Sobeys Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB18 February 2018
Very productive and a fun place to work. No complaints with this job. Always stable, management is always willing to work with you and your life. Everyone was very friendly and it was a very happy place to be.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is OK. Company is terrible
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 February 2018
The actual job is alright. Can be difficult at times but the people there make it a good place to be.
Management on the other hand is terrible.
If you like being harassed everyday of the most insignificant things then this is the place for you.
The union is just as useless. They want your money but they do t want to work for it.
Worked there for a few years now I have permanent back problems.
Pros
The people
Cons
Management. Culture. Everything else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job!
Cashier/Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 February 2018
Loved the community loved the staff, the job itself wasn’t difficult and came with ease. Management was very accommodating and caring towards their staff and customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company
Customer Service Representative / Food Attendant (Former Employee) –  Belmont, ON16 February 2018
During my time at Sobeys I would repeatedly ask for more hours however I was met with a cut in hours and they continued to hire more employees further cutting my hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB15 February 2018
This company is amazing place to work for .
Shift work, great people.
I learn a lot. I hope to work there some time in the future.
I work full time there
Pros
great people nice place to work
Cons
Too bad the place closed down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production
Grocey Clerk (Current Employee) –  Spruce Grove, AB15 February 2018
Doing opening or closing of the business, maintaining security and safety regulations.time management , planning of day. Loading all merchandise onto carts and proceeding with plan. Rotate dates of products
Pros
always busy time flys
Cons
Wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what have you learned
Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL14 February 2018
what i have learned about my working experience is that it is hard at the begging but keep trying and it will always get easier in the end and its a great way to make new friends as long as you focus on your work before social life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love it
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fort St John, BC14 February 2018
i love working with people anyway possible. I loved the fact that i got to do both cashier and bakery work kept me busy and happy with my job at the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-Op
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON13 February 2018
Sobeys was a good co-op for me and i believe that i should be in the field of working in the grocery store or some sort of associate so i can direct customers in the right direction and help them do as they wish, i loved working at sobeys for the short period of time that i did but it was always a positive placement and it was a good work experience for me, ideally id love to work in the field of grocery.
Pros
Positive work enviroment.
Cons
No pay, not long term.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best
Salad Bar Clerk (Current Employee) –  Tantallon, NS13 February 2018
I absolutely loved working at Sobeys. the customers were great, the managers were better. Hours were great. Pay was great. I have nothing bad to say about working at Sobeys, Id recommend to everyone
Pros
Amazing Mangement
Cons
Nothing really bad to say, Maybe the distance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON13 February 2018
did not enjoy my time there but what can you expect from a minimum wadge job as a cashier. Clock in clock out thats about all there is too it. Management is very forgiving.
Pros
its a job
Cons
lunch time is decided
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK12 February 2018
It was a fast pace employment. Many different customers to work with. I enjoyed seeing my customers on a regular bases. It was nice place for the short time i was there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical minimum wage job
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 February 2018
it is a typical minimum wage job where everything is the exact same day in and day out. You don't get rewarded for your productivity or contributions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, can be stressful
Meat Cutter (Former Employee) –  London, ON9 February 2018
I enjoyed working for Sobey's. My only complaint is with some of the other employees. I didnt appreciate the older female workers and their relentless attempts to mislead people into believing that we were dating. I personally dont care how bored they are at work, I'm not going to pretend that I want a relationship with some stupid old broad.
Pros
1 hour lunch break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Meat Clerk (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON8 February 2018
Able to work around my schedule. Flexible hours. There are lots of opportunities to move ahead with in the store. Jobs posted on a regular basis. Great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really great experience
Cold Deli Associate (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON8 February 2018
Had an awesome manager, great people to work with, can be boring and mindless and also some super stressful moments with a ton of customers, but overall a good job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work loved it
Picker (Former Employee) –  Oromocto, NB7 February 2018
I loved working there I never had a problem everyone was so nice & always greeted you when you first walk in the door, I quit there because I got offered a job at the oromocto special care home, other then that I loved working there
Cons
Early morning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace but management is not understanding
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dunnville, ON6 February 2018
Sobey's is a great start off job. They hired me as soon as I turned 16 and set me to work. They have plenty of opportunities to get involved with your community, but focus more on petty rules such as not being able to have a closed drink at your till.
The one thing I didn't like about Sobey's is that they do not take mental health and physical health as seriously as they should.
Pros
always extra shifts
Cons
short shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved My Job/Position
Deli Manager (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB6 February 2018
I was responsible for managing and coaching 16 employees on a day to day basis. I was responsible to meet company standards and budgets/sales projections. Food safety/OH&S standards/scheduling/ordering
Pros
Great staff/loved my position
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rough
Front End- Cash, Customer Service, Office (Former Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ON5 February 2018
Difficult scheduling process

Angry managers

No employee engagement

Lack of respect for part time employees from full time/ management

Low pay/ benefits for work
Pros
young staff, friends
Cons
managers, workload, pay/benefits, customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sobeys. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,586 reviews
5412
4574
3417
2113
170

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture