Find companies:
SNC-Lavalin
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
155 reviews

SNC-Lavalin Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Turmoil
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 29, 2012
Undergone poorly managed change, compounded with an understanding that advancement only possible if allied with right people.

Immediate managers have since been removed and I understand that the work environment, ethics and culture has improved significantly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful Camp Surmont II, Poor management, lack of respect for employees, negative morale makes this a bad company to work for
Guest Services (Former Employee), Surmont IINovember 27, 2012
Pros: great hardworking people outside of the management
Cons: work the people too hard, no appreciation for hard work, always expect better, do not run the camp in a professional manner
Management is very disorganize and very dishonest to the employees. There is a low morale because of the poor treatment and respect of the employee. Understandable why the Union is being invited by the employees. Lack of living quarters onsite, busing workers to camps up to 1 hour away daily is very unacceptable. Co-workers overall are very hard working – more... good people who deserve better. Everybody is very scared of being terminated. Workers' are being terminated with no notice or no valid reason. Surmont II camp is a beautiful camp. Would like to continue to work at the camp, if another Facilitator were to take over the contract. Believe it is only a matter of time until this becomes a reality. – less

December 18, 2012

I too can attest to the exact comment worked one rotation and have nom idea how they get away with treating employees with such a lack of respect and expectations that u work till u drop I too had to be bussed in to surmont and also was going to go to manager on my first day to inform them the work load was unacceptable but was told if I do they would fire me. I stuck it out for my 21 days and high tailed it out of there I feel for the workers that have no choice to put up with the treatment

May 20, 2013

Poorest management team I've worked under in 30 yrs. In the last month at the weekly 'Safety meetings" the GM has blamed the workers for a bedbug infestation; the VP of Operations ecouraged us to 'seek other opportunities outside the company' if we weren't happy with the working coondition @ Surmount and; the President of SNC O&M said the reason for so many employees quitting was not because of poor working conditions but that we were not 'inclusive' and acted unfriendly to new hires. A complete culture of 'take it or leave it'.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor
1st cook (Former Employee), Surmont lodge 2November 20, 2012
Cons: unorginized
Hired 18 new hires then laid off everyone and all they did was put us up in a hotel room for the night stay away from this place there trying to bust the union go local 47 :)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized, Very Poor Communication, Good Ole Boys Club
Project HSE (Current Employee), SKNovember 15, 2012
Pros: some ethical employees
Cons: very poor communication, double/triple standards
Poor communication coupled with the Good Ole Boys Club is the perfect environment to find unqualified people in positions where they are able & encouraged to flex their authority against ethical & respectable employees. It's mandatory to stay in the Club. Not a good environment for ethical, positive & productive people. I'm not surprised at the current – more... mess SNC has themselves embroiled in with business ethics. Nice to see Shareholders hold SNC accountable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over worked
CSA Camp services attendant (Former Employee), surmont2November 10, 2012
Pros: free food, lodging
Cons: long hours
over worked , unorganized superior's, Managemnt walking around clueless on a daily basis , the HR Manager is Iggnorant His way or the Highway.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what you learn
Procurement Assistant (Current Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 31, 2012
Learned to be a good team player
Learned how to communicate efficiently
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very fun and productive place to work
Project Manager (Current Employee), Montréal, QCOctober 16, 2012
Manage projects and my team. My portfolio various per month between 50 000 000$ and 80 000 000$.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environmental Division - overall positive impression
Project Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 2, 2012
Pros: get to bank overtime
Cons: poor work-life balance
The hours are long, and as a mid-level specialist or management you only get paid what you bill for, or the basic 40hrs even if you have to do 55hrs /week. However, that's normal in the industry.
The people are good and there's a positive vibe in the office but the long hours and long weekend work do make it difficult to acheive that work life balance. – more... The quality of the work produced is definitely above average and I would hire them as a client, but it's not the very best in the industry. – less

April 24, 2013

if you work 55 hrs then get paid 55 hrs including overtime. saying things like However, that's normal in the industry. is why these employers get away with it. If I start a company I would love to hire you, 15 free hrs sounds good as an employer. especially when those hrs should be at time and a half

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SNC Lavalan review.
Logistic Coordinator (Former Employee), Montréal, QCOctober 1, 2012
Pros: dependable
Cons: all benefits go to the higher ranked vp's and president's of different departments, lower employees receive absolutely no recognition, no bonus payouts other that than office of the president or slightly below
Very dependable company and well established throughout the world. I enjoyed the many projects that I worked on and enjoyed working as a team with others.
I'm a little disappointed with the ongoing problems about kickbacks, however, I'm afraid that it is the norm in third world countries. However, if that did happen here, it is very serious! I will – more... still like to get back with them but because of my age, I believe that they will not. Very disappointed with that, and of course, that can not be mentioned as North American companies are bound not to disclose that. Thanks – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting projects. Great team members.
Senior Formatter / Technical Writer (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONOctober 1, 2012
Pros: working from home
Cons: time difference
I normally work from home on most assignments for SNC-Lavalin. They are a great team to work with. Always professional and available for any questions that I may have.

I typically format and review documents that are part of a large project. This could entail spreadsheets, visio documents, and very large Word documents.

The hardest part of the job – more... is time difference - working with individuals at different ends of Canada. It is not too bad because we are only talking 3 hours the most, but at times it could be a waiting game for either of us. When we do connect, it is very productive.

The most enjoyable part of my job is meeting (virtually only in many cases, as well as physically) the individuals that you work with. Also, working from home is a bonus. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good projects to work on.
Senior Electrical Engineer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 14, 2012
Pros: get to know other industrial work.
Excellent people. The knowledge gained in terms of working with high paying clients and project structures that are huge proportions. Hard part is to be able to take vacation. Management style is to control overall picture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive and friendly work place with a time table for work and fun
Structural Engineer (Current Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 13, 2012
Pros: any thing which can make a good memory of a day
Cons: no finishing a task on the day required or having trouble without help
it starts by reviewing last day work or new task, having chat with senior engineers and designers to get an appropriate result in a very timly maner,
from each task get new experience to handle next task in a better way and lesser time
Attending to safety, project schedulling, company general meeting where the speaker are high level or mid level managers – more... or project meeting with department or project manager
Finding sloution for raised problems or prediting problems by looking in to design and calculation with coordinating by others
finishing a task in proper way and on time and it observed by seniors, managers or co workers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Filing, data entry, Start up project (Current Employee), Mount Pearl, NLSeptember 8, 2012
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Co-workers there are great people.
Hours are great.
Management on the most part are pretty good
Not enough challenge to keep me busy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A leader in Engineering and Construction
Administrative Assistant/Project Secretary (Former Employee), Montréal, QCAugust 8, 2012
Pros: xxxx
Cons: xxxx
SNC-Lavalin participates in the development of our society on five continents, which made the projects I worked on very interesting. The project teams are most competent to work with. They are people, such as I, who have the desire to push the limits of their expertise. I felt I was given a chance to evolve with more and more inspiring challenges.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the company
Project Administrator (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 30, 2012
Pros: co-workers and managers great to get along with
Cons: cannot trust anyone
My review is great except for job security and advancement. As my job wasn't very secure and I applied for many positions and never got advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy office environment with a lot of employees benefits (health and bonuses)
Finance Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 30, 2012
Busy office environment, work is stressful but still have time for fun; co-workers are so nice, caring and helpful during tight deadlines on report submission; management cares about the employees by conducting a yearly company summer outings or recreations. The hardest part of the job is claim preparation that needs focus or concentration to avoid – more... mistakes on the accuracy of amounts and attaching proper back-ups; accurate coding of all business transactions and entering them to the general ledger; tracking of account balance differences and bank accounts reconciliation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere
Drafter/Designer (Former Employee), Sarnia, ONJuly 9, 2012
Pros: required time off is no problem
Cons: banked hours is allowed
The work is varied and interesting.
Management operate an honest open door policy.
Co-workers are always pleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a recommended choice for experienced contractors
Senior Planner (Former Employee), CalgaryJuly 4, 2012
Cons: inconsistant pay periods
In general, the work environment in the Calgary office is typical. For a junior applicant, this company is great for that. For EXPERIENCED and seseasoned planners, AVOID, especially if you are a contractor. IRREGULAR pay periods for contractors. This company is going on a monthly payment plan for contractors starting in September 2012. Beware of this.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
employee (Current Employee), vancouverJune 14, 2012
Cons: low moral, no incentives, no recognition, ignorant managers, over worked
Poor management. Company cannot hire fast enough to cover the people leaving. Poor support from human resources, finance and strategic procurement are hideous. This is old boys network at its best. More obsolete computer programs than any company I know. . Why would anyone work for this company?
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culturally diverse, dynamic - T&D
Former (Former Employee), CalgaryMay 26, 2012
Pros: social events, networking and learning from peers
Cons: matrix organization (assigned to different projects) and high staff turnover
You will like a culturally diverse, knowledge company with people you can learn from (if you are not shy to ask)

Not for the career ambitious who want to quickly go up the ladder

Not for the not-hard-worker as expect to work on multiple projects at various phases (you can earn the same in other companies but with long lead projects)

About SNC-Lavalin

Founded in 1911, SNC-Lavalin is one of the leading engineering and construction groups in the world and a major player in the – Read more