Find companies:
Smith and Nephew
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 reviews

Smith and Nephew Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work with no day the same
Recon / Trauma Sales Specialist (Former Employee), Memphis, TNOctober 30, 2014
Pros: wonderful people in the hospitals to work with.
Cons: on call 24/7
Sold total hip and knee implants to orthopedic surgeons. Negotiated purchasing contracts with hospital purchasing agents. Inserviced both orthopedic surgeons and hospital surgical staff in the proper use of Smith & Nephew instruments. Reviewed the surgeons x-rays and made reccomendations on the proper implants to be used for specific patients. Ordered – more... in the proper surgical instrumentation and reviewed the instruments with SPD staff. Made sure the instruments and implants made it to the OR for surgical cases. Went in on all surgeries with orthopedic surgeons and hospital surgical staff. Provided surgical advice during cases, made sure surgical tech stayed ahead of the surgeon and picked out the proper implants to be implanted during surgery. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and enjoyable
SAP Purchasing Assistant (Current Employee), Kingston upon Hull, ENGOctober 9, 2014
Pros: great company to work for
Cons: long hours - some days no time for lunch too busy
- Day to day running of processing purchase orders
- Dealing with helpdesk enquire through email and over the phone
- Processing new supplier paperwork
- Adhoc admin duties

- learning the necessary functions on SAP which are procurement related, dealing with invoices

- long hours, hectic workload sometimes miss lunch to get the work completed

- working – more... for a great team and company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work if you dont have a life
Packaging technician/Quality Inspector (Former Employee), memphis tnSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: the overtime they let u get during the week
Cons: off 3 days a month
the co-workers made the job fun but other then that,management doesn't care about employees needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical warehouse
Order Processor (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 14, 2014
Great people to work with. 11am to 7 am Love the coworkers easy work...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great overall experience for over 20 years!
Sr. Bio Medical Designer (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 22, 2014
Great work environment ... Great professional relationships with colleagues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smith and Nephew
SR Machinist (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 8, 2014
A typical day at work would be doing a set-up on a Swiss Turn while 2 machines run parts. Checking parts and making adjustments as needed is also typical. I have learned more about Lean Manufacturing and advanced my CNC skills since working at Smith and Nephew. Management does not communicate very well with each other or with the employees at Smith – more... and Nephew but they do give machinist freedom to do their job and take ownership of their job. The hardest part of my job is working so much overtime including many weekends. I enjoy the great benefits, good pay, new machines, and modern air conditioned facility. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn something new everyday
Surgical Tech (Current Employee), Memphis TnJune 25, 2014
This is a great place to work, It almost remind me of school, you learned something new everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn something new everyday
Surgical Tech (Current Employee), Memphis TnJune 25, 2014
This is a great place to work, It almost remind me of school, you learned something new everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
im a hard worker
Lead clean room assembly/Inspector (Former Employee), Mansfield, MAJune 17, 2014
My typical day at work was i would punch in go to the clean room get dress to start my job. What i have learned at Smith and Newphew is you always have to take pride in your job because we make medical part's for people that go in side there body's. The Management was great my boss was always around to help us with anything we needed. The hardest part – more... of the job was making sure we hit the number's we need at the end of the night because there where such big order's to do. The most in enjoyable part of the night is knowing we make part's for people to help them with there need's – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not that great, too large
Exogen Manufacturing Technician (Former Employee), Memphis, TNApril 20, 2014
Pros: benifits
Cons: no growth
Smith and Nephew is just too large for any room of growth for new workers. If you have the experience, then it might be a good place to work. If not, I hope your great at brown nosing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smith and Nephew-Sales Representitive
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Detroit, MIApril 1, 2014
Pros: Good product and great life/work balance

Cons: Management seems lost, top positions have no interaction with the sales force, pay is considerably less the industry standard
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with great benefits.
Bio-Medical Designer (Current Employee), Memphis, TNMarch 11, 2014
My work day consist of case processing. Ive learned so much about the medical device industry and replacement surgeries. My managers are very supportive and co-workers are as well. The hardest part of my job is learning the terminology. The most enjoyable part of it all is that you have a team with a common skillset.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Independent Contractor / Manufacturing Engineer (Former Employee), Andover, MAFebruary 11, 2014
Too Bad this place closed down.
Was fun while it lasted. Worked there for a short period of time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work environment
Maintenance and Facility Manager (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJanuary 10, 2014
As a Manager I enjoyed my own office. Facility was top notch. In my 8 years I saw the Company grow into a World Class form. I retired in 1998.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive experience
Finisher (Former Employee), Memphis, TNNovember 19, 2013
Pros: fast paced exercise
Cons: work conditioning muscles and nerve damage
As a mass finisher I had the most physically demanding and dirty job in the building. With several processes to keep moving on to it did pass the time rather quickly. It would have been better had I gotten full-time with benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smith and Nephew
Quality Assurance Assistant (Former Employee), Memphis, TNNovember 7, 2013
My typical day at Smith and Nephew was checking parts that the machinist's made. I learned that every part has its own unique quality. My coworkers were awesome and very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mandatory
International Shipping Specialist (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 30, 2013
Pros: open door policy with work id.
Cons: not enough help.
It was overall a great experience. It was necessary for my growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We had fun.
Inventory Analyst (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 20, 2013
Pros: free food
Cons: small workplace
We had to stand up for long periods of time. We got paid every week. We had long breaks. The building was climax control.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
smith and nephew
Material Deployment / Packaging I (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 18, 2013
nice company, managment was not so great, many jobs available, must be well connected
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for before NAFTA
Supervisor (Former Employee), Columbus, GAJuly 7, 2013
Pros: had and incentive program for producing first quality latex gloves
Cons: excellent health care
the company had all of qualities of making you feel safe I was offered a job to move with the company