Find companies:
Sobey's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
53 reviews

Sobey's Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Produce Clerk (Former Employee), Pincher Creek, ABNovember 26, 2014
Enjoyed learning new tasks. Meet new people the staff was friendly management was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Friendly Environment
Deli Clerk (Current Employee), Brighton, ONOctober 28, 2014
Working with co-workers to achieve necessary daily duties to be done. Getting along with friendly customers and co-workers in the workplace. I have learned to be more outgoing to take initiative in getting thing's done before being asked to get it done. If I am caught up to check to see what else can be done while serving the customers. The hardest – more... part of the job would be not getting what you set out to get done for the day but let the next co-worker know what has to be done that you couldn't finish before leaving for the day. The most enjoyable part of the job is talking to the customers and having conversations with them to see what they would like and how they can use what they are buying in meals or what would be the best meat to buy for what they are cooking. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
deli slicer and hot foods counter worker
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Dunnville, ONOctober 21, 2014
It was ok to work for Sobey's the management team was good to me at the time. Serving the customers was good fun. Made a few good friends( co-workers) while working there. The customers always kept you on your toes with their wishes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 13, 2014
Take care of customers needs.Make sure department run's properly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work lots of opportunities for the right person
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), North Bay, ONAugust 3, 2014
great place to work lots of opportunities for the right person
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chatting about things
General Helper (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJune 3, 2014
Pros: break chatting
Cons: 10 minutes
I prefered to work there as hard. I was asked about the food by customers, so I helped them to find it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and learning work place
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Parrysound , OntrioMay 17, 2014
Pros: got to sample new foods
Cons: to many young know it all staff in the summer
at sobeys it was about doing a good job and getting it done but there were fun times and laughs and giggles people were for the most part very friendly and got along very well , even other people in other areas were interactive with the deli workers. the hours were good for the most part and the pay was not too bad
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Produce Department Manager (Former Employee), Oakville, ONMay 9, 2014
left to seek better opportunity at walmart good staff friendly people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people make the difference
Meal Solutions associate (Former Employee), Saskatoon SK, Varsity CommonsApril 30, 2014
Cons: weird hours, a lot work, rude or dishonest co-workers, horrible manager
This job started out ok. Then it all went downhill, we were overworked and under payed. None of the employees were very friendly, did not want to be friends or help the others out. One employee was horribly lazy but would pin it on the new staff because he knew the manager would believe him. Had to make unrealistic amounts of pizza and sandwiches in – more... very little time. Overall not a fair place to work at all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for a student!
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Gravenhurst, ONMarch 28, 2014
Pros: working with people, staff and management were really nice.
Cons: low wage.
Sobey's was an excellent job as a student over the summer. They were very accommodating to my schedule and it was a challegning but enjoyable work environment. My co-workers and management were all really kind and did a lot to show appreciation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented, customer service comes first
Meat Clerk/Butcher (Former Employee), Innisfil, ONMarch 18, 2014
Pros: very good management
Cons: unpredictable hours, low pay rate
A typical day at work included receiving shipments of meat related products, filling out paperwork, stocking the display counters and serving customers.

The most enjoyable part of this job was giving customers a high end shopping experience and sending them home satisfied.

This job helped me learn how to work efficiently with a team in a fast paced – more... work environment where customer service was held at a very high priority. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing and knowledgeable staff, flexible hours and supportive company.
Baker, Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Halifax, NSJanuary 28, 2014
My co-workers were like my family. We worked very hard in a day but we had lots of laughs which created a positive environment for all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Cashier (Current Employee), Regent street, Fredericton NBJanuary 20, 2014
Sobey's is a wonderful company.
Everyone there is very kind.
Excellent management
very flexable hours
If they had a full-time job in payroll for me, i'd have stayed on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier/ Supervisor (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJanuary 18, 2014
A typical day at work included greeting customers and making sure they were satisfied with there product. Also scheduling breaks for the employees and serving customers at the cashier. I learned how to speak to people in a professional manner to make sure that the customer is satisfied. My co workers were all very nice and I have stayed friends with – more... them even until now. The hardest part of the job was dealing with irate customers. The most enjoyable was when the customers walked out happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBDecember 23, 2013
As a cashier at the front end of the store the job required that I be efficient and keep a positive attitude throughout the day, which proved to be difficult at times. I got to work with fun people for the most part. The hardest part of the job was having to deal with grumpy customers, but I knew that this was only a part-time job to get me through – more... high school. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sobey's is a great place to work. Every day is different.
Seafood Dept Manager (Current Employee), Grand Bend, ONDecember 18, 2013
Pros: paid breaks
Cons: not enough staff
I enjoy working at Sobey's. I learn something new every day about my position there such as ordering, inventory, new products and promotions. I work long, productive days and the time goes by very quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, Friendly environment
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Regina, SKNovember 7, 2013
Pros: a equal opportunity employer devoted to helping their employees make it work.
Cons: after 10 years it is difficult to be on my feet as long as before.
This job has given me many skills in customer service and being people oriented. The training for this is great and one is able to ask questions and improve even more. The hardest part of the job has become the long hours on ones feet as time tends to make it more difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Deli Clerk (Current Employee), Toronto , OntarioOctober 29, 2013
A good job but you realy need to have good custermerservice skills to deal with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NEVER AGAIN
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, OntarioOctober 8, 2013
Absolutely hated it, never felt welcome, terrible group of people, terrible management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Sobey's
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Burlington, ONOctober 2, 2013
Pros: lunch time
Cons: no employee discount
Sobey's was a decent job. I had to deal with a lot of customer complaints, refunds and exchanges. My manager was rude and the supervisors always called in sick. The cashiers would always take washroom breaks for 20 minutes at a time, which lead to long line ups at the customer service desk, and annoyed customers who just wanted to purchase lottery tickets – more... but were waiting in a long lineup. I had more responsibilities than the job required, which I didn't mind, so I would just go to work and leave and make the best of it. – less

1 2 3