Find companies:
Smiths Medical
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

Smiths Medical Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding
Production Operator (Current Employee), RossendaleApril 2, 2014
Pros: very rewarding knowing a person is better cause of your help
Cons: the attention to detail in each kit
The supply for medical equipment is always going to be high. So everyday was always constantly busy. Meeting delivery due dates.
The management was very hard working making sure that each department ran as smoothly as possible.

The hardest part of the job was the attention to detail. Any contamination made the medical kit unworkable. We had to check – more... for the smallest dust fibre's or any possible faults that we could find.

My co-workers made the job very enjoyable experience for me. Always willing to help – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fast pasted environment
Assembler (Former Employee), rossendaleFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: free bru machine
Cons: no long hours
excellent people to work for excellent people to work with great career to have
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, not a lot of advancement, no salary increases
Contract Administrator (Former Employee), Dublin, OHJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: the people, the learning/advanced training opportunities
Cons: archaic system, poor system integrity, no raises
Great people to work with, a lot of training opportunities yet not a lot of advancement , no salary increases, poor system integrity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to day
Mexico and Central America Distributor Manager (Current Employee), Central AmericaJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: multicultural, traveling around the globe, save and change lives
Cons: too much travel
My day to day business
First thing in the morning contact warehouses in Europe to see how many orders are we going to release and invoice in the week.

Secondly contact key accounts in Latin America and review any kind of issues regulatory, importation, marketing, clinical, or finance issues.

Last but of course not least fill reports for upper management, – more... quite often backed up with points 1 and 2.

Maybe the hardest part of my job is loosing sales and market share due regulatory reasons – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productable
Coordinator III (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNNovember 18, 2013
Pros: many times a year having free picnics and etc. through the employee committee.
Cons: healthcare (spendy), pension (no longer given)
They are very safety consistence, all about lean, try to keep communication going.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promoted from within the company
Data entry (Former Employee), Waukesha, WISeptember 24, 2013
I was responsible for receiving departments, both the human and veterinarian portion. I would receive products, inspect products, and assign lot numbers to products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highly political -decision making not encouraged
Regional Human Resources Manager- (Current Employee), Norwell, MAAugust 16, 2013
No best practices locally or internationally

Not strategic not open to new ideas

Ineffective org structure

Decision making not encouraged
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressed at Dead End Job
Production Assembler (Current Employee), Gary, INJuly 26, 2013
Pros: close to home
Cons: not compensated fairly for performance and reliability.
Not happy with current job of 7 years. Looking to obtain full-time and meaningful employment for a quality company that will appreciate my dedication and excellent work performance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mgt cares about mgt
Injection Molder (Former Employee), Gary, INJuly 17, 2013
Pros: great co workers
Cons: not enough pay
great people easy work not enough pay for work management cares about management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
growing organisation nice people
international customer servicez (Former Employee), hythe and ashfordJune 4, 2013
Pros: family friendly family business ethos
Cons: no development ops
used to work in ics spent 5 yrs with smi and was attracted to the family friendly culture which was established in a smaller organisation. unfortunately there was no development opportunities for me to progress within the organisation so had to leave as was getting bored in my role. overall a nice organisation to work for .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Quality assurance checker (Former Employee), LancashireMay 6, 2013
A typical day would be busy, testing raw materials from various vendors, making sure that the products comly to agreed specifications.
Working as a team with management the job was enjoyable.
The hardest part was making sure that all departments involved, worked together to resolve any issues.
The most enjoyabe times are when you know that "today"you – more... made a difference. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed atmosphere with set goals
Engineering Technician/Test Engineer (Former Employee), Duluth, GAApril 2, 2013
Pros: friendly relaxed atmosphere
Cons: commute
Daily schedule included device and software testing. I had the opportunity to learn some electrical device testing and software verification testing techniques. Management was goal oriented. Co-workers were friendly and interactive. Hardest part of the job was the commute. The most enjoyable part of the job was the opportunity to learn new product testing – more... techniques. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good organization
business development manager (Current Employee), indoreFebruary 16, 2013
Pros: supportive management
Cons: distribution
good to work
growth opportunities
team work.
new place to work and grow. good working culture
good products
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible, Keep Away
Former Manager (Former Employee), St. Paul, MNDecember 29, 2012
Pros: nice building
Cons: lack of rewards, recognition, work life balance, elitist management team
This was the worst place I have ever worked, by far. The employees are treated like garbage and the upper management is clueless and extremely unprofessional. The morale is absolutely terrible. Seeing the ratings for Smiths makes me question the authenticity of the entries. Vacation was taken away from all employees, ranging from 5 days to 10 days. – more... Everyone lower that a director was on a 3 year pay freeze. The culture is archaic and elitist. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smiths CSR
Customer Service Representative II (Current Employee), Dublin, OHSeptember 11, 2012
As a rehire, I was fortunate to have a great foundation; New reps are expected to know too much too soon, and are not given nearly enough training. The pay is very low for the type of work done. It's called "Customer Service" however the actual job is "Sales Support"

Rock – December 30, 2012

How much is the low pay?

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Totally different work environment than what I've worked in the past.
Manufacturing (Former Employee), Gary, INSeptember 6, 2012
Explore the use of different mechanical machinery and tools.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace at one point we would have a company picnic every year.
Machine Operator/Assembler (Former Employee), Gary, INAugust 30, 2012
Pros: had some type of programs going for the sickle cell, breast cancer, health, etc.
Cons: if you became sick and was out passed your sick leave you were terminated even with doctors order.
Overall it's was an ok place to work. A typical day at work would be quiet. I have learned to keep it to myself. Some of my co-workers were ok to work with and some were not. The hardest part of the job was getting the quota. At time that would be impossible to do that because of the machines may be down. The enjoyable part would be when we have a pot – more... luck:) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced enviroment, fun place to work with advancements
Machine Operator (Current Employee), Keene, NHAugust 10, 2012
Pros: decent health bennifits, over time
Cons: there can be mandatory over time.
* Line set up, solid weights and liquid weights testing, clearing jams, changing polly, calculating scrap, oackaging, quality checks.
*Machine operations, Line procedures, Safety procedures, Lock out training and procedures, assembly, tooling changes.
*really great management, just be up front and honest and you have no problems.
*Co workers come from – more... all walks of like, different cultures and beliefs, really great teams.
* The hardest part about the job is probably standing for hours on end and the stress with more responcibility.
*the teams and the rewards, rewarding the whole group when we make production goals by a extra 15 mins added to lunch, good place for learning and advancement as long as you show intrest in doing so. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smiths
Domestic Lead (Former Employee), Olive branchAugust 8, 2012
Pros: i learned everyday.
Cons: ethylene oxcide caused cancer and other health problems.
I lead a crew of 18 employees, held daily meetings, and delagated tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too much politics
Service & Repair Specialist (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNJuly 14, 2012
Cons: too much politics
Not listening to employees. The management needs to pay more attention or care/understand each employee's situation and come up with reasonable solution by talking to each employee privately. Not just buy listening to the group leader. If the specific employee is not in the group leader's favorite list, that person is in trouble

About Smiths Medical

Smiths Medical's forges are primed to produce medical tools for intensive care, surgery, and post-operative care procedures. Part – Read more