Find companies:
SMS Equipment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
14 reviews

SMS Equipment Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Result oriented but fun loving work place
Contractor (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABDecember 10, 2014
Pros: team work
Cons: no restaurants around
Work begins at 8:00am when a majority of the employees have just fcompleted their first cup of coffee or a smoke outside. While the employees engage in their daily task at full speed, senior managers are busy with their daily planning and project review meetings which last for about an hour or two at times. By 9:30 am the employees are seeking the second – more... cup of coffee for the day. By 10:00 am a great deal of the daily task has been completed. During this period, the management staff could be seen moving from one cost centre to the other obtaining updates and feed-backs from the current projects while suggesting or detecting directions to the responsibility staff to follow. Lunch is at noon and most of the employees congregate in the lunch room chatting and sexting while the micro-waves are busy warming up the lunch plates. By 1:00 pm everyone is back again to their respective work stations. As managers move by, one could notice a sense of satisfaction as they throw jokes at the employees. The rest of the day is a bit relaxed with pop-up announcements and training opportunities as well as vacancies on the workstations. On Fridays there is usually a beer party for an employee leaving for a weeding vacation or an opportunity elsewhere. At SMS Equipment, there is much achievement with little stress. The people are just awesome and the team spirit is great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Supportive Company
Field Service Technician (Former Employee), Tumbler Ridge, BC/Fort McMurray ABNovember 9, 2014
The company provides a great work environment. They're very supportive, they pay well with decent benefits. The management at certain branches seems to be a bit of a boys' club but for the most part will do their part to help you out in any way they can.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Enviroment to work in!
Elkford (Former Employee), Elkford, BCNovember 5, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: poor salary
Great Enviroment with friendly co- workers
Good benefit package
Salary positions could have a more competitive salary compared with other local businesses
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced and great opportunities for education in different areas.
Administrative, AR&AP, R.A.M.P Assistant (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, AlbertaJuly 21, 2014
Working for SMS allowed me to learn a multitude of skills in the admistrative feild for the oil service industry.

It was a face paced and challenging company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company values
Service Clerk/Payroll (Former Employee), Prince GeorgeJune 30, 2014
Pros: positive environment
Cons: cut backs
sms was a great place to work, with friendly, supportive management, and a great team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good shift and pay but no managment backing.
Front line Mechanical forman (Current Employee), Elkford, BCMay 3, 2014
Pros: pay and shift
Cons: no chance of advancment. too much favortism to unept employees.
The work was ok , but the managment has driven morale to an all time low. Senoir management was changed and people with no experience in the mining enviroment took over.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vary good company to work for.
Journeyman Heavy Equipment Field Technician (Former Employee), Chetwynd, BCAugust 8, 2013
Great people, lots of training and room for growth. Ability to transfer with in the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive atmosphere.
LABOURER (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJuly 9, 2013
Great people, great benefits, great management, overall great place to work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work environment
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee), Williams Lake, BCApril 4, 2013
Pros: helpful and patient staff
Cons: i can't think of any
Learned new skills every day
Shipper/Receiver responsibilities
Management and co-workers were very supportive
Computer system was a bit complicated
The team spirit and co-operation within the company was second to none
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this job was one off the better
Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee), Prince George, BCMarch 27, 2013
Pros: good place to work and really fun to work for
Cons: there was no cons working for sms
working for sms was the best experience i got so far as it had all kinds of deffrentes challenges in the years i work there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting new people while learning new skills.
Hone operator (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 11, 2013
Arrived at 6 am. Participated in an exercise program before starting work. While working I learned how to hone large cylinders. Management instilled and demanded safety at all times.Co-workers were pleasant and helpful when needed. My main problem with my job was I had difficulty measuring certain cylinders. I enjoyed learning new procedures that were – more... outside my normal HD Mechanic learning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with a journeyman ticket.
Labourer and First aid level 3 attendant (Current Employee), Elkford, BCSeptember 19, 2012
Pros: good pay and equal time off.
Cons: old i could have an apprenticship after proving myself, and now am told i have to go to school for a year before the chance at an apprenticship
Good pay and beneficial time off. I did learn alot about mining equipment specificaly Komatsu equipment. I learned how to service these machines and assemble alot of them.I gained alot of valuble experience and tickets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome co-workers and fun place to work
Warehouse Tech. (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJune 14, 2012
Pros: safe work environment
Cons: working in extreme temperatures
A typical day at work with SMS Equipment...

I'd usually start my day with completing an FLRA, which is a required task. SMS was very strict when it came to safety, which was great.
Next i'd move on to my other daily duties, filling customer orders, shipping/receiving freight, loading/unloading trucks..etc. The most difficult part of my job would have – more... to be working in extreme temperatures, even with the winter attire that SMS provided it was still difficult working in below 30. The most enjoyable part of my job is definitely meeting new people and getting to work with my co-workers. – less