Find companies:
SNC-Lavalin
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
144 reviews

SNC-Lavalin Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexibility in current role; lack of advancement opportunity in unit
Regional Administrator - Atlantic (Current Employee), Halifax, NSMay 21, 2013
Pros: flexibility
Cons: lack of self / career development
Highly administrative role with daily routine tasks. Looking for career vs job. Small office of 3 where I work independently most days (management away). Manager supportive and understandable of work demands during peak periods, and opportunity for more flexibility when demands are low. Enjoy office and co-workers but not in line of business I wish – more... to continue to pursue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly good environment to work
Document Controller (Current Employee), Etobicoke, ONMay 19, 2013
Pros: people are great
Cons: the job is unpredictable with stability
I am able to come to work happy, I know exactly what I will be doing for the day, we all work as a team.

I have learned a lot at SNC I feel it has made me Appreciate having a job and that even though sometimes it may be hectic, I know I can get it done.

The management is understanding and willing to help.
Our co-workers are fantastic they are always – more... willing to help.

The hardest part of the job is being the way things constantly change and there is no room to feel comfortable that I will have a job once a project ends or even when you are placed on a project it may get bought out.

The most enjoyable part of the job is the core hours 9-4 you are able to start at 7,8,9 as long as you work your 9 hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Procurement Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 15, 2013
Pros: work/life balance
Cons: bad reputation
Great people at SNC, made many friends. The work was interesting, learned lots about EPC.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JUNIOR PLANNER/SCHEDULER
JUNIOR PLANNER/SCHEDULER (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMay 10, 2013
As stated in resume:

• Responsible for maintaining, monitoring and updating the forecast schedule for project deliverables (activities/documents) in Primavera P6 & PM+
• Reported to Project Management Office (PMO) and Engineering on the progress/variance of project deliverables with respect to the baseline schedule
• Transferred crucial project data – more... from PMO and Engineering into the Manpower Forecasting & Leveling (MFL) module – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Job
Construction supervisor (Former Employee), Cambridge Bay Area, NWTMay 8, 2013
Pros: challenging project site
Cons: needed more support staff
-Typical day
for construction of mine construction camp and site infrastructure including: residence buildings, roads, airstrip with navigational aids, earthworks, blasting, fuel storage tanks\piping and containment and dispensing, power generation and distribution, potable water and sewage piping and treatment installations, structural steel and concrete. – more... Also perform QC of works.
• Direct\assist construction trade forces• Ensure workers follow safety procedures and training
• Ensure Owner owned equipment is fully certified for use and arrange for qualified service technicians
• Attend daily construction meetings and participate in site training programs
• Inspection construction works and ensure Contractors submit as-constructed data, testing and QC information
• Assist Engineering Design with submission of site information.
• Submit daily progress\site issue report to Project and Construction Managers.
• Resolve site construction issues and problems

-What I Learned
Persistence gets the job done

-Management
Team effort works better

-Co-workers
Everybody needs to be on the same work page every day

-Hardest Part of the Job
Everybody understanding constraints of working in remote and isolated environments

-Most Enjoyable Part Of this Job
My work is Completed – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great engineering experience at the project level
Engineering Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 8, 2013
Pros: weekly health and safety meetings, lunch and learn meetings, free coffee and juice, ergonomic work environment
Cons: only worked there for four months during the summer
I had the opportunity last summer to work at SNC-Lavalin as an engineering assistant. When I got there, there were several learning modules on the computers to help me learn more about the company, and projects that SNC was involved in. From this experience, I was able to learn how an engineering firm worked at the project management level. I created – more... workflow diagrams and online modules for sections such as change management, lessons learned, and health and safety. I can definitely say that the engineering industry is very "procedural" based, as there are numerous types of workflows for documents in each department. The work environment itself was also amazing. All the employees were fantastic, there were interesting meetings going on every week for employees to apply and learn new things (such as ergonomics 101, help for creating a report, etc), health and safety meetings every week to keep us on our toes, and the office had ergonomic furniture and lighting too (very good for the eyes and back). The hardest part I'd have to say is adjusting to it at the very beginning. I never had a chance to work at an office and was piled with lots of work from time to time. Skills that I have transferred into my portfolio would be communication, time management, organization, problem solving and leadership skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, global company
Senior Buyer (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 15, 2013
Pros: good place to work
Cons: project based company, no projects no work
A good company to work for, a global organization with a compensation package.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Compensation, Professionally Challlenging
Project Engineer Electrical (Former Employee), Calgary, CanadaApril 9, 2013
Pros: professionally good work place
Cons: managment is weak
Good Company professionally but Management is little weak.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast paced environment
Sr. Administrative Assistant to Vice-President (Former Employee), Mount Pearl, NLMarch 26, 2013
Pros: friendly environment - face paced - people oriented
Cons: contractual position
enjoyed the many challenges presented to me in my position of senior admin, however working within a contractual position was unsure when my position would be finished.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers made the work enjoyable, short staff led to excessive disorganization
General Helper (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABMarch 18, 2013
Pros: great food and lodging
Cons: long hours, longer than normal to get the work done
I found the workload very heavy at times when I was working as it was short staff with high turnover rates which made getting accustomed to a routine difficult to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5 Stars company
Senior Project Manager (Current Employee), Oakville, OntarioJanuary 15, 2013
- Solid company, nice teams, good place to work, excellent benefits, interesting & challenging work
- Negotiate with the Client SNC SWO's (service work orders): define the scope and the cost associated with our activities, help the discipline leads & engineers to define their scope of work, define deliverables and estimate the right amount of engineering – more... hours needed, obtain the Client acceptance for the SWO's.
- Team building and create a healthy (& pleasant) team work environment, conflict resolution, etc.
- Stage Gate meetings: play an active role in the decision making process ("kill" or "go" decision).
- Active part of project construction & commissioning: lead the team, vendors and stakeholders, support construction & engineering teams the field activities.
- Initiate, organize, facilitate & participate in problem solving process during all project phases (initiation, planning, execution, monitoring & control and closure). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very proffesional
Process Engineer (Former Employee), Sarnia, ONJanuary 4, 2013
Very professional environment,updated technology and fun to work.
Very nice staff and well organized company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Turmoil
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 29, 2012
Undergone poorly managed change, compounded with an understanding that advancement only possible if allied with right people.

Immediate managers have since been removed and I understand that the work environment, ethics and culture has improved significantly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor
1st cook (Former Employee), Surmont lodge 2November 20, 2012
Cons: unorginized
Hired 18 new hires then laid off everyone and all they did was put us up in a hotel room for the night stay away from this place there trying to bust the union go local 47 :)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized, Very Poor Communication, Good Ole Boys Club
Project HSE (Current Employee), SKNovember 15, 2012
Pros: some ethical employees
Cons: very poor communication, double/triple standards
Poor communication coupled with the Good Ole Boys Club is the perfect environment to find unqualified people in positions where they are able & encouraged to flex their authority against ethical & respectable employees. It's mandatory to stay in the Club. Not a good environment for ethical, positive & productive people. I'm not surprised at the current – more... mess SNC has themselves embroiled in with business ethics. Nice to see Shareholders hold SNC accountable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over worked
CSA Camp services attendant (Former Employee), surmont2November 10, 2012
Pros: free food, lodging
Cons: long hours
over worked , unorganized superior's, Managemnt walking around clueless on a daily basis , the HR Manager is Iggnorant His way or the Highway.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what you learn
Procurement Assistant (Current Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 31, 2012
Learned to be a good team player
Learned how to communicate efficiently
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very fun and productive place to work
Project Manager (Current Employee), Montréal, QCOctober 16, 2012
Manage projects and my team. My portfolio various per month between 50 000 000$ and 80 000 000$.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environmental Division - overall positive impression
Project Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 2, 2012
Pros: get to bank overtime
Cons: poor work-life balance
The hours are long, and as a mid-level specialist or management you only get paid what you bill for, or the basic 40hrs even if you have to do 55hrs /week. However, that's normal in the industry.
The people are good and there's a positive vibe in the office but the long hours and long weekend work do make it difficult to acheive that work life balance. – more... The quality of the work produced is definitely above average and I would hire them as a client, but it's not the very best in the industry. – less

April 24, 2013

if you work 55 hrs then get paid 55 hrs including overtime. saying things like However, that's normal in the industry. is why these employers get away with it. If I start a company I would love to hire you, 15 free hrs sounds good as an employer. especially when those hrs should be at time and a half

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SNC Lavalan review.
Logistic Coordinator (Former Employee), Montréal, QCOctober 1, 2012
Pros: dependable
Cons: all benefits go to the higher ranked vp's and president's of different departments, lower employees receive absolutely no recognition, no bonus payouts other that than office of the president or slightly below
Very dependable company and well established throughout the world. I enjoyed the many projects that I worked on and enjoyed working as a team with others.
I'm a little disappointed with the ongoing problems about kickbacks, however, I'm afraid that it is the norm in third world countries. However, if that did happen here, it is very serious! I will – more... still like to get back with them but because of my age, I believe that they will not. Very disappointed with that, and of course, that can not be mentioned as North American companies are bound not to disclose that. Thanks – less

About SNC-Lavalin

Founded in 1911, SNC-Lavalin is one of the leading engineering and construction groups in the world and a major player in the – Read more