Find companies:
SNC-Lavalin
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
139 reviews

SNC-Lavalin Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced workplace with incredible learning opportunities
Proposal Coordinator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 15, 2013
Pros: good management, caring coworkers, banked hours (translated into fridays off once a month), health benefits
Cons: long hours, tight deadlines, understaffing
SNC-Lavalin is a big company with many different branches and divisions, so opportunities are endless. Engineers often work on consultant-basis, so there is a lot of back and forth in engineering team between SNC and its competitors. I was fortunate to have a great manager (who did not like micromanagement, believed in me and gave me many opportunities – more... to learn on my own), nice co-workers and an overall good experience. The hardest part was the pace and understaffing - sometimes there were so many projects going on at once that even pulling 12-hour shifts did not seem enough to get things done on time. The most enjoyable part was to work in a great team environment, in which facing any challenge was a growth and learning opportunity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and professional workplace. Very team orientated coworkers who were willing to help me gain the necessary experience.
"Piping Designer" (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PANovember 30, 2013
Pros: flex schedule, four 9 hour days which allowed for a 4 hour work load on fridays.
Cons: travel, traffic dealt with on a daily basis
A typical day at work consisted of working directly with engineers as well as project leads to accomplish the job in a timely manner. I learned many important skills on the theory and correct ways to design piping systems as well as duct work routing. The management was willing to teach me necessary skills to help me gain the experience I would need – more... to finish the work on my own. The hardest part of my job was making sure all designed systems followed the necessary safety requirements and clearance spacing to fit into a plant that was already designed for specific pipe routing. Each team or group that I worked with made sure to follow practical drafting practices as well as follow all OSHA and other safety requirements. The most enjoyable part of my time at SNC Lavalin was to see the finished work. To go into the field and check to make sure the installers followed our drawings and to see how much the work resembled the model we produced gave me a great sense of accomplishment and pride. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning Curve
Mechanical / Piping Designer (Current Employee), Johannesburg North, GPNovember 28, 2013
Pros: good working atmosphere
Cons: lack of underground parking
• Prepare designs, 3D models and detail drawings
• Prepare 3D Piping and mechanical general arrangements for existing plant upgrades and new facilities
• Design and drafting of piping drawings including studies, plot plans, equipment layouts, and general arrangement drawings
• Preparation of line lists, valve lists, and tie-in lists
• Prepare material – more... take-offs (MTO’s)
• Drawing of P&ID’s and PFD’s
• 3D ISO Production and Checking
• Prepare Drawing lists
• Checking of drawings as required
• Checking vendor documentation
• Responsible for the technical accuracy, completeness, and quality of all mechanical design deliverables and activities on a project;
• Coordinate with other disciplines to ensure a timely and accurate flow of design information, while ensuring departmental and client
standards are maintained – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cover letter
Piping Designer (Current Employee), Johannesburg, GPSeptember 7, 2013
Miss Stephanie Vlietstra is a Piping mechanical Design Draftswoman with 11 years’ experience in both the Oil and Gas and Mining and minerals industry. She has worked on both onshore and offshore project, smelters, Electrowinning Plants, Process plants material handling and recently a tailings plant.

She has very strong Data Basing skills on Excel, – more... where, on numerous projects, she has managed asset registers, construction and commissioning packs, Equipment lists, Line Lists, Valve Lists and Instrumentation Lists.

On her current project she has spent a fair amount of time on site in the DRC. Her role has been that of a piping designer as well as managing the contractor with regards to construction and commissioning packs. She worked with the Process Engineer to divide the P&ID’s into work packs by separating them at the battery limit and giving all the equipment, pack numbers. She was also responsible for putting the correct specifications, punch lists and sign off documents in the construction packs. She developed a system whereby the index and covering sheet of the construction packs were intelligently linked to the data base that was housing the construction packs. She also worked a lot with the planner in order to put the construction packs into priority lists

She is extremely diligent and conscientious and has a reputation for picking up new drawings packages very quickly. The drawing package she has the most is experience with is any Autodesk based packages. She is capable of creating intelligent symbols in all disciplines and setting up libraries to be able to extract intelligent information straight from AutoCAD into Excel. She has also always been actively involved in setting up line types, drawing templates, title blocks and frames. Her role has always been divided between CAD support and Drafting.

Miss Vlietstra brings her all too every project always concentrating on the bigger picture and remembering that a happy client means more work for any company. She is also able to work under extreme pressure, always remaining positive and never letting her high standards slip. She is Fluent in English and can understand and write Dutch and Afrikaans. Her career has taken place mostly in the oil and gas industry and she has worked in Holland, London and Australia.

She is actively looking for a new challenge and a new project anywhere in the world. She is single, upwardly mobile and is available to start as soon as possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great overall working atmosphere but little/no job security
Translator/Report Specialist (Former Employee), RMSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: benefits and working atmosphere
Cons: no job security
A typical day: start at 8 am, co-workers are friendly, and at the same time productive. Work is self-timed by a Gantt Chart, therefore you self-pace your work .Coffee breaks are short but energizing. Morning goes by fast. Lunch is 45 min, only enough time to go outside to get a sandwich if you consider the lines. Afternoon pretty much the same, but – more... longer; until 6:30 pm. Fridays are casual and scheduled until 2:00 pm.
I learned a lot about on-site engineer terms, mechanics of machinery and about geology. Management seems competent but does not engage with workers much. Co-workers were friendly for the most part, although there's little time at work to get to know them.
The hardest part of my job was meeting the deadlines. The most enjoyable part was when I finished a project and was happy with the end-result. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PLET,PLEM,UTA
SENIOR SUBSEA ENGINEER QA/QC/DELTA (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 26, 2013
Working as per a FEED/FEL for a client in the Oil and Gas industry
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
colleagues, benefits, challenges, family
Business Intelligence analyst (Current Employee), Montreal (canada)July 25, 2013
Pros: working environment and spirit of work
Cons: it's in montreal
Actually working at SNC is great:

- colleagues are amazing

- benefits are great

- the job is most of the time very interesting

- I had the opportunity to have great challenges

The IT department is like a family and working is such conditions is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
accounts payable clerk
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee), Campbellton, NBJuly 14, 2013
Pros: working with the public
Cons: eight to four g reat hours but i liked the seven to three hours shifts better
Paid invoices for various customers.
Filing
Telephone Skills
Research for invoices not paid
Worked with regular invoices, utilities
Worked well with co workers

Was on the social committee. Organized events for the company. Was secretary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Integrity honesty daily
Senior Buyer / Project Lead (Current Employee), Morningside, GPJune 12, 2013
Pros: hours are flexi time
Cons: no canteen
Our hours are flexi which is an advantage because of traffic.
i work in a friendly environment. Get along well with management and co-workers. Every day brings new chalanges which have to be delt with. The end result is that we have built a plant/mine which is a great feeling of accomplishment

I feel that without integrity and honesty any company will – more... loose. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace day
Junior Control and Instrumentation Designer (Former Employee), Johannesburg, GPJune 4, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: when the task reach its timeframe without being completed
I normally get to work aroung 7;00am and then check any important emails. i then proceed into my daily tasks that i will get from my mentor. I have learned a lot about good communication and leadership skills. I have learned that time management is very important, as i was working on projects which have specific deliverables set to the specific date. – more... I have also learned some tactics on how to get drawing done perfectly on itme, i have learned to work in a group of people.
My co-workers were all experienced more than me, and they were very patient with making sure that i get the best out of my training.
The hardest part of my job was when i had to start a new task that i never did before, but due to me working hard and willing to learn, i always managed to pull the task together 100%
The most enjoyable part of my job was when i had to do challenging calculations guided by my mentor. I enjoyed when i was part of the Project management learnership and relaized how everything around us is a project on its own. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexibility in current role; lack of advancement opportunity in unit
Regional Administrator - Atlantic (Current Employee), Halifax, NSMay 21, 2013
Pros: flexibility
Cons: lack of self / career development
Highly administrative role with daily routine tasks. Looking for career vs job. Small office of 3 where I work independently most days (management away). Manager supportive and understandable of work demands during peak periods, and opportunity for more flexibility when demands are low. Enjoy office and co-workers but not in line of business I wish – more... to continue to pursue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surmont 2, Fort Mac
General helper (Current Employee), Surmont 2, Fort MacMay 20, 2013
Pros: room & board
Cons: see above
Management is a complete disaster. HR can't get benefits to workers before 5-7 months when the promise is 3 months. High staff turnover, low morale. Safety is just a word, equiptment never gets repaired, bedbugs. The list is almost endless how they show little to no regard for the staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers, clueless management
Food Services (Current Employee), Surmont 2May 19, 2013
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: low pay, work conditions, clueless management
This company should get out of the O&M of work/construction camps. Leave it to the companies that actually know how to run it! The hours are typical for the oil&gas industry but the rotations are very long (21/7). Middle and upper management have no idea what is actually required for the successful operation of their facility. Everything is run by budget/spread – more... sheets. Facility runs in spite of its poor management due to the overworked staff. Turnover is very high due to low pay, lack of respect and heavy workload. Morale is extremely low. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Compensation, Professionally Challlenging
Project Engineer Electrical (Former Employee), Calgary, CanadaApril 9, 2013
Pros: professionally good work place
Cons: managment is weak
Good Company professionally but Management is little weak.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Intern Program, Great place to work over all.
Auto Cad Drafter (Former Employee), Baytown, TXFebruary 7, 2013
Typical day started with donuts. Fun start to our work day, however I gain a few pounds there. Work and consisted of 10 hour days.
I learned the I & E process for Exxon Mobil.
Supervisor worked great with all of the interns. They gave us plenty of work and overtime was optional.
The hardest part of the job was leaving after the internship was completed.
The – more... most enjoyable part of the job was learn the Cad system along with other and learning form each other mistakes as well as their accomplishments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
HSE Supervisor/Trainer (Current Employee), Anchorage, AKJanuary 5, 2013
Work site keeps us very busy. Everyone works together for the safety of the employees. I enjoy getting to do walk around inspections and getting to see all the different trades working together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production, focus
Sr Piping Designer (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 26, 2012
Pros: flexible hours, project challenges, employees
Cons: travel distance
Projects are a desirable challenge, always changing to better meet the customers needs.
My process, mechanical skills are always in demand for this and other positions.
Management keeps a flexible environment to maintain the safe and timely project schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away!
Project Manager (Former Employee), Rochester, NYDecember 18, 2012
Pros: can't think of any
Cons: too much to list
Management makes empty promises to the client which they know they can't fulfill. They hire poorly qualified people to lead their projects groups. Management has no qualms about crossing ethical lines.

corneliusapplebottom10 – January 3, 2013

i am a current worker w snc. i damaged a personal drill at work and they refused to replace it because it wasnt in the budget due to the managements year end bonuses coming up around that time. no regard for the workers or their safety.its all about money to these guys.they would not order new parts to replace old parts.instead they would have me search the buildings on site for old used parts.i was rushed through most jobs causing near misses and potential high risk situations.they hire kids off the street to do jobs that typically would require certification.i dunno how they get away with it but this is where our tax dollars are spent. thanks. hope this helps.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too Shabby!
HSE Inspector (Current Employee), Freeport, TXOctober 28, 2012
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: working for samsung.
Depending on the needs of the project, we worked anything from 5/10s to 7/12s. I learned to never work on a Samsung Engineering project anywhere ever again. The SNC-Lavalin management onsite treated us great and had our backs against the Samsung management who saw us "as cattle" (a quote from one of the Samsung employees). The hardest part of the job – more... was reconciling between multiple different safety regulations. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to see employees go home safe everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with friendly staff
Oil & Gas Industrial Drafter (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 7, 2012
A great place to work with everyone friendly and knowledgeable, helping each other out.

About SNC-Lavalin

Founded in 1911, SNC-Lavalin is one of the leading engineering and construction groups in the world and a major player in the – Read more