Find companies:
SNC-Lavalin
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
144 reviews

SNC-Lavalin Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting projects. Great team members.
Senior Formatter / Technical Writer (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONOctober 1, 2012
Pros: working from home
Cons: time difference
I normally work from home on most assignments for SNC-Lavalin. They are a great team to work with. Always professional and available for any questions that I may have.

I typically format and review documents that are part of a large project. This could entail spreadsheets, visio documents, and very large Word documents.

The hardest part of the job – more... is time difference - working with individuals at different ends of Canada. It is not too bad because we are only talking 3 hours the most, but at times it could be a waiting game for either of us. When we do connect, it is very productive.

The most enjoyable part of my job is meeting (virtually only in many cases, as well as physically) the individuals that you work with. Also, working from home is a bonus. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good projects to work on.
Senior Electrical Engineer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 14, 2012
Pros: get to know other industrial work.
Excellent people. The knowledge gained in terms of working with high paying clients and project structures that are huge proportions. Hard part is to be able to take vacation. Management style is to control overall picture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive and friendly work place with a time table for work and fun
Structural Engineer (Current Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 13, 2012
Pros: any thing which can make a good memory of a day
Cons: no finishing a task on the day required or having trouble without help
it starts by reviewing last day work or new task, having chat with senior engineers and designers to get an appropriate result in a very timly maner,
from each task get new experience to handle next task in a better way and lesser time
Attending to safety, project schedulling, company general meeting where the speaker are high level or mid level managers – more... or project meeting with department or project manager
Finding sloution for raised problems or prediting problems by looking in to design and calculation with coordinating by others
finishing a task in proper way and on time and it observed by seniors, managers or co workers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Filing, data entry, Start up project (Current Employee), Mount Pearl, NLSeptember 8, 2012
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Co-workers there are great people.
Hours are great.
Management on the most part are pretty good
Not enough challenge to keep me busy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A leader in Engineering and Construction
Administrative Assistant/Project Secretary (Former Employee), MontrĂ©al, QCAugust 8, 2012
Pros: xxxx
Cons: xxxx
SNC-Lavalin participates in the development of our society on five continents, which made the projects I worked on very interesting. The project teams are most competent to work with. They are people, such as I, who have the desire to push the limits of their expertise. I felt I was given a chance to evolve with more and more inspiring challenges.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the company
Project Administrator (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 30, 2012
Pros: co-workers and managers great to get along with
Cons: cannot trust anyone
My review is great except for job security and advancement. As my job wasn't very secure and I applied for many positions and never got advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy office environment with a lot of employees benefits (health and bonuses)
Finance Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 30, 2012
Busy office environment, work is stressful but still have time for fun; co-workers are so nice, caring and helpful during tight deadlines on report submission; management cares about the employees by conducting a yearly company summer outings or recreations. The hardest part of the job is claim preparation that needs focus or concentration to avoid – more... mistakes on the accuracy of amounts and attaching proper back-ups; accurate coding of all business transactions and entering them to the general ledger; tracking of account balance differences and bank accounts reconciliation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere
Drafter/Designer (Former Employee), Sarnia, ONJuly 9, 2012
Pros: required time off is no problem
Cons: banked hours is allowed
The work is varied and interesting.
Management operate an honest open door policy.
Co-workers are always pleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a recommended choice for experienced contractors
Senior Planner (Former Employee), CalgaryJuly 4, 2012
Cons: inconsistant pay periods
In general, the work environment in the Calgary office is typical. For a junior applicant, this company is great for that. For EXPERIENCED and seseasoned planners, AVOID, especially if you are a contractor. IRREGULAR pay periods for contractors. This company is going on a monthly payment plan for contractors starting in September 2012. Beware of this.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
employee (Current Employee), vancouverJune 14, 2012
Cons: low moral, no incentives, no recognition, ignorant managers, over worked
Poor management. Company cannot hire fast enough to cover the people leaving. Poor support from human resources, finance and strategic procurement are hideous. This is old boys network at its best. More obsolete computer programs than any company I know. . Why would anyone work for this company?
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culturally diverse, dynamic - T&D
Former (Former Employee), CalgaryMay 26, 2012
Pros: social events, networking and learning from peers
Cons: matrix organization (assigned to different projects) and high staff turnover
You will like a culturally diverse, knowledge company with people you can learn from (if you are not shy to ask)

Not for the career ambitious who want to quickly go up the ladder

Not for the not-hard-worker as expect to work on multiple projects at various phases (you can earn the same in other companies but with long lead projects)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working atmosphere
Document Control Manager (Current Employee), Calgary, ABApril 18, 2012
Nice and professional working enviroment and a lot to learn from your management team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I helped the other staff when I had time, learned a lot from my managers
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 28, 2012
Pros: farewel lunches
It was fun environment very easy going managers, and also very friendly environment with different ethnic backgrounds
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Junior Instrument/Analyzer Designer (Former Employee), Baytown, TXAugust 17, 2014
Pros: free coffee
Cons: management inconsistent
Nose to the grind stone work environment. Good people and adequate managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
Project Support (Former Employee), Augusta, MEJuly 8, 2014
Pros: great co workers and environment. good pay
Cons: lack of advancement, training and qualified management.
No place for advancement and lack of manager/management involvment...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Project Engineer (Former Employee), Indore, MPJune 17, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: long hours
ok but need to improve on working style. Time flexibility is good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Materials and Logistics supervisor (Former Employee), Dubai, UAEJune 2, 2014
Pros: professional
Cons: expat work for south-africans are difficult to get.
Good company to work for.

I have gained most of my experience in Logistics and Materials control from this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SNC-Lavalin is a world class company with great leaders.
Sr. HSE Manager (Former Employee), Lima,PeruMay 6, 2014
Pros: world class
Cons: na
SNC-Lavalin was a great assignment, with lot's of management support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EPCM
Construction Superintendent (Current Employee), Dubai Aluminum Company(Dubal), DubaiApril 10, 2014
Result oriented company, I learn a lot about to keep project on schedule or ahead.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Planning
Planning Engineer (Former Employee), Belo Horizonte, MGMarch 23, 2014
Experience in planning and control in the industrial area, ability to work with clients, contract management, process control, physical progress curve, work breakdown structure (WBS), preparation of schedule in Primavera P6, MS Project, familiarity with Windows environment and Office tools, knowledge of best practice projects (PMBOK), facilitating the – more... integration between the teams, review the progress and development of the project. Team management, mediator. – less

About SNC-Lavalin

Founded in 1911, SNC-Lavalin is one of the leading engineering and construction groups in the world and a major player in the – Read more