Find companies:
Sobeys
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
380 reviews

Sobeys Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive fun environment
Curtousy clerk (Former Employee), Calgary Alb.November 21, 2014
Pros: discounts on food
Cons: good hours
It seemed to be a fun job and I learned more customer service skills.The managment was an excellent source to guide everyone to do the right things the right way. My co-workers were quite fun to work with. The hardest part was not being to help people the way they should be helped. the part i enjoyed the most was being to make the customers happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mundane
Produce Clerk (Current Employee), Brampton, ONNovember 20, 2014
A typical day starts at 8am generally. I do the CAO in the morning and scan waste out for our records in order to maintain accurate data collection and information for audits. Then I receive orders and we begin to rotate old/new product, work the load and maintain a clean environment. I have learned skills ranging from customer service, to dealing with – more... complaints and maintaining a high standard of detail. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I gained experience in the Deli at Sobeys, and some basic cooking skills.
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee), New Waterford, NSNovember 14, 2014
Pros: lunches with friends in a comfortable environment.
Cons: n/a
I was entered into a re-entry program and learned how to make salads, pizzas and cut deli meet with ease. It wAS AN ENJOYABLE EXPERIENCE AND I GOT ALONG WELL WITH MY CO-WORKERS AND MADE FRIENDS WHO HELPED ME LEARN AND GAIN EVEN MORE SKILLS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace with motivating supervisors
Grocery Clerk / Cashier (Former Employee), university park sobeys , east , reginaNovember 10, 2014
Pros: good working atmosphere
Cons: nothing such
A fun exciting workplace to work , helping customers in finding products , engaging in customer service , and stocking products , inventory , loss prevention work and encouraging supervisors to help in providing best customer service and outputs . the co workers are understanding and helpful with a team work , i believe every part of the work is fun – more... as i believe in enjoying the work i do . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace but management is off.
Stock (Former Employee), Sutton, ONNovember 7, 2014
I enjoyed my time at Sobeys but the management were verbally abusive to the staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Our Christmas Parties
baker (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBNovember 7, 2014
Work used to be fun when we first opened and then we went through so many changes in the management that it was so different every time someone new came in.

We had a lot of good things as well, our Christmas parties, we even had a live band come in to the store and play, when we had a flash back to the fifties theme.

my co-workers are like family – more... we've been together for so many years they just know you like family.

Hardest part was starting to lift the 44lbs bags of flour 5-6 times a day. Plus my last day was the hardest. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for highschool students
Cashier/Merchandiser (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONNovember 6, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: no discounts
Very friendly staff, made great friends with my co-workers, my boss was amazing, always had fun there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Meat Department - Cleaner/Wrapper (Former Employee), Kanata, ONNovember 2, 2014
A typical day at work consisted of cleaning shelves and the back, upkeep of meat and wrapping at the end of he shifts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company experience to date!
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Evanston, CalgaryOctober 29, 2014
Pros: not many except pay
Cons: the list is endless
Not only were the duties of a cashier exhausting and mentally straining, but the company didn't back me at all when I needed them to. I started as Full-Time with no benefits, went to school and worked Part-Time until finished school then asked to be put back on Full-Time. I was only ever Part-Time so that when it came time for an old injury to come – more... back and I ask for light duties, they don't give me anything, therefore left hourless and broke with a mountain of student loans. Because it was a new store, expectations were through the roof and people were quitting right, left and centre. It's a grocery store...as long as people are leaving satisfied and continue to come back, I'm not going to perform circus tricks and sacrifice my physical health just to get better audits and make you look better. When I was hired I was told I would be moved to customer service within 2 weeks. Did that happen...no! I was told I was an excellent cashier with one of the highest ring times in my store and reoccurring customers always likes coming through my till. Didn't matter to my boss as he already had his biases towards me so nothing would promote me. Oh and there are no benefits to working here unless your a manager, a suck-up or have no self-value. Let's just say don't ever work here unless your in high school or desperate. That's the only reason I've stayed this long is because it's really hard to find a position in the profession I graduated in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
a la carte manager (Former Employee), MBOctober 29, 2014
Pros: no pros.
Cons: long hours without pay as i was on salary.
Sobeys was a very good place to work.my co-workers were very good to work with.We had new managers at the store this year due to a re- shuffle in management. food safety and health and safety standards were very high. I started work there in Sept 2000 as a part time employee. With the help of management, i was able to grow into a management position – more... by the year 2002. The hardest part of my job was working with cuts to hours i was allowed to work with when budgets were cut. The most enjoyable part of my job was working directly with customers and working one on one with my staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Cost and Deals Clerk (Accounting) (Former Employee), New Glasgow, NSOctober 28, 2014
All of the companies I have worked for were great places. I made many contacts, friend and gained a world of experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard worker, fast learner
staff pharmacist (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 24, 2014
Pros: hard worker, patient focused
Cons: opportunities for learning and gaining more experience
Working in weekends
New Challenges
More opportunities to learn
Patient focused
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sobeys was my favourite job yet
Cashier (Former Employee), Grand Bend, ONOctober 22, 2014
Pros: positive environment
Cons: shorter hours
I really enjoyed going to work every day, and the only negative was the odd rude costumer, but what can you do about that right. It was a bright and inviting environment and I never really had any complaints going to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work!
Sweets Baker/ Packager / Cake Decorator (Former Employee), Clarenville, NLOctober 22, 2014
Pros: great people to work with, always learn something new, good hours
Moving to Newfoundland and not knowing anyone is the worst! But then I applied at Sobey's and met so many amazing people some of which I call family now. For me, a typical day at work consisited of baking cookies, muffins and cakes. Although, it was stressful at times trying to get it all done my co workers & managers were awesome and we always had – more... fun together! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good times with friends
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 22, 2014
I worked in the grocery department. It was a good job to have throughout high school and university as it was very flexible and paid half decently. Many good people that worked there as well and easy to get along with lots of the management team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
cashier (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 16, 2014
Pros: everything was great
my typical day was go to work, get into uniform then go to till, i would stand at till for 95% of my day, id clean the belt, and clean my work area, this was a great job with great co workers and great management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and management
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 14, 2014
Customer service
Dealing with customer issues
Organizing products
Maintaining health regulations
Cleaning
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced team environment
Deli Clerk and A La Carte (Former Employee), Morinville, ABOctober 9, 2014
Pros: team was a great group, work was busy but easy to learn
Cons: had to leave as we moved away
Evening shift 3pm-11pm:
Deli section slicing meat and clean up for closing as I closed regularly
A la carte serving customers hot food, cooking new food when required.
Clean up of rotisserie, a la cart display and deli section.
Restock all the deli section, food prep for pizza section and skewer chicken for the rotisserie.

Early morning shift 6am-2pm:
Preparing – more... Food for the A la Carte, submarine sandwiches, wraps, sandwiches.
Getting chicken in the rotisserie, a la carte food cooking and any catering trays that need to be made.
Slicing deli meats for customers

Afternoon shifts 10am-6pm:
Making fresh pizzas any sandwiches that did not get finished.
Serving a la carte customers hot food and rotisserie chicken.
Re stock any food items in the deli section. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place.
Deli clerk (Former Employee), Etobicoke, ONOctober 2, 2014
Co workers were great.I had a really great time working here and Value everything I learned. It was a great experience that I wouldn't trade for anything
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Baker (Former Employee), Rocky Mountain House AlbertaOctober 1, 2014
learned how to make bread from scratch followed recipes and was main head baker. Learned lot of different types of bread and how it is made.

1 2 3 4 5

About Sobeys

Sobeys is the second largest food retailer in Canada, with over 1,300 supermarkets operating under a variety of banners. Headquartered – Read more