Find companies:
Sobeys
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
358 reviews

Sobeys Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Job
Produce Clerk (Former Employee), Airdrie, ABSeptember 28, 2014
Worked in the produce department as a summer job. Enjoyable experience overall.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing staff
Self Serve Supervisor (Former Employee), younge st Toronto OntarioSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: seeing all the smiles every day
Cons: mangers kept changeing
I had a really great time working here and Value everything I learned. It was a great experience that I wouldn't trade for anything
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work experience
Grocery Manager (Former Employee), Charlottetown, PESeptember 27, 2014
Iv learned to operate power jacks, was taught customer service skills, how to maintain inventory, how to deal with complaints from customers, how to manage time for employees, how to build a mass displays for products we sell, how to business plan, how to hire and discipline employees. I also managed 20-22 employees within the store. The hardest part – more... was a seasonal change over because the entire department had to be flipped to a new season which meant a very busy couple weeks ahead to meet the dead line which i have always been able to complete on time. The best part was dealing with the public and helping customers, friendly staff and nice work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great First Job
Customer Service, Supervisor, Cashier (Former Employee), London, ONSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: poor management
Great first job for a high school student. Learned great customer service skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Oakville OntSeptember 19, 2014
This was one of my first jobs ever so it was slightly intimidating. Overall the job was a lot of hard work and meeting and interacting with people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job if you like interacting with people
Cashier (Former Employee), Angus, ONSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: fast passed and meet all kinds of nice people.
Cons: grumpy customer that you can't do anythin right no matter how hard you try to please them.
Over all I would say that I liked the job a lot because it is another job where everything is very fast paced. The staff and the management were great to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with a lot of different jobs to do.
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Dunnville, ONSeptember 17, 2014
Very slow-paced job at times. There's a lot of cleaning you need to do but it keeps you busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place where there was always something to do.
Cashier- courtesy clerk (Former Employee), Fort McMurray AlbertaSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: pushing carts in snow
A typical day at work i would push carts back into the store, Sweep the store, Look for anything out of place of go help the other departments like cashier, Or grocery stocking. I learned how to always stay busy. Management was always pushing for us to stay busy and work our hardest. Co- workers usually work alone because there is always something for – more... everyone to do. The hardest part of the job was pushing a lot of carts. The most enjoyable part was the free food for breaks – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not that great.
Front End (Former Employee), St.AlbertSeptember 14, 2014
Working there you do not feel like a family and you barely even feel welcome. You are pushed around and told what to do and talked down to
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work with
Front-End Staff (Former Employee), Calgary,AlbertaSeptember 14, 2014
The management is awesome since they give good benefits to the employees. I learned how to deal with different kind of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work, wonderful people
Office Clerk (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: events and promotions, free holiday lunches, wage increase every 700 hours
Cons: standing for 8 hours
As a Office Clerk, I spent my time both counting/balancing floats/safes, assisting cashiers, and being on cash myself. It was a face paced environment with plenty of room to show initiative and personality. Here I learned the ins and outs of customer service and how to make a stressful day enjoyable with my co-workers and customers alike. Sobeys hires – more... everybody so you get to know a lot of different kinds of people and that in itself is wonderful. The job was fairly easy once you got the hang of it, the hardest part being to remember the names of the large variety of fruits and vegetables as we sell many foreign foods as well as a lot of similar looking apples, pears, etc. Getting to know my co-workers was very important to me, we laughed with each other, complained together, and became a Sobeys family. I made many friends here and will never forget how great it was to work there. What I disliked about Sobeys was how often management was changed around. I do not think it is normal to have had about 10 different store managers in 7 years, even customers complained about how often the store was rearranged or how the upkeep in some departments fluctuated rapidly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cashier (Current Employee), Sherwood Park, ABSeptember 13, 2014
I enjoyed working at sobeys and the great staff. I loved the flexible hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical grocery store employment.
Cash Office Clerk (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 13, 2014
Cons: not many pros
Most of the employees are amazing people. Dealing with the customer complaints is hard or nerve wracking at first, but you learn how to deal with it, and eventually make the situation right.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at Sobey's. Sadly, the store closed.
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Prince Albert, Sask.September 9, 2014
I enjoyed working at Sobey's. Sadly, the store closed.
Typically I did cleaning and stocked shelves. I brought in carts and helped customers with their groceries. I enjoyed my coworkers, they were like a second family to me. The hardest part of my job was cold weather and slippery parking lot. The most enjoyable part was chatting with the customers... – more... especially the regulars. I enjoyed helping people with mobility issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They treated me well
Clerk (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: cheap food
Cons: standing
A typical day consisted of serving people food. I took their money.. they left with groceries.. It was all good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management and amazing employee support
Cashier/Grocery Clerk/Inventory Clerk (Former Employee), St. John's, NLSeptember 8, 2014
The retail Sobeys environment was excellent. Management cared about the employees and took time to listen to their opinions and concerns. They encouraged and helped advancement within the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging workplace
Deli/ ala carte cerk (Current Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 5, 2014
- busy place full of challenges
- all the co-workers are fun to work with
- one thing i like about sobeys is that everyday you come to work knowing you will learn something new and like it
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making displays was great fun.
Cut Fruit (Former Employee), Stratford, PESeptember 2, 2014
Pros: we got to meet new people and regulars everyday..
Cons: alot of time you do not get your breaks there were not enough to cover lunches.
Fun and quick paced,easy to work with most.Hardest part of the job when l had to leave.Making product was the best for me.Management helped when they could friendly to approach.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Natural Source Stock Clerk/ Cashier (Current Employee), Bedford South, Bedford, N.S.September 2, 2014
Productive stocking shelves always learning new tasks to do within company, People here are a fun crew to work with and ambitious to complete their tasks of the day,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great student job
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary ABAugust 28, 2014
Pros: paid breaks
Cons: no medical leave
Not very good job security
Not too bad pay per hour
Good job for students

1 2 3 4 5

About Sobeys

Sobeys is the second largest food retailer in Canada, with over 1,300 supermarkets operating under a variety of banners. Headquartered – Read more