Find companies:
Sobeys
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
322 reviews

Sobeys Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life at work
Cashier / Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONJuly 24, 2014
My management sucks. My co-workers are great. i worked in a diverse team and friendly environment. They made me felt so welcome to their company. My job was not hard, very else with everything I had to do there. I'm not working there no more because my store closed down and i couldn't get a transfer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work at and very fast paced
Food prep/Sales Associate (Former Employee), sobeys forest-lawn Calgary albertaJuly 19, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: very hardworking job
a typical day at work?
very busy environment lots to do.

what i learned was time management,excellent customer service
inventory.

management is not ok but could be better and more outgoing

co workers are very nice and have a great positive attitude and out always ready to do their best effort.

the hardest part of the job is closing lots to clean – more... up lots of food to prep.

the best part of the job is after 7 o'clock get paid an extra dollar for every hour worked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very friendly
Customer service (Former Employee), Airdrie, ABJuly 15, 2014
Pros: reliable
Cons: not able to obtain full time easily
pleasant people, good atmosphere, very reliable
learned a lot about storing perishables
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and atmosphere
Merchandising Communications Coordinator (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONJuly 8, 2014
Pros: fun environment. always food around to try!
Co-workers and management are helpful and easy to get along with.
Good team.
Our job is to prepare stores for the ad week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, Fast-paced, and enjoyable work environment
Deli Clerk (Current Employee), Alliston, OntarioJuly 8, 2014
Cons: not enough hours
At Sobeys I:

•service customers needs and purchasing from the deli department
•prepare and cook meals
•clean, disinfect and sanitize work area and equipment
•responsible for closing the department
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Grocery Clerk/Admin (Former Employee), North Sydney, NSJuly 6, 2014
Pros: best staff members
Cons: lots of call ins on your days off
Great job, friendly staff and very helpful when first starting at Sobeys. I'd recommend the job to anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sobeys Review Summary
Seafood Sales (Former Employee), Bedford NSJuly 4, 2014
Sobeys was somewhat enjoyable for the time I worked there, though I didn't think that the management was very good at managing shifts or managing the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Former Employee), New Glasgow, NSJuly 1, 2014
learned cash
good co workers
loved the customers
learned cash/debit
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place, no room to advance in deli.
Deli (Current Employee), Westside New Glasgow, nova ScotiaJune 29, 2014
Pros: amazing people, fast pace, good benifits
Cons: no room to further career, schedual
I love working for the Sobeys chain, unfortunately the deli department at this particular store is not the best position to have. So I am seeking a new career and a new change in my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Front End Cashier/Meat Wrapper (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJune 26, 2014
Greating customers, ringing in merchandise I learned money handling, transactions of visa, mastercard ames and debit. learned codes in meat dept wrapping weighting and pricing as well as different types of meat and how to cook. Management very good to work with, coworkers are great as well. Hardest part of the job was having to say good bye to a little – more... Sobeys store I worked for ,for 6 years. The most enjoyable part was making my customers happy and seeing them return each day :) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
CASHIER (Former Employee), fort mcmurrayJune 24, 2014
Working with sobeys I gained the use of being at a repetative job that asked you maintain a great attitude and full service for every customer the best part of my job was that i enjoyed our staff. The hardest part would have to be standing for long periods of time which later help me in the rest of my work postions
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment but it depends what field of interest you join.
Meat Clerk (Former Employee), Sobey's Queen street.June 21, 2014
It all depends on what department you get yourself into, I was in the meat department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work atmosphere
File Maintenance Clerk (Former Employee), Rocky Mountain House, ABJune 21, 2014
I very much enjoyed my term of employment with Sobeys RMH. The only reason I left was because I was moving away from the area. I would still be there today, had I not moved away. The management team are a group of wonderful people, who are great to work for and with!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok,,,
Cashier (Former Employee), Fredericton, NBJune 19, 2014
I only worked at the Sobeys for a couple months but it was a typical grocery store process grocery orders handle cash debit and credit some light cleaning, my co workers were ok but the management and supervisors were not entirely the greatest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Meat Cutter (Former Employee), Cold Lake, ABJune 13, 2014
Pros: good hours
Cons: slow workers
Sobeys in Cold lake was quite productive, one was never bored.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast past environment
Electrical Operator Technician (Current Employee), Vaughan OntJune 13, 2014
• Troubleshoot mechanical and electrical problems
• Preform mechanical and electrical maintenance
• In-depth understanding of mechanical and electrical system schematics
•Trained and assisted coworkers on the automation system
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hourly paid Sales Job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 12, 2014
Greet customers in the aisles.
Discuss the MasterCard features.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly work place with lots of new skills and responsibility to attain, good management on a big scale
Deli Clerk (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJune 11, 2014
Pros: available online learning courses, good benefits
Cons: busy and demanding workplace
I start my work on time, based on a 2-week in advance given schedule, by preparing, cooking, labeling and serving soups, meals, sandwiches, appetizers and a diversity of cheeses; receiving deliveries and ordering basic needs of deli section. It's a very friendly and fun workplace also carefully supervised and quite organized in which I have had an exceptional – more... teamwork experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a student
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee), Stratford, PEJune 10, 2014
Good first job for a high school student.
Learn how to associate with customers be considerable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful hours and awful job
Cashier (Former Employee), Oakville, ONJune 6, 2014
Never get shifts, manager doesn't care, unenjoyable, rude customers, co-workers are all very nice

1 2 3 4 5

About Sobeys

Sobeys is the second largest food retailer in Canada, with over 1,300 supermarkets operating under a variety of banners. Headquartered – Read more