Find companies:
Sobeys
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
392 reviews

Sobeys Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely disorganzed company.
Evrythng-that is the ask of the cmpy (Former Employee), Gta Toronto OntarioDecember 19, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: disregard to employees at store level, district manager can walk in and not know the names of long term employees
A company that grew from the east coast too fast. Too many chiefs ... all sorts of standards that can change every six months and not all up to speed. Doing things by the book will get you in trouble once things change or if one of the "specialists" didn't get the email.
Extremely disorganized company. Raises only given if they remember, or have given – more... up excuses. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Pricing Analyst (Current Employee), CALGARYDecember 18, 2014
Pros: great work culture
Cons: no room for growth
Great work culture. Great team. Management is old fashioned. Work is over simplified. Nice friendly office. Avg hours. all in all great place to work. No room to grow though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
office cleark
Cash Office Clerk (Current Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 16, 2014
when store get busy and there are no enough cashiers then i have to work in said the cash office and out said of the office. Also when cash office, sales and cash not balance for that day it will be very difficult day for me. I learn how handle the customer and employees and More than five years of strong customer service experience.Proven organizational, – more... interpersonal, and business communication skills with the experience required to remain highly focused and productive in fast-paced demanding settings.Also dealing with problems and try to solve them . In my work place very one more friendly and we are like a one families. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Produce Clerk (Former Employee), Camrose, ABDecember 13, 2014
Pros: people were friendly, job wasnt overly taxing, work was enjoyable.
Cons: slow points in the day.
A typical day of work consisted of showing up, Cleaning in the morning, Unloading the truck of product. Then we would go and check dates while stocking anything that wasn't full. We would cut various fruits/vegetables and put them out. At the end of the day we would take anything that needed to be refrigerated and put it in the cooler as well as picking – more... up mats at the end of the night. We would consistently sweep and clean areas during the day while proceeding with stocking and prepping produce. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work environment where your coworkers become like family
Front End Manager (Current Employee), Cambridge, ONDecember 12, 2014
Pros: building personal relationships
Cons: rotating schedule and various hours
A very comforting and welcoming environment where you get to know your customers on a first name basis and build long lasting relationships. You coworkers become like family members and back each other up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at
Cashier (Former Employee), Brampton, ONDecember 10, 2014
Pros: customers
Cons: lifting up to 15 lbs.
Cashier and Standing all day. Lifting required. Pleasant customers. Hourly rate increases every 300 hours worked. Not a full time job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was decent.
Supervisor of Produce Department (Former Employee), edmontonDecember 10, 2014
Pros: it was close to where i was living.
The co-workers were great. The hardest part of that job was when the store was undergoing renovations and where I usually worked was torn apart, I then had to spend all day in a meat freezer cutting up fruit and vegetables there. Eight hours in a meat freezer with wet hands isn't awesome! Especially when you are pregnant! But to be fair, I didn't know – more... I was pregnant at that time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive place to work
Night Supervisor (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABDecember 8, 2014
Pros: customers
Cons: customers
Meeting with customers on a daily basis is what makes this type of position such fun
Every part of the job was both a challenge and a opportunity for personal growth
I learned a job that I really didn't know much about but loved it!!!
I left for trying new things as in going to camp life
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
handling cash experience
Cashier (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 4, 2014
Worked with good management and coworkers in a safe and good environment. Having fun while working and dealing with customers. Feel good factor comes after solving customers quires and issues at work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Managers - Not so great pay
Front End Service Clerk (Former Employee), St. Catharines, ONDecember 3, 2014
Worked as a cashier for five years at two Sobeys stores. The first store I hated and quit because management wouldn't work around my school schedule. Worked for another Sobeys and had the best manager ever. Not much room for advancement, and no pay increases other than $0.25 after so many hours sort of thing. Hardest part of the job was dealing with – more... the people, and it was really the co-workers that made the job decent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much time for interaction between co-workers
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONDecember 2, 2014
Pros: no freebies
Cons: having the satisfaction of knowing i have put a smile on the customers face, and they are happy with their purchases
as work places go, its not a bad place to work. In the store its minimum wage & only part-time jobs available.
The front desk Mgr was not really fair, so you had unhappy staff,
which is not good for any company. it brings down the morale & that is specially not good when working with co-workers.
Most enjoyable part was interaction with customers, having – more... a satisfied customer who you know will return again and again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive fun environment
Curtousy clerk (Former Employee), Calgary Alb.November 21, 2014
Pros: discounts on food
Cons: good hours
It seemed to be a fun job and I learned more customer service skills.The managment was an excellent source to guide everyone to do the right things the right way. My co-workers were quite fun to work with. The hardest part was not being to help people the way they should be helped. the part i enjoyed the most was being to make the customers happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mundane
Produce Clerk (Current Employee), Brampton, ONNovember 20, 2014
A typical day starts at 8am generally. I do the CAO in the morning and scan waste out for our records in order to maintain accurate data collection and information for audits. Then I receive orders and we begin to rotate old/new product, work the load and maintain a clean environment. I have learned skills ranging from customer service, to dealing with – more... complaints and maintaining a high standard of detail. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I gained experience in the Deli at Sobeys, and some basic cooking skills.
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee), New Waterford, NSNovember 14, 2014
Pros: lunches with friends in a comfortable environment.
Cons: n/a
I was entered into a re-entry program and learned how to make salads, pizzas and cut deli meet with ease. It wAS AN ENJOYABLE EXPERIENCE AND I GOT ALONG WELL WITH MY CO-WORKERS AND MADE FRIENDS WHO HELPED ME LEARN AND GAIN EVEN MORE SKILLS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace with motivating supervisors
Grocery Clerk / Cashier (Former Employee), university park sobeys , east , reginaNovember 10, 2014
Pros: good working atmosphere
Cons: nothing such
A fun exciting workplace to work , helping customers in finding products , engaging in customer service , and stocking products , inventory , loss prevention work and encouraging supervisors to help in providing best customer service and outputs . the co workers are understanding and helpful with a team work , i believe every part of the work is fun – more... as i believe in enjoying the work i do . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace but management is off.
Stock (Former Employee), Sutton, ONNovember 7, 2014
I enjoyed my time at Sobeys but the management were verbally abusive to the staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Our Christmas Parties
baker (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBNovember 7, 2014
Work used to be fun when we first opened and then we went through so many changes in the management that it was so different every time someone new came in.

We had a lot of good things as well, our Christmas parties, we even had a live band come in to the store and play, when we had a flash back to the fifties theme.

my co-workers are like family – more... we've been together for so many years they just know you like family.

Hardest part was starting to lift the 44lbs bags of flour 5-6 times a day. Plus my last day was the hardest. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for highschool students
Cashier/Merchandiser (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONNovember 6, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: no discounts
Very friendly staff, made great friends with my co-workers, my boss was amazing, always had fun there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Meat Department - Cleaner/Wrapper (Former Employee), Kanata, ONNovember 2, 2014
A typical day at work consisted of cleaning shelves and the back, upkeep of meat and wrapping at the end of he shifts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company experience to date!
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Evanston, CalgaryOctober 29, 2014
Pros: not many except pay
Cons: the list is endless
Not only were the duties of a cashier exhausting and mentally straining, but the company didn't back me at all when I needed them to. I started as Full-Time with no benefits, went to school and worked Part-Time until finished school then asked to be put back on Full-Time. I was only ever Part-Time so that when it came time for an old injury to come – more... back and I ask for light duties, they don't give me anything, therefore left hourless and broke with a mountain of student loans. Because it was a new store, expectations were through the roof and people were quitting right, left and centre. It's a grocery store...as long as people are leaving satisfied and continue to come back, I'm not going to perform circus tricks and sacrifice my physical health just to get better audits and make you look better. When I was hired I was told I would be moved to customer service within 2 weeks. Did that happen...no! I was told I was an excellent cashier with one of the highest ring times in my store and reoccurring customers always likes coming through my till. Didn't matter to my boss as he already had his biases towards me so nothing would promote me. Oh and there are no benefits to working here unless your a manager, a suck-up or have no self-value. Let's just say don't ever work here unless your in high school or desperate. That's the only reason I've stayed this long is because it's really hard to find a position in the profession I graduated in. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Sobeys

Sobeys is the second largest food retailer in Canada, with over 1,300 supermarkets operating under a variety of banners. Headquartered – Read more