Find companies:
SNC-Lavalin
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
138 reviews

SNC-Lavalin Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Filing, data entry, Start up project (Current Employee), Mount Pearl, NLSeptember 8, 2012
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Co-workers there are great people.
Hours are great.
Management on the most part are pretty good
Not enough challenge to keep me busy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting workplace with unique situations
Canadian Forces Contractor Augmentation Program (Former Employee), Kandahar AfghanistanSeptember 5, 2012
Pros: everything but rocket attacks
Cons: rocket attacks
A normal day would involve working with all levels of Military ensuring they had sea containers that had valid certifications for shipping purposes, placing containers where the client needed them or reclaiming containers that had been borrowed by other allied nations. I learned to organize the transport of hundreds of sea containers from all points – more... in the country back to the base as the mission wound down. Management was always helpful and encouraging. Because of the setting my co-workers and I were together 24/7 for extended(upto 5 months at a time) stretches. I loved the setting and the adventure that everyday brought, as well as meeting soldiers from around the globe and being exposed to their lifestyles. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A leader in Engineering and Construction
Administrative Assistant/Project Secretary (Former Employee), Montréal, QCAugust 8, 2012
Pros: xxxx
Cons: xxxx
SNC-Lavalin participates in the development of our society on five continents, which made the projects I worked on very interesting. The project teams are most competent to work with. They are people, such as I, who have the desire to push the limits of their expertise. I felt I was given a chance to evolve with more and more inspiring challenges.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the company
Project Administrator (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 30, 2012
Pros: co-workers and managers great to get along with
Cons: cannot trust anyone
My review is great except for job security and advancement. As my job wasn't very secure and I applied for many positions and never got advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy office environment with a lot of employees benefits (health and bonuses)
Finance Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 30, 2012
Busy office environment, work is stressful but still have time for fun; co-workers are so nice, caring and helpful during tight deadlines on report submission; management cares about the employees by conducting a yearly company summer outings or recreations. The hardest part of the job is claim preparation that needs focus or concentration to avoid – more... mistakes on the accuracy of amounts and attaching proper back-ups; accurate coding of all business transactions and entering them to the general ledger; tracking of account balance differences and bank accounts reconciliation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in a war zone,
Accommodations Support Staff (Former Employee), Kandahar AfghanistanJuly 17, 2012
Pros: free lodging and food
Cons: heat conditions
A typical day was cleaning of the military staff offices, along with the general's office and personal living space.
Learned how to live in the desert and work in very hot conditions.
Management were awesome, making time for proper rest breaks in such hot climate and desperate temperatures.
Co-workers made sure all tasks were preformed in all areas, – more... and completed in a timely manner.
The hardest part of the job was being in a new country, with new people, in such hot climates, the worst part of the job was cleaning the bathrooms, which were very dirty and stank after new roto's hit the base, as they were not accustomed to the heat or the food, which was a gastric problem.
The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting all the new people from all over the world, military and civilian alike. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere
Drafter/Designer (Former Employee), Sarnia, ONJuly 9, 2012
Pros: required time off is no problem
Cons: banked hours is allowed
The work is varied and interesting.
Management operate an honest open door policy.
Co-workers are always pleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a recommended choice for experienced contractors
Senior Planner (Former Employee), CalgaryJuly 4, 2012
Cons: inconsistant pay periods
In general, the work environment in the Calgary office is typical. For a junior applicant, this company is great for that. For EXPERIENCED and seseasoned planners, AVOID, especially if you are a contractor. IRREGULAR pay periods for contractors. This company is going on a monthly payment plan for contractors starting in September 2012. Beware of this.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
employee (Current Employee), vancouverJune 14, 2012
Cons: low moral, no incentives, no recognition, ignorant managers, over worked
Poor management. Company cannot hire fast enough to cover the people leaving. Poor support from human resources, finance and strategic procurement are hideous. This is old boys network at its best. More obsolete computer programs than any company I know. . Why would anyone work for this company?
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working atmosphere
Document Control Manager (Current Employee), Calgary, ABApril 18, 2012
Nice and professional working enviroment and a lot to learn from your management team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I helped the other staff when I had time, learned a lot from my managers
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 28, 2012
Pros: farewel lunches
It was fun environment very easy going managers, and also very friendly environment with different ethnic backgrounds
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
Project Support (Former Employee), Augusta, MEJuly 8, 2014
Pros: great co workers and environment. good pay
Cons: lack of advancement, training and qualified management.
No place for advancement and lack of manager/management involvment...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Project Engineer (Former Employee), Indore, MPJune 17, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: long hours
ok but need to improve on working style. Time flexibility is good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Materials and Logistics supervisor (Former Employee), Dubai, UAEJune 2, 2014
Pros: professional
Cons: expat work for south-africans are difficult to get.
Good company to work for.

I have gained most of my experience in Logistics and Materials control from this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SNC-Lavalin is a world class company with great leaders.
Sr. HSE Manager (Former Employee), Lima,PeruMay 6, 2014
Pros: world class
Cons: na
SNC-Lavalin was a great assignment, with lot's of management support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EPCM
Construction Superintendent (Current Employee), Dubai Aluminum Company(Dubal), DubaiApril 10, 2014
Result oriented company, I learn a lot about to keep project on schedule or ahead.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT Technician
IT Technician (Current Employee), Sandton, GPFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: study during lunch time
Cons: no overtime
• Troubleshooting and configuring network and hardware in the business.
• Load necessary software and applications.
• Support users in the Call Centre environment (including Call recording and reporting software).
• Installing cable and patching of telephones.
• Keeping track of backup tape schedule.
• Attending to email and telephonic support from – more... users
• Familiarity with typical computing environment i.e. backups, antivirus, printing, network switching etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at SNC
senior mechanical/piping design draughtsman (Former Employee), Johannesburg North, GPJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: an international company
Cons: were micro managed from canada
working at snc was challenging and fulfilling
work on jobs in the DRC
was employed as a senior designer mechanical and piping
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Job
o HSE Inspector (Former Employee), Freeport, TXJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: getting to drive into the plant and getting to leave for lunch.
Cons: long hours, hardly ever got a full weekend off.
Normal work day would start around 6:30 in the morning. I enjoyed standing out on the entrance ramp to the project and greet as many of the 1500 contractors that I could. Some mornings could be very challenging, having to write permits, taking care of other issues as needed. The hardest part sometimes was getting managment to back me up. I would point – more... issues out but production was the main goal. The thing I enjoyed the most was the actual contractors. So many of them from out of state and even out of the country. I always enjoyed hanging out with them after work at the local pub, getting to know them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced workplace with incredible learning opportunities
Proposal Coordinator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 15, 2013
Pros: good management, caring coworkers, banked hours (translated into fridays off once a month), health benefits
Cons: long hours, tight deadlines, understaffing
SNC-Lavalin is a big company with many different branches and divisions, so opportunities are endless. Engineers often work on consultant-basis, so there is a lot of back and forth in engineering team between SNC and its competitors. I was fortunate to have a great manager (who did not like micromanagement, believed in me and gave me many opportunities – more... to learn on my own), nice co-workers and an overall good experience. The hardest part was the pace and understaffing - sometimes there were so many projects going on at once that even pulling 12-hour shifts did not seem enough to get things done on time. The most enjoyable part was to work in a great team environment, in which facing any challenge was a growth and learning opportunity. – less

About SNC-Lavalin

Founded in 1911, SNC-Lavalin is one of the leading engineering and construction groups in the world and a major player in the – Read more