Find companies:
Sobey's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
44 reviews

Sobey's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for a student!
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Gravenhurst, ONMarch 28, 2014
Pros: working with people, staff and management were really nice.
Cons: low wage.
Sobey's was an excellent job as a student over the summer. They were very accommodating to my schedule and it was a challegning but enjoyable work environment. My co-workers and management were all really kind and did a lot to show appreciation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented, customer service comes first
Meat Clerk/Butcher (Former Employee), Innisfil, ONMarch 18, 2014
Pros: very good management
Cons: unpredictable hours, low pay rate
A typical day at work included receiving shipments of meat related products, filling out paperwork, stocking the display counters and serving customers.

The most enjoyable part of this job was giving customers a high end shopping experience and sending them home satisfied.

This job helped me learn how to work efficiently with a team in a fast paced – more... work environment where customer service was held at a very high priority. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing and knowledgeable staff, flexible hours and supportive company.
Baker, Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Halifax, NSJanuary 28, 2014
My co-workers were like my family. We worked very hard in a day but we had lots of laughs which created a positive environment for all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Cashier (Current Employee), Regent street, Fredericton NBJanuary 20, 2014
Sobey's is a wonderful company.
Everyone there is very kind.
Excellent management
very flexable hours
If they had a full-time job in payroll for me, i'd have stayed on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier/ Supervisor (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJanuary 18, 2014
A typical day at work included greeting customers and making sure they were satisfied with there product. Also scheduling breaks for the employees and serving customers at the cashier. I learned how to speak to people in a professional manner to make sure that the customer is satisfied. My co workers were all very nice and I have stayed friends with – more... them even until now. The hardest part of the job was dealing with irate customers. The most enjoyable was when the customers walked out happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful co workers and a light enjoyable atmosphere
Supervising Cashier/Floral Department Supervisor (Former Employee), St. Paul, ABJanuary 10, 2014
I loved getting to go into to work just for the others that were employed there as well as the custom3rs that came in each day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBDecember 23, 2013
As a cashier at the front end of the store the job required that I be efficient and keep a positive attitude throughout the day, which proved to be difficult at times. I got to work with fun people for the most part. The hardest part of the job was having to deal with grumpy customers, but I knew that this was only a part-time job to get me through – more... high school. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sobey's is a great place to work. Every day is different.
Seafood Dept Manager (Current Employee), Grand Bend, ONDecember 18, 2013
Pros: paid breaks
Cons: not enough staff
I enjoy working at Sobey's. I learn something new every day about my position there such as ordering, inventory, new products and promotions. I work long, productive days and the time goes by very quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, Friendly environment
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Regina, SKNovember 7, 2013
Pros: a equal opportunity employer devoted to helping their employees make it work.
Cons: after 10 years it is difficult to be on my feet as long as before.
This job has given me many skills in customer service and being people oriented. The training for this is great and one is able to ask questions and improve even more. The hardest part of the job has become the long hours on ones feet as time tends to make it more difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Deli Clerk (Current Employee), Toronto , OntarioOctober 29, 2013
A good job but you realy need to have good custermerservice skills to deal with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NEVER AGAIN
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, OntarioOctober 8, 2013
Absolutely hated it, never felt welcome, terrible group of people, terrible management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Sobey's
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Burlington, ONOctober 2, 2013
Pros: lunch time
Cons: no employee discount
Sobey's was a decent job. I had to deal with a lot of customer complaints, refunds and exchanges. My manager was rude and the supervisors always called in sick. The cashiers would always take washroom breaks for 20 minutes at a time, which lead to long line ups at the customer service desk, and annoyed customers who just wanted to purchase lottery tickets – more... but were waiting in a long lineup. I had more responsibilities than the job required, which I didn't mind, so I would just go to work and leave and make the best of it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Produce Order Selector (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: occaisional free lunch, cheap food in the cafeteria.
Cons: required overtime for part time people.
A typical day, starts and ends the same, you get your power jack and Volcomm system, then go through the orders as you are given them. The one thing to watch out for is the timing of yourself, since you have to be within their guidelines for the orders.

Sometimes there are accidents as can be expected in every workplace, though with the equipment involved, – more... it can be somewhat scary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deli Clark
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Sobeys Windsor, ONAugust 1, 2013
Pros: great hours
Cons: working with people that did not do there job
Open and close
morning duties : cook, clean ,cash, prep for next day, logs
night duties : clean, cash, prep, re-stocking, logs
management were team builders and friendly
hardest part of the job was working with others that did not do there job .
most enjoyable part of the job was cleaning and working with others
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy & social job
front end supervisor (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONJuly 17, 2013
Pros: air conditioning & easy labour
Cons: not enough hours & wage pay ...no benefits
I loved working at Sobeys....another place I was able to progress within the company.
co-workers were great...management very nice...No stress

I learned about balancing out cash office & computer data entry & customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
File Maintenance Clerk (Former Employee), Lloydminster, ABJuly 3, 2013
Pros: office work
Nice people and good place to work. I worked in Lloydminster Alberta. I worked from 7 till 3pm with no lunch hour. I did all the sales myself with no help, Catalogue and weekly sales. I took pride in my work and worked well with all the rest of the staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very reputable company and excellent work environment
CUSTOMER ACCOUNT REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONJune 22, 2013
Pros: excellent colleagues
Enjoyed working with my fellow colleagues and reporting to the finance and accounting manager
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive; Great people to work with
Floral Clerk (Former Employee), Peterborough, ONMay 7, 2013
The most challenging part of this job was having too make sure customers were kept happy with making on the spot floral arrangements.
The enjoyable part was that there was always a smiling face to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), sobeys espMarch 12, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: notthing
Treated staff with respect wonderfull company to work for great rasies just a joy thoughout the whole time i worked for the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with the public in my job. Unfortunate that there aren't full time hours available.
Cashier (Current Employee), London, ONMarch 2, 2013
Pros: customers and co workers are fun to get to know.
Cons: not enough hours available
My day consists of serving customers in our community. I love working with the public and have made quite a few "friends" in this position. I enjoy my job but wish there were more consistant and available hours. It's hard to raise a family on only part time hours. I have been in this industry through a variety of workplaces for over twenty years so – more... I do know how to do my job really well. Would love the chance to work full time hours and continue to be able to deal with public. – less

1 2 3