Sobeys Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 947 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cake Decorator (Former Employee) –  Edson, ABJuly 28, 2016
great place to work, willing to work with staff for the hours and days off, worked as a team. Everyone was enjoyable the ambiance was great to work in worked hard and yet still had the time to have fun as we worked.
Pros
ambiance is great
Cons
no advancement or raises
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers are great
EUC (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 28, 2016
They keep hyping the 5E's

Effective
Efficient
Engage and so on however management doesn't even follow it, IT Director rules by threat of out sourcing
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sobeys is a good place to work
Retail Associate (Current Employee) –  Simcoe, ONJuly 27, 2016
I work in the deli and love my manager/coworkers. Everyone is pleasant to work with just wish more hours were available.
Pros
Nice manager, decent hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Courtesy Clerk
Courtesy Clerk (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBJuly 27, 2016
OI enjoy the work here, and most of the time the managers are more then welcome to accommodate to my personal schedule to get me shifts that work with my time.
Pros
Freedom to move about the store
Cons
No a high paying job, not many shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best working place ever .
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 26, 2016
It is a good place for work. It also helps to improve the speaking skills. Give the knowledge about the customers and their new demands.
Pros
FREE LUNCH
Cons
NOTHING
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 25, 2016
I have learned a lot from interacting with so many people during my shift. It was a very fun experience working with Sobeys. My co-workers were very supportive and fun of working with.
Pros
interact with people
Cons
basic salary
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work atmosphere was good. got along with other employees
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, ABJuly 24, 2016
Environment was upbeat, co-workers were easy to get along with.
restocking produce was a new challenge and I enjoyed it. I learned how to tell the difference with fruits and veggies.
Pros
learning about fruits and veggies
Cons
wage too low
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good company
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 23, 2016
I love to communicate with people because it is an eazy way to improve my English.I would like to work more hours or a full time job
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New budgets
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Stittsville, ONJuly 20, 2016
The business has new budgets and has under gone some management restructuring.
Overall the business has some great department managers who help deal with the day to day stress.
Pros
Great management team
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Clerk & Cashier (Current Employee) –  Moncton, NBJuly 20, 2016
A typical day at work in front end would be, helping customers finding what they are looking for while completing various transactions.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good part time job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Lower Sackville, NSJuly 16, 2016
I made some good friends there, learned some life skills that i can take with me to any other jobs i have.
everyone there just wants to help you so you do the best you can and succeed everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace with amazing team members
Retail Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NSJuly 16, 2016
Great team spirit coupled with an exceptional work ethic. the employers truly have the best interest of employees at heart and are willing to go the extra mile to ensure that employees are well catered to.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, self driven work ethic, personable staff, great hours
Stock Picker (Former Employee) –  Debert, NSJuly 15, 2016
very fast, hard working shift. as many or few hours as you want every week, above average pay rate, personable staff, and expectations of workers that was propotional to your time and position
Pros
fast paced, easy work, as much or as little interaction as you want.
Cons
late hours, moderately dangerous
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Dairy Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 15, 2016
Theres good and theres bad with the location I was at, All I can say is that this company (where I worked at) is good for a start up job not long term, that's all I would like to say.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Grocery Foreman (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 14, 2016
I worked at Sobeys for 16 years
My job duties included:
Over seeing a staff of up to 45 people
Problem solving
Coaching / Counselling employee's
Ensured all orders were picked and shipped in a timely fashion
Corresponding with senior management helping to improve day to day productivity.
Pros
People
Cons
Not enough room for further growth
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Server (Current Employee) –  New Glasgow, NSJuly 11, 2016
Working at Sobeys is great. I go to work with a smile on daily knowing I am appreciated by my fellow colleagues. The management makes it easy to talk about future goals within the company and also helps you reach them.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Labour Intensive work
Sobeys Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Oromocto, NBJuly 11, 2016
Driving a pallet jack and building pallets.

I learned how to driving 2 types of pallet jacks.

The management is exellect

All the coworkers are is pretty friendly and easy to get along with

The hardest part of the job is when people taking jokes too far.

The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier supervisor
Cashier Supervisor (Former Employee) –  North Battleford, SKJuly 11, 2016
good days at work my floor plan would always work and have people at every station. i learned to handle cash and do nightly reports. and learn supervisor duties. my co workers always listened when i assigned tasks the flexible hours were the best
Pros
great work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work for those with finite means
CASHIER (Grocery Clerk) (Current Employee) –  vancouver bcJuly 10, 2016
As an employee with about 15 to 20 years to offer and advanced in age, I am one of those with finite resources to offer an employer. If you were a highschool student or working student or perhaps someone of limited financial resources this is a great place to start a career. Limited by the collective agreement, the managers are agreeable and flexible, a bit too modern for me, and very forgiving. Today like all of Canada for the last 20 years, it is focused on providing equal opportunities to women, even if they are students who will very likely leave in one to five years, should they complete their education. Tolerance is perhaps key, and willingness to provide service. If you have unlimited means, you will see fault everywhere. The turnover will likely discourage you. And of course any or all of the above will temper your view.
Pros
tolerant environment, union, flexible scheduling
Cons
no clear path for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seems like a great place to work, really like my coworkers
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Oromocto, NBJuly 10, 2016
I enjoy the job at sobeys warehouse, it has late hours but they seem fair with hours and benefits and such. the hardest part of the job is making count, my coworkers are great to work with, easy to get along, they make my job go by 10 times faster.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 958 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6