SMART Technologies Employee Reviews

Found 43 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Business development (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABAugust 30, 2016
Employees were very friendly and welcoming. They were willing to show you around their city. The work environment could get rocky at times, but with a good team it was easy to work through
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting products
Application Software Developer/Release Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 26, 2016
Great legacy products but management do not make decisions based on customer insight but instead their gut feeling and impulse.
Pros
Learning
Cons
Customers are not put at the fore front.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place of work
People Services/Human Resources Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMarch 13, 2016
Smart encouraged individual growth as they were smart enough to know that a team is only as strong as its weakest link.They provided employees with cross training as well as many other opportunities to shine within the company's infrastructure. They compensated people well for work accomplished and offered employees many opportunities to involve their families ie. contest and family picnics.
Pros
wonderful atmosphere and senior staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, salary, benefits
Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABAugust 5, 2015
I worked at SMART Technologies full-time.Great people, salary, benefits, and I loved working there.
I'd always felt as if there had to be a place that would value my unique style, quick wit, boisterous laugh and zest for all things creative. A place that would understand when you're spending copious amounts of time in one place, you need some form of release to break up the monotony. It seems like I had finally found the nook "to hang my hat." People often forget that we're at work more than we're with our friends, family and significant others. Work should be a place that when we wake up in the morning we are happy to be getting out of bed and preparing for. It was for me to work at Smart Technologies!
Pros
People, people, people, location, benefits
Cons
Keep up the great work! I've worked for some of the corporate technical super-giants!
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Products Lack Management
Senior Channel Account Director, West (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 30, 2015
SMART is in a good potential marketplace, but lack management who understand the basics of running a business or how to penetrate a market.
Pros
Good Products
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good group of people
System Validation (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 24, 2015
Good job to have, fun work place and great environment. New technology that is fun to play with, great location and great team of people to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging environment
Senior Accountant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 16, 2015
Challenging environment with a lot of changes. Company seems to be confused about the direction they should be going. There is a lot of trial and error and changes being made with the hope that everything will work out.
Pros
Hardworking people
Cons
Company seems lost and confused about their direction
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with really great people
Server Analyst (Current Employee) –  calgaryApril 17, 2015
All in all i enjoyed my time there, great Boss and my co workers were fantastic. Unique Culture with alot of funtimes. Sadly the powers that be don't know where they are taking the company and its suffering.
Pros
Boss, Co-workers
Cons
CEO's poor managment driving the company into the ground
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SMART is full of great people and cool products.
Senior Systems Validation Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABFebruary 19, 2015
Overall a very comfortable place to work. The corporate culture is morphing into one with a lot of positive energy. Tons of technology in meeting spaces promotes effective collaboration opportunities.
Pros
flexible work hours allow for a great work / life balance
Cons
bloated management structure reduces workplace efficiency, no foucs on promoting from within.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing technology and Creative clients
Marketing Communications Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJanuary 21, 2015
SMART Technologies is an interesting place to work. The technology they produce for the education market is amazing and world class. Teachers and educators use the interactive technologies SMART produces in ways one never thought imaginable. Speaking with these people and telling their stories was my favorite part of working at SMART Technologies.

The company is currently experiencing some growing pains after the last recession. The new President has a good vision of where to take the company but is still working on ironing out the kinks with middle management. As a result it is not the most stable company to work for at the present time.

All this being said the people who work there are great and the company culture was improving.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good company to work for
Senior System Administrator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJanuary 20, 2015
It was a good company to work for. they moved production to mexico and this affected our office here in Ottawa
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good compnay
Technical Support Analyst (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Calgary ABOctober 10, 2014
It allowed me to gain Canadian experiece and know about the fabulous SMART products
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working place
Electronic Assembler (Former Employee) –  Ottawa,ON.September 28, 2014
good working place. nice co-worker. working on line was fun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great Canadian company
Customs and Export Documentation Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kanata, ONSeptember 23, 2014
The products are wonderful, the teams are very friendly and the management style is pleasant.
I learned a lot about manufacturing, exports and guidelines.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great product ideas, lack of direction
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Kanata, ONSeptember 15, 2014
Great employees, very professional and dedicated team of people.
Excellent product ideas, it was great being part of a team that changed the way children learn in the classrooms and the way people interact from remote locations.
In the past 3 years management lacked direction.
Even though you get a great vacation package, it is hard to get away from work while you are expected to work evenings and weekends and be on call 24/7.
Pros
good benefit package, excellent coworkers
Cons
no work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced and Multiple Experiences
Transportation Manager (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMay 6, 2014
Fast Paced and Multiple Experiences.

A lot was learned

Hardest to cope with changes, but challenging
Pros
fast paced
Cons
changing staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely interesting product, bad management
Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMarch 21, 2014
Extremely interesting product, lot of nice people, but general organization of development process is extremely messy.
Dealing with CM is ineffective.
Pros
love smart products
Cons
priorities of management changes 5 times a day
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior QA Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 20, 2014
I really enjoyed to work at SMART.
Not safe right now; company still facing changes.
Pros
vacations days
Cons
located out of downtown core
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting. Enjoy being part of a team who build interactive whiteboards that help children with learning disabilities.
Procurement Specialist (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMarch 11, 2014
A typical day at SMART is exciting. Learned more on how the Interactive White Boards are made and work. I am proud to be an employee at SMART.
It is gratifying to hear from Educational Customers who have been able to give Autistic Children an easier way to learn and collaborate with their peers in class.
Pros
work 1/2 hour extra a day and get a day off a month
Cons
head quarters have decided to close the otttawa office, letting go 80 people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced working environment
Production Leader (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONFebruary 25, 2014
Hard working employees in a fast paced environment with excellent hours. SMART Tech did alot of outside activities for the employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 56 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5

SMART Technologies Reviews by Location