Sobeys Employee Reviews

Found 1,036 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work enviroment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ajax, ON30 November 2016
they are very friendly, and it is a great place to work. The hardest part of the job is remembering the PLU's but the longer you work the more you can memorize.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful environment and you are expected to do more work for less pay that is overloaded and barring.
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS30 November 2016
Sobeys is a terrible company to work for as they are always looking to pinch their employees so they can save money. The workloads are very over-bearing and it does not support a very good team environment. Ungarunteed hours and most of your hard work goes unrecognized. I was also "let go" while on maternity leave, which is not legal. I never felt appreciated and there were no benefits, or incentive to take on the duties in which I was expected to do.
Pros
You get your minimum wage pay. Oh, and a box of chocolate at Christmas.
Cons
You get your minimum wage pay. Oh, and a box of chocolate at Christmas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place with wonderful team
Management Trainee (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 November 2016
So much great people working in the same team, pleasure to work with them. Company organized and care about employees. People always has opportunity to challenge them self.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the staff was great.
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Rocky Mountain House, AB29 November 2016
At Sobey's I started at 6:00 am. Would start packing the products that were ready for us. I learned how to make donuts, cut bread, helped in the back making the product. The management was poor. The co-workers were great to work with. The hardest part of the job was dealing with management. The most enjoyable part of the job was that I made some friends there and they were a great team.
Pros
We got profit shares at the end of the year.
Cons
Shift work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy working there especially interacting with customers
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  St. Paul, AB26 November 2016
Always assisting customers.
How to be polite to customers and treat them with respect.
Very very nice management gets along with everyone just fine.
Sometimes lazy BUT eventually gets the job done.
Going to work after someone who doesnt care about their job.
Making customers leave with a smile on their faces.
Pros
free snacks and hot beverage always
Cons
8hr shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great manager/bad management
Meat Clerk (Former Employee) –  Shelburne, NS24 November 2016
I really loved my department and managers of the department however the greater management of the business was fairly absent, although did show interest if % were low or complaints arose.
Pros
great customers, training provided, great of students, flexible with hours
Cons
low rate of pay, benefits not great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Deli Manager, produce mgr, FE mgr, admn mgr (Former Employee) –  Bridgewater, NS24 November 2016
I worked for this company for ovet 37 years and truly believe it is one of the best ompanies to work for. They care about their employers, there is lots of room for advancement, and they have great benefits .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall this is a good company to work for
Produce Clerk (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 November 2016
Fun place to work,great staff. Great opportunities to learn for those who are motivated. Down side would be not being able to put in more time.
Pros
fast paced
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Shelf Stocker (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 November 2016
I enjoyed working with my co-workers. I felt welcome and the staff treated me well. Coming in to work everyday was exciting and always a new experiences
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for students
Cashier/Customer Service/File Maintenance Clerk (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS20 November 2016
Sobeys is a great place for students or people that wants a part time job. I wouldn't not recommend Sobeys For a full time job...they don't treat you with respect and the more you do the more they expect.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very exciting at first
Head Receiver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 November 2016
It was a very abusive, dismissive place to be a part of, abuse by the management team, a very awful place to work, thank you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place
Bakery Manager (Current Employee) –  Stittsville, ON16 November 2016
As is the case with most retail stores, there are many differences between all stores as they are franchised, however, as a whole, it is a positive work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to work with, just wish I had more time with them
Part time baker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 November 2016
This job was close to home so very convenient to get to, wish the job could've lasted longer. People were very easy to get along with and were very dedicated to their work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked around my college classes
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB15 November 2016
enjoyed working here. staff was kind and helpful. very flexible with hours, working around my college classes.
disappointed that when i made a mistake it wasn't corrected, i was dismissed with little explanation.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
dismissed after first mistake without much explanation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly working environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bonnyville, AB14 November 2016
An interesting day to serve customers in a daily basis. I have learned how to work in multitasking, team work and productivity. The management is good. My co-workers are fun and happy to be with.
Anyone can work the hardest, but only special people can sit on a rock and come up with a brilliant idea at the end of day your enjoying what your doing not noticing the stress.
Pros
bonus for no lates and no absents
Cons
reducing hours of work due to recession
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sobeys work review.
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON13 November 2016
Manager was not good. Bad pay, but the work itself was ok.
Wish they hired full time. They pick and choose who gets the hours.
Pros
Tons of time at home
Cons
Minimum wage. Managers pick favourites for hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful management.
DELI CLERK (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON9 November 2016
Honestly the working environment in Sobeys felt like a political dictatorship...Managers have no respect for anybody else but themselves
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Full time bakery clerk (Current Employee) –  Oshawa7 November 2016
They should appreciate more the employees . The manager should not tell us when we can or not use our single vacation days.
Pros
A discount for the employees
Cons
No union
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inventory
Clerical (Current Employee) –  Whitby RC7 November 2016
Inventory control, fixing all discrepancies to service our customers in a timely manner . I ma a team player work extremely hard. Take on new task.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile work enviroment, not managed very well.
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON5 November 2016
Working here was alright, i felt uncomfortable. They say the customer is always right but thats but always true and the management should be backing up their employees.
Not enough hours given each week. Break were not long enough for 5 hour shifts.
Pros
15 min breaks are free
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,047 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6