Find companies:
Sobey's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
49 reviews

Sobey's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chatting about things
General Helper (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJune 3, 2014
Pros: break chatting
Cons: 10 minutes
I prefered to work there as hard. I was asked about the food by customers, so I helped them to find it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and learning work place
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Parrysound , OntrioMay 17, 2014
Pros: got to sample new foods
Cons: to many young know it all staff in the summer
at sobeys it was about doing a good job and getting it done but there were fun times and laughs and giggles people were for the most part very friendly and got along very well , even other people in other areas were interactive with the deli workers. the hours were good for the most part and the pay was not too bad
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Produce Department Manager (Former Employee), Oakville, ONMay 9, 2014
left to seek better opportunity at walmart good staff friendly people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people make the difference
Meal Solutions associate (Former Employee), Saskatoon SK, Varsity CommonsApril 30, 2014
Cons: weird hours, a lot work, rude or dishonest co-workers, horrible manager
This job started out ok. Then it all went downhill, we were overworked and under payed. None of the employees were very friendly, did not want to be friends or help the others out. One employee was horribly lazy but would pin it on the new staff because he knew the manager would believe him. Had to make unrealistic amounts of pizza and sandwiches in – more... very little time. Overall not a fair place to work at all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for a student!
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Gravenhurst, ONMarch 28, 2014
Pros: working with people, staff and management were really nice.
Cons: low wage.
Sobey's was an excellent job as a student over the summer. They were very accommodating to my schedule and it was a challegning but enjoyable work environment. My co-workers and management were all really kind and did a lot to show appreciation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented, customer service comes first
Meat Clerk/Butcher (Former Employee), Innisfil, ONMarch 18, 2014
Pros: very good management
Cons: unpredictable hours, low pay rate
A typical day at work included receiving shipments of meat related products, filling out paperwork, stocking the display counters and serving customers.

The most enjoyable part of this job was giving customers a high end shopping experience and sending them home satisfied.

This job helped me learn how to work efficiently with a team in a fast paced – more... work environment where customer service was held at a very high priority. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing and knowledgeable staff, flexible hours and supportive company.
Baker, Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Halifax, NSJanuary 28, 2014
My co-workers were like my family. We worked very hard in a day but we had lots of laughs which created a positive environment for all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Cashier (Current Employee), Regent street, Fredericton NBJanuary 20, 2014
Sobey's is a wonderful company.
Everyone there is very kind.
Excellent management
very flexable hours
If they had a full-time job in payroll for me, i'd have stayed on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier/ Supervisor (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJanuary 18, 2014
A typical day at work included greeting customers and making sure they were satisfied with there product. Also scheduling breaks for the employees and serving customers at the cashier. I learned how to speak to people in a professional manner to make sure that the customer is satisfied. My co workers were all very nice and I have stayed friends with – more... them even until now. The hardest part of the job was dealing with irate customers. The most enjoyable was when the customers walked out happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful co workers and a light enjoyable atmosphere
Supervising Cashier/Floral Department Supervisor (Former Employee), St. Paul, ABJanuary 10, 2014
I loved getting to go into to work just for the others that were employed there as well as the custom3rs that came in each day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBDecember 23, 2013
As a cashier at the front end of the store the job required that I be efficient and keep a positive attitude throughout the day, which proved to be difficult at times. I got to work with fun people for the most part. The hardest part of the job was having to deal with grumpy customers, but I knew that this was only a part-time job to get me through – more... high school. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sobey's is a great place to work. Every day is different.
Seafood Dept Manager (Current Employee), Grand Bend, ONDecember 18, 2013
Pros: paid breaks
Cons: not enough staff
I enjoy working at Sobey's. I learn something new every day about my position there such as ordering, inventory, new products and promotions. I work long, productive days and the time goes by very quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, Friendly environment
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Regina, SKNovember 7, 2013
Pros: a equal opportunity employer devoted to helping their employees make it work.
Cons: after 10 years it is difficult to be on my feet as long as before.
This job has given me many skills in customer service and being people oriented. The training for this is great and one is able to ask questions and improve even more. The hardest part of the job has become the long hours on ones feet as time tends to make it more difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Deli Clerk (Current Employee), Toronto , OntarioOctober 29, 2013
A good job but you realy need to have good custermerservice skills to deal with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NEVER AGAIN
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, OntarioOctober 8, 2013
Absolutely hated it, never felt welcome, terrible group of people, terrible management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Sobey's
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Burlington, ONOctober 2, 2013
Pros: lunch time
Cons: no employee discount
Sobey's was a decent job. I had to deal with a lot of customer complaints, refunds and exchanges. My manager was rude and the supervisors always called in sick. The cashiers would always take washroom breaks for 20 minutes at a time, which lead to long line ups at the customer service desk, and annoyed customers who just wanted to purchase lottery tickets – more... but were waiting in a long lineup. I had more responsibilities than the job required, which I didn't mind, so I would just go to work and leave and make the best of it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Produce Order Selector (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: occaisional free lunch, cheap food in the cafeteria.
Cons: required overtime for part time people.
A typical day, starts and ends the same, you get your power jack and Volcomm system, then go through the orders as you are given them. The one thing to watch out for is the timing of yourself, since you have to be within their guidelines for the orders.

Sometimes there are accidents as can be expected in every workplace, though with the equipment involved, – more... it can be somewhat scary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big screen TV in the break room
Sales Associate (Current Employee), New Glasgow , Nova ScotiaAugust 23, 2013
Pros: free lunches, free food from the bakery from time to time, free product to try from the prodouce dept.
Cons: only work part-time, is looking for full time
A typical day at sobeys'Griffins it OPen from 9 in the morning to 9 at night. Only two shifts 9 to 3 or 3 to 9. What you learn is to be alway nice to the customer, You manage you day by doing your job waiting on customer cleaning the department, doing things for other department in the store, anwsering the phone, pageing people for the phone. There – more... is No hard part to your job if you like it. And the most enjoyable part of the job is the people that you meet and talk to, and what you can learn from them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deli Clark
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Sobeys Windsor, ONAugust 1, 2013
Pros: great hours
Cons: working with people that did not do there job
Open and close
morning duties : cook, clean ,cash, prep for next day, logs
night duties : clean, cash, prep, re-stocking, logs
management were team builders and friendly
hardest part of the job was working with others that did not do there job .
most enjoyable part of the job was cleaning and working with others
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy & social job
front end supervisor (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONJuly 17, 2013
Pros: air conditioning & easy labour
Cons: not enough hours & wage pay ...no benefits
I loved working at Sobeys....another place I was able to progress within the company.
co-workers were great...management very nice...No stress

I learned about balancing out cash office & computer data entry & customer service

1 2 3