SLH TRANSPORT INC. Employee Reviews

Showing all 21 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was good place to work but not a good place to work now it all went down hill in the last two years.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary,ab23 June 2017
Was good place to work before but not a good place to work now. It all went down hill in the last two years. Better to keep looking for a real job because you will get no were with this Company.
Cons
They will starve you out like they did to me
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Heavy Equipment Mechanic Apprentice Job Placement (Former Employee) –  Bedford, NS24 May 2017
I have nothing bad to say and would love an opportunity to work with this company. I worked there this winter while also working snow removal for my other job so I wasn't able to go every day and they were very understanding of this.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work 3-13 years ago.
Labourer (Former Employee) –  London, ON4 April 2017
Was a shipping company, mainly for Sears, they won't turn down outside business though. If you're not a licenced truck driver, there is no need to apply in London.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Truck driver (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS16 March 2017
great company to work for with lots of hours, they provide excellent training and are very friendly to be around i would recommend working for this company
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment
Lead Hand (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON6 March 2017
Day included doing daily reports and duties done as requested.Mechanics times, Parts expenses, Shop cleanup and time, Shop expenses, delegated repairs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place not too hard on you
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 November 2016
easy work small fleet mostly freightliner. never been push to finish work even if the truck is needed. average alberta menagement would need to improve comunication otherwise good place
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
AZ Driver (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON23 October 2016
The job was reasonable for a daytime az driver. The benefits were adequate for a company of that size. It was great having all my work clothes paid for. The company did not recognize that we had family/lives outside of work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was good bad now
Driver (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON8 June 2016
Management don't care about employees anymore
its a sinking ship
Much better companies out there.
Promises broken over and over again
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travail Stimulant
Représentant service à la clientèle bilingue (Current Employee) –  St Laurent, QC9 March 2016
Je suis prêt a de nouveaux défi se rapportant plus au monde de la logistique et du transport et mon incursion au service à la clientèle a été très enrichissante
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
transport
Camionneur (Former Employee) –  Saint-romuald, QC18 February 2016
pousse c chauffeur a bout ne respecte pas vie familliale versu travail
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
free christmas dinner
DRIVER MANAGER/ TRANSPORTATION PLANNER (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON23 December 2015
Work environment is great, drivers are very professional and will to go the extra mile. The operations manager is excellent leader
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all a productive work place
Dock Worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 October 2015
I worked there for a year. The management and workers were always well trained and supportive. The hours were reasonable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A well run environment
Driver Manager (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON23 July 2015
Well organized professional corporation. There are sufficient personnel on schedules that allows individuals to complete tasks completely.
Pros
Set hours
Cons
Little chance for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plenty of room to grow
Driver Trainer (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON21 April 2015
SLH was a high demand company, but they knew everyone in the company. If something had to be done, there were very straight forward with you. There was no beating around the bush.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Safet, Compliance & Training Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON25 February 2015
SLH is great place to work with great people to work with. Training and sharing my experience with the drivers makes it a very enjoyable job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy environment
Retired >Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON29 July 2014
busy environment
internal promotions or lateral movement if you like to change it up once in awhile
management 'communication skills need to be upgraded'
co workers amicable/good to work with
hardest part of the job; lack of internal support/mgmt.
most enjoyable part of the job was providing good service to the customer; as provided by many joint efforts within company
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC4 May 2014
The work enviroment is very friendly, enjoy working work with my coworkers
I am content with my current positon but would like experience working in other fields with different possiblilites and responsiblitlies
Pros
Enjoy working driving
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but stress filled environment
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON5 April 2014
Enjoyed the busy environment and coworkers.....disliked stressful environment; partly created by upper management 'no communication'
Pros
busy but friendly environment with coworkers
Cons
bad communication created stressful workplace environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work with nice people
Administration Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON15 March 2013
I have worked for Sears/SLH Transport Inc for 13 years. I have experience in every aspect of these businesses. I have enjoyed customer service and administration positions. I would like to expand my skills and find something more stimulating.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
maxed out pay band
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best places to work
Dock Worker (Former Employee) –  London, ON23 March 2012
Loved sorting shipments, and loading them into trailers for delivery
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 14Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SLH TRANSPORT INC.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4

SLH TRANSPORT INC. Reviews by Location