Find companies:
Sobeys
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
351 reviews

Sobeys Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with a lot of different jobs to do.
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Dunnville, ONSeptember 17, 2014
Very slow-paced job at times. There's a lot of cleaning you need to do but it keeps you busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place where there was always something to do.
Cashier- courtesy clerk (Former Employee), Fort McMurray AlbertaSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: pushing carts in snow
A typical day at work i would push carts back into the store, Sweep the store, Look for anything out of place of go help the other departments like cashier, Or grocery stocking. I learned how to always stay busy. Management was always pushing for us to stay busy and work our hardest. Co- workers usually work alone because there is always something for – more... everyone to do. The hardest part of the job was pushing a lot of carts. The most enjoyable part was the free food for breaks – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not that great.
Front End (Former Employee), St.AlbertSeptember 14, 2014
Working there you do not feel like a family and you barely even feel welcome. You are pushed around and told what to do and talked down to
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work with
Front-End Staff (Former Employee), Calgary,AlbertaSeptember 14, 2014
The management is awesome since they give good benefits to the employees. I learned how to deal with different kind of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work, wonderful people
Office Clerk (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: events and promotions, free holiday lunches, wage increase every 700 hours
Cons: standing for 8 hours
As a Office Clerk, I spent my time both counting/balancing floats/safes, assisting cashiers, and being on cash myself. It was a face paced environment with plenty of room to show initiative and personality. Here I learned the ins and outs of customer service and how to make a stressful day enjoyable with my co-workers and customers alike. Sobeys hires – more... everybody so you get to know a lot of different kinds of people and that in itself is wonderful. The job was fairly easy once you got the hang of it, the hardest part being to remember the names of the large variety of fruits and vegetables as we sell many foreign foods as well as a lot of similar looking apples, pears, etc. Getting to know my co-workers was very important to me, we laughed with each other, complained together, and became a Sobeys family. I made many friends here and will never forget how great it was to work there. What I disliked about Sobeys was how often management was changed around. I do not think it is normal to have had about 10 different store managers in 7 years, even customers complained about how often the store was rearranged or how the upkeep in some departments fluctuated rapidly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cashier (Current Employee), Sherwood Park, ABSeptember 13, 2014
I enjoyed working at sobeys and the great staff. I loved the flexible hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical grocery store employment.
Cash Office Clerk (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 13, 2014
Cons: not many pros
Most of the employees are amazing people. Dealing with the customer complaints is hard or nerve wracking at first, but you learn how to deal with it, and eventually make the situation right.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at Sobey's. Sadly, the store closed.
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Prince Albert, Sask.September 9, 2014
I enjoyed working at Sobey's. Sadly, the store closed.
Typically I did cleaning and stocked shelves. I brought in carts and helped customers with their groceries. I enjoyed my coworkers, they were like a second family to me. The hardest part of my job was cold weather and slippery parking lot. The most enjoyable part was chatting with the customers... – more... especially the regulars. I enjoyed helping people with mobility issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They treated me well
Clerk (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: cheap food
Cons: standing
A typical day consisted of serving people food. I took their money.. they left with groceries.. It was all good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management and amazing employee support
Cashier/Grocery Clerk/Inventory Clerk (Former Employee), St. John's, NLSeptember 8, 2014
The retail Sobeys environment was excellent. Management cared about the employees and took time to listen to their opinions and concerns. They encouraged and helped advancement within the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging workplace
Deli/ ala carte cerk (Current Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 5, 2014
- busy place full of challenges
- all the co-workers are fun to work with
- one thing i like about sobeys is that everyday you come to work knowing you will learn something new and like it
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making displays was great fun.
Cut Fruit (Former Employee), Stratford, PESeptember 2, 2014
Pros: we got to meet new people and regulars everyday..
Cons: alot of time you do not get your breaks there were not enough to cover lunches.
Fun and quick paced,easy to work with most.Hardest part of the job when l had to leave.Making product was the best for me.Management helped when they could friendly to approach.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Natural Source Stock Clerk/ Cashier (Current Employee), Bedford South, Bedford, N.S.September 2, 2014
Productive stocking shelves always learning new tasks to do within company, People here are a fun crew to work with and ambitious to complete their tasks of the day,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great student job
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary ABAugust 28, 2014
Pros: paid breaks
Cons: no medical leave
Not very good job security
Not too bad pay per hour
Good job for students
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Part Time Packer (Former Employee), Bradford, ONAugust 28, 2014
Was one of my first jobs I ever had. I liked working here and getting use to the environment. The people were fun to talk to and very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and never boring place to work.
Grocery supervisor (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 25, 2014
great friendly work environment.very flexible for days u need off and benefits are good pay is really reasonable. management is really nice and respects you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incompetent Management, Favouritism.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONAugust 25, 2014
Pros: good coworkers
Cons: unfair treatment, poor management
Management does not care about their employees, and treats them as slaves. It's an inhospitable environment. There is no sense to how people are scheduled, and if you take a weekend off, you'll be punished with less hours. You'll also only ever be able to get a maximum of 25 hours unless you're related to management or have previously worked with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers were friendly, great management, good experience
Deli Department (Former Employee), Sherwood ParkAugust 21, 2014
Pros: good management, trained well, co-workers were friendly
I worked in the deli department. My manager was really good at her job and gave me great direction and trained me really well. I had to make sure everything was cleaned and sanitized especially when working with meat and cheese. I had to make trays and I had a specific deadline. I had to cut cheeses and meats for customers. I had to greet customers – more... and ask them for their orders. I had to always clean once in a while to make sure there was no cross contamination. I had to open and close the deli department and make sure everything was prepped or put away and ready to go. It was hard when I had deadlines but I always made them and it was also hard when there was a lot of customers at once. I always kept calm and got to every customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical cashier job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONAugust 21, 2014
Pros: easy
Cons: no room for improvement
Typical grocery cashier job. Minimum wage. Easy, not challenging. But it was comfortable working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
consistent work pace
Front End Worker (Former Employee), High River, ABAugust 17, 2014
Pros: store discount
Cons: the odd time there would be some slow days making work seem long
would help out at front end with bagging customers groceries and customer carry outs.

I obtained great organization skills.

well managed environment making work easy.

co-workers were a fun group of people making work fun and easy.

had to help a customer carry out fifteen cases of water.

it was overall a fun fast paced environment.

1 2 3 4 5

About Sobeys

Sobeys is the second largest food retailer in Canada, with over 1,300 supermarkets operating under a variety of banners. Headquartered – Read more