Find companies:
SNC-Lavalin
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
170 reviews

SNC-Lavalin Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A professional atmosphere where I practice my line of work.
Student Engineer (Former Employee), St. John's, NLOctober 17, 2014
A regular day at work, I would go in at 8am to check in than I would proceed to the construction site I was assigned. I would make regular walks through the site and make sure everything is in order and everything is done correctly. Some of the jobs that are completed I would have to check and make sure it is done correctly. Every company has its own – more... rules and regulation, although most companies would have the same because they would have to follow the Canadian standards. What I mean by this is for example the amount of compaction the aggregate needs to be in order to place sidewalk cement over it, another example would be the amount of manholes and catch basins to have and their locations. My group of co-workers were great. Everyone was very nice and very easy to approach. I did not find my job difficult at all and I enjoyed my entire time working with SNC-Lavalin. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scheduler
Planning Engineer (Former Employee), SarniaOctober 10, 2014
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Contract Work
Document Control (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCOctober 9, 2014
Pros: salaries
Cons: contractor/temp work environment on projects
If you're hired on contract it is difficult to move up, or progress in your career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic, fast paced environment
Senior Designer (Current Employee), Toronto, OnSeptember 30, 2014
Must be ready to adapt with changes and challenges of work assignments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn and work
Procurement QC Supervisor (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 29, 2014
Very cooerative and helpful manager/lead, good scope to learn and develop work skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mature Environment
Procurement Specialist (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: earned time off
Cons: no training
This is a workplace that treats people like adults and they do not micro-manage.
The stressful part of the job is not having any training
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & interesting workplace in an office
Commis de bureau (Former Employee), Montreal, QCSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: good communication
Cons: short break
- Assist the Project Manager in assembling and filing claim files.
- Interact with various team members to perform various clerical tasks.

- Install inventory lists by computer (Word, Excel)
- Ranger shirts labeled in appropriate folders
- Make prints, photocopies and scanning various documents.
- Fold and classify engineering plans.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place
Junior Buyer (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: free soft drinks etc etc
its very loving and fun place to work. SNC taught me alot, colleagues are very cooperative and helpful.The icing on the cake SNC is all about place of opportunity to learn and fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going environment
Building Technician II (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONSeptember 12, 2014
Working at this company is a little frustrating at times with basic benefits and low wages. seems unorganized at times
Good people
easy going
lots of paper work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional experience at SNC Lavalin.
Electrical Technical Professional (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 11, 2014
A great EPC Company to work with and a nice workplace to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good workplace
Geotechnical (E.I.T) (Current Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 1, 2014
Poor management, poor Salary/Benefits and poor Work/Life Balance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work
Power System Engineer protection engineer (Current Employee), Toronto ONAugust 30, 2014
Pros: good company
Challenging Job
Good Work Environment
Good Management
Higher Job Security
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much over time hours unpaid as well
Senior Infrastructure Analyst (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 28, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: unpaid overtime - not compensated
Great team with great co-workers and personality with excellent above and beyond skills and qualities which are left unappreciated by the management and are subject to constant critiques.
Unpaid overtime every second Saturday from 9 p.m. until 1 a.m. and almost all weekends as there are changes to the server environment to be made constantly. Poorly – more... managed IT department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the biggest EPCM companies in Canada
Senior Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 27, 2014
Pretty good place for work with every second Friday off and flexible working time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay , great lodgings, good food
sandwich lead (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABAugust 11, 2014
Pros: my own private room, free internet, free meals.free lodging, free transportation to and from ft mcmurray. i could save money and pay off debts.
Cons: missing familybut having internet was awesome so i could skype everyday and that made it easier.
A typical night at work ( I always worked the night shift) was preparing and making sandwiches for 1600 to 2900 people.It consisted of a lot of work but I enjoyed my job.I had to use up what I could from dinner leftovers for sandwiches, wraps , pizzas etc plus making the regular sandwiches. (ham/cheese, p. butter etc)
I also made up trays of sandwiches – more... for functions and meetings.
I learned that everyone has strengths but are different so I would put each person where they were strongest suited. I learned not only to to listen but to hear. I learned how to give constructive criticism
I didn't really have too much to do with management. I enjoyed my co workers except for the ones who didn't work as hard as everyone else. I believe in fairness. The hardest part of my job was seeing certain people abuse work in other areas...reported them but nothing was done about it at the time. That was frustrating. I loved being in camp and I was good at my job. I love working with people and I love being part of a team where the work is distributed evenly and each doing their share. That's what I did when i was lead.
The most enjoyable part of my job was feeling valued for the hard work that I did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome colleagues, poor management
Document Controller (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 24, 2014
Pros: lunch & learn and friendly workmates
Cons: unprofessional management
I enjoyed my 2yrs at SNC Lavalin T&D but my 3rd year was awful with very poor new management and no guidance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work place
Senior Civil/Structural Engineer (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJune 24, 2014
Large corporation with multi dicipline work force.
Limited traing
multi level of management
Co worker interation is best
Supportive management and co staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and creative job environment
P&C Technical Professional (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJune 20, 2014
Good management, creative and fun workplace.
Efficient organizational load distribution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Despite being a leading engineering and construction group, provides less opprtunities in engineering
Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 14, 2014
SNC Lavalin Calgary engineering group mainly works for oversees clients in middle east and south America.

For the employees, there are not many opportunities for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place
Environmental Coordinator (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 6, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: culture
Lived on the road in hotels. Terrible work/life balance. No personal boundaries. They will call and text you at all hours on your days off. Well known for mistreating people.

1 2 3 4 5

About SNC-Lavalin

Founded in 1911, SNC-Lavalin is one of the leading engineering and construction groups in the world and a major player in the – Read more