I could not afford to wait, sadly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sobeys
Produce Clerk (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 31, 2014
Pros: flexible and understanding management
Cons: not enough hours
A day at Sobeys is very fast paced and you have to work as soon as you get there. I learned that you have to be able to multi-task and work really well under pressure. Especially when co-workers are feeling stressed and aren't feeling to well you have to understand their situation and continue working without the stress they have to rub off on you and – more... work professionally. The co-workers I work with I enjoy especially when they work just as hard as I do. The toughest part of the job is to reach the expectation of the speed they want you to work. I love to be with my co-workers and enjoy my shift with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Meat Clerk (Former Employee), Brampton, ONJuly 26, 2014
Go in and stock shelves. learned how to operate hand jacks and power jacks. Great staff that will help you whenever. Great co workers that can work and have a good time. Job isn't hard at all. Best part is interacting with people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee), New Glasgow, NSJuly 26, 2014
while working here , did learn that there are certain benefits to having someone depend on you to make sure things are going to be done as they are needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life at work
Cashier / Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONJuly 24, 2014
My management sucks. My co-workers are great. i worked in a diverse team and friendly environment. They made me felt so welcome to their company. My job was not hard, very else with everything I had to do there. I'm not working there no more because my store closed down and i couldn't get a transfer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work at and very fast paced
Food prep/Sales Associate (Former Employee), sobeys forest-lawn Calgary albertaJuly 19, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: very hardworking job
a typical day at work?
very busy environment lots to do.

what i learned was time management,excellent customer service
inventory.

management is not ok but could be better and more outgoing

co workers are very nice and have a great positive attitude and out always ready to do their best effort.

the hardest part of the job is closing lots to clean – more... up lots of food to prep.

the best part of the job is after 7 o'clock get paid an extra dollar for every hour worked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very friendly
Customer service (Former Employee), Airdrie, ABJuly 15, 2014
Pros: reliable
Cons: not able to obtain full time easily
pleasant people, good atmosphere, very reliable
learned a lot about storing perishables
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and atmosphere
Merchandising Communications Coordinator (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONJuly 8, 2014
Pros: fun environment. always food around to try!
Co-workers and management are helpful and easy to get along with.
Good team.
Our job is to prepare stores for the ad week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, Fast-paced, and enjoyable work environment
Deli Clerk (Current Employee), Alliston, OntarioJuly 8, 2014
Cons: not enough hours
At Sobeys I:

•service customers needs and purchasing from the deli department
•prepare and cook meals
•clean, disinfect and sanitize work area and equipment
•responsible for closing the department
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Grocery Clerk/Admin (Former Employee), North Sydney, NSJuly 6, 2014
Pros: best staff members
Cons: lots of call ins on your days off
Great job, friendly staff and very helpful when first starting at Sobeys. I'd recommend the job to anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sobeys Review Summary
Seafood Sales (Former Employee), Bedford NSJuly 4, 2014
Sobeys was somewhat enjoyable for the time I worked there, though I didn't think that the management was very good at managing shifts or managing the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Former Employee), New Glasgow, NSJuly 1, 2014
learned cash
good co workers
loved the customers
learned cash/debit
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place, no room to advance in deli.
Deli (Current Employee), Westside New Glasgow, nova ScotiaJune 29, 2014
Pros: amazing people, fast pace, good benifits
Cons: no room to further career, schedual
I love working for the Sobeys chain, unfortunately the deli department at this particular store is not the best position to have. So I am seeking a new career and a new change in my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Front End Cashier/Meat Wrapper (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJune 26, 2014
Greating customers, ringing in merchandise I learned money handling, transactions of visa, mastercard ames and debit. learned codes in meat dept wrapping weighting and pricing as well as different types of meat and how to cook. Management very good to work with, coworkers are great as well. Hardest part of the job was having to say good bye to a little – more... Sobeys store I worked for ,for 6 years. The most enjoyable part was making my customers happy and seeing them return each day :) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
CASHIER (Former Employee), fort mcmurrayJune 24, 2014
Working with sobeys I gained the use of being at a repetative job that asked you maintain a great attitude and full service for every customer the best part of my job was that i enjoyed our staff. The hardest part would have to be standing for long periods of time which later help me in the rest of my work postions
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment but it depends what field of interest you join.
Meat Clerk (Former Employee), Sobey's Queen street.June 21, 2014
It all depends on what department you get yourself into, I was in the meat department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work atmosphere
File Maintenance Clerk (Former Employee), Rocky Mountain House, ABJune 21, 2014
I very much enjoyed my term of employment with Sobeys RMH. The only reason I left was because I was moving away from the area. I would still be there today, had I not moved away. The management team are a group of wonderful people, who are great to work for and with!

About Sobeys

Sobeys is the second largest food retailer in Canada, with over 1,300 supermarkets operating under a variety of banners. Headquartered – Read more