Find companies:
Sobeys
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
345 reviews

Sobeys Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical grocery store employment.
Cash Office Clerk (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 13, 2014
Cons: not many pros
Most of the employees are amazing people. Dealing with the customer complaints is hard or nerve wracking at first, but you learn how to deal with it, and eventually make the situation right.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at Sobey's. Sadly, the store closed.
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Prince Albert, Sask.September 9, 2014
I enjoyed working at Sobey's. Sadly, the store closed.
Typically I did cleaning and stocked shelves. I brought in carts and helped customers with their groceries. I enjoyed my coworkers, they were like a second family to me. The hardest part of my job was cold weather and slippery parking lot. The most enjoyable part was chatting with the customers... – more... especially the regulars. I enjoyed helping people with mobility issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They treated me well
Clerk (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: cheap food
Cons: standing
A typical day consisted of serving people food. I took their money.. they left with groceries.. It was all good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management and amazing employee support
Cashier/Grocery Clerk/Inventory Clerk (Former Employee), St. John's, NLSeptember 8, 2014
The retail Sobeys environment was excellent. Management cared about the employees and took time to listen to their opinions and concerns. They encouraged and helped advancement within the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging workplace
Deli/ ala carte cerk (Current Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 5, 2014
- busy place full of challenges
- all the co-workers are fun to work with
- one thing i like about sobeys is that everyday you come to work knowing you will learn something new and like it
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making displays was great fun.
Cut Fruit (Former Employee), Stratford, PESeptember 2, 2014
Pros: we got to meet new people and regulars everyday..
Cons: alot of time you do not get your breaks there were not enough to cover lunches.
Fun and quick paced,easy to work with most.Hardest part of the job when l had to leave.Making product was the best for me.Management helped when they could friendly to approach.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Natural Source Stock Clerk/ Cashier (Current Employee), Bedford South, Bedford, N.S.September 2, 2014
Productive stocking shelves always learning new tasks to do within company, People here are a fun crew to work with and ambitious to complete their tasks of the day,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great student job
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary ABAugust 28, 2014
Pros: paid breaks
Cons: no medical leave
Not very good job security
Not too bad pay per hour
Good job for students
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Part Time Packer (Former Employee), Bradford, ONAugust 28, 2014
Was one of my first jobs I ever had. I liked working here and getting use to the environment. The people were fun to talk to and very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and never boring place to work.
Grocery supervisor (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 25, 2014
great friendly work environment.very flexible for days u need off and benefits are good pay is really reasonable. management is really nice and respects you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incompetent Management, Favouritism.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONAugust 25, 2014
Pros: good coworkers
Cons: unfair treatment, poor management
Management does not care about their employees, and treats them as slaves. It's an inhospitable environment. There is no sense to how people are scheduled, and if you take a weekend off, you'll be punished with less hours. You'll also only ever be able to get a maximum of 25 hours unless you're related to management or have previously worked with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers were friendly, great management, good experience
Deli Department (Former Employee), Sherwood ParkAugust 21, 2014
Pros: good management, trained well, co-workers were friendly
I worked in the deli department. My manager was really good at her job and gave me great direction and trained me really well. I had to make sure everything was cleaned and sanitized especially when working with meat and cheese. I had to make trays and I had a specific deadline. I had to cut cheeses and meats for customers. I had to greet customers – more... and ask them for their orders. I had to always clean once in a while to make sure there was no cross contamination. I had to open and close the deli department and make sure everything was prepped or put away and ready to go. It was hard when I had deadlines but I always made them and it was also hard when there was a lot of customers at once. I always kept calm and got to every customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical cashier job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONAugust 21, 2014
Pros: easy
Cons: no room for improvement
Typical grocery cashier job. Minimum wage. Easy, not challenging. But it was comfortable working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
consistent work pace
Front End Worker (Former Employee), High River, ABAugust 17, 2014
Pros: store discount
Cons: the odd time there would be some slow days making work seem long
would help out at front end with bagging customers groceries and customer carry outs.

I obtained great organization skills.

well managed environment making work easy.

co-workers were a fun group of people making work fun and easy.

had to help a customer carry out fifteen cases of water.

it was overall a fun fast paced environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive worlplace
Cashier (Current Employee), Brampton ONAugust 15, 2014
Its a very healthy and clean place to work at. Everyone is very kind helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and awesome workers
Produce Staff (Former Employee), Deerpoint S.E CalgaryAugust 6, 2014
We are like a family at work. It's a very friendly environment from Admin, Managers and all the workers are easily work with. There is a pressure because you have to meet the sales goal of the department but we are able to produce our production at the right time. Customer Service are highly recommended in our store, we always keep smile and see to – more... it that we serve our customers need. We have fun time every month that employees have get together. I'm happy and proud to be part in all the companies that I work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place, team orientated, respectful work place
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 5, 2014
Pros: youthful staff, flexible
Cons: not unionized, no discounts, long hours, no facial piercings, visible tattoos or nail polish
At Sobeys as a cashier, your typical day at work would be to help customers, put them through your till, clean, face, pulling tags, dusting, stocking shelves, etc. I have learned lots of social skills and customer service skills. I now know how to handle rude customers or inpatient customers without taking it personally. The management is pretty good, – more... there is a lot of rules and regulations but for the most part management is great. The co-workers are great, everyone gets along and do good work as a team together. The staff is generally in their teens, 16,17,18,19. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace very rewarding
Part-time Bakery Clerk (Current Employee), Waterdown, ONAugust 4, 2014
Overall a great work environment. The workers are easy to get along with and being in the bakery was a blast. I learned many different things while working in the bakery such as cake decorating skills and people skills. The most enjoyable part about the job was being able to make people happy with how we decorate their cake.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced 24/7
Human Resources Manager (Current Employee), Southwestern OntarioAugust 1, 2014
Great place to learn and grow, fast paced with many opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The utmost in cleanliness and safety-Knowledge is power at Sobeys
produce clerk (Former Employee), Sydney River,NSAugust 1, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: no full time hrs
At the beginning of the day it was procedure to check all dates and remove and rotate product enter codes for inventory production evaluation. Then download info from the main computer to give you the expected production numbers for the morning-You also would do the same routine in the afternoon.

I thoroughly enjoyed my co-workers as they were extremely – more... helpful in helping me attain the goals set by Sobeys.

I learned several new skills as I had always been a cook.

The most enjoyable part of the job for me was interacting with the customers and acquiring new skills.The constant online courses were always enjoyable in my opinion.

The hardest part of the job for me was the part time hrs and minimum wage pay- If it had been full-time I would have stayed but the seniority list was long and I could not afford to wait, sadly. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Sobeys

Sobeys is the second largest food retailer in Canada, with over 1,300 supermarkets operating under a variety of banners. Headquartered – Read more