Sobeys Employee Reviews

Found 1,086 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was OK.
frontend service clerk (Former Employee) –  Marystown, NL1 January 2017
It over all would end up to be ok. The place I worked had a bit of a boss that was extreme to be precise and the job i had was demanding at best. Being that i had to handle everything on the outside of the building right down to the gravel on the parking lot then getting scolded for not being able to make up for others not doing their share was rough and trying not to get sick for being around everyone in the area as well as bad weather but it was work. so all in all it was ok.
Pros
Decent pay for full time.
Cons
no positive reinforcement from management and barely enough hours to make quota.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Shediac, NB30 December 2016
It was very entertaining working there because there was so many different things to do. I learned a lot while working there.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Sometimes I spent long hours on your feet
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sobeys
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK27 December 2016
Sobeys is a bigger grocery store that had employees that would go out of there way to help you find something in a different department. the best part about sobeys was there staff parties
Pros
unionized
Cons
messy back room
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sobeys
Courtesy Clerk (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK26 December 2016
i like it i just time for a new job my hours are getting cut and am look for a new job am good worker and i don't now why am getting my hours cut i love the people i work with i just don't like that my hours are getting cut
Pros
good people
Cons
hours getting cut
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good commpany and supportive staff
In deli department (Former Employee) –  18st. Brandon MB24 December 2016
This company is good company.The staff is very nice,helpful and responsible.I would like to work in sobeys again because i was satisfied with this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing place to work in as a student.
Cart Pusher, Cashier, Grocery (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 December 2016
Sobeys is an amazing place to work in, if you are a student looking for a job with flexible hours. The stores are very clean and are usually comprised of friendly co-workers. I highly recommend working in Sobeys.
Pros
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple and enjoyable work environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON21 December 2016
Sobeys has employee benefits for those who qualify, along with pay increase ever 700 hours worked. Management is reliable and friendly. Work environment is well balanced and cheerful.
Pros
Flexible availability.
Cons
Lack of full time positions outside of management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON20 December 2016
Work was boring
You learn things based on looking around you and what kind of workplace your in
Management wasn't the greatest because they allow some workers to be slobs
some coworkers was nice in a way they make you smile on such dull day
Having to do other coworkers job while they go enjoy themselves
It was not enjoyable
Pros
bad behaviors
Cons
friendly people
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine first job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Simcoe, ON19 December 2016
fine first job that teaches you how to handle customer service. Was expected to come in every time there was someone calling in sick.
Nothing special, nothing bad either
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Night Shift Grocery clerk (Former Employee) –  North York, ON19 December 2016
is was good nice place to work i met a lot of good people who helped me along the way.usual worked at night the work wasn't that bad it was a very simple job not much to learn
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very productive place to volunteer or work
Volunteer Grocery Bagging (Current Employee) –  Okotoks, AB17 December 2016
I currently volunteer with my Rugby team bagging grocery's at Sobeys. The most enjoyable part of volunteering there is the staff members they are nice to you and treat you with some hard respect.
Pros
Getting to go to Vegas in March for a Rugby tournament
Cons
Long Days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job ever
Produce /Cashier (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON16 December 2016
I worked many different shifts, I learned new things everyday, management was amazing, my coworkers are amazing people, i still stay in contact with them, hardest part of a job was managing the lines during night shift, as i was the only one working cash, most enjoyable part of working there was seeing the smiles on peoples faces when they were greeted kindly, especially when they were having a bad say.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pharmacy
Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC15 December 2016
I was suppose to get training for 2 weeks but was only given 4 days of training. Thrown right into work,told I was doing a fantastic job then when my 3 months were up I was let go with an explanation of not being a good fit. I over heard at another store that this has become the common practice for this company!!! I don't recommend working for this company!
Pros
Starbucks
Cons
None flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sobeys
Bakery department Manager (Current Employee) –  Greater Toronto Area, ON15 December 2016
Sobeys is a great place to work and grow yourself up to management level. I have moved from part time to day shift to full time then management
Pros
Programs for progression
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere with better people
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB14 December 2016
Sobeys is a great place for a first job, you comnect with your co-workers and connect with your customers, I stocked shelves so I also got a lot of time to myself which doesn't hurt anyone, when you get a lot of time to your self you just have to make sure you're still working hard and efficient.
Pros
Good hours, good people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's about a 80% success rate on short term period employees (Being One year or less period). Sobeys is a great company. Keep up the Good Work.
Shelf Stocker (Former Employee) –  Orangeville, Ontario.14 December 2016
Restock shelves, face front two rows of Grocery Items. Sweep Isles of Grocery Store. Very well Organized. Very respectful staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy day to day schedule with plenty of oportunity to advance.
Baker (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB14 December 2016
Time flies while working here. Plenty of opportunity to work with the public.Great team atmosphere with a wide assortment of individuals to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure work hours, balancing events, east going
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Brandon, MB13 December 2016
Overall great first city job when coming out of highschool, challenged me in someways. Friendly staff, and very welcoming customers. Often serve regular people, which makes for ease of conversation.
Pros
Local, good hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sobeys review
Food Clerk (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON13 December 2016
daily clean up - dealing with customers - making food
biggest thing that i learned is how to deal with customers.
co works are great never a dull moment while working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly atmosphere
Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 December 2016
Very fun place to work, everybody was very friendly and welcoming. People were nice to be around and talk to while also being productive.
Pros
Occasionally brought lunch / snacks
Cons
Rush hours were rough but still fun none the less.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,098 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6